(2011/04) Apr 2011

hippo..

Ya i would.. I know got risk.. but she has 2 sisters here and one of them works for my in-laws and I really trust that one so I hope she'll hang out more with her sis..Plus my maid has 2 kids at home to feed so I hope she will take her job more seriously.. =)

She's relatively new and of course at the begining quite blur but must show them who is boss lor.. But now getting the hang of things and plus her sister will teach her how to cook when she's free on sundays and my in-law's maid is a really good cook!!

hai.. i dunno when then can get my results. I give up le.. Just called. Say doc havent check my results.. ask me to call tmr! I'm sure tmr i'll get the same excuse again. Maybe i really gotta wait till wk 17 then know.. What-the..................

thanks bbgoh & pink...

elmo, think if no call means good news la... if not like what some mummies suggest, u just go to the clinic lor.

phew! I finally can relax le! They finally relented.. must be thinking we too irritating. Nurse call me and tell me doc say results normal.. no need to do amnio. But I ask for ratio.. she say so many i want which one.. In the end I give up le. Anyway.. doc say no need do amnio I trust him can le. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

congrats to jtho,pink and elmo!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so not looking fwd to mine tho...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

the nurse asked if i wanted to know the ratios then i said ok lor...

for age adjusted risk mine was 1:812 for down syndrome.

i see all ur numbers like all 1: 10000+++

wahh...alot of difference

then trisomy 18 and 21 is 1<10000...

pink, cos there's different measuring scales out there. How come mine say so many figures dunno which one to give me. Anyway... suan le. Doc say no need do amnio where got ppl crazy go ask for it one.

Now i can finally announce to frens le. Was waiting for this result 1st. haha

congrats all for the good results..

dun need be so stress liao..

i decided not to be stress and worry too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kai lee u mean for the oscar blood test? i also hate needles.. but bo bian. Wk 17 i need to take another blood test again.. for the rotine blood test.

elmo, yah once i heard everything is low risk category i didn't bother very much about the numbers... it's only a screening test anyway.

talking about needle, i'm also very scared [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

then somemore soon have to do the Glucose Tolerance Test, will take blood again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

thanks girls...

elmo, u poor thing! actually i'm ok with taking blood as long as i don't look... the pain is ok for me... i like that this time round my gynae took blood from me himself because some other places the gynae gets their nurse to do it and my veins are rather small so it's challenging for them. i was poked 5-6 times on one occasion before at a GP clinic by an inexperienced nurse...

my gynae was so pro~~ 1 shot and the needle went in and the blood came out smoothly *impressed*

Hi mummies...

I did my NT scan this morning.... the doc did not ask for my blood lei.... I see so many of u got blood test?

pink, i also dun dare to look. It's not really the pain le.. just scared of needles. haha. Heng my veins all v visible.. like green monster.. so shd be v ez to poke.

jiesiling, the blood test is part of oscar test. Oscar test consist of the NT scan and the blood test. Maybe ur gynae feel NT scan is enough?

elmo.... I oso tot Oscar = NT scan + Blood test

some im 31 this yr.. she tell mi my gynae nv opt blood for mi... so i find it strange.

BTW, the DS onli via scan ah? blood test more for HIV as wat Pink say one ah? I see the web there's more to it lei for blood test.. hais...

Anyway my bb was moving here and there but very cooperative.. got it within half an hour! :D

jiesiling,

think there are 2 blood tests. one is for the DS which measures trisomy 18 and 21.

the other one is an antenatal blood test for the mother which tests for HIV+ some other conditions...

maybe ur doctor will do the blood test later.

pink> Ic ic.... perhaps bah he will ask later... Keep tinking its suppose to be together one... thanks!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jia you jia you ... glad to see ur MS is better le.. heehee....

i called my hubby: "oh the clinic called to tell me my blood test results." Hubby: "oh ok, so how's it?" Me: "Good news, I STILL don't have HIV!"

I think he very (=_=""")

elmo,

actually i dunno leh...i just know i'm slated for blood test next visit...

pink,

haha...u very humourous leh...keke...

Congrats Pink/Elmo/Jtho on the gd result[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink,

like wat u say we the employer also play a part la some expect their maid to be wondermaid n expect so much frm them.. like u as long as she done her part no nonsense i am ok[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

although her english is limited but since she willing to learn now she can even teach my boi ABC:p

Gerry,

for Indo maid it in the contract n they understd no off day so we understd the sianzz part la so we bott her a phone card to call home monthy n she chose when she wan to call back.. for my maid the purpose of comin is to earn money n sent back home so she dun even ask for pocket $$ from her pay n she know go out mean spent $$ but philipino is diff cos most of them r educated n they come from bigger city(my maid from those kampong) so they know how to enjoy life n i seen many cases where the maid come so innocent after they go out n make more friends they got more pattern etc.. anyway end of the day it really our luck la..

JSL,

my blood test not only testing for DS wor also test for HIV, antibody dunno wat n other thing... i cant remember liao... maybe u check with ur gynae??

JSL

before i did the blood test, the nurse asked me to sign a paper to acknowledge that they are also doing the HIV test for me... then they took 4 tubes of blood!

Just came back from check-up.. Super tiring.. Did my Oscar today.. Nuchal translucency scan went well so now only waiting for blood test. My dr did the scan and baby cooperate so quite fast..

Ya. Needle pricks are awful. I dun look at it.

Piggy..

Agree.. How good ur maid really depend on luck. My in-laws's maid very good. Good cook, got initiative and can go market herself. She'll plan all the meals unless we specify.. My maid just started but I'm hoping she'll be as good as her sister in time.. My maid's sisters really treat her well. As soon as she arrive, give her handphone and pre-paid card so she can call them or call her family back in Philippine. She can use the phone whenever she is not working. I don't limit her talk time so long as she is done with work. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Aiyoh but I hear so many awful stories abt maid.. But I feel a maid is really of great help ESP when u are working.. At least when I get back home, I'll just focus on my daughter. No need to worry abt housework. Already as it is I'm super exhausted..

Gerry,

ya lo... a gd maid really solve alot of our prob but a bad maid add on endless problem to us...

so for the rest of the gal if can get a maid in be4 u pop so if really no gd can still change n if u employ CL can get ur maid learn from them the proper way to take care of bb[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re : c-sec

yes. my gynae also told me need to cut 7layers. i have no choice as i hv some complication previously.

but overall experience was not that bad. i could walk the nxt day. I did not hire any CL nor hv any helper. I did everything head-to-toe. I carried heavy stuff. No issue for me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

went for my first trimester screening today to check nuchal fold thickness. the thickness was ok.

got my blood test results next and it was very bad. i have low levels of hcg and afp, resulting in high risk for trisomy 18.

will be going for CVS on Monday. just dun understand why this is happening when my first one is perfectly normal, and no one in the extended family has this issue at all. why me?

on top of that, the scan showed that there is large amounts of water in the baby's brain. have to do a scan again at 15 weeks to decide if the baby is normal or not.

sigh.

Amk gal..

Oh dear.. Sorry to hear abt it. These trisomy abnormalities are random events. It is not entirely hereditary. I have a fren whose oldest sis is ds but her other 2 younger siblings are normal including her.

Hopefully the cvs report will be good news.

Morning ladies...

amk_gal,

dun worry so much k... wait for wk 15 scan my niece tt time also scan show got bubble in the brain so scan n scan waited till DS confirm no harm to bb den my sis proceed on her pregnancy now her gal almost 5 liao dun wory so much first[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]