(2011/06) June 2011

oh. its normal to have hard kicks from BB ah. was thinking was it becos BB complaining not enuff space to turn around. haha

didnt get a good night sleep, light sleeper and lots of funni dreams. Previous night dreamt that my friend was telling me his wife is expecting. But a check with him, and nope, not this month.

And woke up a few times finding myself sleeping on m back. so i had to turn myself to the left again.

hi mummies, thanks for all the care! really helps to drive my blues away. i have tried taking vitamin C efferverscence drink previously but i guess when i m already sick, may not help much. however, with the rest at home, it works miraclely. think my job requires too much

talking in loud strenous voice, hence it irritates my throat too much and hinders chances of recovery.

for the bb movement, i wonder when the hubbies can officially feel all the movements clearly. My hubby happens to place his hands on my tummy when the bb kick quite hard on the tummy. my hubby was so excited about the first time he felt the bb movement! however, subsequently, the movements could not be felt easily by placing the hands on the tummy for my hubby =(

i m also eager to prep for the nursing bras, but my only concern here is when is the appropriate timing to prep the bras as our breast sizes seems to have grown so much in size as oppose to pre-pregnancy. i think this is prolly the few rare things that i like about the preg. bigger bust size lol.

I just saw a BP selling nursing bras on the motherhood forum. I find them really pretty!

http://www.mamalandshop.blogspot.com/

victoria > me too... when there's stomach movement, i can't figure out whether it's gases or baby.. :p

so i guess i will just wait patiently for 5th or 6th since most experienced mommies/websites/gynae say first time mom will feel it only then...

oh and u bought the nursing bras already? u not scare will upsize when the time comes?

christine > i have the same concerns as u over the nursing bras. btw, since it has size, that means one will need to goto the shop & try out the size before joining the sprees (so can get right size)?

glad to know u are feeling better now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dear mummies.. been mia-ing for a while.. glad everyone's fine except for some flu attacking some of us.. my flu is still ongoing, going into my 5th month of flu!! sneeze sneeze and running nose..!!

I wonder why but sometimes when I sleep on my side, I feel my tummy being stretched and uncomfortable.. is it normal..??

i felt the baby move when I was in my 16th week and until now, no more feeling.. how strange.. I am waiting for the day to feel it again..!!

A question, how do you know when to buy the nursing bra?

Hi Life is beautiful,

Actually its never in my mind to get nursing bra so early yet. Same concerns of worry of the bust size will increase over time. I intend to get normal bras becos my cup size had increase and i am unable to wear all my old bras already...then i come across these bras at perfect mum while shopping for my new year clothings...so must as well get it lo since i am getting bras anyway..i get a size bigger so there's still room for "expansion". Hopefully my bust does not grow beyond my expectation then..hehe.

Hope all mummies will recover from flu soon. I start to have very bad sore throat liao too. Hope it dun get worst!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Any remedy for bad throats? I had to keep eating fisherman lozenges to curb the pain...but not sure if it will be harmful to baby or not... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Eileen,

I also quite uncomfy when i slept on my side too...then i also felt tat my bump like shift entirely to the side after lying side way..dun feel too good loh..wonder if i will "squeeze" my baby or not. Then i tends to lie on my right side (more comfy) than my left side (as recommended)...if i turn to my left side i feel abit of pulling pain at my tummy. Dunno why also! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Quien,

Me too..i always woke up finding myself lying on my back de..it seem to be a more comfy position for me...i try to turn to my left or right..then yet..so umcomfy. Haiz...

I just called up a confinement agency, asking for more information. Their rates are not exactly cheap but I came to know that they provide domestic maids too. All their maids are equipped with infant care skills... That got me thinking about hiring domestic help again... Hmm...

I'm also feeling the movements more regularly now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but hb isn't able to do so. Whenever he attempts to put his hand on my tummy, baby doesn't move an inch haha!

Currently doing "research" on:

1) diapers

2) nappy rash cream

2) infant formula

Have you gals thought about the above and any recommendations?

E'leen > I called up a confinement agency too. Before I was given a quote, I was asked questions like,

"Do you have a maid at home"

"Does the CL have to do housework?"

"Does the CL have a bed in a room of her own?"

"How many family members are staying with you?"

An appointment was arranged to collect a deposit. In the end, my hb & I decided to give it more thought. Esp when the CL I wanted had been booked. Was also told that a CL cannot specifically be confirmed until I give birth, coz the CLs work on a rotational basis.

Moon, Wah! The one I called was direct but friendly. She didn't ask such qns, only asked if I'm a first-time mummy, when i said no then ask the age of my #1. She said the confinement nanny will help with care of #1 too... But I'm now quite tempted about getting domestic maid from them...

*wave wave* I am also a June MTB,would like to know some June mummies here.

My lau da is a boy who is 17mths old now.

Hairy tummy

Hee altariel,I have hairy tummy too!Am officially hairy monster now..samo for first pregnancy.

Breast Pump

Used PISA cos gfs recommended it,loved it to bits! I got a US set from a spree,the transformer is very easy to get n costs only $10 so very worth it!

Hi Christine, thanks for sharing the nursing bras site! I just ordered 2 to trial out! Hope they are comfortable! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Multi-Vitamins - Any mummies taking Obimin Plus multi-vits? I have bad reaction from taking this lately as my tummy will start to churn badly like 30mins to an hour later and I will vomit all my tummy contents out! It is so bad that I no longer dares to take it. What other brands of Multi-vits are u mummies taking? I need to buy a few months of supplies when I come back to Spore next week as Vietnam here only seems to sell Obimin and Obimin Plus.

victoria > pardon me for my ignorance, why is lying on left side more recommended than right side?

for me, i find lying on the sides (left or right) are more comfy then lying facing up. always feel the urge to go toilet when lying facing up. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Victoria, I had ever heard that fisherman lozenges are not good, can't remember why but I remember its not good for a regular person, let alone our pregnancy stage now. I had just recovered from bad sore throat and cough too... I took Pi Par Kao, gargle salt water and also active Manuka honey which has healing properties. I also find sleeping with a humidifier helps alot too.

wah im glad im not the only hairy monster around haha.. lots of mummies seem to have the same thing yay

victoria> i saw before tom and stefanie sell nursing bra @$9.90.. haha not much cheaper than the $10 giant one la.. but there was an old auntie there at the west mall tom and stefanie who was really friendly and gave me some tips even though i told her i was juz browsing and not planning to buy yet.. so think i will go back to her to get when in later stage.. dun think giant has anyone stationed at the bra section to help out

evvie> im taking pramilets multivit and no issues so far.. quite cheap also even though i got from gynae

re baby movements> my hubby can feel the baby kicks cos my girl kicks really regularly! i already note down all her hours that she wakes up and it is really accurate! i can sometimes tell the time by her kicks lor haha.. its like, hey she's awake! i bet its 4pm. and yup usually its about 405pm.. her timings so far are 1130am, 4pm, 6pm, 9pm, 11pm.. haha so hubby normally juz sit beside me and quietly wait for 5 mins like that can feel her kicks liao

re sleeping position> heng im used to sleeping on my left side already so no problems wif adapting.. in fact, i find it hard to sleep lying on my back.. feel like tummy is stretched until very uncomfortable

my gynae juz called me and told me to fast tonight and not eat anything after 12 midnight cos i may have to do blood test tmr when i go for my detailed scan.. AARGH!!! hate hate hate hate hate needles..

the vitamins that Dr Lawrence Ang is giving is Sunward Prenavit. Not sure whether can be bought from the pharmacies.

beautiful mum, the recommended one is to lie on the left. Sadly, I have lower back pain and feels more comfortable slping on my right instead.

http://www.5min.com/Video/Sleeping-Position-During-Pregnancy-326713004

for the domestic help, even though i m not getting any maid or confinement lady, i think it is better to research more into the reliability of the maids provided from the confinement agencies. From the previous experiences of hiring maids which the maid agencies claim that are "train in hiring old folks" , I find that these are often untrue and my aunts always end up training the maid from scratch about the care taking part. another imptt point is that even if the kids are taken care of, how about the mummy? confinement ladies are meant to specially take care of the mummies and helping in advicing the mummies on various imptt stuff like breast feeding and what to eat etc(at least this is what i assume CL are for).

maybe you wan to relook into your needs during confinement before deciding to hire a CL or a domestic maid who is trained in taking care of kids. however, if you have your mum or MIL to be around or u r an already 2nd time mummy(who already knows what to do), then domestic maid might be a more economical option since now you have an experienced "brainy" around =)

Thanks Evvie (evvie), i try to avoid eating so much now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Will try to gaggle with salt water tonight.

Life is beautiful, i am not sure leh, the book doesn't eleborate why lying on left side is better than the right lo..but it say recommeded on the left side woh..but it also say that it really doesn't matter either right or left by the way...just lie side way is better than lying with your back, becausethe heavy uterus will actually press a blood veins and will cause poor blood circulation. By lying at the side and a pillow in between our legs will benefits our baby (better blood flow to placenta and also more effcient kidneys function! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Altáriël (altariel), Oh...ok..haha..shall check out tom and stepfine then. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw detail scan need to do blood test again arh?? my gynae never told me....i tot all my blood test already all taken during 1st trimenster screening. Alamak. not prepared at all & I hate blood test!

less than 30mins to knock off! can tell my heart is floating towards home now~

nursing bra. personally no like the giant nursing bra. although cheap but their max cup size is B. make either yr breast flat / not cover all. i bot a few last time and find their support not good enuf.

mummies who wanna buy should get those hv clip on the strip instead of those button / pull down type. easier that way, esp when u holding yr bb on the other hand [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lying left side promote more oxygen supply to bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so far i find better too. can breath easier and less backache

victoria> i never hear any of the other mummies need to do blood test for detailed scan leh.. i see tmr go then wat happens then come back and report la

It's going to be a prince & princess for me! Dh & I are simply overjoyed today. Maternal instinct is really accurate. I was telling my hubby that the more active baby is our dancing queen while he insisted the quieter one is his sweet princess. Mummy's right in the end! The detailed scan took more than an hour but both of them cooperated really well. Flipped over when required to scan heart/spine. Legs opened wide when checking out gender. My heart is bursting with love for them!

Hi Evvie, I am taking obimins.. totally fine for me.. why don't you consult your gynae to give you another multi vites.. probably there is something in obimins that you are allergic to..

My boyfriend likes to look at my tummy and laughs at me that I am hairier that him!! So it is normal.. haha.. I was having some funny thoughts that the baby is cold so he needs some hair protection to keep warm! haha

So happy for Syrah.. having the best of both worlds!!!!

I have not the mood to shop yet.. maybe it might come to me in April or May.. probably some mummies who like last minute shopping can join me to buy the bras and stuff [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can give me suggestions which to buy too.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Is it true that we have to fast the night before for the detailed scan? My gynae did not tell me anything and since my scan will be on a Monday, I don't reckon my gynae will call me on Sunday to inform me...

Thanks Eileen! Although it's been a really long day but I'm still super HIGH now! HAHAHA!

RE: Tummy hair, line

Well, i have just a little hair, a darker line till navel and a faint line till chest. So guess that's how the body responds to the boy-girl combi! hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Syrah,

WOW so happy for u ?? one hr scan .. pretty long...

so were u allowed to take photo or video .

now i can't wait till 8th feb 2011. so long..

just cam back from Macau/HK yesterday, it was so cold there but still an enjoyable trip but very tired cos walked alot.

Today went for my detailed scan, bb is fine.

Qiuen,

The detailed scan cfm that is a boy cos he open his leg wide wide so can see so clearly his "birdie", hehehe.

Fancy,

For singleton it's half an hr so double the time req for mine. Nope. No photos or videos allowed. We asked. Aft the scan, they will give u a couple of pics that's all.

Hello mommies,

Sorry for interrupting, I'm an Apr mommy & i have a photoshoot package to propose to see if mommies here are interested.

Me & my hubby is running a photo studio.

We are having this idea to pull all May mommies here for maternity photoshoot, u ladies arrange one day for all who are interested to come to our studio for maternity+family portrait, maybe in different time slot, and split the cost.

The package is $1300/day (discounted). So if 10 of you are interested then pay only $130/family. Each family shoot will be around 45mins, about 30-40 best shot will be given in softcopy, with 5 touch up shots.

All mommies can do a group shot too, if the timing is right. This is fun! Also a good time to catch up with each other.

To make it more comfy for you & your family, refreshment will be provided.

You ladies see-how ok? Please update me again via PM.

For mommies who are keen to take maternity & baby new born in 2 different session, PM me also & i'll get back to you on a special rate.

Many Thanks!

Hey Ratatouille my DS on Mon is very early at 9am! Looking forward to it!

I'm now waiting to feel the bb movements...haiz...when will that magical moment arrive?

As for physical changes...so far I have not experienced any hair growth on my belly...not sure whether they will come out later on...but belly button definitely getting shallower! And sad that i'm outgrowing my 'bigger-size' normal dresses! i bought those dresses in anticipation of my pregnancy...thinking they can last me for a while...ok la...since moving into 5th month maybe considered quite a while ha!

Need to buy 1-2 more maternity wear for work...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re: baby's movement

Maybe u can try a few methods:

(1) go to the cinema (babies respond to the base tones well. Mine will start dancing when there's heavy base tones from tv now too)

(2) eat something sweet (mine responded to chocolates best n not so much of other sweet stuff)

(3) mummy having fun/feeling excitement (I first felt fluttering when playing with my fur balls. Also I recalled going on a trip to JB & telling them it's their first 'overseas' trip. For the first few hrs, the pressure on my bladder was crazy. On the way for scanning today, they were super active too cos mummy herself super excited!)

(4) going slightly hungry (mine will protest when hungry!)

These are just some of my own observations. Hope it's useful for some of u.

Hey all, something interesting happened today. I was having rashes for the past few days and i was so worried that I have to go to my gyne to check why. She said usually rashes will appear on 7th or 8th month but mine is almost 5 months only. Anyway, the funny part is that last month, we knew our baby to be a girl and today, my gyne said its a boy.. my husband seems to be very happy after hearing it though.. hahaha...

Syrah, wonderful wonderful news!!! Congrats!

Am a a little tired and cranky today. Didn't sleep well. Woke up at 1am with very very bad back ache. And I have a long day at work. =(

Hope everyone will have a better start to Wednesday... =)

Syrah, conggrats.

Captain, then we will not bump into each other since mine is at 1145am. All the earlier slots ve been booked [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

g'morning all! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

altariel > does the detail scan = FA scan or sthg? same as victoria, my gynae never say anything abt the blood test...

christine > thanks for the link, can't watch it in office, will have to watch it at home later. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

victoria > thanks for the info on having a pilllow in between the legs.. i feel so ashamed sometimes... ignorant about so many things... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

opps, and me too, also got hair but mine was there already before the pregnancy.... but now more obvious... hehe.

syrah > congratulations. twins! some more is a boy & a girl!

thanks for sharing the event, think i will pop by and look see look see if husband is free. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Clare, Hanis, Rata & life is beautiful! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

RE: support belt

Clare posted a picture of hers the other day. http://tw.page.bid.yahoo.com/tw/auction/b60067438

Has anyone in SG come across such a version whereby the velcro comes to the front? I went to a few shops but it's mostly velcro at the back instead of to the front. I really like her version more. Any idea where to find it?

syrah I am so happy for you!!! i think it is really more than just double happiness!

felinejewel, i also had rashes during the onset of my 2nd trimester. was all over from butt to tummy and even neck area. it was itchy back then but somehow now only left rash on the tummy with no itch. the rash on the tummy is a come and go thing, but i m glad it is no longer itchy like when the rash broke out initially. does you rash resembles something like the PUP rash?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pruritic_urticarial_papules_and_plaques_of_pregnancy

Mummies who carries baby boy will have a higher tendency to have this rash.

syrah i like the maternity support belt too. do let me know when you manage to find it. i will go look for it too in the meanwhile. wonder if we can like order online and mail it over.

syrah ,

oh .. no videos and photos :-(((((((((

thanks for the info - sent u P.M.

Re: Maternity support belts..

Ladies iguess regarding maternity support belt , u should try it and see and make sure u r comfortable and then buy.. rather than online.

some might look comfortable but differ when u wear it.. just my suggestion..

RE: Support Belt

I tried on the one at Momcare & Kiddy Palace. Here's what I feel.

Momcare: There's a cloth pouch for belly. Didn't like it as if tummy gets bigger, will have to get a bigger size.

Kiddy Palace: One size fits all type. But it's 2 velcro strips at the back which criss-cross to strap on. Can be a little tricky esp if reaching more advanced stage i think. Also I'm not able to secure them on very well given how the strips were to be used.

Good morning mummies! I had a bad backache last night when I laid on the bed.. Put a cushion below and I think it is too high, couldn't sleep until I threw the cushion out at 3.30am [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Have a great day!!

Was surfing gmarket and found more lobangs for the maternity bras from korea.

actually during beginning of 2nd trimester i already felt my orginal bras were all too tight, esp when we talk about the chest width. so I end up buying those Ah ma style kind of cheap bras (2 for $12 to tide through the period). When there is a need to have nice suitable bra for certain tops, I will actually turn to use bra extensions on my original bras.

urgh my itchy shopping hands feel like doing purchases of the bra online now but my logic sense tells me to research a bit more about the boobs growth during pregnancy before the purchase.

http://goods.gmarket.com.sg/gmkt.inc/Goods/Goods.aspx?goodscode=401095226&search_keyword=MATERNITY

Good to say that after a 2 good day rest, my cough and cold is now subsiding. Was so worried about developing into some chronic cough on Monday. So stressful to be so sick esp when we are carrying a baby. I feel so paiseh in front of my in laws and hubby like as though i m ill treating the baby and not giving it a best "environment" to reside in, so much that it became a mental distress for the past 2 weeks esp when i see the "unhappy" faces of my family. think sometimes it is just too difficult to put work aside and i feel indebt to my students in school at the same time. sometimes i wish i have 48 hours a day to share between both my own baby and my other 100 plus kids.

OK finally found the relevant breast growth info.

It seems that we have 2 growth period, one during the initial stage of preg and the second growth spurt will be in our third trimester. So for mummies who already have a current bigger bras to wear currently, you might want to put off the purchase of the nursing bra for the time being and get it prolly in the 8th month (week 32, third trimester starts at around week 28 if i m not wrong) of pregnancy.

http://www.ehow.com/about_5390152_postpregnancy-breast-growth.html http://www.positivelybreastfeeding.ca/learn/buy_nursing_bra.htm

Oh yah for those who might be interested in the purchase of items from gmarket, you might really wan to ensure that there are sufficient reviews that are positive under the product so that you wont end up being a "pioneer guinea pig" to try out the product esp for clotheswear. For purchases shipping from Korea, you will need about 2 weeks to buffer before you see your goods, so lots of patience is required.

Good wednesday everyone!

Congrats Syrah! you have a dragon/phoenix combi. so exciting! my colleagues and i always joke that this is the best way so no need to go through pregnancy twice.

yesterday i went into a mini depression because of a crappy lunch. so even though i didn't have any cravings, whatever i eat must taste good, or at least as good as what i had envisioned. so sad that something that i eat frequently sudden becomes crap. even my colleagues said so, so it's not just i'm fussy about the food. anyway by the time my DH came home and after i related the tale to him, tears were rolling down my cheeks. haiz. i also dunno why. all my DH could do was to hold me and pat my back. haha.

anyway i bought a cheesecake so i'm going to have a nice dessert for lunch.

hi mummies! back from my detailed scan.. didnt get to bring videos back this time but did get my usual dvd of photos shots

life is beautiful, yes it is same as FA scan

anyway, the blood test is apparently to do the fasting sugar test so that's why i couldnt eat anything from midnight onwards.. i asked whether thats the same as the GD test and they said that one is at later stage

anyway my scan went pretty well. baby was very cooperative as usual and the gynae managed to measure and found every organ he needed to.. my low placenta problem seems to have resolved itself and is no longer low so thats good.

only problem is that baby is in a breech position ie, sitting upright instead of being head down.. doc said still got time for baby to turn around on her own so no worries yet. but if by 3rd tri still havent turn on her own then might have to consider c-sect or manually turn her around

gynae did quite a few scans of facial so currently, description of my baby is as follows: deep eyes, high forehead, very smiley, long legs, a super cute little chin haha

this is a 3D shot of her acting shy right after she was juz bouncing around and grinning at us

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5061122.jpg]

Ladies..if u are interested in the support belt,I can order for u and bring back for u coz I will be back end of feb.

So can save on postage ^_^

Thanks Altariel & Christine for yr info on multivits u are taking, I will try to search for them.

E'leen, about active manuka honey, actually I saw it online that it is perfectly safe for pregnancy and during breast feeding. Only thing to avoid is to feed it directly to infants under a certain age.

Eileen, I hv both supplies of Obimin and Obimin Plus, so far I am ok with Obimin and it is the Obimin Plus which is making me puke so much. But I am just concern that the regular Obimin is not giving sufficient vitamins to my baby as Obimin Plus is packed with more stuffs. My gynae said they only hv both kinds Obimins here.. so no luck here.

Syrah, so happy for you! Wow you are going to hv the best of both world! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hairy tummy, I have a line running up from my belly button up my chest too... was telling my hubby of this being a pregnancy marker and he said wah so he is pregnant for a long time! hahaha...