(2011/04) Apr 2011

Master Joe,

Can help me check which date is good for setting up baby's room, including assembling the baby cot? Had asked my fren to come and help my hubby on 19/03, thinking that it should be a good day since it's the 15th (lunar) but was told that it's actually not good leh..... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

pink,

if u ask me i rather wait for 1 i feel comfortable with den anyhow get 1 i dun like den end up gotta change again[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but if u tink u cant cope without help den maybe u try to look ard la come in later better than none mah..

piggy: too many factors to consider... coz right now I can't decide if I cope with the baby. Housework wise I can still get part timer to help a few times a week. Once I get the maid I have to commit for 2 full years... I don't know if I'll end up appreciating the help or feel more miserable. Get what I mean?

Pink that sounds like another idea since you are going to have a CL. It will give you some time to look around more. Alternatively have your CL for 2 extra weeks so that she can take care of baby while you train the maid.

Gerry, your gynae appt should be right ie 2 weeks from 34-36 weeks. by right my last appt was to be 2 weeks but it was 3 and told me my next is weekly. Think he got confused ESP since i don't exactly see him on start of the week. Alamak I forgot to ask him if baby is engaged but luckily he is still down. Tried to take a pic of his face but again his hand was covering his face.

Pink,

i get wat u mean i dun like maid also tt y i dun bring maid home if i can dun afford to work i be happy to go without maid cos like my previous maid so much prob argh~ but hor maid no need to commit 2 yrs leh even if u chose to terminate earlier u can do tt...

sookie+ piggy: yah, I'm considering if I can get CL for 2 months if I need, and if I can handle the baby on my own with some help from my Mom or MIL, then I don't need a full time maid. Very stressful if she's incompetent and I have to take care of another person. Housework wise 2 adults and 1 baby doesn't seem like that much work. Or am I very wrong to say that?

I just have no confidence to take care of Parsley alone without any help at all. So lost and stressed... Both sides parents cannot commit to helping. What is going to happen?

Pink,

it not abt the amount of housework but the attention n time u need to gave the baby... maybe wat u can do is try to learn as much from the CL as possible n try first? sumtime it takes time to built up the confident...

piggy: yah... don't know if i can cope. If I don't do any housework and just focus on the baby, it shouldn't be so bad (But I won't know, u see. How fussy can she be?)

Pink,

no wor cos my previous maid ask for termination be4 2 yrs so i ask them actually they can do tt they say yes they have the right to request so same for us.. but i dunno if tt applies to all agency la..

Sookie,

Oh is it..last time my dr didn't seem as kan cheong as now.. So I am also getting worried.. Hopefully by this week, my bb will turn..

Yoti,

My dr is worried too.. Not because the bb is supposed to turn by a certain time.. But cos if I do ( touchwood) go into early labour and if bb not turn, it can be dangerous.. There's an increase risk of cord prolapse..

Pink,

ya i get wat u mean actually if u can tahan let her cry it will be easy in fact the best way to train them is the ignore them n let them cry so they know cryin does not help but of cos not cry until whole face red la mus see how it goes..

Gerry: since that's the case, then u got to try and walk less and rest more... prevent urself from going into early labour? If not, will your gynae suggesting inducing you earlier so that it will be safer for u and baby?

Pink,

Ya I supposed I should reduce activity.. But I really feel guilty like I cannot do a lot of things with Lisa.. But some people also tell me that walking might help bb get into correct position.. My dr has not discuss any options with me. I asked her what happens if bb don't turn.. And she just tell me wait and see..

Ok.. Try to rest more.. =)

My friend is a sahm. And she cares for her boy all by herself.. Hb will help if he isn't traveling.. And she is managing everything by herself.. It's possible..

Maybe once you get more confident with handling little parsley, you don't really need a stay in domestic worker.. Just learn as much as possible from cl. I think the toughest time would be the first 2 months.. A weekly cleaner will be good enough.. And occasionally mil and mom can help while you get some rest and have some ME time.. =)

Oh yes I'm done wif my hospital bag. Reali thanx to tweety's pic [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] not for her pic I won't do it

Vivi

r u the 1 who got the pj frm chinatown? which part huh?

Piggytoh

u mention there is a brand of nursing bra which is of a cheaper range what is it call? Is it frm JL?

Pink

mayb u can try out w/o maid 1st? Since u deciding on havin 2 mth CL y not at least wif these 2 mth try to pick up more frm her? Durin #1 time me oso no helper to help me for the 1st 6 mth n lagi best is hb onli wif me for 1st 2mth aft tat I handle my own n I know nuts abt handling a bb cos nv learn frm cl n hb is the 1 doin it all the while but I manage to survive hehe. I support u try to take care of parsley rather than havin a maid if she is gd no pro but not gd will b a headache for u.

Vonn: My husband's company insurance covers pregnancy expenses. Can't imagine paying for Dr L out of my own pocket, he is really pricey. But I've recommended him to friends who pay for him, they feel he is worth it.

Gerry: Yes, apparently the tea tones your uterus muscles. Toning can = contracting! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink: Aiyoh your helper woes are reminding me that I haven't briefed my new one properly yet. Relying on first helper to teach second helper so far. Sigh. Been really busy at work, no energy at night. Guess I should sit down and do the checklist/schedule of chores soon.

But I rather revise my Gina Ford!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Would like to check with you what's the average massage time like for post natal massage. I found a massage lady who massages for 1 hour at $40 an hour. Is 1 hour too short?? How many sessions usually will be good?

Piggy,

Ya lor, now when i turn from one side to another, got so much difficulties with the weight in front. U use extra pillow to tilt up ur back or juz to support ur tummy from pressing when u slp?

Tweety,

Sorry i can only cfm with u next week coz if last min boss wants mi to do things, i may need to work OT. Then dun tnk can mit u gals.

Tml will be a busy day for mi, thus may not come in to chat often. Good nite!

yesterday didn't log in so didn't read all the posts!

went for my gynae appt. nurse asked me to sign an Addendum for VBAC, after reading the Addendum, i was freaked out with the words on it... so now feeling vexed about whether i should go for vaginal birth or not...

discussed with my hubby, family members and close friend, they are supportive of me to go for c-sect.

however, my gynae is very pro-natural, i must say... she was even telling me that baby is STILL head down which makes it less complicated for vaginal birth...

sigh... now i'm very lost... if VBAC, the risks are on baby... that's why i am quite reluctant to take the risks... i rather have a longer period to recover than to cause any harm to the baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

morning ladies..

FUngfung,

i tried but no use cos my ache is more on my hip not tummy[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jtho,

i tink ur gynae would be in a better position to advice u? most imptly if she is confident n if u r comfortable? if u r not comfortable can always go for c-sect[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning mummies.. Mid day of the week Le, Jia you!!!

Lynn & Tweety.. Update on thermometer. According to rach (organizer), 1st batch of thermometer had already reach vpost so 2nd batch shld b reaching in abt 1-2weeks time. She did nt specifically say ours under which batch I think roughly 2nd batch. So if nothing goes wrong, we will receive our items b4 apr [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good Morning!!!!

On leave today but Terry had fever last night... But morning jumping like monkey aldy... Wonder I'll b able to go shopping later... Feel lazy to go out, my body so cui.... Lols....

pink, just do what u think u'r comfortable with... If u need help, come to us... Although we are not those expert but still able to assist you with Parsley!!!!

Moon, don't call me master Joe lar... I call that for fun de.... Wahahahaha... Later reach home I check for u ok, just finish marketing now going back....

Jtho, yeap. Talk to ur gynae, if she is conidence and she able to give u confidence, y not?

piggy

ya, will let gynae advised again in 2 weeks time after another growth scan...

i am also doing research online to weigh the risks of VBAC vs repeated c-sect...

hippopolai

yup, i have a feeling that my gynae is very confident of VBAC. anyway, will see how it goes after the next growth scan...

hey, u want to go taka baby fair? i'm on leave today also cos it's my son's bday. but bad mummy wants to go baby fair so left my son at babysitter's place :p

but will pick him up after his afternoon nap, around 4pm, then bring him go n pick his papa and go for dinner...

Jtho,

ya since still got time jus wait n see how ?

actually i find it jus a procedure to sign tt kind of docs cos like we take epidural we also mus sign sumthing to acknowledge the risk so most imptly is whether u feel confident? n if u trust ur gynae? anyway take ur time dun pressure urself ya[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jtho, hahahahaha.... Ya, planned to go taka fair... But I'm on standby mode wor... My son had fever last night but this morning jump like a monkey aldy.. Wonder what happen to him... Aldy told the teacher to watch him out, anything give me a call... If u dun mind I might need to leave half way, LET'S GO!!!!!

Calling for Parsley's mom!!!! Come come!!! We gO together!!!! Splurge ourselves some nice food!!!!!! Leave ur maid issue behind 1st!!!!!!!!!

morning!!

Jtho, Happy Birthday to ur boy!!

I wan go taka fair!! But I had most of the things le and need to work [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hello good morning ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hippo my bunny gal's name is 玮恩. All the rest of the wei cannot make it only this one can. So will be using. Anyway when I just googled the wei, wow this wei has a nice meaning.

http://www.chinese-tools.com/tools/sinograms.html?q=%E7%8E%AE

Hmm Sandy I bought my PJs in TPY front button dress kind about $7. Chinatown People's Park on level 3 there are also a few shops selling. In fact I just bought 3 sets of front button, sleeveless Pjs in shorts kind for my confinement. My hubby cannot stand me wearing tatty Pjs liao so he said in order not to let the CL thinks that he is ill treating so we went to buy.

Pink if you intend to extend the CL must let agency know earlier in case they cant get you the same CL...

Me went for check up yesterday.... Had the Strep B test and they also tested my blood for anemia and sugar.

Bunny gal is 2.5kg liao and gynae says she is no way small. We also discussed about birth plan and she gave me a piece of paper which contained all my information in case I need to be admitted urgently. PD is fixed, Dr Low Kay Tzey I think.....

Gynae encourages epidural wor....

elmo/tweety, yeah next wed meet up at tpy 7pm? i'm ok. but i seldom check the thread. tweety will sms u my contact. update me via sms can? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning ladies

Jtho happy birthday to yr son.

still got time to consider, see wat yr gynae say on next appt, dun be too worry

i also wanna go shopping & eat nice food [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i left 2weeks to clear mt works sianzz & i dun thk i got strength to walk. really peifu u girls.

recently weekend if go shopping, walk abt 1hr my hip jiu pain & very tired

G'morning ladies..

I also want to take leave and go taka fair!! Sigh.. But work seems to be piling up.. Arghzz.. I think they want me to do as much as possible before I pop.. =(

Jtho,

Mary Rauff is very pro natural and I think you have the most experience dr at NUH.. Just talk to her but I somehow feel that she will still be veering towards vbac..

Ya agree with piggy that all these consent forms have to list ALL the scary risks.. Legal issues!!

Oh and Happy Birthday Olivier!! =)

Vivi,

Some dr like to encourage epi cos it really helps to reduce the stress of some mummies!! Haha!! And plus I know an anaesthtist friend who complains about moms who are trying to be hero and end up whining and crying for epi later only to find out that it is too late..x_x

mrs chua: no problem.. u update me again.. =)

avocado: smsed you already!!! will update you through sms.. =)

jtho: happy birthday Oilver!! =)

vivi: good news... bunny girl has a good weight.. =)

thanks mummies for the encouragements n bday wishes for my boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hippopolai, wat time u wanna go? ok, u contact me via my mobile. i'll pm u my mobile now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink,

even thou it is my #2, i am also thinking whether can i take care everything on my own during day time?

it will be a test for me during Maternity before i decided to take long term no-pay leave.

i know is possible for some mummies but for me...i m a lazy and sleepy mummy.

taking care of a bb means 24hours attention. no leave, no leisure time, nothing. worse then working full-time. it is y i gave up during my #1 and let my mum to take care then i go back to work.

during tat period, hard to get a breath. especially if the baby is active one. but usually all babies nowdays are very active and they know how to manipulate us instead of us control them.

during my maternity for #1, night feed, i forced my hubby to wake up to feed. tat is very bad of me. but i really lack of sleep. when he need to drive the next day to work. and caused him late for work everyday.

so actually if can afford, a helper may be good to a sense, at least u can get away for while to breath when u and bb are alone.

but same as u, i dun like a helper around in house walking ard.

anyways just my 2 cents.

whahah i packed the hosptial bag yesterday too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

one thing done

Pink

for my case at first i also don't want maid but cos have to forgo 50% of the loan which is around $1500++ i decided to carry on lor..

so now u either wait for new bio, or change agecny or go without a maid.

Jtho

happy bday Oli!!

those gg TAKA today do update us [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vivi, bunny girl has a nice name!!!!! I know this wei coz this is my sister name also... Hahahaha....

Jtho~ U got mail~~~ Me set off from home ard 10.30 I think then reach there before noon... Shop liao can come back prepare dinner mah... Provided my son CC din call me up lar... Hahaha...

Hppy birthday to Olivier!

jtho: joyeux anniversaire to olivier! hope you have a great day. don't fret about the vbac - as piggy said, the doctors need to list down all the scary possibilities, however remote, to cover themselves because of med negligence suits. but many many women have done vbacs without incident. anyway, dr R is so experienced, she will know if you need to change course to have a c-sect on the day. you're in gd hands!

Vivi: Those PJs are great! You'll find they really come in handy. I practically lived in my bf-ing PJs (as I call them) during the early months.

Hippopolai: Ah, so fun! Taka fair! Wish I could go. But so much work to do....shop more on our behalf!

Pink: My 2 cents - get the helper and hope for the best. Don't have overly high expectations. See her as an assistant of sorts to do basic things - keep the house clean, mop, wash windows and surfaces, wash clothes, wash and sterilise your breast pump parts/bottles, fetch you drinking water. If you really have misgivings now, trust your instincts and don't get the helper - but you should at least bring in a part-time helper to do the major cleaning and ironing etc. I know a good local lady who charges $50 for 4 hrs. Very very reliable and thorough. Email me if you want the contacts.

Anyone doing perineal massage? Been doing abt one week. At first quite painful but I'm learning to relax more. Gonna start with the epi-no soon - argh, nervous!

Pink: Doctors generally say that for first time mums, the bb's head becomes engaged about two weeks before his/her arrival date. But this is a general rule. A friend (first timer) was told her bb wasn't engaged so not to expect to deliver soon, but two DAYS later, her water burst and out came bb.

Gd morning,

Today had a foul mood early morning coz ytd was my 5th wedding anniversary but Hubby show nothing so sad .... (Sob sob he didn't forget e day but just show nothing ) n worst was throw out my dinner ard 7plus was hungry ard 10plus but ren till this morning wake up than eat ....

Pink,

I would suggest u take a maid first than slowly train her nobody is perfect ..... I got 1 friend only let e maid handle housework n prepare food only when she can't cope than ask e maid to help w bb .....

Hippo,

I going taka bb fair too .... But meeting my gf for lunch maybe might be able to spot me I be wearing black top n blue skirt ....

avocado, next Wed tpy dinner 7pm onz! Maybe i join u all after my appt. Then ask hb to go home 1st.. else he's like so BORED there... :p

I also feel like taking leave to go gai gai! Who wanna go ktv? hahahahaha!

yest leg cramp again and woke up 2x to pee... and had alot of funny dreams.. so i'm soooo tired this morn.