(2011/03) Mar 2011

today can only read n read but not much time to reply... cos was busy taking care of ah boi... thank goodness hubby is around to help out so i dun feel so tired... but still, didn't manage to get any naps today leh! sob sob...

now waiting for my boi to wake up... get his diaper changed (if needed) and to feed him liao... my ah boi is 24 days old... sometimes he can drink about 50ml - 90ml depending on his mood... then will wake up 2-3 hours later for the next feed... if not if he can down 100ml - 120ml, can stretch till 4 hours. my mommy also same like some grandmas here, not slpy so keep feeding thinking that the bb is hungry!!!

most of the time my boi will spit out some milk after some time... but not those merlion type.. my mom said it's normal for babies to spit milk... dunno how true but i also got no choice lah..

mommies who are feeling down: jia you jia you!!! tell yourself you can do it!!! come here and rant lah.. just like me for the past few weeks... received so much encouragement n support from here!

if let me choose again, i'll ask the bb to be room in together with me during my hospital stay... least i know how to carry... how to feed... how to change diaper... and how to handle a CRYing baby!

Won mummy: now it's not the time to dreamfeed.. Cos it's still feed on demand..

What I do is I feed him despite him sleeping.. Whether finish or not it's ok.. Slowly slowly it will fill the tummy and hours waking up will drag..

For me why I m not giving him same amount.. Depends.. If within 1.5 hours I got latch and he still not enough I reduce the amount la.. Dun wanna risk overfeeding.. But he won't be satisfied unless I feed then he can zzz

Belinda: try to wake bb up n feed her.. If nt next time u v xin ku one.. Gotta feed her whenever she wants.. Unless u latch 24/7 n everytine cry u jus latch.. I dono leh, but fr me personally, I prefer bb haf a drinking time n nt latch on demand.. Like cry mus latch.. Den wad of bb cries every half hour cos nt full frm prev feed,, it's Like u need to stuff yr neh in her mouth for every min,. =X u try dragging e time lo, easier fr u n her ya..

Annie: think Jav was overfed.. Tts y will vomit out milk

even frm nose.. Cry sometimes doesn't mean hungry ..sometimes bb wanna burp or gt wind in tummy dats y cry.. So u haf to judge by how much u gif him n hw long it can last..

Summers mommy: think yr boy drinks more.. U not lousy la. But think maybe u shud figure out some way so je doesn't treat yr boobs as pacifier else it's v difficult fr u to do things too ya..

Lilprecious: I will stop latching kiefer think maybe 2nd month or what.. I buay tahan always standby my neh for him..

I will go back to exclusive pumping.. Think can manage my time better.. Otherwise I really dunno how when cl leaves..

Maybe just latch at night for one feed or what.. But I half hearted also cos wait he be so used to it every night need me to zzz...

Faint... Latched Raylynn frm 9.30pm till now.1.5hrs!!

And finally she is sleeping... My breasts weren't very full to begin with... Just keep changing left and right....

So tired...

Tmr is her full month party.. So exciting..gonna sleep Liaoz.. Long day tmr...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mommies, just finished latching my girl, colostrum has kicked in yay! Hope this means a good kickstart to my moo moo career! The lactation consultant is also super helpful, learning theory in class and the real thing is really different lo!

After all the crying and false alarms, I finally gave birth to my bb girl Chloe 刘宇恩 on 25 Mar at 1406hrs, natural w/o epi. Here's my birth story:

24 Mar

Admitted to hospital cos got menses-like bleeding and contractions. Turns out is a false alarm, still 1cm dilated only since last week. Gynae still made me stressed over choosing to stay in hospital and induce by midnight if haven't labour or go home to wait. Tell me both got their own risks and made me cry lo, cos already v worried abt bb being overdue. In the end hb and I decided to go back and wait.

25 Mar

1am - Felt contractions again. Bleeding still haven't stop. Worried is false alarm again so monitored the whole night. Whole night din sleep again cos contractions keep coming at 10-min intervals.

10am - hb still v wary is false alarm so suggest we see Gynae for check up first instead of admitting again. Gynae still can joke "so want to induce today ar?" when she saw us tsk! Then VE check showed I'm 8cm dilated, so thankful! Gynae quickly shoo us to labour ward, scared give birth in her clinic.

1030am - in labour ward waiting for last 2cm. The midwife still commented to her partner that I'm 8cm dilated and still can smile at her lol! The last 2cm was 神经病的 torturous!

1pm - Finally fully dilated. Started pushing 2 sets without Gynae cos totally uncontrollable le. Pushed another 2 sets when Gynae arrived.

2.06pm - bb Chloe arrived and peeped at me, so cute!!

Audrey, you steady wor..8cm dilation and still thought it was false alarm! lol. Good job there! =)

Rach, enjoy tomorrow! =D

Any suggestions for good and cheap full month caterers besides chilli padi and neo gardens?

2nd - maybe it's a growth spurt? But Jordan drinks at around 4.30pm again at 6 and 8 - 100ml, 60ml and another 100 ml before she goes to sleep for the night. Cluster feeding. If I were latching 100%, I'd be very tired and I like spending time with my # 1 before she sleeps, so hubby gives the 8 pm feed.

Today was godson's 8th bday, baby was totally spoilt- carry carry carry, now she doesn't wanna sleep Zzzzz

Audrey, 8cm dialated and not admitted is no joke lor. Yr gynae came in at last 2 sets of pushes, is she gonna half her fees? Haha.

Congrats congrats! Chloe's eyes looks like yr ah lau.

Congrats again Audrey.. 8cm dilated u still can tahan! I peifu peifu u..

2ks: ya, I like exclusive pumping too can plan plan my time.. Sometimes settle things earlier can pump first.. N even if they slp later I still can pump later. I feel easier to manage bah.. I think latch 1 time shud b ok bah? Easier fr u in the night, no need keep waking up esp if u working next day..

M: yeah.. It's pretty scary.. I am still mixing latching and ebm.. I think I go crazy if he needs to feed every 1.5 hours even through the night..

It's not growth spurt I think cos he been like that since he discharge leh..

2ks

Hi 5! My boy drinking pattern sama ur boy's!!! It's getting on my nerves lor.. Cos I dunno hw much he realli drinks. Cos jus Kip feeding lor.. Until he realli full he will slp!! Realli same lei.. V tiring rite!!

Both JavIer n Jayien nt slping...! I've been in rm for 1.5hrs alrdy n still my slping.. Javier gt scolding frm me n cried.. Felt so bad again.. But he always had this prob w slping de leh. Headache.. N now I forsee I will haf another Javier .. 2 gt slping probs think I'm gonna faint.. Hw to handle.. =.=

okay, finally as I'm typing this Jav fell aslp. Nw left e lil bb..难道they excited fr the full month party tmr?! Hshaha.

2Ks, your vow really like milk monster!! Maybe is growth spurt leh?

Just settled my boy into sleep. Really dunno y he keeps cranky after latching for awhile now. I miss the time when he could latch n sleep peacefully... Now always latch n cranky then turned into loud cry n wake my parents up. Then my mum have to settle my boy coz only her cuddle seems to be the best to my boy. Sigh... I rather have a milk monster than cranky baby coz really dunno what he wants! Fed him, changed him, cuddled him, all could be done are done still cry n cry... Haiz... Really can't imagine handling Bb w/o my mum... My boy can't sleep long also... Abit abit wake up...

I dunno if we really overfed him coz he wakes up always cries n showing us his hungry mouth signal! He also latches awhile the fall into sleep then awhile later eh again.. Haiz...

Now we can't live without sarong! Have to put him inside n shake to pacify him... Sarong is our saviour now!

Audrey, u r the idol of the idol Liao... I first time heard ppl 8cm dilated still think is false alarm! Not pain meh? 8 cm leh!!! All mummies know 8 cm can make u go mad Liao.. Haha.. Ni Hao Li hai lah!

Audrey : ur pain tolerace must be very high...when i had my 2nd boy...i went to tmc in so much pain...and when they check it was 9cm dialated...and bb came out in 20 mins...i have no idea how i landed up in delivery suite...was semi conscious....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] congratulations!

Shucks.. My mum bought durian n stored in e fridge.. Wonder will innate durian flavored Ebm not sia..

Mummies storing Ebm- any idea If my Ebm insidE milkbag will they kana the smell? Now fridge so pack with livers, meat that i dun even have space for an airtigt container.. My Ebm can only stay in milkbag that frozen Liao hb will bring back to my empty fridge at my own house..so kinda worried when they from milk to ice, will they have e smell of those raw food in fridge n whether when bb drink, will e smell linger in e milk..

I just latch my boy 10-15 min both side n he often just slows sucking n closes his eyes. The min he is taken off n I try to put down or burp he will start to cry.

Lactation say must die diecwake Bb up n feed from breast. I find it so hard to do cuz after a while 30-45 min, my boy gets very upset at breast n fidgets n won't latch properly.

So tonight I had to supplement w formula. After that hecwas very happy n went back to sleep.

Anyone face same thing?

Is it cuz I'm producing filling milk yet? Only colustrum n very watery milk?

Is it ok to top up like this?

Talking abt cl mine is also so so only. Just like someone mention mine also cook one soup per day for lunch n dinner.

She's not super pro bf but she stil listen to me to bring baby tho she did comment msybe my milk not enuf. A few times i think she wanted to feed formula when inwasceither sleeping or in toilet but lucky I came out.

She doesn't do any supper or late tonic yet for me n no boiled water to brush teeth etc, however hubby n I close one eye as she does cook, n care for Bb.

Cuz we have maid I find she outsource her work like some washing of bottles n Bb clothes but I decided it's ok since she will leave n my maid stay.

She will watch tv n not do some household chores like my old cl. But hubby teach her to go market so she will go buy the groceries for my food. She cooks for everyone including my maid.

She does rest or nap if I'm very hands on w Bb. She is not so strict n let's me bath or wash hair w herbal water.

Anyone still suffering from perineal wound?

I'm limping...though it is my 12th day after delivery...wound is getting more painful as I've completed my course of painkillers & antibiotics...is it normal? Lochia still flowing like wanna end but can't end type...sigh...is it normal? How long will it take for the wound to recover?

went to a wedding dinner just now and my last pump wa at 4pm...reached home 12midnight, total 8hrs apart, boobs bursting liao and got 420ml combined! N I latched bb somemore after that. Now deflated balloons phew so shiok

Pixel, can tahan for soooo long?!! U steady lah u! Now super shiok right?

Butter8, my bb was on partial fm initially due to low blood sugar. Now he's on partial fm due to breastmilk jaundice. So far he still prefers my BM n wants to latch when possible...I guess the initial suckle right after delivery & suckling practice @ the hospital stay helps a lot.

Lailai, chen, lilprecious, 2ks, annie, gal, thanks mommies hee. I wasn't trying to be funny lo haha, but i guess the false alarm the day before just made hb and i very wary... Am just very thankful how one night changed everything. Imagine if I had stayed on in hospital and induced instead... And my contractions for the first 8cm not v strong I think, though painful were still bearable with deep breathing kind, so I count myself really blessed la. If not, I don't think I can dong so long lo, so is not I li hai la hehe...

Chen, ya everyone says she super look like hb, esp the eyes. But I hope she got my double eyelids though, I kinda saw a bit of it le hehe, hope will really develop that way. :)

Joining u all for midnight sessions from now on haha, just fin latching my girl. Q stressful to get the right latching technique without pain kind leh, I need alot of time to do the teasing leh. still can't do it properly ): so tired..... And the stool softener make u cannot control one ar? I latching halfway gotta go means gotta go leh! -_-"

Relationship with my mum still at a standstill.. Tome extent that it is affecting e way she treats my bb.. Bb last fed eas at 1230 by my mum.. Than around 4 she eh abit so I went to warm up milk for her.. After which brought into e room n asked my mum to feed( she usually does it).. Than suddenly she woke up n said 'so fast due for milk Liao meh?!!!'.. I told her bb last fed was at 1230 than only she keeps quiet n continue to sleep as normal.. I buay Lun n told her nvm, I feed myself.. Dunno is it fed too fast or while, when burping that time, bb merlioned on me quite A fair bit.. Hearing bb choking voice than my mum on e light n see.. But nv said anything n went back to sleep! Biang..'petty so many days de ar?! bb pants wet from e merlioning n changed her liao.. Can i check, shiuld inbe giving bb abit more milk since she has merlioned a fair bit out? Or should I wait till her next feed at 730? Hopefully bb is full n can dong until 730 else c disruptive to her feeding pattern..

Audrey> u power la... Admitted at 8cm!! Thank God ur gynae clinic at The hospital huh??? Lol...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Congrats & welcome to the club!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, mummies using pet pet... What do u all use at nite??

2nd nite in a row, RL's diaper leaked and wet one side.. Wondering issit I didn't wear her diaper properly the change before or issit cutting too big? Or wear too long??

But day time no Leak leh...

Any experienced mummies can help??

Maybe gotta buy Also a "nite diaper" to use on Monday's shopping triP le...

Can't get to sleep as I'm thinking about the hep b vaccination. My baby didn't get the 1st dose at the hospital as the PD said that baby can take the 6in1 jab when she is 2 months old. However, I read that the three doses should be taken at birth, at 2 months and between 6 to 18 months. Did anyone's PD recommend the same? Now a little concerned whether I should look for another PD to get the 1st dose done? Haiz.

jam - first dose of hep b should be given at birth lei... unless you objected it during labour..

why dont u call the hospital n check... maybe they short change u....

Thanks Fei, will call to check. I didn't object to it but listened to the PD when he said to take the jab at his clinic with the 6 in 1. I asked him again when I brought baby for jaundice check and he again said to take at 2 months. Will find out more. Thanks!!

won_mummy, i alr tried to make her as tired as possible. like yesterday, she din slp after her feed at 6pm and she can don slp and again slept at 12am... wat to do, i also dunno

annie, ya i alr brought my gal out... yesterday venture to amk hub... she's like looking around and don wanna sleep. and add on to that her tummy also not feeling very well, machiam like got a lot of wind. cry in the car to amk hub and come back also cry. i almost gave up and told hb to turn back, go home...

reali buay tahan my hubby, everytime i told him abt my gal's sleeping routine, he'll just say "we must change her sleeping habit" but HOW?! he'll nv go and research or anything, end up i still have to try other ways to put her to sleep earlier.

pixiepixel, u steady leh can squeeze >420ml out of ur boobs! 佩服。。。you must have big assets to store so much milk! at most i can squeeze out of a 7hr interval is 300ml lor!

Zenia

first time drag so long so oso dunno how much can my boobs store. I think last time bfding got even more. I drop supply one liao lor

I totally understand your frustration at ur hb coz my hb is also the same all tok no action....很多事情自己来做吧...wait for them I think sunset liao....

pixiepixel,

everytime he talk easy one lar then ask him how he'll say nothing! he only noes how to settle issues that is associated with money, other then tt must wait long long also cannot settle. i tink we mummies must be 十项全能 de... god must have made us this way :p

2K> but day time no leak leh... At nite sleeping also nv move much... Lol...

Maybe buy 1-2 S later... Mmmmm....

I still got 1.5packs Huggies S to let go... Anyone wants PM me... Thanks..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

medela freestyle or spare parts

anyone else??

Ordering 1 set for march mummies & can take either 1 more set freestyle with some spare parts or just spare parts (alot)..

Let me know ASAP so the mummy no need to wait too long to get it... Thanks..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pooh bear

Thx for the link!

Cl food

Today had meat n kidney beehoon soup for breakfast, not used to it lol. Try to eat a bit.

Rach

Now I'm still using huggies but last nite I tried a mamy poko sample n it worked great. I find Bb bum less hard to clean after poo. From now I think I will use huggies for day n pampers for nite. Cuz I bought a variety of brands. Once those 2 finish I'm moving on to pet pet for day n mamy poko for nite.

Presto,

Thanks so much for your encouragement.

bb did latch on abit during the hospital stay but subsequently, she just refuses to do so. when its time for her feeding, she will start to cry before i have time to latch her. so while trying, she is ordy crying, screaming and kicking no matter how i put her to my breast, her mouth is just in a crying mode and refuse to latch. maybe my position is not comfortable for her?

i will try the nipple puller like wat u suggested.

partly its my fault cos i introduce bottle to her.

but i really want to breastfeed. so i will pump put for now and top up wif formula cos got pressured by MIL and supply is minimum.

the latching on experience is quite traumatizing for me at the moment cos its unsuccessful most of the times.

Pixel/2ks,

do u all pump exclusively without latching and ur milk supply still enough for feeds?

im at my fourth day now and still pumping out colostrum. my breasts are engorged and have been massaging and pumping them cos unable to latch.

any advice?

audrey,

u really no.1!....and i also no.1 starting from the bottom...

once my gynae breaks ny waterbag, my contraction kicks in super fast and im ordy yelling 'gime my epi" !! my husband still can joke that he forgot to bring chopstick along for me to bite. ...&^&%$#

butter

my problem is worse cos i totally kanot latch successfully until now. at least ur boy can latch for 10-15mins and then u top up wif formula.

im very guilty to succumb to formula cos have been wanting to stick to the philosophy of so many mommies here to latch n feed, no formula but i failed.

anyway, sorry for the diarrhea postings...one shot post so many. paisey!

Spyria: I hv been latching my baby and pumping according to my scheduled time..

My bb is ok with nipple and bottle, no confusion.. Just have to keep trying..

You said u unable to latch, prob is due to short nipple? Bb very hard to suckle when u got short nipple. U got to try only when they are bigger and their mouth is bigger to catch the aerola instead of the nipple..

I have one side short nipple and after 2nd week I tried again by stuffing my aerola in when he was crying damn loud mouth open big big kind... And I succeeded..

Yes I hv surplus of milk due to pumping..

SPyria: try the football hold to latch bb.. Heard it works better for short nipple.. I never succeeded though..

I nearly gave up when my #1 refused to latch, but eventually I converted to exclusive pumping and I still managed to bf him for 14 months..

So if yr bb unable to latch due to inverted or short nipples, it doesn't mean u can't bf alright?

2ks,

yes i have short nipple. so u tried again after 2 weeks and succeeded rite. yah i feel bb like kanot 'find' the nipple. yes!!! at least i can see some hope now...bb only 4day old, maybe i shd really give it abit of time and stress myself less.

xiexie ni milk expert.

2ks,

yes mdm. i will persevere and cont to pump and pump dilligently.

now im starting to get engorge. hard liao. so i should massage wif hot towel and pump and keep repeating this process until the real milk flow kicks in rite?

need to do any cold compress to relieve the pain?

Spyria: yes cos now bb mouth small, they can't catch the whole aerola, so they get frustrated when they can't find it.. A hungry bb is an angry bb..

So now what u can try to do is, when bb cries, try latching, if can't give ebm/fm.

After bb try to latch even though successful or not, do pumping, at least 25mins.. First few days u prob just see droplets, never mind, just accumulate slowly into one feed..

Pumping helps u to call the milk comes faster..

Then after you see milk coming, before latch bb, try to squeeze the milk to tempt the bb to open mouth wide..

Keep trying, but if really not successful due to short nipple, it's alright, just do exclusive pumping, milk still will come minus the bonding with yr child only.