(2011/01) Jan 2011

kikapo,

1950 is cheap considering that our confinement will run into CNY. i have checked 1 CL she is charging 2500 (malaysian)....

Dear mums, im a April mum and i have the following items to let go,do email me if you are interested.

1)4 pkts of Mother milk tea @ S8.00 each for mums who intend to breastfeed.(Pharmacy selling at $11.70)

2)1 bottle of GNC feenugreek @ $26.

for mums who intend to breastfeed(pharmacy selling at 29.00)

3)2 brandnew(125ml)avent bottles @ $26.(retail is 29.90)

4)1 pkt of good quality mothercare maternity pad at $16(retail is $18).i have some loose pads at well selling at $11.

5)BN evenflo mailk storage bottle selling at $12(retail selling at 15.90)

please contact me via email [email protected]...

Yah the CL that I got is charging me S$2,500. she's Malaysian plus promised will not go home for CNY.

I chked with one who wanted to charge me 3200 n even say she need to go home for CNY for 1week! There was another one who charge 2900 n said she also know how to do massage.

So the price for CNY period actually ranges from 2500 to 3200.

But I think most CLs slots for Jan are taken alredy. So got to be fast.

bethel,

so u have already booked ur CL? i haven book mine yet leh...i hope im not too choosy but i wanna find someone who can cook well and take care of me at the same time

shycloud, Yup booked mine alredy. I got abit scared cos when I called a few CLs last month they told me they are alredy booked up to Dec. So I kiasu, quickly shortlisted one n booked her.

I'm also quite fussy, but I got my frens to recommend so I got some level of comfort. U wun know if u will like them until then so it's just based on how I feel when I speak to them over the phone. Think u shud book urs asap.

bethel,

wow u r fast! ya most of the CL are through recommendations. u making me kan cheong liao...haha i better go and call up the rest of the CL's.

ladies, when u choose yr CL, it's good if it's some fren's recommendation.

My SIL got this CL, she's an old lady who's about 70 yrs old. Then her eyesight is not good but she dare not tell my SIL. Luckily, when MIL helps out, the CL ask her to help her look at the "ml of water" from the milk bottle cos she cannot see!!! Then, she brought with her one whole big bag of medicine... And also she cooks the same food for my SIL everyday. There shd be some variations, rite? Who can stand eating the exact same food everyday?? On the 3rd week, she said tat she's very tired looking after baby at nite and she wanna go back to malaysia. So, my SIL had to struggle herself with the baby for the balance 1 week. She had nitemare after tat about CL

Sherill, I forget how much she charge le. details really got to wait till my colleague come back from her maternity leave then i check with her.

Hi ladies, I am new here at this thread. Hope you don't mind me joining. I am abt 11+ weeks along now, expecting twins [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] EDD is 27 Jan 2011.

Wanted to check with you, does anyone experience bad heartburn? I've been getting bad heartburn since 3-4 weeks back, and its really painful. If you experience this, how do you deal with it?

Tien - so does that mean the higher the nasal bone length the better? If i decide to go for the amnio and the test shows that bb has DS, i'm sorry to say i won't be brave enuf to keep it.

re : confinement lady

Better to go by friend's recommendation cos have heard a lot of people have bad experience. I'm paying $2500 for mine.

regarding confinement lady, the amount that we pay her still does not include the food expenses?

Do we pay her to do the marketing for us for the confinement food and she will also eat with us?

Hi working_wife, u got the same EDD as me. But guess you will probably give birth earlier than me as you are expecting twins. Btw, which hospital u giving birth & which gynae? Maybe u can tell more details so tat we can update the chart for u.

So far I did not experience any heartburn. But think carrying twins means heavier burden on yr body.... (Btw, I am also a twin).

I don't have mood swings but I'm having a pimple outbreak all over my face! So horrible.

I haven't had such bad acne for a very long time.

Anyone using anti-stretch mark cream alredy? Can recommend which is a good brand to buy?

littlepigpig - the amt u pay her does not include food, herbs etc. Those have to pay for separately. And they will usually eat the same food as us. My CL will also cook for my hubby and do simple housework. Must ask them this cos some CL only willing to cook for you and dun do any housework.

Bethel - I using clarins tonic oil. Used it for my first preg and did not have any stretch marks at all. Must start using already, i started using in my 8th week i think. This is to condition the skin before it starts stretching.

oh can i check if your doc will do a medical history check with you? Cos I have gone for 3 visits already but my doc didnt ask for my medical history at all. I wonder why?

Sputnik- Thks for the fast reply. Wow like that looks like a lot of money. Maybe I shld just order confinement catering .

Hmmm.... ladies who have tried confinement catering, any advice on the caterers?

littlepigpig, the amount u pay exclude food expenses. Usually the CL will write a list of wat food to buy and u all hv to do the marketing. The CL will only eat after you but of cos it's still up to you if you mind the CL eating with u. Some will charge extra if need to cook for yr hubby also...

Bethel, I use the medela stretch mark cream for my last pregnancy. My stomach is free of stretch mark but my thighs & bum still got some visible marks, guess I did not apply enough on my thighs and bum area.

daphne - oh, i only apply the stretch mark to my tummy, din bother with the thigh and bum area..... i thik also cos i din put on much weight during my first preg, less than 9 kg. Was able to fit into my pre pregnancy clothes before my bb was 1 mth old.

sputnik, yeah, think tat's why u dun hv stretch marks on yr thighs & bum. For me, I put on about 20 kg, so can imagin how much I expand... haha

Sputnik: I think so. That's what was explained to me abt the nasal bone. Ultimately the choice is yours and ur hubby's. These tests probably prepare you to make that choice.

Anyway, I just came bk from gynae. And really breathe a sigh of relief. I'm back to 11weeks and edd is now a bit earlier than last week. 1st feb! Haha so strictly speaking I'm not a Jan mtb. Can see the baby's limbs and body form. Looks active and strong. Doctor says the rest did wonder and gave me another week's mc to rest and to recover fully from flu. So now I'm stress abt my work side. Will probably pop by to discuss with boss. And gynae actually says that I can skip the oscar test. So, will discuss with hb to see if comfy with that.

Hi ladies, I'm expecting my 3rd child whom I didn't want to keep as I have relocated to another country a month ago. I'm now a SAHM with 2 other kids to look after n I think need to keep my sanity by communicating with others. I'll be coming back to deliver n would like to encourage other mothers here as well. My Edd is 24 Jan 2011.

Littlepig, I did try confinement catering for my 2ndchild n I thought their food was not bad...

Coconutz: I will be 16 weeks next week, I also not sure when detailed scan is due but I just go along with the doc's order..and there is one more visit in about another 4 weeks.

The CL I'm have booked used to only charged 1800, but she is really popular so she raise her price. 5 of my friend's kids were cared for by her. Was told she eventually trains the baby to a routine so it is easier for mummy after CL leaves. Maybe cheaper cause she is Indonesian. I will be getting a domestic helper too, so can get the CL to train the helper too..haha..wishful thinking on my part..

Bethel: I am also getting outbreak around my nose! So sad, think my skin is changing and becoming oilier..depressed!

kikapo

oic. just go for scan when u have the chance... my gynae told me 16th week no scan and i can only see my bb during my 20th week. so sad.

haiz, i scared i put on too much weight le... i keep having hunger pangs this week (week 14). now sipping milo after finishing a packet of fried beehoon with popiah and snacking on nuts and ikan bilis... chiam..i still have my peanut butter sandwich on standby...

i realise i am never tat hungry with my #1.

morning ladies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

coconutz, you have a gd appetite ya. i wish im like you.

nisa

i m worried i will put on too much weight le... good appetite oso worried, poor appetite oso sama sama...

hows yr anniversary dinner? wow, shld be still in the honeymoon period...

just eat in moderation will do.

haha...it was just a simple celebration, coconutz. just that we are very looking forward to the arrival of our first baby (though im still far away from EDD). [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nisa

i still remember how i celebrate my 1 year anniversary. i cooked for my hubby ...steak, clarmari and clams... now no more liao..wahaha

why not? you can still celebrate like you used to celebrate your 1st year anniversary.

btw, tmr will be my first appt with my gynae. im so excited when it comes to scanning. can see my little baby. hehee....

hmmm... i dunno y too. i m slow in cooking and with an active toddler, difficult to cook and eat a romantic dinner in peace. so now, we will go out and eat : P

first appt? u mean u have not been to the gynae since u have tested positive? wa, i admire u le.. cos i will be bery kanchiong to catch a glimpse of the lil'one as soon as hd cld be detcted.

i see...

i mean i only went to register at kkh at my 8 weeks. then after selecting gynae, our appt given is 14 july cos this gynae are all fully booked. but last week i went for DS scan, thank god it's low risk.

Thae: sounds like my appt card has 730 written on it too.. haha. I might go early...maybe can meet u!! Ur coming alone or with hubby?

Nisa: of course it would be low risk given ur age... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

coconutz: good appetite eh... yummy..now me hungry lor!

catch u ladies after i have someting okies..

Sputnik, Daphne, thanks for the cream recommendation.

I read alot of good reviews for the clarins tonic oil.

Sputnik, is it available at dept stores like robinsons? Seems rather ex. How much is it per bottle n how long can 1 bottle last u?

Chked with my gynae's clinic asst. She said my hubby's blood test is for thalassemia. Gynae wanted him to test even though we told her that he alredy tested b4. Mayb she wants to b doubly sure. But it costs $90!

morning everyone! woo hoo the thread is moving fast

I do not have any stretchmarks for my #1 pregancy and I gained about 16kg. Dunno isit becos of cream or what cos i read its largely genetic. Also heard that if #1 no stretchmarks, it does not mean for #2 won't kena......

For my #1, at first I used some french brand pdt from my gyane which I find a bit oily for me and someone recommended me the brand Elancyl which can be purchased from Guardian. I remember last time sometimes they have promo for buy 1 get 1 free. Quite light and non-greasy kind and not that ex.

Morning gals, haven been logging on. I have very bad heartburn and cramps til now.. sigh.

CL - I'm also struggling with CL. I just called up GPLS it's $3K! So expensive!!

engaging a CL during cny is so exp le... i will be asking my maid to clean the hse and prepare meals while i do the feeding and taking care of bb. actually bb during first few mths is quite easy to take care cos they drink, pee, poo and sleep whole day.

poor mummy - heard cramp is bcos ur calcium is not enuf...did your doctor prescribe calcium supplement for u?

CL - I haven decide how to settle my confinement month :-( my MIL not good in cooking, im stil taking my own sweet time to decide..but read from here that many CL are already fully booked..worse case is to cater the food lor...at least I got MIL to help take care of baby..

Im in week 14+2 days. Nauseous still leh...:-( not very heavy type, on and off..issit normal? When hungry, my stomach will have the *gas* then i will feel like vomit, sometime vomit bubble :-S i saw a mommy here say nausea mean baby strong, is this true? I just want to find something to comfort myself...

Hubby blood test - Some daddy need to do blood test cos of the mother has some history. like me, I'm a thalassemia carrier, so daddy must do blood test. to test the thalassemia, Hepetitis B, HIV and the 风疹.

Next test is when we reach week 20, doctor say is to test if baby is healthy, to see if the heart is fully build, if got hole then is bad, to check how many fingers they have, how many nails etc..according to gynae, if all went well, that will be the last test to do, then happily wait for the due date to come...

my appetite still hasn't increased and feeling nauseous all the time...haizz

seems like quite a few mummies also thalassemia carrier...im also one but cant rem issit alpha or beta

shycloud

me too..always got low appetite, but cannot skip meal cos will feel hungry...

about the weight gain - my gynae say the max i can gain is 2 kg everytime when i go see her...so far, i gained about 3kg since pregnant till last visit on 7th July. Next visit will be able to see gender..so excited