(2011/06) June 2011

hmm... christy, u can latch as much as possible for the first 2 months? I used 1 month to stop BF after knowing I'm preggy with #2, perhaps other BF mummies can share how long they need to stop then you can judge better. Cos if you restrict yourself, your supply might be lower than expected & less likely to success. My colleague who don't pump in office, latches bb before & after work (twice a day).

Junez, ameda onli ve 1 manual & 1 electric dual model.

Eleen, u refering to blk 500+ there? ya so many pomelo & oranges now. Can I meet u tonight?

Eleen, Yes I also thinking to just put bb to latch as much as possible too. Will try.... many or little supply would also want the best for bb... hehe.

Wah 1 mth to stop BFing... will the bb be cranky and cry always... and reject bottle? (Cause my case is like half BF and half bottle feed)

Oh that also come across my mind to latch before and after work... I still think its not possible... LOL

Re glass bottles

Just to share.. I used Evenflo ones before. They are really durable and withstood dropping on the floor, and only started to chip after almost a year of use. However, you must be careful because it's not always easy to spot when your bottle has chipped. I remember when I attended Mrs Wong's class, she didn't recommend using glass bottles cos of this. For my #2, I don't intend to use them any more.

Btw, anyone going to sign up with Cordlife for cordblood banking? For enrolments before 17 March, the referral can get $100 shopping vouchers. If interested to find a referral, please pm me!

oh.

was out with hub the other day and we saw a dad carrying the stroller with a strap. Dont think it works for all models hor, esp the heavy ones? Definitely not for pple who are not very tall. haha

eleen, k i text u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

In Dec, I said I would organise an Avent Duo spree for June mummies... My supplier has reverted with the rates:

Avent Duo (SCF304/02) $420 (minimum 10 sets)

* Manual parts not included, $25 per set (1 side)

* Price is for mass collection (in town, venue & date to be confirmed) & self-collection (my place - Jurong West), add $20 for delivery.

* Spree closes this Friday, stock expected to be here after CNY. Payment upon collection / delivery.

* As I'm not asking for advance payment, I trust all mummies to honour your orders. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

* To order, pls PM me or just indicate in this thread.

Some info:

- BPA free

- US set

- Same voltage for SG use, needs adapter to convert plug

- Includes:

* Philips AVENT BPA-Free Twin Electronic Breast Pump

* four bottle stand/funnel covers

* two 4-ounce breast milk containers

* four cool packs

* two newborn flow nipples

* two nipple travel packs

* two Thinsulate carriers

* microfiber travel bag

* two sealing discs

* spare part

* instruction guide

quien, yup i saw those too. are they combi? oh that remind me sth. mummies who hv small hatchback car, do check yr max booth length b4 u buy the stroller. like my car booth, cant put maclaren! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

e'leen, durian try get those puree from those hotel buffet? yum yum. or recently my col went to the taka event hall and bot some Durian cookies from Jane's creation, super yummy! they are like our pineapple tarts, but inside is all durian puree~ *drool

Wow mummies... I read through the thread and see all the shopping lists... and baby stuff... I feel sooooo lost [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I am not sure what are the compulsories to buy and what are the not really needed items..

chil:

oh no. i wonder if the stroller i had in mind can fit into hub's car anot.

Not sure if its combi, didnt get the chance to take a look at its brand.

But when hub told me to check it out, i was like. Huh? Important meh. And he was like, if not what. the bb in the stroller all the time meh? and i was like...errr why not???

chil, my craving was so bad that i went to udders for the mao shan wang ice-cream, was so disappointed with the quality... Tried 717 puffs, slightly better, but still looking forward to the real thing... Haha...

haha we changed our car last month juz before COE prices went up and main reason was because the boot was too small to put stroller inside..

hihi mtb

ask u all ok..do u all have a line from belly button to chest?? hehe most of my frens told me they have leh..bt i dun have..i onli gt one stretch of hair from belly button to chest then very hairy at belly button area..

and also hor..anyone of ur belly button become smaller?? mine hor..becoming smaller and smaller..like closing leh..normal ma?

joyce, i think eventually our belly button will pop out http://www.plasticsurgery4u.com/belly_button/belly_button_pregnancy.htm

Feels and looks weird I guess. To be honest I already have a single fine row of hair even before preg from chest to belly button area. Somehow up till now (22 weeks) of pregnancy, it didnt seem to have any darkening or thickening of the hair.

Been very MIA from the forum after being now into 3rd week of being sick with cough and cold. Feel so frustrated with my poor health and I hope to get well soon. The only consolation is my still frequent baby movement. feels like baby is sayangin me. So much work decking up and I feel upset to be till force to be away on 3 day mc as insisted by the private clinic doc. Think he must be also frsutrated and worried as i am already seeing him for the third time and is now on the 3rd dosage of antibiotics =(

Blue Christine

Altáriël,we were also thinking of changing cars liao.coz' I think the stroller we are deciding on too big..lol..luckily u changed early!good decision!

Joyce,I have the line long long time liao,since 8weeks.my belly button is like popping out soon like that coz' my tummy really very big(like what Christine has mentioned)

Christine,Jia you!!take more vit C ok?

E'leen,can try Holiday Park Inn hotel(Singapore Orchard city center)'s durian dessert..quite close to the real thing.

Christine, if possible, try to sleep with a humidifier in your room especially if you sleep in an air-con room. I find that it helps a lot with my cough and dry throat. Get well soon!

Sigh. Impossible to change hubs car. It's like his 2nd wife. Looking at 2nd car do tharl it can fit more things in future and I can park it anywhere I want to. But till car prices drop, that option is out. Hopefully can find a stroller I like ghat can fit into his car boot.

E'leen,

Thanks for the explanation on the belly button cloth. How long do we need to wrap their belly buttons?

Really tired out today cos have yet to recover from the weekend n it's the start of work week again. Will try to catch up the post another time. Meanwhile, I can't wait for tmw! Doing detailed scan. Hope to find out their gender!

christy, umm... why don't you latch more often in the 2mths or so? can intro the bottle later. but u've got to be mentally prepared and determined to bf (not to scare u)... coz NB need to feed every 2-3hours. with my #1 - the routine went like this initially: 30min latch each side coz she kept falling asleep, change the diapers, 15-30min break then the cycle starts again. after a while u get used to it though... and it gets easier [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

christine,

do take care. there's a nasty virus going around. try taking fruits high in vit C too. get more rest, work

clare> i didnt want to change initially! cos i think it seems a little silly to change car juz cos stroller cannot fit! haha i told hubby stroller can tie to the roof of the car lol.. lucky hubby insisted so we changed juz in time lor.. literally get the car then next day i hear abt the coe hike already.. heng ar..

regarding belly button.. i heard only those that are having baby boys then will pop out? mine is not popping out(having a girl by the way) but is getting smaller in the sense that cos my tummy is getting bigger, so the skin gets stretched and now belly button is almost like one horizontal slit haha

We are also waiting for a chance to change car,when my hubby get a pay raise..still waiting..waiting..hopefully before June. "p

Altáriël,my hubby also suggested to tie the stroller on top of the car!! lol

Does ur BB give u hard kicks occasionally? I not sensitive enuff to feel the flutters. But I can sense the hard kicks. And they are really frequent. Y my BB so 'rough' one. Haha

qiuen, mine too! i called him the karate bb! this bb hor, there was one time he kicked me till i say "ouch" very loud, lol! hope he don kick kick song song till burst his own waterbag later in 3rd trim can liao, :p

I've been feeling flutters for 2 weeks then 2 days ago felt more rougher kicks that can be felt from outside of tummy liao.. Hubby so happy finally he also can feel baby haha..

sometimes I will ask baby.. wat u doing inside? why kick mummy so hard? haha

Good morning mummies,

Why you all talk about food! Hahaha....Its 7.20 am, I am at staff room and all I can think about is chilli crab, cornettos as DURIANS!

About belly buttons, mine used to be quite deep, but now its almost parallel to my skin. It doesn't pop out much, they say if you having a girl, the belly button does not portrude..*shrugs*

My pregnancy line is from pelvic area to belly button, but my friend who is having a boy, hers stretches all the way to chest!

About BF, I am going to perservere all the way! I told hubby that we will take turns to feed baby, I will pump into bottle and he also feed, so that baby will recognise both and bond with both mummy and daddy. He say ok lor...hahaha...

My bb is soo cute, when I'm hungry, she will move and move and move...After a satisfying meal, I think she napping hahaha..then move again! Nowadays, its less kicks but more wave-like motions that spans from left to right..But hubby still can't feel from outside. So glad to hear more mummies feeling their little precious move inside...it is a wonderful feeling. =)

E'leen mummy! I dunno how to assemble..haha.also, my friend say to buy a steriliser, she say more convenient cos must sterilise some parts before pumping each time...She say if we dunno how to sterilise using boiling method properly, the parts can end up cracked or melted. What do you think? Steriliser expensive or not?

Syrah, can't wait to also hear the genders of your twins!

I tell ya, 2 of the cute rompers I bought arrived yesterday! Hahahah, hubby just shake head..hehe..

Oh ya, before I forget, my friend who pumps regularly in school suggests to buy lots of those cheap, but good nursing bras at Giant..Cost about $10. She bought like 10 pieces. She says once we start to BF, the milk will stain clothes and it will smell. She buy a lot then when the bras get ruined or too smelly, she will just throw away...

Christine, am so sorry to hear of your poor health. I fell sick twice also last month...Once you get better, you might want to try some of these tips that I adopt:

- Sleep at least 8-10 hours every night.

- Eat an orange or tow everyday. (people think oranges are acidic, but actually, science proves that all fruits become alkaline when they reach our digestive system. )

- Drink at least 2 litres of water everyday. I bought from Sports link the big NIKE bottle (1.5 litres) : one for sch and one for home. I make sure i finish the one in sch. Also helps prevent water retention

- Walk after a meal. Or dun sit down after a meal. Get the blood pumping and circulating.

- Practise deep breathing techniques when you wake up in the morning. about 5 minutes before you stand up. (helps in increasing O2 supply to body, prevents lethargy)

Hmmm, so far this is my daily routine. And thank God, am doing ok after a horrible 1st trimester.

Hope you get well soon.

hope all the mummies doing their scans today get positive scans and babies will cooperate! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i decided to report sick today.. sore throat until no voice liao.. going off to see doc in a while.. too bad he probably wont be able to give me antibiotics anyway [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sryah, I use it for 2mths or so. My mum encourages to use for longer, but after awhile, i'm too lazy...

Hanis, get the Avent sterilizer during promo, I got mine for about $120 at NTUC when they have bundle deal (sterilizer, formula container, bottle brush & 1 9oz bottle). Taka bb fair is around the corner!

Morning Mummies.

Feeling so tired today. The whole night I ve been having dream so my brain didnt rest at all....

Most of the mummies went for DS liao. waiting for mine next mon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi rata

me also super super tired today..haha..

was tinking whether wan to take 1/2 day go hm zzz ornot..my scan next tues...gan jiong rite

joyce, actually my gynae wanted me to do DS on next tue too de but we ask to shift forward 1 day coz next tue my hubby start his new job how to go DS. hahaha

Morning all! Hey Ratatouille... i've had the same situation as you.. been having dreams cum nightmares whole night.. didnt rest well at all.. feeling so tird...

I a a Jan '11 got a relatively new Medela Swing pump, bought 02/01/11, to let go at a discount. Have only used a few times as I am giving up breastfeeding. Price is negotiable. Do PM me for details. Pick up would be in the west.

Hi christine, sorry to hear you are sick.. try getting vit C pills from gynae if you are still unwell. i was sick for almost 3 mths even when i try to drink orange juice, water etc. Gynae says when preggie, immune system is quite weak therefore prescribe vit c for me when i saw him 2 weeks ago. cos i've seen dozen of GPs but no use.. Now im feeling much better when i eat vit c pills daily... not sick anymore! ;) no more flu/ cough etc.

im around 18weeks now but i cant seemed to feel my baby.. how does it feel when bb flutter? or is it too early for me to feel baby now?

i dun think i can baby movement yet..starts to feel gun cheong why haven't feel her yet.So happy and also envy to see that most of you here already feel alot of baby movement already. I am sure it is a amazing and touching feeling! Can't help wondering if baby is doing fine? My tummy not very big too.This is my 19 week liao. Actually i also dunno how baby movement feels like. Sometimes i feel hardening of my tummy at one side. Is it the baby??

Hi Victoria, me too.. feeling a bit gan cheong when i hear ppl saying they can feel their babies and i cant! maybe im not sensitive enough.. haa..

Hi ladies I've not felt bb movements yet too and also getting gan jeong! I'm turning 20 weeks this Sat n gg for my DS next Mon! Excited to c bb again!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm now quite concerned abt my weight gain..think over the past 2 weeks or so gained 2kg!! Altogether I've gained almost 6 kg fr pre-pregnant weight! Worried!! I didn't have MS at all but appetite wasn't gd until a few weeks ago..so scary still gain so fast!!

So how does the bb movements feel like??

tigger, i also not yet felt anything.

captain, hi 5 me too going DS next mon. wat time is ur appt?

Rataouille, thanks for ur reply =)

Joyce, i oso dun have a center line, yet! haha.. but got a slight hairy line from belly button to chest though. hairy tummy too. =P but not to the extend of those black black hairy hairy one lah.. haha..

but my white hair increased lor. anyone oso the same?

Qiuen, sometimes i oso feel hard kicks.. heehee.. but i like!! meaning he is active.. hahaha..

Victoria & Tigger, for me, i feel wavy feeling in the tummy. something like 'bowel movements' but with no fart, and no burps! haha.. sometimes i can practically see my tummy 'bounced' with the kicks.. heehee..

these few days more of feeling to fart though.. Oops!! ;p

morning mummies. Tuesday.. yawnz. woke up at 3+ last nite cos feel hungry! bad sign for weight gain [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

changing car bcos of stroller. really? lol.. btw check the baby car seat too. some models stuck between the back seat when in reclining position! so far my experience is combi (stroller/ car seat) for sure can fit into small car like swift, mazda 2 yaris.. etc.

christine, take care ah. now alot of ppl fall sick, thanks to the weird weather.

Hanis, Sterillser. i got mine Pigeon rapid sterillser at $99 during Taka sale. is a huge dustbin alike tat sterlliser all the bottles & my breast pump at one go! highly recommended.

syrah doing DS today? have fun ya. maybe is one boy one gal then u can close factory!

regards mummies no feel bb movement. no worries u will feel it soon! by end of the term, u wish u cant feel due to their strong kick n turn~

first time mom here. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

took some time to read thru the archives & finds it quite informative.

My initial EDD was in early july but the recent 2 visits confirmed that my little one should be popping out end june. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

can someone kindly add me to the table, thanks.

gynae: lawrence ang / TMC

baby gender: tbc

christy > me from senja green bto. ;p

christine > i read ur blog when i was prepping for my wedding, and happy for u to learn abt ur pregnancy. take care and dont feel so negative k. must be happy and i tink it helps for the pregnancy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: pumps.

need some advise. i was thinking to buy the pumps after giving birth (so i know whether i got supply or not). is it advisable or better to get it before?

re: breast pads & nursing bras.

does the nursing bras have size or...?

and when do we start buying & using the breast pads & nursing bras?

*sad, unlike some mommies here, me no upgrades in size [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif], only got firmed breasts*

re: prenatal classes

if wana attend mdm wong classes, must i register early?

i was thinking of registering in march *cos too early go scare forget*, will it be in time or..?

any advise?

sorry for bombarding so many questions. hehe.

Hi captain piglet & tigger

My DS is on CNY eve....i am so anxious..hope she is doing well & healthy! This is only all i wish for! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hope all ladies here baby is doing well and healthy too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Haiz...everyday i keep talking to baby...quickly let mummy felt your present! Try tap tap tummy also no response. Haiz..just can't help keep wonder when i can feel the movement of my baby...

Junez, i sometimes feel some movement and i happily tot is my baby and was like..YEAH FINALLY..but end up its gases bcos i either burp or farted shortly *opps!so i guess the movement is not baby leh. *Disappointed* although very much i wish it was!

Hi Life is beautiful,

Yes..the nursing bra got size de. I bought 3 from perfect mum(with detachable strip). Quite comfy and nice leh..good for outings and also if you like to wear stripless shirts.

Will check out the giant for cheap nursing bra & thanks Hanis for sharing the tips. I also think at home no need to wear so expensive de la...cheaper better..spoil then throw..Wonder got cheaper than $10 one??