(2011/04) Apr 2011

AMK Gal

Welcome to our crazy thread! If you're a late-sleeper, you can "subscribe" for membership to the April Night Owl Club too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Can imagine that the first stage of your pregnancy must have been very stressful, glad things worked out in the end. We look forward to chatting w you here.

Yolk sac,

exactly cos for bb 1 more nite cost $100 + but we can also claim more medi so end up my last bill thou total is higher but i pay alot lesser... which is quite stupid...

Mikio,

Jia you!! =)

Yolk sac,

Enjoy your weekend!! Ya let baby decide when he wants to come out.. Better..

To all the moo moo mummies,

Jia you!! I am sure with determination, you can TBF eventually.. Give yourself time!! Don't give up!!=)

Ya I agree with yolk sac, if you are full-on latch on, CL wouldn't even know how much baby is drinking.. With Lisa, I didn't even know how much she was drinking until I went back to work!! Haha!!

I realized a lot of mummies everywhere are too fixated with the no. I think that is the problem with modern/industrialized living.. There must be a routine.. What's the volume of milk my baby is drinking and compare with other babies.. Just like we all don't eat the same amount of food.. Babies too.. Observing babies are the best way to gauge whether a baby is fully nourished.. Check babies well being, are they satisfied and contended?? What's the colour and condition of their skin, diaper output?? And check the skull? That hole at the top of the babies forehead will look shrunken in if baby is undernourished and dehydrated..

Like what Elmo said, pumping at different times also yield different volumes.. In nature nothing is ever consistency..

Hi Jojo,

Went to see Dr Woody last nite. Having LS for the past one week...sigh....

You booked 15/4 afternoon? Mine is at 3pm but also wonder what time I should fast. He gave me the blue admission letter yesterday.

Congrats, Andrea [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi pink,

maybe baby dun like d teat or d formula milk? Or try small feeds every 2hrs but that b tiring thou...

Anyway, sometimes I think d formula milk recommended serving is abit excessive, some baby have small appetite.Think they want us to feed baby more even thou baby can't finish n end up d milk powder finish up faster n we

will buy more of d milk powder n boost their sales.

Hi piggy,

I chicken out! Rang my gynae to cancel my induction on 4th apr......I think I'll wait for d baby to decide when he wants to come out. I don't dare to take d risk of trying induced n then end up emergency c-sec or suffer intense pain due to induced. I still want natural without epi if possible.

Btw,how many days did u stay in Mt A? Is it d 2day 2-bedded package?

Ningyo,

actually if previously u go thru natural cervix no prob openin den shd not have any prob but if u prefer to let bb come out on it own y not[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i stay in Mt A 2 nite 2 bedder..

ningyo: Yes, I think we are the same! I too, prefer to let nature take its course. I honestly believe that when bb is ripe and ready, the birth will be smoother. We can wait together, gal!

piggytoh: Yeah, stupid system!! I really wonder how much my bill will come to. Sure high because I like to stay one or two extra nights and wait until my milk comes in before I head home.

Gerry: Exactly! I remember pumping in the early days was so demoralising because you yield really little. But yet bb is satisfied. So I will try not to even bring out my pump in the early days. Not in my hospital bag for sure!

Jia you Mikio waiting for your good news!!

Yolk let's wait for Bb together. Me alr 39 weeks 2 days and still no signs yet. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink: i agree with the rest. The last thing you need is to get too stress about it. babies are smart. if they are hungry/dirty/cold/hot, they will let you know! they are survivors. maybe parsley has some reserves. you should look at her diapers to see if she realy has enough. and don't worry that your supply is low now.. baby are better pumps that the machines. the output by baby is always higher than the pump.

Mikio: good luck! remember to just go with the flow and let nature do its job.

yolk sac and ningyo: cool! let baby decide when to come out. every morning i wonder if today is the day. but really.. now walking a little bit is already a chore.. and the weather really CMI!

Thanks mummies. She finally pooped twice this morning, once with a lot of meconium and a 2nd time a bit of yellowish stool. Then peed also. Finally drank 10ml of FM at 7+ then 30ml of EBM at 8+.

The CL really frightened us. Almost wanted to send her to hospital liao.

hippo: i am also 39 weeks 2 days.. EDD is 7 april! we must be due on the same date [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i think quite a few mummies due 7 and 8 April. should be lot of action soon!

pink: I don't blame you cause you are new at this and so you rely a lot on your CL. hang in there! you will do fine. if you have time, maybe you should get "what to expect in the first year". it was a good guide for me.

Yolk sac , hippo & Sookie,

Yeah, let's all wait for D-day together! hope baby choose a convenient time n avoid those peak hour jam like early morning or after work timing.

My feet n fingers r swollen too but I don't mind going shopping. It seems if I stay at home, I'll feel those aches n pains all over but when I'm outside shopping, I seems ok. But after shopping trip, heart will ache coz Im already starting to buy normal clothes that I can look forward to wearing after delivery. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Don't know if I can kill time next week coz I'm starting ML on 4th...

Ningyo, yolk, Hippo & yolksac: I'm due same time as u ladies! Still in waiting game too..... At last visit on tues, VE showed no signs, no dilation, cervix stil high! Bb stil growing.

Ya lo, starting to get damn impatient sia!!! Next visit to gynae wil b on mon at 11am. Toggling whether shld induce also..... Cos bb quite big lo, scared let nature take its course also duno when & scared she keep growing wait also hard to deliver. But induce also may end up emergency c sec. HEADACHE!!

Chronology of events from last nite:

1/4: Happily discharged from hospital!

Day time full day of latch on BM, 25 mins each time on 1 breast, alternate breast

She was super sleepy and we take 45 mins to feed her 25 mins of milk.

No pee no poop.

11pm: BF for a few mins and she refused to suck,(despite unswaddling her, waking her up, massaging her body, rubbing her feet/palms), so asked CL to top up with FM of 30ML.

Hubby noticed that she had sunken forehead. RED ALERT.

Still no pee no poop.

12am: I wanted to try out how much BM i had, so I pumped. OUTPUT was 2 tea spoons worth of BM. MAJOR PANIC. Realized that we have been feeding her so little for the last few days.

STILLL no pee no poop.

2AM: I pumped for 15 mins and yielded 10ML for both side.

3.30AM: NO SIGN of her wanting to feed at all. CL took 45 mins to feed her 30ML of FM. After that 30ML, she curled her tongue so that we couldn't put the teat in. We then tried to spoon feed, and u know what? She spit out the milk. CL was damn stunned that she could do that. Told me that most babies at her age can drink 60ML with no problem. And most of them are hungry even with 60ML per feed. MAJOR MAJOR PANIC.

She looked so contented and was not hungry at all! What was wrong? Nobody knew!

Still no pee no poop as usual...zzz..

6.30AM: Time for her next feed. She was still listless and not hungry at all. THEN, tadah, at around 6.40AM, she pooped ALOT OF green sticky meconium out. Then we fed her 25ML of FM, with much difficulty.

7am: I pumped for 10 mins both sides and got 20ML of BM.

8.40AM: She pooped again. Black shit. And peed. She was rooting so we warmed up 30ML of my expressed BM for her. She finished all.

9.40AM: She pooped again. GREEN colored poo. Then she looked like she was hungry again. Let her latch on and BF for 10 mins on both sides. She suckled really well.

10.16AM: She peed again. Alot of pee. Heavy diaper. Looked like she was hungry again! Mouth opening and closing like she wanted to drink again. Intermittently she will cry for milk.

SO we bathed her, and just now at 1055AM, she drank another 20ML of FM.

PHEW. All of us can breathe again. I've been up all nite pumping worrying and driving myself nuts.

Mikio they are giving you enema to clear your bowels huh?

Piggy hopefully the milk supply will be coming in right now dont even have engorgement. I think I better up my intake of water as I have been drinking lesser water than before....

Now Vianne is on FM .... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ha ha I am still trying to get used to part of resting more because CL sees me walking around and waking up last night to see Vianne when she crys... she says must rest at night or else no matter what nourishment I take will not be wasted if I dont have ample rest....

mikio u're doing c sect today rite???? JIA YOU! GA rite??? don't worry everything will be fine!!! u will see ur bunny really soon!

sorry I haven't read thru the rest of the thread yet, posted my report first :p

Pink: Contrary to what some people/CLs tell you, with some babies, they poop less frequently than the norm. Parsley may be in this category. Just flagging this so you don't worry unduly in case she is one of those kinds of babies. Doesn't mean healthier or less healthier, some babies just have different poop cycles. My No 1 would poop several times a day, but that's just her!

I don't think one can generalise and say that most 5 day old babies will want 60ml. Who says??! The fact that Parsley is producing a lot of pee and seems contented is probably enough of a good sign.

BTW are you taking any bfding supplements like fenugreek, blessed thistle or moringa? That might help boost your supply a bit, then you can gradually reduce the amount of FM you are feeding her.

Vivi: Yes, yes 80% of BM is water, so you must do your part and drink loads of water! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Jia yo girl. 100% agree with your CL that you must get ample rest. When we are tired or stressed, our BM SS goes down drastically. Take care.

Rene, Hippo, Sookie, Ningyo: We can start a new sub-club, the Waiting Around Without Induction (WAWI) Club! Haha.

Vivi: don't know wats that.. The nurse says, just water, don't worry ya.. Then awhile later tummy aching...

Pink: ya.. Today c-sec le.. Nervous..

I'm so hungry... Only had some milk and bread this morning.. Zzz...

yolk sac: She didn't poop or pee until 6.30AM this morning!!!! I assumed she already passed her meconium in the hospital and apparently she didn't.

Think she had constipation lor! ALAMAK.

She had no pee or poo that's why we were damn gan chiong! Miss P was contented and not hungry and we didn't know why~~~~~~~~~~

Gerry: Yah we tried to observe her skin and texture and everything. Her overall looked ok but she was not very responsive so we were very worried. We talked to her and sang songs and all she did was snooze......... it was like that for days so we were concerned, then after hearing what the CL said we got really paranoid.

bbgoh: it's true..PD discharged us but after we went home we weren't sure if she was still ok. Coz no pee no poop and not drinking well.

Andrea: thanks for your suggestion! will try it out.

Elmo: ok will use ur guideline to monitor the poo/pee. THANKS!

Sookie: I got the "What to expect" book..... i find that at times like these, those "textbook" answers weren't really useful for our situation.

VIVI: Please don't ever say that... U are NOT A failure at all. Emphasis on the NOT. It's so difficult for us to have babies as it is and u're doing the best u can for Vianne. Whether or not she iS FM or BM it doesn't matter as long as they grow up and well and healthy. That's what's important.

Thanks Gerry, Piggy, Hippo, Mrs Chua, Sookie, Elmo, Yolk sac, Bbgoh, ningyo, Tweety, Vivi, Pearly, Andrea, Win win, you guys are all my guardian angels. THANKS FOR EVERYTHING!!!

mikio: wahaha that's not water lar that's the enema to clear ur bowels.

Er, hungry ah. You will get hungrier later..coz post op cannot eat leh. I had porridge at 830am the night before my OP and had no food for almost 2 whole days.

Aiyah but never lose weight leh!

Now still carrying around a 5 months old belly like that. Sian.

WAWI CLUB JIA YOU!!! we are cheering for you girls!!!!

Pink,

Ya you should get the book "what to expect in the first year" very useful reference book..

Yes agree with yolk sac, some breastfed babies don't poop every day.. I remember my friend's son poop once every 4-5 days..but if I am not mistaken, baby must pass out all the meconium first.. Then later if bb is TBF, her poop will be yellow with mustard seeds.. Smells like buttercream..

Don't stress about pumping vol.. Looks like you are quite comfortable with latching so should just latch.. What you pump out is not an indicator of how much bb drink.. Please remember.. You seemed to be faring better than me when i was feeding Lisa for the first time.. I was in so much pain.. The toe curling sort.. Cos i was latching all the time., nipple was super sore.. As soon as Lisa latched, i could feel electric current running through me..

First time parents always very worried.. Well at least now Charissa is feeding well.. That's good..=)

Yolk sac,

Ya can be quite demoralizing when you pump in the early days.. That's why i latched on full time..

Pink: haha.. Kena cheated by nurse.. Tell me is water.. -.-

Glad that parsley is doing great.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hmm.. I can't eat but can i drink water even they say no drinks since 7am?

Good afternoon ladies....

Think I'm into pre-labour nervous liao... No mood to do anything just want nua ib bed with my #1... Keep ask him for hugs... N he seems like can feel mei mei arrival... He only wants me since I reached home last night from our gathering... Haiz... Can't imagine how I live in hosp 3 nights w/o him..

Pink,

Ms. P is dong well, don't worry! U r going thru what the 1st time parent going thru... Stay calm n dun over react with what ur CL said... Think she is quite irresponsible with her comment on the amount of intake for NB... No such hard rules on how much they shld drink... She is into her own old wives tales world, so let her be, dun let her bring u into the unrealistic tales world n scare the hell of urself...

Gerry is right, check the pee n poo, check Ms. P skin... These are more significant to tell u whether the bb is having enuff milk, there is once when Terry sleep continuously for 7-8hrs w/o wake up for milk, I also have the same reaction like u, after that incident, I learned... U shld too!!!!!

Jia You! Jia You!!!!!!

Rene, Hippo, Sookie, Ningyo, Yolksac,

You girls are in you final final lap liao... Enjoy urself!!!! Good luck!!!! Who knows anytime from now we might have good news from any of u!

mikio: clear liquids shld be fine. I was told water, glucose water was ok

Gerry: my nipples are still ok coz I'm substituting a few feeds with FM or now I'm trying to pump and not latch on all the time.. i think it's better in the long run... if I do complete latch on now i think i will get sore/crack nipples and give up BF very early on... it's more sustainable for me. U did a great job with Lisa! so determined and motivated ;)

Hello all!

Just wanna check, I've been having on and off cramping feeling that goes away and come back a couple of hours later repeatably , is this how inital contractions feels like?

hippo dearie: yes i think she feels bad for making us so gan chiong too but she didn't sleep the whole nite too. Guess it's better for her to be worried than not to be, in such circumstances. Coz taking care of NB is her responsibility so if there's anything wrong and she don't tell us, we will hold her accountable. Maybe she really hasn't come across babies who were like that. And we told her P pooped in hospital liao. Ended up the poop in hospital was not the meconium.

SO Miss P got her digestive system STUCK for many days.

Suddenly her skin is a different color now. Was so red previously and i was told that it could mean jaundice level is high. Now her skin is 1 tone lighter....

She GEK SAI for so many days. buey tahan her.

Heh your Terry also made u gan chiong before!

Charissa is going to get to play with Jovie soon. SO FUN LAR!

Mei,

Woody practice is like that, if no major issue on u n bb health, he will still sees u bi-monthly until week 37 onwards then will be weekly visit.

Prayhard,

He will advise u on the last visit before ur scheduled date, ask him if he doesn't... He busy till blur liao... Still can ask me whether he aldy gave me the admission letter that day and still ask me go back see him on 4/4/11 which is my scheduled c-sec date...

Pink,

It's meconium for the 1st week, cannot b other thing lar...

Just Charissa take her time to poo, she is pure ladies!

Lynn,

Could be... Monitor, the the cramps get intense n it's 10mins apart, it's time to go hosp~

Pink you are doing well as parsley's mum don't worry . I am trying to drown myself with water hopefully milk supply coming in

Hippo: yah take so long n Kenna system stuck...

Vivi: thanks babe. how is ur supply now? Mine also not fantastic.... This is only the beginning for us ... Just try to do what we can

Pink, hippo,

All our kids have made us super gan cheong before.. My worst scare when she has super high fever (due to Kawasaki and I didn't know yet).. In the middle of the night, she was shivering non-stop like as if she was having fits and did not really respond!! Now that was scary.. I started crying big time and hb also panic.. Drove like crazy to the hospital.. But turns out when children have fever, they might be having rigors which is shivering cos they are cold..

Hi mei,

Actually your edd & my edd is just 1 day apart. Mine is on 29/4.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but I chose 15/4 for the csect opt.

Typo error...he has 4 patients (not 3) in tic 1 patient (me) in mt A on 15/4. Just wonder if he would be able to 'focus' & 'concentrate' well in the operAtion since he has 6 csect operations to do on 15/4 morning!

I also saw him on my 35 wks. Next appointment is also on 37 wks but ytd I went to see him (36wks) to change the csect date to 15/4...he will see me again on 37wks. I believe he would see me weekly also if I am going to delivery in 39/40 wks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink not even a single drop . Experiencing drought now for the twin peaks

Tell you all a funny joke i nearly talked to my tummy last night when I was watching tv then realized that Vianne is out of my tummy Liao ke ke . Hubby shakes head

Hippopolai,

Ya, think Woody is busy till blur..he asked me whether has he issued the admission letter to me and asked me whether I want early delivery boh...I told him "I thought you said must be after 37 weeks?" Then he said can choose 9/4, 10/4 or 11/4. Think 15/4 is a hot day to him...but discussed with hubby, I will still stick to our scheduled date....

Yolk, u decided nt to sweep?

My case was cos of GD and dr Lai mentioned nt to deliver pass Edd. I'm seeing dr Lai on mon, when's yr next appt?

My gal driving me crazy last nite, feeding at nt time up timing and crying in the nite etc..Feed, poo, changed, then reguritate, burp took me 1hr+. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

BBs with jaundice, my sis mil bought us 'Ng Kee', old wives tales tat it will bring jaundice down..hopes it helps.

Hippo, tats the beginning only. My boy 1st c sister, shocked and dnt dare touch her etc..he's very slow in warming up and nw he's sick, gotta separate them hence they can't bond much..so sad..