Semi-solids : I remember the PD my #1 used to consult, I rem she also said that unless the baby is always hungry(some more that time my #1 need to be dream fed...), otherwise there's no need to start cereal too early. Sometimes starting too early may not do their young digestive system good.
When we brought #2 to her PD, I spoke to him regarding this issue and he told us that, in the past, it's recommended 6mths, then recent yrs, some recommends 4mths but now, it's back to later mth, so he said we could start ard 5.5mths old.
Personally, I would prefer to wait til later, so I will start abit of cereal either when she turns 5.5mths or 6 mths old...
Kaira, babies will start to lose their baby fats as they grow. My bb is also slowly losing hers too and even her weight growth has gotten lesser/slower. Her PD told us that this is perfectly normal cos the 1st 3 mths, they sleep more and move lesser, but now they're more alert and more mobile, thus the weight gain is lesser.
I've also checked back on my #1's health and noted the same 'change' too. IMO, if yr baby doesn't need 'extra' feeding, then there's no need to increase, go according to the baby's needs is more important than hving a chubby looking child, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]
Lynn, that is why I dun wanna bring my children to the polyclinic lor. Hving gone to them when I was younger, I've never never like the way they handle things and usually, for government clinics/hospitals, the doctors are 'interns' and those serving their 1st 6 yrs - residency?(after graduation). Even senior consultants at govt hospitals also one kind - we pay them pte fees and yet we hv to see their face colour. I'd rather go to a PD especially during their 1st few years(unless the fees are too tedious for me to bear lah).