(2011/01) Jan 2011

Good for u Ting.

so chiam.......... I feel those rules are applicable for the colder countries. SG so hot!

That time my girl 1st mth celebration is 2 days before my confinement end and my mIL still say cannot wash hair and cannot go downstairs (the celebration was held downstairs). I was quite mad cos imagine meeting my friends and guests with a stinking head!In the end, my mum taught me to go outside to wash and I begged my hubby for help and so after my checkup, I went into the salon to wash my hair with warm water and blow dry.Super shiork!

Hi Shycloud, if base on 28days calculation, 4mths is 12 days more than 100days. My MIL also mentioned either 4mth or 100days. i think our generation difficult to follow lah. can stay at home for one month very good already.

Good for u Ting.

so chiam.......... I feel those rules are applicable for the colder countries. SG so hot!

That time my girl 1st mth celebration is 2 days before my confinement end and my mIL still say cannot wash hair and cannot go downstairs (the celebration was held downstairs). I was quite mad cos imagine meeting my friends and guests with a stinking head!In the end, my mum taught me to go outside to wash and I begged my hubby for help and so after my checkup, I went into the salon to wash my hair with warm water and blow dry.Super shiork!

Hi apple79, luckily u still have ur mom to support u. my mom even more strict than my MIL lor. think i am going to go salon to wash my hair and also to get my hair tidy up before my bb 1st mth celebration this time. last round hor, i only have my hair washed one day before the full month celebration and it was just not easy to get my hair tidy up after that...

poor mummy, pm u my contact already..

shycloud - my MIL also quite stubborn but she know i always have my own thinking, she might stop me from shower but if i cant take it i will still shower, plus mine is master bedroom, can just close door n shower secretly..hahha...

I'm not worried about bb part cos is the first grandchild, they will treat bb like princess for sure. Only worried about the food. I will find online and teach her how to follow lor, hopefully she can cook good food. If not, I will get very frustrated for sure. No shower, body sticky, hair smelly, not enuf sleep, still no good food..sure bomb

kimmyksc,

perhaps u can start showing her the receipes to see if she is receptive abt it...in case she unhappy that u have to 'teach' her how to cook confinement food...u know la old generation sometimes cannot accept suggestions and comments freely

charleen,

what a coincidence! can meet up and compare belly size...haha

Hearing all the stories about mils not letting you ladies do so many things is scaring me. Luckily mine is not going to do the confinement for me, my mum has volunteered as she claims that the food which CL cooks, she can too. And I hope she will be less strict about what I can do, for eg shower...my god how to not shower for a month?!

well, I think no harm in showering with warm or herbal water. I bathe 2 days later and bathed everyday after that. In fact it is good ofr hygeine for us and the baby as well.

Wow, all yr stories about confinement.... Got so many to catch up...

My MIL did my confinement for my #1. But she's a modern mum so they did not restrict me anything. I on my air-con everyday and bath + wash my hair every day with herbal. I agree with Sherill tat hygenie is more impt.

I just came back from my OSCAR test. They took 4 tubes of blood from me. Not sure wat are the tests for. Anyway, the sonographer said tat my baby's neck is 2.4 which is borderline. So, plus my age is considered high-risk. Same as my #1. But need blood test results to confirm. She also said it looks like a gal but not accurate cos still early.

But my gynae measure for me and said tat the neck thickness is about 2. So not sure who is correct. And my gynae said tat he tot he saw something which looks like a boy. But he did said tat it's not accurate also cos the baby still developing so hard to see now...

Thae Thae, I gave birth to my #1 in KKH last yr & frm wat I know, there's no package in KKH.

Hi Daphe

thanks. i also had done OCSAR test and thanks God that low risk . But my hubby got minor thalasaemia. So they check on my blood again. No result is out yet.

long time no come in.. so many posts already!

Im also in my 14 wks now. Did my OSCAR last week and so glad to know that everything's ok.

During the scan, bb was facing down, and the sonographer had to shake my belly to wake bb up. Saw baby move and kick and turned to the position that the sonographer wanted. So cute!

I find that those mummies whose mother/MIL can help with your confinement, you r very lucky. One thing, can save money, and they are ppl u can trust.

For my 1st child, I did not manage to get any CL as it coincides with CNY. (yup, my 1st child born in Jan also [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif])Those that I manage to find, charge crazy from $2.5k-$3.5k.Plus these CL want to go back Malaysia. Other CL were already fully booked.

So I did my own Confinement for my 1st pregnancy. Extremely tiring. My mum is working so cant help me. I didn't want my mil to help as she's the old-fashion very stubborn thinking. Plus her hygiene standards cant make it at all.

I ordered my confinement food from Natal Essentials and it's very good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

shycloud...my MIL always cook some food and kept on asking me to eat and when i refused, she will say is very nice, taste very good..walao, good for u doesn't mean good for me mar....so I ask her to eat it since she like it...at least now getting better, my hubby always ask her to ignore me cos I always complaint to hubby..hahha..poor him

miaiko - sounds cute....shake belly can make bb turn...i will shake a bit tonite since nothing to do..haha

miaiko - the confinement food that you ordered from Natal essential. Will they always cook like pig liver, or yao zi, any pig organ (like evey meal)? How much do you pay for this?

kimmyksc,

haha.. u very cute.. wanna shake belly tonite? keke.

sometimes I can actually feel my bb moving inside already. Duno isit coz 2nd pregnancy so more sensitive.

Natal Essentials' menu changes. You can take a look at their menu on their website. Price is there too. I ordered 28days and think it was $1k+

Ting - thik i paid around $52 if i am not wrong.

I bathed the day after i gave birth, including washing hair. Dun really believe those old wives' tales abt cannot wash hair during confinement, cos i think it is more applicable for olden days in china when it was cold and there was no hot water or hair dryer. Mrs Wong from TMC also said hygiene more important. During my confinement i bathed everyday and wash hair once every 2 days. Did not really used the herbs also, only for the first few days since MIL bought and CL boil so just used lor.

Miaiko - will u get sick of the food from natal essentials over that 28days?

What if u dont eat that particular food? can change?

Other than taking the food from Natal, did u boil additional tonic for yrself?

$1.5K vs CL $3K plus marketing.. really alot of diff..

PoorMummy - I find their food nice and serve warm. I din get sick of it over the 28days. But if I eat more than that I think I'll have phobia. If you have any special request, you can let them noe upon making a booking with them.

Other than the confinement food from Natal Essential, I brew my own red date tea. NE's red date tea is not so good, it's quite diluted and over sweet for me. The food is nice but not the tea.

Yah, price alot of difference, but it's really very exhausting doing confinement on your own lor.

So this time round, I booked a CL already.

I also bathed twice a day and wash my hair. Can't stand all sweaty and sticky in SG's humid weather.

Yah, like Sputnik said.. Mrs Wong emphasized on hygiene.

My MIL came to visit baby then, and kept nagging me.. said cant shower for at least 2wks. What? *faint* I think I'll smell worse than a dead rat and my bb wont even wana come near me. So I don't care and shower with warm water. Hygiene and my comfort is more important than old wives believes.

Hi mtbs

Phew, I finally found a CL after much asking who charges 2.5k. She is my previous CL's cousin in-law. Supposed to be experienced but crossing my fingers that everything will turn out well.

Well well...confinement already many stories. Wait till the baby is out, trust me, there will be more stories to tell about ILs and the babies. Anyway about the washing hair bit, I think as long as you blow it really dry, they cannot complain. For me, this time round, I intend to be less obedient. Will try to tahan but if really cannot I will just shower and wash hair. Partly because it's going to be CNY, my mum will be busy so no way she can nag at me (in fact she says that she wont be able to visit me from 4th day before CNY till 9th day of CNY because she needs to pray) and my MIL stays far far away! So, the only person to nag at me is my CL.

And I realise another good good thing abt giving birth and doing confinement during CNY is there will be lesser visitors! Especially those pantang ones, they will not come and visit. That would mean more time to rest and less disturbances!

Totally agree that hygiene is more important for our personal well-being as well as baby's. Plus we also won't feel very attractive to have oily hair and sticky bodies..haha...

I think we need to feel comfortable and at ease, especially since it is already so stressful looking after baby (particularly so for 1st time mummies). Think the one thing we can do for ourselves is to having a thereupeutic bath [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For mummies who are considering CL, perhaps you can consider Indonesian CL? The one I will be using is a Indonesian CL who speaks a little Chinese and Teochew. And maybe also cause my confinement should end before CNY 2011, she is only charging SGD1950 (incl. air tics).

My sister engaged a M'sian CL and she had so much issues that she asked the CL to leave earlier. She was on the verge of serious post-natal depression because the CL did not have very good hygiene and she was worried about my niece.

BTW, ladies, can you feel your baby's movement already? I am a bit nervous about not feeling anything yet.....

ya coconutz! morning....TGIF [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] we can relax over the weekend [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning mummies, and TGIF!!!

Can finally get to rest over the weekend...

Sigh... this is the 2nd time I'm down with flu since I've got preggie... so terrible, tis time I went to TCM, and the doctor just by feeling my pulse, knew that I'm tired, having backache, shoulder ache, and headache, flu.... haha... she prescribed me some chinese medicine, and also she suggsted me to take wild ginseng after I'm well coz she says that my heart quite 'weak' too... After the birth of my no. 1, health really not good, although i'm like just 30 yrs old!... haha....

Hi ALL,

Need your advise here, is it true that pregnant woman is advise to stay away from chicken pox patient? How about children with HFMD? Must we also stay away? Kids at home down with these 2 illness and I have to be separated from my young one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Best is to stay away during their incubation period... no choice...

Re: washing hair during confinement...

the reason why they do not recommend washing hair is because we tend to lose 'heat' easily from our head. And when we wash hair, 'air' may enter easily into our body, causing our body to be even more 'liang'....

My friend who washed her hair despite all CL's advise, told me that she found her menses very very heavy after washing hair, not sure how true?

But u gals very lucky can wash hair... I remembered my MIL (who did confinement for me), refused to let me wash hair, only managed to bathe once every week using the dai feng cao...

Good morn ladies, I'm back to work today after my rest day yest for Oscar test. Waiting for my results for the blood test... My gynae told me if they nvr call me by tmrw, it means good news.... So anxious....

girls did you know there is a website ingender.com where you can post your u/s pics and the experts can guess i it is boy or girl nub [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it is fun. I posted and alll say it is a boy. We can find out on 20 week scan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hoshi: take more vit C. I am down with flu also. must have got it from my girl.

Good luck Daphne. dun worry u will be fine.

Gd afternnn all mtbs!

Remember to hv lunch! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi pretty mommies,

I've not visited this thread for a couple of days and was amazed at how fast it is moving..hee

guess wat, i'm also facing a lot of challenges looking for a confinement nanny, so my hb and i have come to a unanimous decision to hire a second maid instead. So, this maid will look after the newborn fulltime, and cook confinement food for me. After 100 days, she will share duties with my current maid and continue to be the main caregiver of my newborn.

Kimmy and Daphne thanks. I taking my oscar at TMC too. but also seeing gyane after that. so see how although i already applied leave.

haha.... thanks for sharing the site Nimkulu [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Achooing too... I haven felt my bb move yet... Super anxious totally dunno how it would feel like... V sad I think I caught flu on e super crowded mrt... Doesn't help that I look nothing like a preggie tho I m already in my 14 weeks... So I have to stand in e squeezy mrt... -_-

TGIF! :D v happy it's fri still

Just came back from OSCAR. Baby's NT is normal ... and maybe expecting a girl .....anyone noes the sex of your bb already?