(2011/04) Apr 2011

I got new set of biodata from agent liao but only one maid to

choose. Agent says the rest either got altitude problem or ask for high pay. Feels like she's not giving me much options lor. But I'm also abit tight on time, can't wait ard much longer.

Piggy/ ST/ those with maids: any suggestions?

Pink,

actually my 1st maid also got limited selection as i dun 1 transfer 1.. actually for me as long as the look not irritating the rest wait for her to come den can judge really depend on luck so if u ok with the face no harm try first?

u pay the agency fee alr so if change agency ur fee will be forfeited rite???

ST,

cos hor like TCM n gynae on certain things they got difference view so as long she is a trained n certified ML i am ok la cos even those runnin business also say can mah... n so many ladies massage till pop also..

Andrea,

You really lucky.. Sometimes I wish my MIL would fight to look after my bb!! Haha!! Now it is only my mom who is taking care of my girl while I am at work so can be quite tiring for her..

St,

Wah.. that's dangerous.. somemore it is motor.. very unforgiving..

Pink,

How come this agency like that.. Not much choice.. So how's this maid's biodata?

pink, my neighbour fren, I think is maid agent.. from Philippines.. tht day she told me she can help me to find good ones..

pink

u try to see if u can take back the full amt of the loan fee first..

that time i wanted to change my current agency cos super pissed off with them but then i can only take back 50% of the loan payment so LL have to stick back to them..

last time my SIL changed agency cos not much choices too..she took back 50% also then she went to other agency

piggy

actually hor those freelance ones i never asked if they are certified ML leh kekek

Gerry

ya that is why hubby say now he need to sleep i say ok lor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

actully my hubby was saying not sure if #1 will be neglected after #2 is out..i was thinking will it be the other way round LOL

hahaha Master Joe, that time you check for me le. U gave me 3 dates i think. :p

tweety, ok change to next Wed then. Then jio more TPY ppl ba. vivi, jsl, avocado?? ;) ;)

piggy, tummy not v low yet. But can see it's lower than last wk.

Sandy, ok. You just sms me when u collected ba. Thks!

She got 2 kids, one 16 one 14, worked in SG for 1yr 5 months before with Indian family in a Meyer Road condo. The employer's contract ended in SG so she was sent back to Philippines also.

ST: I paid the agency fees liao leh, if change I got to forfeit everything I think. Sigh.......

ST: ok..coz i needed somebody more experienced mah. at least can cook without my supervision and help out with the baby. I hope an older one will be more mature too. Not like my last one... a little bit cry a little bit cry

andrea: I didn't check, coz not sure if the quality will really be that much better, plus already quite shiong paying for alot of expenses. Don't think wanna add on to the burden liao

Last few nites i already keep thinking if we shld sell our house and buy a smaller place. but now no point, property prices so high. And with a baby in tow, so hard to move house.

pink, for me, my worry is tht she nvr worked for a chinese family before.. but her good point is tht her children is older, she wont keep thinking of them compare to those who has younger children. for age, depends whether u can accept or not..

pink,

the age is fine.. at least she wouldn't be too whiny.. and has worked here before.. when she was working with the indian family, did she have to look after kids??

andrea: if the age means she's more mature then I'm ok lor... haiz... how to tell a person's character from looking at biodata? Cham liao lor

So this one looks ok u all think?

pink, andrea,

actually i find indian families esp with kids can be even more picky than chinese.. at least more picky than me!! Hehe!! My maid's sis works for an indian family and they are very fussy with how she deals with their kids..and she has to take them to playschool and all.. and plus they don't eat meat!! so she cannot eat too!!! Aiyoh..

but pink, this maid seems robust.. hehe!! My maid has 2 young children but she is ok with them being apart.. haha!!

pink

u check with the agency if can take back all a not lor..cos not much choices too meh..

for age also depends if they can tahan taking of bb day and night and still have to do housework in the day..for my my first maid is 35 yrs she got not much stamina...

for 2nd one 23 yrs old but steal $$ and run off..

so really hard to say leh

pink

biodata is never 100% the truth de..so depends on ur feel and don't rush if there aren't much biodata and ur feeling for this maid is not quite comfortable leh..

Pink,

What do you expect from her in terms of looking after baby?? You must make it clear to her if you do decide to hire her..

For me my maid is to do housework and to play with my little girl when I need to do something.. Other than that, like bathe, put her to sleep.. I would prefer family to do it lor..

I would try out first lor if there isn't much of a choice.. HOw much is she asking??

ST: [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I know.. but i'm only 3 weeks away from baby's arrival [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] very stressed now if I still wait around =(

pink

u go ask her see can take back how much loan first..and see if u and your hubby comfy with her a not lor..

else just take and see how..it's all abt luck

and what Gerry say u need to tell the maid before hand if she is ok to take care of NB..some maids see NB don't dare to carry de

gerry: hope that she can competent enough to help out with daily chores like changing diapers, bathing etc etc lor. In case I need to run out for short hours to settle some stuff, I will try to leave a family member around to supervise and help out but she has to know how to do it bah.

ST: the last one also claims she is ok to take care of NB lor, but ended up when she saw a soiled diaper she siamed far far far away~~~~

if i change agent now, also tough... have to restart everything and find out our needs again. I think too late already

Looks like I don't have much of a choice

Pink,

Ya I think you don't really have much of a choice.. Like what st said, it really is just based on luck.. Hopefully this one is better than your first..

So u must make all these clear to her when she is here.. *fingers cross*

hi girls!

back from my gynae appt. baby at 35 weeks and 5 days is around 2.4-2.5kg. average, which is good! but but.. i put on 3kg in 3 weeks! Sigh. so now, i have put on 11kg already and I still have a month to go. no wonder my clothes are getting pretty tight. sure will put on more than my #1.

Thread moves so fast.. unfortunately, life at work is still busy so i don't get to participate as much as I would like to, unless my boss is not at her desk.

Pink: I think you also have not much of a choice. i agree you should let her know your expectations from the start and provide her with a schedule. and if you are worried about leaving her alone with the baby, maybe u might want to install a camera which you can track when you are away. maids are really based on luck. so just try your best and if really don't work out then maybe you can decide to change agency after this.

Piggy: prenatal massage can massage stomach? i thought that would trigger contractions?

What happened to Kai Lee's baby? Not sure if I missed that posting.

Pink.. 29/3 gd date ah? Din know wor. Anyway I prefer to let my boy choose his own bday. Even if he decided to come out on 31/3, same as his daddy, I oso ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] already told hubby, that is my best bday present for him this yr le to hv our dearest boy having same bday as him hehe

Sookie, I sent u a msg on Facebook ... U check yah.

I'm also hitting 11kg weight gain. Parsley weighs 2.55kg at 35 weeks 3 days.

Thanks for all the advice Mummies. Guess I have to go along with this one n see how it pens out.

Tweety.. I cannot confirm tmr dinner now.. If I'm going, hubby will b joining us, is it ok? U msg me ok? Cos I dun think I gt time to come in here chat the posts.. Thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Piggy.. I like the idea of bringing all our babies out after birth. Would b great man hehe..

Pink

can interview wif her thru phone or face to face? Mayb list a few q u wanna ask her c how she ans u. Like mine current de I nv get to do so till she come to my Hse we ask her q she donno how to ans n handle the situation wherby I c my previous de when she transfer out the employer call up n interview thru phone I was wif her she is able to ans their q very nicely. Although she love ans back but still I like her s she can handle my gal very well.

I nv go c but frm the post she got 2 kids n their age is old Liao shld not b a pro since she will not worry abt them at least she will work in peace. Ur main purpose is haf a maid look aft parsley so better to get 1 more mature de

Sandy, thanks babe. That's a great idea. Will talk to her on the phone first n see if the feel is right.

Think I got phobia of maids now... Jia lut

Pink, Maybe give it a try 1st... Since ur agent left u with no choice... Agree with piggy, to get a maid really depends on fate/luck... Just give it a try!?

Yah.. Thanks hippo ... Think I'm too inexperienced .. Sigh must learn how to train maid n take care of newborn... Stressed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Pink,

actually be it photo, biodata or interview i find all cant tell if she is gd cos those who can speak v well may be v gd at acting n gave all sort of pattern so for me usu i jus look at the face at least mus be shun yan the rest can only know after she started n i prefer younger 1 la at least no experience can train ask her learn from the CL? but end of the day it really ur luck la older 1 may not be mature also n with exp may also mean lotsa demand... if the face i see alr buay song den i rather wait no pt u dun like her u get her den she really cmi u mus change again n delay so for me i will rather wait a while.. elselook for other agency some agency may have more maid it nv too late to change la...

Sookie,

yes can but if u dun feel comfortable den can ask her dun touch la... she mainly touch the side la.. not intensive 1... so far i dun have extras contraction after massage cos before the massage i alr have contraction...

Mrs Chua,

hope most can join by then[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink,

dun be stress no 1 was born to knoe how to take care of bb n so many of us did it w/o any help n we did jus fine at most ur additional help come slightly later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my current maid also v slow so now we thot of changin ...

Tweety: I changed to tues cause I now go for the 2 plus appt so I can take half day. No slots on mon. Strangely he told me 2 weeks. A bit confused cause he told me past week 36 is weekly. Oh well I guess that means less leave to take!

Sookie,

I'm in my 34 weeks but I will be seeing my gynae every 2 weeks. I think it is cos my bb is breech.. So dr want to monitor more closely and will do ctg when I see her this Friday..

Pink,

It really depends on preference.. For me I don't mind experience maids cos for me I am not too picky.. And I am actually cool with my maid going on offs and having a handphone.. But got rules lah.. Like when working, cooking or looking after Lisa, she cannot use Hp but after she's done with work at night, she can talk as much as she wants.. Must always remember that they too have families overseas... And they might be home sick..

Went for my gynae check-up (now ard 35plus week) - My baby's head is still not down and doctor said this is not a gd sign.

I am really worried after the check-up...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Usually baby's head should be down by which week?

Hi Yoti, don't think there's any hard and fast rule on when it shld be. But from the vibe I got from my gynae he was happy when he checked that my baby's head was down at 31 weeks, then 33 weeks. But yesterday at 35 weeks he checked n he said she was not engaged yet. I asked him whether most babies will be engaged at 35 weeks? And he said yes. So I think he means that she won't be ready to be delivered anytime soon.

There are some mothers here whose babies don't engage until much closer to delivery, but I'm not sure in the grand scheme of things, what are the chances of that happening.