(2011/04) Apr 2011

Long time din post here. Been bz. Nowadays at work not convenient to post. At night too tired also. My boy keep falling sick after going to sch. V fan. At work also shou qi. Really v moody and pekchek nowadays. Hai...

luckily my ms almost gone after i stop tt awful hormone pills. Hope e spotting dun ever come back.. If not i gotta suffer again.

Who's going 2 gug? I'm there every sun at 1130 with my boy. Maybe can bump you.

Hi I am back~~~

Been very tired for the past few days... read all the post but no respond...

re CL:

finally manage to get 1 today after 4 weeks searching high n low... Made call till so fustrated... Finally get 1... Can't believe all the CL is booked in Apr lor!!!! confinement period is very very important! (now then i know)...

I din have proper confinement when my #1 coz my mum last min admit hosp for operation, my grandma came over to help on cooking, but bathing wise, i have to carry the ready boiled water myself from kitchen to bathroom... I bath bb on my own also as the bb kick very powerful n my grandma aldy in her 80s, she dun dare to bath him coz she scare will drown him if he kick too hard... now preg with #2, pain all over the body, always feel weak... So I die die must have proper confinement this time!!!!

Lex, we have the gynae, same EDD and we might end up in the same hosp!!!! ^5!!!! I'm going for my NT scan this Fri, will go to Mt.A tour after scan, hopefully I can make it on time as that is the only day off for hubby go for the hosp tour... Wanted to deliver at Mt.A but hubby still prefer TMC coz #1 was delivered there...

Really hot ah.... Wonder how to take it man! I now everyday oso drink cold drinks, these kind of weather din drink, how can?

My appetite growing like nobody business.. I hope to control but simply can't, how? Baby get hungry ard 4pm ao hv to always stand by some food on my table. Ate some biscuits today den in the end, while waiting for hubby @ bishan, I went to buy some Tori Q snacks to eat though reach Hm le can hv dinner.. Wonder how can I dun eat so much...

These dew says I hv been oso eating spicy stuff like laksa, Tom yum & Korean noodles.. Weather so hot yet I still gt craving for spicy stuff, think this is partly the cause

of my heatness in my body..

Elmo, i'm attending 9.30am every sat at novena gug. But withdrawing nxt term. Cos my hb not ard for 3mths. Nobody can help me to bring #1 to lesson.

Another option mummies u may consider ordering confinement food fr natal essential. Px may be a bit steep but i find service & food delicious. I didnt hire any CL or have any helper cos i scare of nagging. Both my mil & mother v discourage breastfeeding & i afraid they will disallow me to bathe & etc... :p

Avocado,

CL dun nag much 1 if u get a pro 1 my 1 will gave me advce follow anot up to me[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Elmo,

which outlet u go? I may join in nov[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrschua,

ya v hot wat to do I took ice kacang n ice jelly often cos hot b heaty.. But confinement best can control la..

Hippopolai,

tt gd at least u found 1.. it like tt 1 gd 1 taken v v fast tt y ttt time ard 8 wk I gt mentioned cos after my #1 i learn my lesson this time round book early but still not early enough to book the 1 I wan haha...

Hippopolai,

yah, i wanted to go for Mt A tour but rc too early, the tour start at 2.30 mon - fri. Tmc delivery suite a bit cramp lay plus they say no video n photography inside which I find weird lor. Only can take bb photo at the measurement area which is outside..

Mrs chua,

I also been eatin Mee Siam, Tom yum kinda sour n spicy food. Dun feel like eating rice, like been hoon only. Oh, n fries. My mouth always feel so bland, dun like plain water, will make me puke.. So hv been taking sugary n cold drinks like coke, packet drinks, feels so sinful[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I know we cun take coke as high in caffine, so I'm switchin to healthier drinks - choc milk.

I hv no prob wif my #1, no craving, no bloatness, ms few times only.. This #2 really...

I'm already started to think abt the confinement food Liao, miss the chicken with liquor, pig trotter, Pork with Ginger.. Do they hv these in the cater menu? Think now only left my aunt can replace my mum's cookin.

During my # 1 confinement, my hb did the bathin for bb, I jus supervise so this task for #2 will b on him as well.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For confinement, now I'm sta

Good morning ladies!!!

Piggy, ya lor... I really end of wits told the whole world I'm looking for CL!!!! Luckily still can find 1, she is customer's mum, Malaysia lady but dunno how is the cooking n attitude, since is customer cum fren mother, no good also cannot complaint, haa haa... I not fussy eater so no prob for food, just the house chores I'm worried...

Lex, I din know that cannot take photo n video leh, I prepared but in the end C-sec so nvr use also... Haa haa... But that is not very important for me also... I prefer Mt.A coz alot +ve feedback plus the bill size slightly cheaper than TMC... Want to opt for single room this time...

Lex.. I oso taking cold drinks like ice tea or bubble tea. Though I know no gd but wat to do when plain water I drink le, I dun think it quench my thirst haizz

CL : I did nt engage any cos my mummy will b doing for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

aiyah y does the edd keep changing?is it suppose to change? not static one is it? sigh..

hippo,

mt A cheaper than TMC? but it more than parkway east rite? where is mt A located?

Morning mummies..

LS and vomit again... Double whammy. Stomach churning now. Hubby went out to hunt for breakfast for me. Haiz...

I took ice cold Cheng teng last weekend too! Damn shiok.. Weather was so hot!!!

Morning gals. 1st time reach office so early.. after yest got niao by boss. Sianz.. morning is sooooo crowded!!! Walk also difficult.. sianzz...

avocado, piggytoh, my boy's at gug suntec. Shd be stopping next term too.. cos my boy started weekday daily classes already. piggytoh, may still see u in Nov if we same timing. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pink, aiyo.. better eat some light food!

G'monining...

Am having a spilting headache and runny nose.. sigh.. I think it is the lack of sleep.. I don't know why my girl keeps waking up in the middle of the night.. both me and hubby like zombie.. Oh dear...

Pink..

Oh dear.. Think positive.. You are almost half way through!!

All of you talking about ice cold drink, make me wanna have now.. =)

Enigma..

EDD always change based on the size of the foetus.. But towards the end will be more or less fixed.. but it should always be around the same date rite? My previous one EDD 8 Dec.. but came out on 1 Dec.. EDD is just an estimation so that you can prepare like maybe 2+weeks in advance..

Morning Mummies - Last night while bathing I puked my 1/4 dinner out, almost choked the drain. But after puking I felt way better. Think I ate too much ...

Did any of yr hubbies go with u to the oscar scan ? I telling my hubby to come along cos the scan machine suppose to be very powerful then can clearly see them

Morning everyone

Hmm Piggy let me give some thought about the CL. Haiz now the problem is to have me settle my work issues. Yesterday evening my boss is already asking me for the resignation letter. I think HR wants me get rid of me soon. Sigh after all the hard work that I have done, am I really that bad in terms of my performance?

Wow can take cold desserts? I dont dare to take leh and my hubby also dont really allow me to take ice kacang and cheng teng

gd morning mummies...

Puke out brekky again today!sigh...not sure wat happened...this week almost everyday puke without fail...me suppose to be at 13th week leh..how come MS getting worse?Is there any relation in terms of food intake? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

morning ladies..

sian early in the morning stuck in morning end up i finish my breakfast in 5min...

Hippopolai,

ya gd CL v impt.. my CL got lotsa CL to recommend wor... if i know u lookin for 1 i can help u ask my CL:p n yes i went to TMC tour the deliver suit v small in Mt A all done in 1 room n can take pic immediately etc love their service hope i am lucky enough to get the OL room again:p

Elmo,

oh actually wanna start this month but cos my jap trip gotta wait lo will let him attend till maybe i pop den sent him to playgr or childcare[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vivi,

dun tink so much[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can take cold desserts i dun care i also drink bubble tea etc.. but i also got take tonic la so at least not so bad keke...

Enigma,

EDD taken ard 8wk is the most accurate after tt some time fast sometime slow no need to be too concern..

JJ..

My hubby can't really follow me for my check-ups cos very hard for him to take off from work.. For the delivery of this bb, he has to already block his leave in april.. Very jialat.. And my dr is super packed on sat so very hard to make appointment..

But if hubby can follow you, then he should wat.. =)and the ultrasound they used for the OSCAR is the same as the on for your 20 week detailed scan.. Very detailed..

Went for see gynae ytd n everyting was okeven though still hv ms but gain half kg. Still unable to see gender cos bb keeps moving n turning n hide the impt part.

Hi mummies , last few days work has been so hectic .. siong la .. Vivi , why your boss waiting for your resignation letter ?? cos your pregnant ? Woman boss har ? sigh.. all so unkind .. I had my 3rd session with my boss yesterday again! ... she commented I need to ramp up .. kns .. I already workign so late every day and produce so many reports based on the incorrigible deadlines ... still need to ramp up .. she want me to die ? sigh .. she even suggested , if I feel cramp for my leg .. put a carton below to lift it up as she see other woman do that .. ( she is single anyway) .. She's really driving me crazy .. super high expectation . I endureeeee... arghhhh... for the sake of my babies ... at times I feel like giving up cos realli every demoralising working here .. esp to have such unreasonable boss ... she work like more than 12 hrs a week and expect evryone to work like her . No life at all . Not sure if I can endure til Apr .. I was so sad after the discussion as no good words come from here mouth one .. My hubby say I realli need to rethink carefully if this job is suitable for me .. but I don want to add burden to him though he claim we can get by without me working .. will think hard over the weekends...

JJ

Yes yes but the 2ww thread only a few close ones know. I dont dare to say because I scare given the last time I had M/C....

Actually when I had my oscar test done at NUH, hubby followed me and he sit beside me to see the process.

Piggy I thought cheng tng too liang liao so cannot take hee hee

DZ

my company dont want to confirm me say I am not producing enough sales. Now they waiting for my resignation letter and they did not extend my probation. Not even a sign of warning that I performed badly and ask me to buck up they just ask me to go. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

so tired wanna slp. Now only comin to 10 onli got to tahan donno how long.

Woh was looking yday thread u all talking abt dessert la fish la n I saw mos burger fillet o fish I feel like takin a bit but inside my heart I hate them all tis r my fav. But yday I c food I don feel like eating.

Pink

r u ok? My LS stop but I got the feeling will come back [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

lex

same same me oso gng for confinement food but not CL mayb will get my hb to do it

I oso crave for confinement food now. When my cousin in law do confinement my aunt will cook n I get to eat *drooling*

Vivi,

Do NOT tender!

once u tender...your case will be a gone case to fight.

company wan u to tender on your own so tat they can save trouble with MOM.

when MOM question...they will twist and turn just said u tender yourself. no need to compensate anything.

so now...boss ask u...u just keep quiet. dun give any verbal agreement then u wan to tender yourself...incase they record down.

wait till ur appt with MOM. see wat MOM said..

Vivi - ic ic .... aniwei its good news that u preggy ahh !! Congrats btw ..

How many weeks along are u ? Me 11wks & going for oscar nxt thurs. I'm having twins !

my company dont want to confirm me say I am not producing enough sales. ---> they shld give u termination letter if really u cant pass your probation. y mus come from your side? so tat they can cover themselves. dun tender regardless wat

vivi,

agreed with cowgal. Dun intiate ur resignation letter first.. let them terminate u if they wan you to go. At least u can tell MOM say u are trying very hard in your job.

Also very sorry to hear that... these companies are so heartless!

cowgal , depends on the contract ,some contracts do indicate that both parties have right to give even 24hrs notice during probation period to ask you to leave if you are not performing . In reality , MOM usually covers employess of certain wage level only . eg for compensation , I recall the rule of salary computation applies only for emplyess for wage $xx and below .. mainly the low income range .

sometimes , the company ask you to resign may also be good for your record , when a refence is asked in future back to this company , they will say you resign on your own accord and not due to poor performance . I am not sure which is better for Vivi .. but depends if she is happy in there .

dz, "the company ask you to resign may also be good for your record , when a refence is asked in future back to this company , they will say you resign on your own accord and not due to poor performance" --- yes for usual case. but her case is tat vivi got pregnant...so maybe can get ML compensation.

Actually for probation....is it MOM will still cover expecting ladies...i dunno. so is better she check with MOM before she initate the resignation on her own.

Vivi,

we can still take liang thing from 2nd trim onwards but moderate la.. even watermelon ok:p

DZ,

once u work in a co for 3 mths n u r preg u r covered they cant sack u w/o any reason even if u are still under probation.. also in her contract they din indicate she mus hit certain sales target to get confirmation wor...

i tink ur boss really sicko la.. if i were u i really dunno if i can tahan her... really ridiculous... we woman v poor thing preg alr v tired n feelin no gd n yet these pp not understanding...

Sandy,

gd tt u like confinement food me dun like... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] n i hate confinement[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Cowgal,

even probation we r cover once we work 3mths in tt co cos some co the probation is 6mth n some delibrately dun confirm u which happen my my friend n she complaint to MOM n managed to get a compensation... becos even they use poor performance as excuses it mus be v v valid.

I checked with MOM. As long as employees that are on probation and has worked in a company for 90 days, they are entitled to Maternity Benefits. I want to claim back the beneifts.

Anyway my contract states that need to give notice of 2 weeks to terminate the contract. Given 2 weeks it will be end of this month which is past the 90 days mark.

Reason being that I am giving the letter is that I do not want to leave a black mark in my file in case of reference checks.

Haiz all I can say we employees are always at the losing end. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] No justice at all.

JJ

Me going 15 weeks tomorrow. wow twins for you, maternal or fraternal twins?

piggy , I agree , she is sick ... you get no sympathy from being pregnant . Must write to PM and complaint .. how to promote birthrate like that .. not encouraging ..

I have been eating a lot of watermelon in my first trimester .. oh no what is the side effect :S?

Sandy , I also hate confinement . I cried during the 1 month cos I feel so uncomfortable and the food make me fall sick .. too heaty until I got fever... cant get anyworse , down there pain , up there hot , mentally stressful .

Vivi,

no ask them to terminate u dun gave the letter... u have valid reasons why you are not working in this hotel so u do not need to be afraid of future reference checks. esp with MOM step in u have all the proves etc... so ask them to gave u termination if they not happi..

Vivi .. jiayou .. do what you can .. no point working for such company , I am still in my probation , so I am also thinking of leaving but no one ask me to leave yet so I can still consider but I know given my boss like that .. I have to be a super high performer .. yah we also lose out as long as we employee .. my company very smart .. no maternity benefit for first year of employment .. so I worse if I leave now nothing I can get .. I onyl think of the 4 mths of pay I can get when I am on ML .

DZ,

becos watermelon v liang so not advisable to eat so much the effect is mainly on the bb la eat too much ur bb may have phlegm or "liang" body jus like some of us out body is prompt to heaty plus trim 1 not so stable so best is to eat from 2nd trim onwards... but moderate la[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya durin confinement cos of my mutiple wound i totally got no appetite[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

DZ

it's ok de as long as don't like eat too much thru out the preg can already...and 1st is scare eat too much will get stomache not good meh

DZ why your company dont give maternity benefit for 1st year employees? Actually the 4 months maternity leave, first 2 months payable by company and last 2 months is payable from the government leh....

Haiz I broke the news to my dad this morning that I am going to be jobless again. He said what to do all companies smelly la because of the maternity benefits. Sometimes all this maternity benefits good for us but can backfire in the end it is always us that suffer. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

dz,

yah watermelon, actually all "guas" are considered cooling... as long as you don't pig out on it it's ok bah... i have friends who continue eating water melon throughout their pregnancies and they're fine. sometimes the mother's body is too heaty and if we don't eat a bit of liang food we'll end up with fever or sorethroat and it's even worse... so... my logic is if you feel like eating then eat :p

JJ,

so far my hubby took leave to go for every gynae appointment with me. I told him it's ok I can go alone but he insists. I think he wants to see his little peanut more than me. Coz when he gets the print out from gynae he will stare at it with a silly grin on his face. On the other hand I am very nonchalant about it. If only it's the other way round... Oscar scan? I think most of us did 2 weeks ago liao... can see a few of the body parts... but not very very clear also lar. if your hubby needs to save his leaves, i think he will be able to see more in the 2nd trimester when more parts are formed...

vivi,

yah some companies are really unethical... and i believe no matter how they have the upper hand. sigh, see if MOM can help you. Even if it was only 2 months, so GIAM companies won't want to pay. They rather have someone who can work throughout the 4 months, saves them $ and alot of headache on finding a replacement for you when you're on ML.

ya how to increase birthrate.

not only maternity leave...is becos they think pregnant ladies productively lesser...and is a burden here and there when going for medical checkup. after that childcare leave.

is only at govt sectors they wun do anything.

always those pte regardless big or small companies...they will go n find way to force u to leave. e.g give u lots of work till u buay tahan then resign yourself.

and since i married...every time when going for job interview...the interviewer sure ask when going to have kids..how many kids u wan...etc

so they prefer single applicant then married applicants.

and dun forget those male colleagues and single female colleagues will red eyes when u come bk still go during office hrs to pump milk.

cowgirl,

yah i think so... even though i'm a feminist at heart and believes in women's rights, i can understand why it's better to employ male employees now. looking at myself, if i had been working at a proper company, i would have been a damn problematic employee the last few weeks. MC or HLs all the way... will probably get my ass fired too. I have heard of very bad experiences with SMEs especially... they will go to all kinds of underhand methods like u say to make your time there living hell and want to tender yourself. In one of the those company the HR personnel "destroyed" the letter of offer after finding out that the candidate was pregnant after verbally confirming the candidate.

so the best places are actually either govt sectors or MNCs...they have more structure so it's not so easy for them to get rid of you

Employing women is really sometimes more of a hassle... got PMS lar pregnancy kids falling sick lar... the mothers will be the one taking leave. My hubby is in a male dominated environment and the colleagues there can go without MCs or taking leaves for years. And alot of them are single or have only 1 child.

Vivi, i really sympathise with u. There're alot unethical companies with unsympathetic & negligent HR depts who should be punished.

I feel strongly abt this becos I'm HRM myself.

Hope I can be of some assistance... Maybe if you need further advice, can PM me. Since you've been there for more than 90 days, you should be entitled but then again, as with any legislation, there're always loopholes. They can state that it's due to your lack of satisfactory performance, etc that they're terminating your services.

U basically need to have sound advice and certain amt of info at hand to aid your case. If you win, MOM will order the company to pay you the equivalent of 16 wks' maternity leave.

PM me k? I'll share more with you.

Vivi,

ya lo so far i try not to find local co cos usu they v stingy n i quite lucky so far when i go interview they din ask when i plannin nex kid etc... but i dun like my current job also can only wait n see...

Cowgal,

not really la if u can find those Europe base co they r quite pro family 1... so far i haven encounter co tt force me to go becos of preg...

Pink,

not all the guas la.. melon is ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya MNC is usu better but some also CMI 1... my previous co which i complaint to union is a MNC big 1 summore also so shitty..