(2011/04) Apr 2011

Sookie/gin,

ya from origins JAMU my therapist is Yati she is v nice I would say the overall experience is gd n the Ginger cream they use v cooling [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] alr last preg Liao so dun mind pay abit more if it gd[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sandy,

of cod I bath the very day I reach home bth sweatin manz..

Sian the 80ml is a 1 time thingy now still hovering between 60-70ml...

Gerry,

ya hope all these emo feelin go away soon..

Hippopolai,

cannot leh whole body oil dun feel like touchin my bed haha..

Argh the unit below my house havin Reno drill n knock till I headache bth..

Yolk sac,

u gd la tink I belong to the lazy mother grp lol~

st,

My gynae's clinic is at Far East de.. xD He delivers at private hospitals.. Too bad not at govt de or I can save more $$.. =X

Kurnia,

So good! Congratz! I also wanna have a birth like yours! xD Another mummy I envy si le!! Can't wait liao.. keke..

Yolk,

I think before or after, can't escape sore nipples ba.. I had sore nipples for #1 but wasn't painful though.. U mean it'll be less sore after birth? I tot it depends on luck.. Hope my #2 will be as smooth as #1 but with more M/S! xD So it's actually super tempting me to pump le.. *haiz*

I walked so much.. LS 3-4 times today already.. Backside gonna split soon.. Duno why suddenly got diarrhea also.. *haiz*.. Only thing I haven't tried is the raspberry tea cos I don't really like teas.. And pump loh..

Kunai: congrats! You did it!

Wow.. so many mummies doing it without Epi. Wonder if this will spur me on.. nah.. I’m still too chicken!

Totoro: yeah another 2007 baby!

tweety,

hehe.. Super nervous abt the b wax.. But ya, will still try at least once! xD

Vivi,

K~ Thanks!

sookie,

Let's all try together! xD I also wanna try without epi this time.. keke.. A lot of mummies give us motivation sia!

Yolk Sac

She will start with a story, followed by one song and then it will be activity part where they will paste/draw/paint etc on the lapbook. As it's only about an hr so time passes very fast!!

Those paper are really staring at me everyday and guess I need to start somewhere!!

Vivi,

I heard LS may also be a "symptom" right? I also have contractions on and off.. But super irregular and I duno how to "time" also.. I'm just hoping for the b-show.. xD

ViVi

i also have this mense cramp on and off leh..then last night when i sleep my right side was super crampy that i can't get out of bed to pee..have to ask hubby to help me out of bed then i expect him to bring me to the toilet in the end he went to sleep..

Pearly

yes mt a able to do birth cert [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

piggytoh

60-70ml very gd le. How much ur boy drinkin now?

Yolk sac

wow jigsaw puzzle tats great. My gal now even those shapes sorter oso a pro to her hur hur.

Should be some signs ba because my gynae mentioned that the body is practising.

For me I also dont know how to time so at the most it gets intense and very frequent then I think I will call the hospital and check....

sookie

Yours is 2007 as well?

My girl keep insisting that didi will be naughty and she start to say when didi naughty, what she will do ( which is basically what we have told her when she is naughty!) Really hope that I don't have a nightmare when didi is out!!

Pearly: I think I will attempt to try! Cause for #1, I took it when I was only like 0.5cm dilated. So this time round, I want to at least get pass 5cm and see how I feel. I hope you will succeed!

Sookie same sentiments I thought I would want to go past the 5cm first then till the max to take epi .... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hopefully we would be able to do so.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sandy,

Thanks! U did yours at Mt A ah?

Vivi,

I heard LS is cos body may be starting to "clear out" liao.. Or something like that.. Hope so loh!

sookie,

I took epi right after my gynae burst the waterbag and before the induce-drip.. Should be about 3cm ba..

This time is our #2! Hope we both will dilate a lot without knowing! Seems like a lot of #2 moms dilate quite a lot without knowing wor! 3cm, 4cm, even 5cm! *pei fu* Wish each other luck k! hehe.. Save the $$ to stay 1 more night or so would make me happier.. hee~

Totoro: yes 2007, born in Nov. So far, I have been “brain washing” her a bit. I even told her that she has to remember to bring the toy for baby when she visits us in the hospital and she remembers. Another way that I try to prepare her is to show her, her baby photos and that she used to be so small and also came out from Mummy’s stomach. And I also asked her if she will help mummy when baby comes out and when she asked how does baby come out or what is my breast pump for, I explain to her. I also bought this book “I’m a big sister” and try to read to her often. Not sure if she is really prepared but so far, she has not said anything about baby being naughty but I guess the test will come when didi comes out! Have you done anything to prepare her for didi’s arrival?

Vivi: your symptoms sound like you are one step closer to giving birth! Hope you are prepared! I still get a lot of Braxton hicks, but all irregular and only one episode of LS. But lots of gas in my tummy! So its.. tick tock tick tock for me.

Sookie hopefully wor... but everytime false alarm leh... until hubby and myself sian liao... your edd is just a day apart from mine hee hee

Pearly,

yup MT A can do but more ex lo... but if more convenience y not dun forget to bring all the docs ya...

Sandy,

my boi drink FM 60ml but like not enough he will try to sux more.. for BM cos less fillin i gave abt 70-80ml...

Kurnia,

CONGRATS!! wow urs is v fast for #1!!!

Pearly,

I LS quite a bit the night before delivery.. Hehe!! And when I was 5cm dilated, I still could handle the pain.. The nurse asked whether I want epi, I told her I still could tahan.. but hb just told me to take it.. So I did.. But I don't know what it would be like this time..

Part of me feel like not taking epi, but I think in the end, I would.. Hehe!!

Vivi,

soon.. I am sure you are feeling all the signs of an impending labour..

sookie

My girl chanced upon her ultrasound photos just before I realized I'm preggy with number 2. So she roughly know the process and what happen and knows that didi is inside my tummy! During the last school outing, her classmate didi was present and she proudly bring me over and tell her friend's mummy that she has didi also but still inside mummy's tummy!! She knows that she is going to be the big jie jie soon.

Regarding the toys, I thought we are supposed to buy for her from the 2nd one instead of the other way round? I know she is quite possessive with her toys and sometimes will said that the toy is hers etc!!

I think I lost my temper a few times with her hence she has these naughty didi thoughts in her!! hiaz

sookie,

Ya! They give me hope! Another mummy who dilated fast without knowing is dreamysprings also.. Shopped till 5cm, I think! keke..

piggy,

Yup.. Will definitely bring.. Ar bo hubby headache.. keke.. Thanks ya!

Gerry,

Wahh.. U're another mummy giving me hope~ keke.. I so wish my LS so many times today is a sign! My hubby is so jittery these nights.. Every night will whatsapp me and check.. Cos he's working night shift mah.. =X I also wish I can pop now so he can just start his leave liao la..

I remember for my #1, right after bursting waterbag, the cramps were bad.. I remember feeling only 1 wave then asked for epi liao.. haha.. So now, I can't really recall how it feels like liao.. But the "cramps" and BH I feel for #2 is much much stronger and similar to that time ba.. I hope I can tahan also!! Not so much to be "proud" cos all natural but cos can save $$.. Haha.. But then again, I'm not gonna pressurize myself over this also.. xD

Kurnia

Ladies, is it true that LS may be a sign of labour??? i've been having tummyache and been running to the toilet since yesterday evening... this morning also and now getting slightly better...

tmr will be my gynae appt and will be doing CTG... part of me hope that bb wants to come out now, part of me hope to enjoy a bit more before he comes out to rob me of my little bit of freedom [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ST,

hahah i wher got active only a few post from me if u notice... keke.. aiya the reno work makin me headache v hard to sleep-_-

Totoro: I was told its best to do it 2 ways. She buys for didi, didi buys for her. Oh yes, I remember ST told me when your #1 visits you, make sure you are not cuddling the baby i.e. put baby in cot. But I must say, she is so smart to know what is an ultrasound.. mine did not know. But I did bring her once to my checkup. Yah I know what you mean.. my temper also very short now with her and the last thing I want to do it to make her think its because #2 is coming out. So I try to give her lots of kisses and hugs in the mean time.

Jtho: yah I feel the same way. Want baby to come out yet at the same time not really! Hahaha we women are so hard to please.. as how my hubby would say.

Pearly,Jtho,

Yup, LS is a sign of impending labour.. I was reading "What to expect when you are expecting" and they say in the 9th month, we tend to get more LS, as it is the body's way of clearing out before delivery..

Well at least for me, that was my first sign before going to the more serious cramps.. Although mine happen all in 1 night!! Hehe!!

Pearly,

Ya don't pressurize yourself.. if you need it, better take it cos it's impt for the mummy to be comfortable..

Piggy,

Oh no of all times, reno now.. Better rest whenever you can.. Ask you, you only started the massaging session today?? So that is 5 days after delivery right?

Pearly

no wor I gt my hb to go down ICA do the birth cert [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hehe support u go w/o epi [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Another breastfeeding tips which I find would be useful for mummies who want to pump..

Establishing and maintaining milk supply when baby is not nursing

By Kelly Bonyata, BS, IBCLC

It is important to express your milk to establish and maintain milk supply if your baby is not nursing at all or not nursing well. By expressing, you will also have your milk available to feed baby - every bit of moms' milk that baby gets (even the tiniest amount) is like liquid gold.

When should mom start pumping?

If baby does not nurse immediately postpartum, mom should begin pumping within 6 hours of baby's birth -- starting early makes a difference for future milk production.

How much milk should mom be pumping if baby is not nursing?

Aim for pumping 750-800 mL (25-27 oz) per day by 7-10 days postpartum. If you have twins or higher order multiples, aim for pumping 800-950 mL (27-32 oz) by 14 days postpartum.

It's useful to evaluate mom's 24 hour pumping output at 10 days. If supply is borderline (350-500 ml / 11-17 oz) or low (less than 350 ml / 11 oz), then galactagogues (prescription meds or herbs to increase supply) or other interventions should be considered.

The research tells us that milk production at 2 weeks is an indicator of breastfeeding outcome, so it is important to get a good start. Even if milk production doesn't start out well, however, don't get discouraged--many moms will see an increase (even as late as 9-15 weeks after birth) if they continue with regular pumping.

How often should mom pump?

8-10 times per day: Until supply is well established, it is important to get at least eight good nursing and/or pumping sessions per 24 hours. Ten sessions per day is better, particularly if you have twins or higher order multiples.

These sessions don't need to be evenly spaced, but you should be nursing/pumping at least once during the night in the first few months or anytime you notice a decrease in supply. Avoid going longer than 5-6 hours without pumping during the first few months.

When pumping during the night, milk yield tends to be better if you pump when you naturally wake (to go to the bathroom or because your breasts are uncomfortably full) than if you set an alarm to wake for pumping.

If you are having a hard time getting in enough pumping sessions, adding even a short pumping session (increasing frequency even if milk is not removed thoroughly) is helpful.

How long should mom pump at each pumping session?

If baby does not nurse at all:

The first few days, before mom's milk comes in, hand expression is often the most effective way to express colostrum. Double pump for 10-15 minutes per session for additional stimulation.

Once mom's milk is in, pump for 30 minutes per session, or for 2-5 minutes after the last drops of milk.

If baby nurses but does not soften the breast well

Double pump for 10-15 minutes after nursing.

Empty the breast as thoroughly as possible at each session. To ensure that the pump removes an optimum amount of milk from the breast, keep pumping for 2-5 minutes after the last drops of milk. Use breast massage prior to pumping, and massage and compressions during pumping to better empty the breasts and increase pumping output.

Additional tips

Rest & relax as much as possible.

Skin-to-skin (Kangaroo care) can make a significant difference in pumping output.

If double pumping is difficult to coordinate in the beginning, then single pump, alternating sides. Move to double pumping as soon as you can.

Avoid any medications that might interfere with milk supply (hormonal birth control, pseudoephedrine, ethanol/alcoholic beverages, bromocriptine, ergotamine, cabergoline)

If supply is not increasing as expected by 7-10 days after birth, consider the use of galactagogues. Fenugreek, metoclopramide (Reglan) or domperidone (Motilium) can be helpful for increasing milk supply.

Jtho,

At least that was what happened to me.. But LS is a sign of labour coming.. Just like a show.. Could be a few days to weeks? Hehe!! No gurantee.. Remember how at the begining, we preggies tend to be constipated, well now I guess there must be some sort of hormone shift to make you want to go toilet more often.. to clear the bowels.. so that when bb make grand entrance, they wouldn't see your poop.. =) But I also can't imagine giving birth when I am seriously constipated either..

Hippopolai, Vivi & SY,

it was great meeting up with you ladies.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks for all the advice and tips!

Kurnia,

gerry

thanks for your sharing... sigh, though it's my 2nd pregnancy, but due to 1st try for natural birth, i become like a first time preggie... hahaha

vivi,

hahah i hope so ... else sibling rivalry can be a headache...

Jtho,

no tink will stick to 5days dun like to feel sticky durin confinement more massage can come after confinement... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gerry,

ya lo now havin migraine... n it will only end end of the wk zzzZZzzzz....

Hi Mommies!

I brought my girl out for lesson and came back and realise I have alot of new friends in FB! Pardon me if I am confused over who is who hor! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thank you to all who have added. My email is lotti at anigned dot org [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pearly,

I head that eating spicy food like curry and nipple stimulation or err sex can help induce labour. I suggested that to elmo and she pop the next day. But I don't think she tried the methods!!

piggytoh

How many sessions did you take? Tummy all gone ler?

Did anyone try the nursing tea from Origins Jamu? Any reviews?

Kunai

congratulations!! Take care and rest well!

Wow so many moms deliver without epi huh? I'm chicken leh. Contractions are soooooo painful!!

Mummies.. My poor boy was admitted into KKH this afternoon due to high jadiuce. He had to stay there for at least 1-2days.. Really can't bear to let him stay there alone but I guess there is no choice  when the level is so high..

Though my boy now have to b there but i'll b there to be with him & settle my pumping prob.. 

Was suffering from bad engorgement prob for the past 2 days.. Today @ KKH, the nurses was v kind that upon knowing that I got engorgement prob, they on the spot assist me in my engorgement prob & help me pump out.. My supply super pathetic lo.. Haizz.. The nurses were v encouraging that telling me not to give up, try to clear my milk ducts & the supply will come in soon.. So they suggested that I go down KKH Tmr to pump & oso stay with my boy to ease the anxiety of boy boy not with me.. Found the suggestion v gd so Tmr I will b @ KKH to learn on how to do/increase my pumping & oso b with my boy boy.. 

Gin : thanks for the add ! welcome to our grp.. though i jus joined recently too.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kurnia : congratss !!! :D

em' still waiting to visit the gynae this coming thurs for my 36 weeks scan.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mrs Chua

Jia you since KKH nurses is helping you with the bf problems I am sure you will be well taken care of. Gervaise will definitely be ok... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

piggy,

thanks for sharing.. think i'll also bring about 10 pads then..

Gin,

no worries, Marriage cert must be original (that is the info i got from the hospital)

As for doc's letter and blood test results, is something you need to bring to the delivery suit when you admit (this is prepared by your doctor)

Yolk Sac

no, blood test result is not to claim from Medisave. only those receipt that you have paid during your visit to your gynae, then is for Medisave.

Yolk Sac/Lynn/Hippo

As for the blood test result, i'm not very sure also what is their use. I only know that it is required when you admit for delivery and moreover the blood test result is prepared by my clinic. They put the result together with the doc's letter into an envelope and ask me to bring along when i admit for delivery.

Michelle,

I'm not sure about TMC, maybe you can check with your gynae about this

Jtho,

wow.. your EDD is 21st April and you are on ML starting from 4/4/11?... so early?

pearly,

yes, birth registration can be done at Mt A

Kurnia,

congrats on your smooth delivery.. have plenty of rest and take care before your moo moo starts.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gin, i din get to try any of ur methods. But i think walking alot helps! I've been walking lots for e past wk.. Then pop le! Gor gor like got 6th sense of me popping. Fri nite he was asking me suddenly. Didi come out already? Then Sat morn i contraction liao! Miss my #1 now. He's with my mum.