(2011/01) Jan 2011

@Chabby, I totally forgotten how contraction and BH feels like, thanks for refreshing my memory, and yah i concur that it does feel like wanting to go toilet v much..... will look for such signs. =X

Baby clothes - guess before i take them out to wash, I must first find a space for them...have yet to pack my #1's wardrobe to make space for didi's clothes.. Getting v lazy =/

My backache n V pain is getting v horrible, was so bad yesterday that I thought I wanna go hospital liao.... =X

Good Monday to all of you!

Hi PM,

how many wks are u now?

Did you ask the gynae why you are having all pain?

Better check it out with her.

I do experience tummy cramps at time, so acute thta i cldn't get out of bed and it's coz of that that my gynae ordered bedrest for me and suggested that i take early maternity leave.

morning ladies..

din sleep well last nite. when i fall asleep, he'll kick me up.. argh!!

will be popping to gynae in a while for appt.

Chabby:

18kg.... will be probably abt 3 yearsold or so. My boy who is coming 3 is about 14kg.

re: Infant Car Seat

Personally, I feel that NB is too tiny for the infant car seat. I have got prob taking my boy out of it when I bring him for 1t week jaundice check as he is kinda sink into the car seat. Will only be using that after bb is about 1 mth or so I guess.

Re: Cramps

Yes, I have this cramps near the bottom of the tummy at times. Not sure if this is braxton hicks or because I moved too fast and baby stretches the skin. Never that this cramp during my 1st pregnancy. Every morning when I wake up, I got to sit at my bed for a min or so that the skin of my tummy gets to stretch a little from sleeping from my back. Need to suck in my breathe to bring in the tummy too else tummy will be painful due to the stretch.

Cookiefleur:

Had this kind of conflicts w my mom during the last confinement. We were both miserable during then. Thus, I decide to DIY this time and she has decided not to help me too. Minimize conflicts ya.

Miaiko:

I'll be using the traditional cloth nappy. Will not be using that in the initial phase thou.

re: Old wives tales

For me its very true, last round my tummy is really pointy and now very rounded.

belly button,

oic. then I have the perfect fit to old wives tales. Large round tummy, with non-pointy belly button. Girl!

crampy feelings,

Don't really have those yet, or the BH contractions, but my legs and arms get really numb from lying on one side. Keep waking up at night to shift position cos the numbing feeling is almost painful.

poormummy,

thks for the mat price update. Didn't go down to the fair in the end. Will probably outsource this purchase to colleagues.

kimmy,

yah I believe different docs have different pov but I feel very stressed that he wants me to contain my weight gain more at this stage. Do you all feel hungry all the time? Very hard to control leh...

baby bonus account,

Does anyone know if we have to have an account with either standard chartered or ocbc already? I was trying to fill up the forms in advance and got confused at that part. Cos they want me to state the account number already.

Baby bonus is cash paid to any existing bank account that you hv, not necessarily OCBC or Standard Chartered. It's the CDA account that we open after baby is born that is with OCBC or Standard Chartered.

ladies...

i had red spotting on sat and it turn brown on sun...am still monitoring. but think it has stopped. guess i was too busy over the wkends with lotsa moving ard...

Good morning!! Previously a few of mummies here ordered the trial meal right? how was it?

Its the romantic and beautiful christmas season and we are here stuck heavily pregnant, aching here & there, how sad.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. Last year this time we are heading for Korea to skii and now can only look at pictures [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. Last month's gynae chkup, I put on 2kg and gynae warns its nt even christmas or new yr, hw did i put on 2kg?! haiz.. i think after christmas will be worse..hehehee

In fact, i dont eat alot and have not much appetite, have been puking since 1st trimester! Baby weight increased by 500gr so the other 1.5kg is mine! where did that came from? argh.. How is everyone's appetite?

julia,

yes i did, so just waiting for him to call back and reply. my next appt is on fri so perhaps i will wait till then. im monitoring it and so far no discomfort or anything and the spotting has stopped...i attribute the spotting to being over-worked on wkends, wash clothes, sweep floor etc...haiz

Gee.. Find tat lots of activities gg on now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] washing clothes, shopping, car seats etc..

After reading the advices, tink I'll bring my BB carrier to the parentcraft centre at TMC to consult them this wed when I go for my check up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

is it essential to go for hospital tour? They say to familiarize on operation theatre / labour wards... Cos I decided the single room w/o gg for the tour, so wonder if it's still needed? Dun wanna waste my time there.

Stomach tightening? Tot it's our own body reflex when sleeping in a position for too long?

O ya! Any mummies experience this? Used to not b able to sleep on my back for last few wks but now find tat slp on my back is most comfy & wun get a sore pelvic now!! BB also seems to enjoy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

been low on my haemoglobin, now pumping on iron pills.. Hope by labor, all ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shycloud:

Please take care and rest more ok. Try not to exert yourself too much. Hope your gynae gets back to you soon.

Julia:

Will be having the trial meal on Friday lunch! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Apart from going to you, the extra weight goes to the waterbag and placenta too. Dont worry about the weight gain at this stage if your gynae is not concern, its the post delivery weight loss that we need to think about. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Haha... I have been eating alot! Wonder how much will I weigh at the check up this sat Haa~

Morning! Is monday and back to work...

Charleen me too. Went 30w checkup last week and found out low blood. Now on iron pills lo...

Haiz in the end never get to go to expo for the fair. Wonder if miss out any good bargains...

How everyone’s wkend? Just a quick update on my check up last fri. Gynae estimated my bb wt about 1kg and I probed by asking how come u know it was 1kg and she said it’s pretty standard lah for wk 29. Found her not very helpful as I really concern on my bb wt coz I still face comments that my tummy is small even I have gained 2kg…really hope most of my wts go to my bb…another not so good news are my placenta still low and bb in breech position. As I hoping for natural birth, my gynae told me placenta low still can give birth natural but definitely no no if my bb in breech position. Hence I have to talk to my bb more by telling her to turn her head down when due date is near…I dun have much faith and confidence and will prepare for c-sec. Really feel very sian partly of the above and secondly coz my hubby said money is tight due to money spent on bb…hence he commented that my present which I haven buy where he promised, he will pay me by 10 years installment! So disappointed and sad by his remarks!

Hi Ladies, me back from my long weekend. did spring cleaning for my hse. now feeling so tired. still got bb wear not wash, hospital bag not pack, bb crib and changing station not set up, new year clothing haven buy... *yawn* everything still in a mess. haiz.

me trying to update the EDD list and found some of yours EDD not tally lei...

Pooh, your EDD brought fw by one day to 30/1?

Rachel, may I know what you meant by 3+ 2+?

PM, Your EDD delay by one day to 31/1?

Please confirm in case i update the wrong person info :p

Hi Mag,popomin,Darienna,smurf, try copy everything within the open and close inverted commas below and paste them in your address bar:

" http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/group.php?gid=127566530601365 "

This link should brings you to the 2011 Jan MTB (Moms to be) FB link [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Remember to leave out the open and close inverted commas hor.

anyone know where to buy Mother Milk Tea instead of purchasing it online?

Hope to try out 1 pack 1st before buying more.

I know my BM supplies are not that fantastic type.

luckymummy>> i went to la senza yest and got myself a set of long sleeve and long pants set of PJs.. my own mother very naggy.. my MIL who's doing my confinement is very shui bian.. haha.. so i got 1 set to please my mum.. at home i'll just wear tee and shorts in the day and at night wear pajamas pants instead of shorts to sleep..

fiona>> i started to wash bb blanket and washcloths le.. going to wash bb's clothes, mittens, booties etc soon as weather is not good during dec.. i scared i may pop early as my edd is 3rd jan.. bleah..

chabby>> think later i'll look ard for the additional support to put in the car seat when i go to OG to buy nursing bras..

PM>> i just went to la senza yest.. they having year end sale.. things on 20% to 30% discount.. i bought 1 set plus 1 pants for $71.. bleah..

re: crampy feeling

i think different gynae will give slightly different advice on what to look out for.. i do get tightening of uterus but it's painless..

re: baby wipes

i saw swanston (chinatown) selling a few brands which i cannot rem now for a pretty good price.. going to go there later after going to OG.. will record and post the pricing when i get back.. they also sell baby detergent, baby accessories cleaner, maternity size disposable underwear at pretty good prices too! those who havent get can go check it out..

re: diapers

i was told by my sister-in-law that those traditional chinese medicine shop sells baby milk powder and diapers rather cheap too.. but i havent check it out myself though.. but my stand would be.. if my diaper supply runs out, i'll send hubby to buy from NTUC/sheng shiong depending on which is cheaper.. to help compare prices, easier to calculate based on the price of each piece of diaper.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

week 35 today.. counting down! have a good day to all mummies!

Hi all mummies...

Recently, Jus had my chk up and my gynae said, there is protein found on my urine and i might have UTI... But funny thing is, i dun feel any pain or have any symptom. There only a few complication I’m having during my last trimester is, vagina very heavy like the bone are falling apart and stomach pain Kinda of like diarrhea pain.

Now I am in week 35, I still duno how what the feeling of contraction or Braxton kicks. Jus only know, my bb is so active & strong that each turn she made, I could feel the bone. And sometime, I can feel her fingers are ticklish my vaginal which made me very uncomfortable.

Anyone experiencing the same as me?

Hi Mitch

Which hosp will u b delivering? Sometimes, the hosp give u tub as a gift. I asked GlenE, they dun give.

Poor Mummy

Me too. Backache. Now every nowadays, got my helper to massage for me.

Lucky Mummy

I had sharp tummy with belly button popping out. But detailed scan done in 20 weeks, gynae says girl. My sis commented later come out boy cos my tummy shape etc all looks like a boy.

Ting

Ya. my edd was 30 Jan initially. But aft detailed scan,brought forward to 29th. Not much differece rite hor?

To all Mummies

Have you guys heard about Raspberry leaf tea? It seems that it will help to aid in delivery. My frd who has just recently gave birthm to her first bb abt 2 mths back. She drank that during her final month of preg. And she gave birth within 2-3 hrs. I do not know if cos its the tea that helped her.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_raspberry_leaf

Hi Ting

Thanks for updating. Sometimes, when pple ask me when is my edd. Some, i tell them its 29th.. some i tell 30th. i also confuse also ... haha

Mitch: Maybe u can check with the Manager when u go for the hosp tour.

I checked with GlenE cos I dun want later duplicate of tub.. cos the $ can use to buy other bb's stuff. :p

back from gynae appointment today. 34weeks now, diden gain weight yet lost 0.4kg..baby weight at 2.1kg but last 2 weeks is 2.2/2.3k leh...all this estimated really not accurate. I have confirmed my c-sec date: 21 Dec. Quite unbelievable when the nurse call up to theater to make a booking, call up the anes department etc..Kept hearing them mentioned the date, time and my name...

RE: braxton hicks

Asked my gynae about this, she say is normal..It will be more frequent when hit 36weeks. BH happened when we r in sitting position, but i also got this when lying down, may be I should lie flat when BH come. It should help.

shycloud,

you gotto slow down on doing all these work..I do it very slow now, even sit on the chair tat have wheels when I mop the floor..becareful..

julia,

the weight will share with water retention, blood..etc..dun worry too much of the weigt gained, so long as u din eat too much junk foods, should be fine...

re: goon diaper

My colleague highy recommend this brand..She say average is 70cent per diaper, but it's still almost the same as others as goon suction is double compare to others and it's thinner, no diaper rash for all her 3 childs. but use it after 6 months cos baby poo a lot at the beginning.

luckymummy,

I dun feel hungry all the time but last 2 weeks, i feel like munching in the evening..now not anymore..i eat as usual..good food bigger portion, tasteless food, small amount.

Cookie,

Sure will have conflict..gotto tahan lor..wat to do.. My in law also traditional type, already say no fan and air-con, she even say no need to on fan or air-con for baby, her fren say later baby get use to it. How can a human sleep without *air*?? So I already say must give air-con with 26/27/28 temperature. I'm trying to change her rules bit by bit now, I tell her tat cannot on fan but can on air-con cos air-con is dry air, no direct blow, just to cooling the room temperature. I hint to her tat now can buy the chinese herb to bath, when she heard *bath*, she say cannot, better not..then I also quickly tell her I will tahan, but if too hot also no choice, gotto shower, test her reaction and she seems agreed to it..I already prepared myself for the conflict, hope it will cut down to the lowest lor..I even ask if she know how to bath baby last nite, my in law say dunno also must know, gotto learn..positive thinking..good!

i think we can't use the FB group to create event for gathering le. cos the admin/creator left the group already. we need to have admin previllege to create events.

@Ting yup my EDD either is 31 Jan by scan, by LMD its 30 Jan. Expecting a boy. Thanks for the update n providing the link for FB. Will go home to add, office cannot access FB [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@Pinky, I bot #1's diaper and FM from those medical hall too.. Even the dynamo is cheaper, $9.80 whereas Cold Storage sells $14.80 I think.

@Pooh, I dare not ask helper to massage for me leh. Feel very paiseh abt it. haha

Tub? Last time I deliver at GlenE..no tubs give. Even glass bottle milk also only abt 3-4only, quite niao.

back from gynae appt. i gain like 1.9kg in 2 weeks!! what the hell! ROAR!!..

total weight gain is now 14kg. sob!

i didn't have much BH.. asked my sister how it feel like. she say tummy will tighten. she said that after she give birth, she drop 5-6 kg immediately so told me not to worry too much. most of it is water.

confinement w MIL/mum

sure have conflict one de la. even though it's my own mum doing for me.. i foresee a lot of problems also. kimmy, it's ok to have sponge bath w the herbs..not shower la..say sponge bath..see how's her reaction. later smelly and bacteria growth.. how to BF.. sure affect the baby.

@Chabby, Hahaha why roar? My typical weight gain is abt 1.9-2.1kg and gynae says it's fine. Different gynae different style. My last gynae always commented on high sugar level & make me do blood test.

Yah after giving birth will lose weight during discharge.. I think I lost abt 6kg or more...

Hi all, dun worry about gaining too much weight and losing weight part.

I gain about 20+kg for my #1 but I managed to lose about 17+kg, about 8 mths after I deliver. Think most of it is the water retention. Think breastfeeding helps in losing weight. Stress in looking after baby will help too.... hee

Hi Ladies, me agree with Daphne that we shall not worry too much on our weight gain now. esp if we are breast feeding. cos if we no input now later where got output... i think to put on around 15 to 20Kg is quite normal. just make sure we eat good food that can help produce milk and not junk food.

Yeah, just enjoy yr pregnancy now. Only 1 mth + to go.

Esp those 1st time mummies, enjoy this final mth of freedom cos soon, it's not just you & yr hubby. Everything you do will be 3 of you....

Poor Mummy,

My maid very gd. She knows which point to massage esp the shoulder. She was massaging me now (same time, typing this msg) hehe.. My sister gave birth at Mt A few yr bk, they gave my sister a birth tub. GlenE says they dun give.

Chabby

1.9 kg quite okie lah. cos now tot every mth, we wil gain abt 2 kg.

@Pooh, PM etc, I was super kiasu and visited all the private hospitals except Parkway East, the only one that mentioned free tub is Mt A. Didn't know about glass milk bottles. Really should find out these things so we don't buy duplicate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Pinky and PM, do you have any idea whether medical hall is cheaper or Swanston? I'm quite clueless about making such comparisons. Also, Swanston is parallel import from places like Thailand right? You think any difference in quality? I buy my own toiletries from there and didn't find any problems but a friend told me (this was years ago) that her mum bought toothpaste and it caused her lips to swell, so I'm a little scared to use on baby..

Pooh: So lucky, getting a lot of things as gifts and hand-me-downs. I've been shamelessly asking for hand-me-downs but still had to buy a lot.

Chabby: I echo all the comments about 1.9 kgs being ok in the last tri. Different drs do indeed have different practice. My colleague said her dr told her to put on more weight and to eat more ice-cream and choc!

I just went for my appt.. At 33wk 3days.. my bb is 2.5kg!!! Dr warned me to eat less if I want natural delivery. Sigh! Personally I gained 15kg. Looks like its yong tau foo for lunch frm now on..

Any mummies with Dr Lawrence Ang? He passed me the admission form and said that his patients will be automatically upgraded frm 4 bedder to 2 bedder. I forgot to ask him will there be free upgrade from 2 bedder to 1 bedder.. haha

cookiefleur,

No need to use softener. Softerners are actually bad for the fabric and our skin.

Detergents, just make sure it's dye free, fragrance free, enzyme free, bleach free, dye free.. Choose those that says "Free & Clear".

Kimmyksc: Till now, I have put on 6kg. I dont eat alot but guilty-ly, i keep drinking lots of frizzy drinks!! haiz.. i oso saw posts here say dont eat oranges and grapes but these are my cravings: frizzy drinks, oranges and grapes! tons of them!

CL: Is this your 1st pregnancy? How come your gynae is so good? Automatically upgrade?? I got a 1 bedder for my 1st pregnancy and have to top up quite abit. So this time I opt for 2 bedder.. if can auto upgrade from 4 bedder than maybe I should too! My gynae is WK Tan from TMC.

Ting: Dun mind, can you add my details up the list too.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/wink.gif]

Name: Preciousfaith07

EDD: 25/01/2011

Gynae: Dr WK Tan

Hospital: TMC

Child #: 2

Staying: SengKang

Reia

My friends who gave me all told me 'ah yo, dun buy, i give u'. 'Dun waste $, I passed you', 'dun buy, bb outgrow every fast' Guess I was blessed enuff bah. Haha.

I wanted a 2nd hand baby cot initially but no frds seems to be able to hand-me-down. Prayed for it. Then now my hse popped with 3 cots haha. Now also got 1 extra pram, 2 baby chairs.

My friends' children mostly are all boys so no gal gal clothes. Now tons of baby gal's clothes (new and old). My hubby's mum and aunt went USA for holi and bought alot of carters brand.

We only bought a pram, 4-5 new clothes, new parts for breast pump and mattress only.