(2011/06) June 2011

eh haha im opposite from quien and createjoy.. my hubby is the one who keep nagging at me to pack the house cos he has already tidied all his stuff and its all my crap lying everywhere now..

createjoy > no choice cuz i dirtied my clothes & hair also...

Hannis > i never been there but looks like it from the website http://www.babystudio.com.sg/ Actually both playtex and kaki bukit (baby hypermart and baby's kingdom) very near from my place - but my hubby and I agree not to shop around first cuz the baby gender not certain yet. Scully buy wrong lol

I don't have back pain yet *touch wood* but I have problem with very, very bad neck pain. Sometimes it's sooo bad I can't sleep and I got headache [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Also, I notice that my hair drops more. Not in the alarming stage yet *touch wood again* but definitely more than usual.

I'm still unsure too whether to give a full time live-in maid or part-time maid to ease out the housework. I don't want my family to depend too much on maid but i'm not sure if me and my hubby (both working) can handle the baby alone. We do have help from FIL but he's already an elderly and I felt bad if I stress him too much also.

suzie > my mum told me to get cloth diaper also. She got some second one but I think it's those old style one. This one looks very good. Where do you buy it from? How much it costs?

Hi MTB,

I have the following items to let go, pm me if you are keen..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1) 2 x BN Anakku One-way Nappy Liner @ $6/box (UP $8.50)

2) 1 x BN Pigeon Disposable Breast Pad 42pc @ $10 (UP $11.50) FOC 13 pcs + 2 x BN Kotex maternity pad

3) Preloved Children Manhattan Deluxe 4-in-1 Convertible @$80

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5049526.jpg]

the wkend is way way too short.. sighz

start of another new week and we're one week closer to full term! jiayou mummies! ganbatte!

Clare68, lucky I didn't go cycling yesterday. Followed my cousins to East Coast Park, they suggested getting the two-seater bicycle, hubby can cycle in front. BUt I was a little hesitant and hubby was really scared sthg goes wrong, so instead, i sat by the beach and read my baby books! Hehehe..I think I'll stick to walking leisurely everyday. Gynae says it willhelp with digestion, burn off calories, prevent gestational diabetes and of course, made me sleep like a baby everynight!

Of coz, hubby is not complaining..hahaha...he dun have to cycle, he very happy.

Claire (rain4days), hehe, must put both nicks cos got two claire/clare68!! Thanks for the link! I will go check it out. Actually, a good fren says she is holding back buying anything, even though she is also having a baby girl. SHe says baby girls are never 100% confirmed. I dunno, I checked with the sonographer, and he said that chances that sonographers get gender wrong is pretty slim, especially if the position of the baby is right during scanning and very clear.

Oh well, my cute rompers and dresses are arriving, and i've finally gotten my breast pump!! yaay! But I dunno how to assemble..LOL!!

Hubby says the bottles look like toy bottles! so cute!

I have a question, i read that must sterilize some parts of the breast pump each time before use. Do we put them in boiled water or should I buy the steriliser? What do you, experienced mummies, think?

Oh ya, must thank E'leen mummy...Finally met her yesterday! Hehe..hope you had a great time at IKEA/COURTS...hehe..

Morning everyone! What a sleepy morning!

Hanis, you can sterilize using hot water or sterilizer. Don't have to sterilize all parts. Don't even have to wash the tubing cos no contact with milk & the water will get into the pump if its wet... Let's arrange for a day & I teach you on how to assemble... :p Had a good time at Courts & Ikea since #1 is very cooperative... Haha

hi mummies..i went to the warehouse sales at Chai Chee Lane also..

they only got Chicco and Lucky Baby brands..

i hoot alot of stuff under Chicco eh..its frm Italy..

Electric breast pump UP$530 nw at $297..

Steriliser UP$169 nw $97..

all 40%..

even their prams and car seats are cheaper then Bb Kingdom eh..

they advised us to take glass milk bottles..

E'leen,

I was going through your list and wondering what a 'belly button cloth' is? How does it look like?? I've also been trying to find out more on glass feeding bottles too and saw that u used MoMo. Till now there's no local supplier i supposed? Do we sterilize the glass bottles the same way as the plastic ones?

Thanks for all the advices!

morning mummies. Monday ~ argh.. n less than 2 wks more for CNY!!

packing house. i gave up on nangging my hub packing up the study room for the #2 arrival & the confiment aunt to stay.. i just told him "look at my tummy, it is getting bigger!"

hanis, what brand of bresat pump u bot? manual type is able to wash everything [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

clare68, wah, u are solid manz! threadmil still.. i'm the lazy bum [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] always finding excuses to exercise.

oh ting, it sound like is a really gd deal for the chai chee lane sale ah. too bad i was taking care of my #1 who kena fever again. sigh..

gd wk ahead mummies!

hanis, u got the pump from E'leen? hehee! My bil lugged the avent pumps from US to me, nearly want to ask E'leen how to assemble but somehow i assemble the pumps correctly, whoohoo!

chilladi, i almost done with the spring cleaning. phew!

hanis, beside mothercare, there is a few baby/kids shop around like kiddy palace, mums & babes, cotton on kids, fox kids, etc. I have not shop for bb clothes yet mainly cos bb can use kor kor's bb clothings, probably will shop only for some clothings for outing purposes.

syrah - its a piece of cotton cloth with a little Velcro fastening, to wrap around bb's belly. I bought from kiddy palace & those HDB bb stores.

I'm gg online to buy the MoMo bottles this week, I broke one of my girl's bottle last week... Need to get spare for her & prepare for #2... Let me know if anyone wants to share shipping...

Hi all, i m new here.. would like to join in [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Qiuen, pls add me in =)

Name: June. This is my first kid. and expecting a boy. EDD is on 10Jun. My gynae is Dr S H Kee. Hospital: Mt A. Staying in Toa Payoh.

I did my Detailed scan 2 weeks ago. and the sonographer said i had a low lying placenta. would like to ask if is there any way to improve? or is it something to worry abt?

Junez, for low lying placenta, normally it will shift up in 3rd trim, if not, will have to go csect. I had that during my first preg, gynae advised me to avoid taking public tpt if possible (my hb was ordered to fetch me to and fro from work for few mths before my placenta shifted up during 7th mths), will have spotting on and off, try to rest and sit more if possible, avoid standing and walking too long, no overseas trip.

Thanks JJ. ok. will take note. hopefully it will shift up in time, so that i dun have to go thru C-sect. but taking public transport as in becos no seats, have to stand? does squatting too often aggravate the situation?

winnie, my scan is on the 8th feb. 3 more weeks to go! cannot go around telling relatives on CNY what gender bb is. i already dread having to explain to each group of people what is happening.

Claire and Joyce, hope your ms is better. are you eating small meals? maybe it'll help you keep your food down. i found that eating non oily soupy stuff works. i was surviving on macaroni soup with a bit of meat and veggies. and sandwiches. i rememebered even my favourite milo made me sick when i ms.

Clare, i like the support belt you showed on the yahoo.tw site. i saw some at mothercare in metro paragon but it's about 40++ (1'm bad with numbers). i remembered that tw site don't allow overseas yahoo accts to buy from tw auction. i'd like to get something like that too.

Hanis, i agree with going with the flow too. i also try not to be caught with with all the excitment of getting to look and try new things. very hard for a shopaholic to do ;p

i agree that some form of excercise helps with the pain. cos i was almost in bed the whole day of saturday and by night fall my back hurts so badly. but if i walked too much my legs feel like lead at night. LOL!

my belly actually isn't very big but my stomach makes it look so much bigger cos all squash up liao.

i saw glass bottles being sold at Robinson before (way before i got pregnant) they even come with the silicon holders so as to prevent breakage. i'd prefer to get glass ones than plastic ones (even the BPA free).

regarding latex or silicon tips. it's true that latex is natural rubber, but please note that there are people who are allergic to latex. one of my male colleagues is allergic (therefore cannot wear gloves LOL!).

Claire, i know Tangs is selling the Moo Moo Kow brand diapers for 30SGD a set. but this lady is selling at 28SGD. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?581296/4958233

comes with 2 inserts (to suck up the pee). i've also come across some in Gmarket singapore. Etsy also has some home made ones. i'm nore sure about other brands. so far i have not come across them in shops. i guess not popular cos its an investment and a lot of work. but you can find a lot of interesting info on the web.

Junez, if your placenta is low lying, it's recommended that you do not over exert yourself physically, like squatting, vigourous exercise, stand for too long. did your ob say anything?

dear mummies, how is everyone ? i have not login for some time and can't keep up with the posts.

I am wearing the medela support belt. Easier when I get up and sit down.

Lately have giddy spells and only happens at night. Any mummy getting the same symptons ?

Hi mummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I like to check on Breastfeeding (BF) matter.

I recently bought a book at the Abbott Event its on BF after reading it, we really have to take very good care if our boobs else will have lots of problem aft BFing.

I like to know some more matters of BF maybe ask the mums here who did BFing before:

Can we give 2-3 feed on BF and the rest feeding on bottle power formula to NB till 2mths old?

On the 3rd mth, can we slowly stop BF cause the 4th mths (following mth) will be going back to work.

I dun intend to pump in office cause no area for mums to pump. I have a mom in the office go around the office looking for empty meeting room to pump. Obviously cannot use the toilet to pump cause not very clean.

hi christy, regards bf. Q1, yes. normally they do it at fix time. say morning two feed is direct latch/ pumped out breastmilk. then the rest are formula milk.

Q2. yes. but do remember if u intend to stop bf when u get back to work, then u should intro bottles earlier to let them use to the bottle feeding.

no room in office, tat is a really sad news. finding a spare room all the time is really stress the mummy up! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

regards glass bottle. must handle them carefully cos they really heat up after sterillser. i use them to store my breastmilk last time. does anyone heard b4 that glass bottle tense to store up milk stain after long use?

Just recieved my Medela Freestyle. Wah. didnt expect the box to be so big. Gota wait for a day when hub is free to pick me up from work.

Regarding wrong gender during scan. It happened to my friend's sis. Gynae told her its a girl, but gave birth to a boy. poor kido had to wear pink clothings for the first year.

moon:

oh. thanks for the advice on the teats. Will try to get latex ones since made from natural products. Think to save trouble, i will just buy Nuk bottles for a start.

createjoy, clare,altariel:

i also got alot of rubbish, but once in a while i will clear my stuffs so it isnt a lot of packing for now. I also hope to be able to clear hub's stuffs, but only he knows can throw away anot. Worse is the car parts, so bulky and cant throw cos gota fix them back in future.

Next project, is to clear my wardrobe. Intend to vacuum pack and store them into boxes. Lucky mum loaning me her maid starting this friday for a week while she is away for holiday.

Junez:

welcome, will update the table later. Yippee another mummy staying in the same area as me

juz wondering, is it normal to be getting a hairier tummy? my tummy has been growing more and more tiny hairs and hubby is starting to call me 'hairy monster' in jest >.<

he said the hair-growing is probably cos of the olive oil i apply to moisturise the area.. does olive oil make u grow hair? or is it a normal pregnancy thing?

chil> Oh like that ah... my mom told me dun BF la cause she did not BF us plus if I go back to work will have difficult to break the BF on the bb.

I just need to know if I can arrange as what I mention maybe will consider BFing even not a lot I also okie.

Hmmm I am also partial worried on sore breast/infection... after reading books I a bit think "Wah so much to take note ah" Cause after deliver pain already than breast also pain dun know will go crazy or not.

JJ, its hard not to squat sometimes when i have to reach for stuff from the bottom of the cupboards. but will try not to squat. maybe sitting on the floor better yah?

Suzie, my gynae said there's nothing i can do to help leh. but he said only 3% of pregnancies, that the placenta did not move up, hence need to C-sect. So will continue monitor mine.

Regarding support belt for the tummy, is it neccesary to use?

all of u so hardworking, doing all the homework liao. Me still see see look look. dunnoe whats good leh.. heehee..

Regard milk pumps, i see alot of u buying the Medela Freestyle.. is there any difference in FreeStyle and PIS? what abt Avent? is it good? cos i saw the pumps really ex.. i oso scare i got no supply, then waste the $$ to buy liao. My hubby said get a manual one, cos its alot cheaper.. so dunnoe what i shld get.. haha..

Thanks Qiuen =)

Junez, ya try to sit on the floor bttr, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Medela freestyle and PIS diff is PIS is more on heavy suction and good for experienced mummies, freesytle is good for first time mummy or mummies who want to have a lighter load when bringing the pumps to work cos PIS is heavier. I'm using Avent since my first one, so will just stick to it cos i'm comfy with the pumps already cos i prefer avent suction then medela, hehe! u can get the manual one for a start but just be warned that your hand will be very tired after pumping.

Avent, Ameda, Medela pumps are equally good so depend on your comfy level with which brand. But don get medela mini electric pumps, they are way too noisy.

Christy, delivery pain and breast pain diff la, hehhe!

Hi Qiuen, can you add me to the table too? thanks!

Nick - Tigger

Name - Joyes

EDD - 23 June

Gynae - Dr Roy Ng

Hospital - NUH

BB# - 1

Boy/Girl - ?

Location - Pasir Ris

Altariel:

I have a hairy tummy too. But funny thing is that my armpit hair seems to be growing at a slower rate.

Junez:

read reviews that Freestyle is less powerful compared to PIS, and thus more suitable for 1s timers. But its still a personal preference. Decided on dual electric cos i intend to pump at work. Bought US set, who is about half price of SG retail price. No warranty in SG though. Few mums here are using Avent and Ameda.

JJ, Avent only got one model only rite? its alot cheaper than Medela huh? last sat, my hubby saw the prices at OG on Medela Freestyle that costs $899, then he said buy manual one and he volunteered to do it lor.. LOL!!!

Qiuen, i dun tink i will be bringing the pump to office, as its inconvenient to do it in office. no room, unless use document room. ;p somemore my office, guys more than ladies, i oso paisay to do in the doc room lor. haha. so most prob will only do it at home. haha.. i guess i will let my baby alternate between bm and formula bah..

JJ, still pain mah.. LOL

Like that I think I no need to buy pump if I dun intent to BF after I return to workforce.

Plus during NB to 2mths old only few feeds...

What u all think? No need breast pump hor?

chil, i find that plastic bottles easily stained by BM, so I changed to glass bottles after 2 months. Finds glass bottles cleaner & not oily (from BM)...

junez, avent got only one model each either manual, single pump or duo pump.

err, christy, nb need a feed every 2-3 hrs, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Junez, yes like quien said, get those US warranty set instead, save u alot. i got one set for one of my close frenz earlier, saves about $300+. Avent have abt 3 models. medela hv abt 3-4models. depend on yr usage n budget [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

E'leen, ya tat is wat i tot also. so quite surprise when my frenz share that comments.

ya, i second with chil, junez, my avent pump oso US set, saved half $$! it's even cheaper if you have frds/relatives carry the set from us to sg, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And electric pump save more time than manual.

Hi Mummies, I had finally felt my baby nudging me last Friday night and after that, I have been feeling flutters and more pronounced movements every day now! Such a wonderful feeling! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Clare, thanks for yr note on support belt, will look for one in Spore soon to standby for my aches!

On exercising, I have been taking my weekly body balance lessons at my gym which is a combination of yoga, taichi and pilates. I try not to do any poses which are too tough. Actually its not much of an exercise but it feels really good to stretch my limbs out. I have also just bought a book on yoga for pregnancy, am going to try to get my lazy bones to do more when I am at home after work or during the weekends.

E'leen: eh. i saw durians in toa payoh ah. Still none at your side? Maybe the fruit stalls stocking on the mandarin oranges first.

Oh, if buy from US is more cheaper than the sprees here? heehee.. i only know sprees is almost half the price than we get in the shops. haha.. will check it out.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

E'leen is doing the spree for Medela rite? if i buy in Apr, in time to get rite? haha..

JJ, haha.. will get a electric one.. i cant imagine i pump halfway hand ache lor.. haha..

Eleen> Cause I will be going back to workforce on the 4th mth. I only taking ML for 3 mths nia. So during the starting of 3rd mth, have to slow down the BFing process cause not going to BF anymore.

I dun intend to pump in office cause no area for mums to pump. I have a mom in the office go around the office looking for empty meeting room to pump. Obviously cannot use the toilet to pump cause not very clean.

Junez, I spree for US Avent... US Medela needs transformer for SG use so I dun bring in...

I should be posting the spree rates in a couple of minutes...