(2010) 2009 TTCers Moving on to 2010... Come on in!

June

Yeah. dun stress is VERY IMPORTANT. And of cors ur DH's timing must be good la.

So of our DH here... needs to travel for work and work shift etc... need to plan too.

aw-bb

ok let me dig my brains hor -very long no use liao.

total breast feed hor? if u want more water or gentily press tum downwards -massage gentle strokes.

if u supplement with formula - reduce the strength (dilute by 20ml water) could be too high in iron also for the child causing constipation.

cos your boy under 6 mths i wont recommend juices yet. (diluted prune juice this one kiv later ok)

try water 1st

got this off the web on how to offer water.

Water. Offer your baby a daily serving of water in addition to usual feedings. Start with 2 to 4 ounces (about 60 to 120 milliliters). Try more or less as you gauge your baby's response to the water.

also take note -SG hor very hot & bb's metabolism higher too -they sweat more i wont worry so much about giving some water.

but no water at all la (for non constipated cases) for TBF is OK.) just the sips i said before after a milk feed to clean the mouth/gums.

AWBB

Haha. I dun know le. East Shore so far. Oh. My frz's gync got go ES le.

but is a gay... u wan?

haha. I can get the contact for u.

AW, i only know the more famous one is DR Heng, whose clinic is at bedok and east shore. I calculated, my nearest bus is like 3 to 4 stops to east shore but i rather go kkh.. ^^"

Liz, ya.. i took fish oil because ever since pregnancy i hate fish smell.. hence fish intake become lesser.

dont forget those chinese tonics also have to count in if you have plans to take in 2nd trim. my dh just got my mil to buy Cordyceps, bot a small amt to test out 1st.. already cost 100 plus.. and bird nest, my DH insist me to take at least once a week..

june / newbies - come on in!

some of us chart with this foc website too

www.fertilityfriend.com

BASIC LESSON ON TTC

CD is Cycle Days, counted from 1st day of your AF (menses). If today is your CD19, it means it’s been 19 days since your AF came.

DPO is days past Ovulation. Usually we O about 12-14 days before the AF comes, this is called our luteal phase. For eg, if you have a regular cycle of 30days and your luteal phase is 14 days, then 30 minus 14, which is CD16, is the day you ovulated. This is why there is the term 2 Week Wait 2WW after your Ovulation Day. Cos if after 2WW, AF not here yet, higher chance of being tested BFP (Big Fat Positive).

The gals here usually use OPKs, BBT and monitor EWCM to help us gauge when we O.

OPKs - When tested positive by dipping the strip into our urine, this means we're gonna O in the next 24 hrs and as the egg only stays alive for 12-24 hrs, when OPK is tested positive, we usually BD consecutively for 3 days or at least, on alternate days. Each strip, bought from UK website, costs about 50cents.

BBT - We measure temp the FIRST thing we wake up with the morning. We need to try and maintain the same environmental conditions (aircon/fan) and take at the same time and sleep for a minimum of 7hrs and try to have uninterrupted sleep and not move about too much. Temp during AF is rather low, temp during ovulation will dip very low, and after O, it will increase. If temp stays high for 2 weeks, BFP is almost confirmed. If temp dips when it's your DPO12-14, AF is almost sure to come.

EWCM - Egg White Cervical Mucus. Try stretching the vaginal discharge using your fingertips nearing your O day. (no, it's not disgusting :p) If it can stretch for more than 3cm, you're most likely gonna O or is O-ing. This is nature's way of preparing our bodies to create a good environment for the spermies to swim better. If you need lubricants, only use preseed (can be bought from local pharmacies off the shelves) as it is sperm-friendly.

HSG: Some gals go for HSG to check if their tubes are blocked, causing the egg to be unable to come out and meet spermies. And for some gals whose tubes are a little blocked, the dye that flows through your tubes MIGHT help clear up the tubes a little.

Egg Scanning: At a cost of time and money and effort, you can opt for scanning of eggs to check if your egg is about to be released from your ovary as this process measures the size of your egg/s. At about 20mm (2cm), it would rupture, ready to meet the spermies.

TCM: Traditional Chinese Medicine. For some gals, their womb might be too cold, lining too thin, constitution too weak, etc. TCM helps to nourish our body, warm our womb, strengthen our health, making it easier, if not better for conceiving, via herbs (either pills/liquid/powder/brewed) and/or acupuncture.

SA Test: It is also recommended that your DH (Darling Hubby) goes for a Sperm Test to check if he has enough healthy sperms to meet your egg.

That's about all for a basic lesson on TTC Hope the above helps!

For more info on the above or other TTC stuff, try looking through the list of useful webbies in my post or, just google

<><>

TTC Terms

TTC: Trying To Conceive

BD: Baby Dance (Make Love)

LMP: 1st Day of Last Menstrual Period

CD: Cycle Days

O: Ovulate

DPO: Days Past Ovulation

2WW: 2 Week Wait (After O, For Menses To Come Or Not)

AF: Aunt Flow (Menses)

TTC Methodology Terms

FA: Folic Acid (Taken Daily To Help BB's Growth)

EWCM: Egg White Cervical Mucus (Appears When Fertile)

OPK: Ovulation Predictor Strips (Used To Test If Ovulated)

HPT: Home Pregnancy Test Kit (Used To Test If Pregnant)

HCG: Pregnant Hormones (Detected In Urine If Pregnant)

BBT: Basal Body Temperature

FF: Fertility Friend Website To Record BBT www.fertilityfriend.com

BFP: Big Fat Positive (On Pregnancy Test Kit)

BFN: Big Fat Negative

BFW: Bai Feng Wan

Preggie Terms

BB: Baby

MTB: Mother To-Be

SAHM: Stay At Home Mummy

FTWM: Full Time Working Mummy

EDD: Estimated Due Date

MS: Morning Sickness

BF: Breastfeed

M/C: Miscarriage

D&C: Dilation & Curettage (To remove unwanted or unhealthy pregnancy)

Other Terms

DH: Darling Hubby

EPO: Evening Primrose Oil

KKH: Kandang Kerbau Women's And Children's Hospital

TCM: Traditional Chinese Medicine

TMC: Thomson Medical Centre

<><>

Cervical Fluid Type

Corresponding Fertility Status

Dry

Probably Not Fertile

Creamy

Possibly Fertile

Watery

Fertile

Egg white

Most Fertile

<><>

USEFUL WEBBIES

HELPFUL ALL-ENCOMPASSING SITES

http://www.babyhopes.com

http://www.babycenter.com

http://www.babynames.com

http://fertilityfriend.com (For Online Charting of BBT too)

GYNAES AND HOSPITALS

http://www.gynaecologist.sg/

http://sggynae.blogspot.com/

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/

http://www.kkh.com.sg/

TTC

- AH HUAT OPKs & HPTs from UK (By Vic Ma)

http://superficialbits.blogspot.com

- Cheap UK OPK/HPT Strips Seller on eBay

http://myworld.ebay.co.uk/fertilityplan/

- Pose Questions to Doctors live and Get Responses Fast

http://www.fertilityties.com/

- Day-To-Day Account of Ovulation

http://www.pregnology.com/ovulating.php

- About Ovulation

http://medihub.org/index.php/main/art/124

- Soy Affecting Men’s Fertility

http://health.asiaone.com/Health/News/Story/A1Story20080724-78485.html

- Ways to Increase Fertility

http://pregnancyandbaby.com/pregnancy/baby/Babymaking-101--10-ways-to-increase-your-chances-of-conception-5668.htm

- Conceiving Boy or Girl

http://www.babyhopes.com/pages.php?pageid=23

- Food to eat to Conceive Baby Boy (Alkaline)

http://www.energiseforlife.com/list_of_alkaline_foods.php

- Herbal Allies for Pregnancy Problems

http://www.susunweed.com/Article_Pregnancy_Problems.htm

- Royal Jelly for Fertility

http://natural-fertility-info.com/royal-jelly.html

http://aboutroyaljelly.com/

- Douching (spraying water into vagina to clean it) is Bad

http://www.4woman.gov/faq/douching.cfm

- Photos of Cervix

http://www.beautifulcervix.com/photos-of-cervix/

http://www.beautifulcervix.com/photos-of-cervix/pre-and-post-coitus/

- About EWCM

http://www.justmommies.com/articles/cervical-charting.shtml

http://www.tryingtoconceive.com/store/cm.htm

- About Implantation Bleeding

http://www.justmommies.com/articles/implantation-bleeding.shtml

- About OPK & HPT

http://www.peeonastick.com/opkhpt.html

- Difference between OPK & HPT

http://www.justmommies.com/articles/opk-as-hpt.shtml

- Sperm Morphology

http://yourtotalhealth.ivillage.com/abnormal-sperm-morphology.html

- About Uterus

http://www.advancedfertility.com/uterus.htm

- about opks & POcs

http://www.womens-health.co.uk/ovulation-kits-pcos.html

- about infertility

http://www.marilynglenville.com/infertility.htm

PREGNANCY

- Free Online Reading of “What To Expect When You’re Expecting”

http://www.amazon.com/gp/reader/0761121323/ref=sib_dp_pt/103-9555474-4691025#reader-page

- Pregnancy Week-By-Week

http://pregnancy.about.com/od/yourbaby/a/pregcalendar.htm

- Spotting During Pregnancy

http://www.newmomsforum.com/spotting-during-pregnancy/

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Is_spotting_brown_common_in_early_pregnancy

- Foods To Avoid

http://pregnancy.about.com/cs/nutritioninpregn/a/aaabavoidfood.htm

- Eating Seafood during Pregnancy

http://www.obfocus.com/nutrition/Seafood.htm

- Eating Papayas during Pregnancy

http://health.yahoo.com/pregnancy-resources/papaya-avoid-during-pregnancy/healthwise--tn9779.html

- Fish Oil for Mummies

http://health.articlesarchive.net/the-right-fish-oil-for-pregnant-women.html

- Vitamins and Supplements during Pregnancy

http://www.dumex.com.my/feeding_and_nutrition/pregnancy_nutrition/article/vitamins_and_supplements_in_pregnancy

- Self-Teaching of Baby

http://www.sgparenting.com

http://www.childbrain.org

- Video on Epidural

http://video.about.com/pregnancy/During-an-Epidural.htm

- Asherman’s Syndrome

http://www.ashermans.org

- Baby / Toddler Food

www.wholesomebabyfood.com

www.wholesometoddlerfood.com

- Questions to Ask Gynae

http://www.babycenter.com/0_ob-gyn-family-physician-interview-sheet_1428558.bc

- 怀孕后每天呕吐,有什么办法可改善?

http://www.zaobao.com/fk/fk081106_504.shtml

- 妇产科医生也说 怀孕不足三个月不要张扬

http://health.zaobao.com/pages8/healthy081027.shtml

- Gender Prediction

http://baby2see.com/gender/prediction.html?ageselect=26&monthselect=Oct&genderform=Predict

http://www.babygenderprediction.com/needle-gender-prediction.html

j012-2%2C00.html,j012-2%2C00.html,http://parenting.ivillage.com/pregnancy/pbabyprep/0,,j012-2,00.html

http://baby2see.com/gender/prediction.html

http://pregnancy.about.com/od/genderpredictions1/qt/ringtest.htm

http://www.webwomb.com/chinesechart.htm

- Myths

http://www.miriamstoppard.com/article.asp?aid=86

http://www.pregnancycrawler.com/modules.php?name=Headlines&file=article&sid=645

http://www.babyzone.com/babynames/china.asp

http://health.discovery.com/centers/pregnancy/dummies/myths.html

http://www.onhealth.com/script/main/art.asp?articlekey=51798&pf=3&page=2

http://www.family4life.com/nursenana/myths.htm

http://www.lifespan.org/services/specials/myths/pregnancy.htm

http://health.yahoo.com/experts/healthnews/8881/12-pregnancy-myths-worth-ignoring

http://www.amazon.com/Pregnancy-Myths-Obstetrician-Demystifies-Conception/dp/1569246955

WINE & DINE

- Chateau De L’amour (Jandew’s Food Blog)

http://chateaudelamourbakery.blogspot.com

- Asian Recipes

http://kuali.com/recipes/

- How To Make Chicken Essence

http://neckredrecipes.blogspot.com/2007/07/homemade-pure-essence-of-chicken.html

- Pig Trotters in Vinegar

http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/classics.html

http://forums.egullet.org/index.php?showtopic=94531

http://sg.******************/articles/Confinement_Recipes

- Nasi Lemak Recipe

http://www.rasamalaysia.com/labels/Malaysian%20Food%20Recipes.html

- Food Blog

http://singapuradailyphoto.blogspot.com

http://cookwithpassion.blogspot.com/

- Confinement Recipes

http://momsinmind.blogspot.com/2007/09/confinement-recipes.html

- Thermal Cookwear Recipes

http://www.thermalcookware.com/main.php?mod=Dynamic&id=23

- Ingredients Dictionary

http://www.paulaschoice.com.sg/KNOW/know_a.html

- Western Food Recipes

http://www.recipezaar.com

- Kraft Foods Recipes

http://www.kraftfoods.com/kf/Pages/home.aspx

MISCELLANEOUS

- Ox Horoscope

http://www.dsexls.com/astrology-ox-chinese-horoscope.html

- Interesting Stuff on Your Birthdate

http://www.paulsadowski.org/BirthData.asp

- Formatting in SMH Thread

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus.cgi?pg=formatting

- Use of Chinese Herbs

http://herbal.recipes.googlepages.com/articles.html

- Free Shuttle Buses Around Singapore

http://www.sgwiki.com/wiki/Shuttle_Buses

- Interesting Blog – 3rd Child via IUI

http://www.karencheng.com.au

DEAR ALL, PLEASE SHARE YOUR RESOURCES!!!

Xinyi - next appt is 26feb do Oscar test... I so scared take blood test cos my blood test must take from the veins at the back of my hand... I may be garang, but I scared of needles...

Alison - I think after I close factory I will go tattoo over my stretchmarks...

Val: sama sama leh! Now I only waiting for #2 then close factory liao. After I regain my figure...go tattoo hohohoho!

bbt

when i did my glucose test hor -one good thing i was so paraniod about the drink -i forgot that the test also need to draw blood TWICE! so nicely forgetful.

Alison - wait for me... We go tattoo together... But hor my lao eh sure say NO... Hmm... I should hope NO STRETCHMARKS at all... Siam ar... Zao ar... Bua you bua gao gao ar....

Yoz yoz..

I am in :p

Simi gossip? I wanna see Telly scold people leh :p Lately she seldom ABC.. XYZ liao :p wahahahaha

I went for waxing heh heh. Full wax.. woohoo :p

think before I pop I go wax again .. Hope JT see liao wont raise eyebrow.. Shy wahahah

BabyT: no prob, reply any time when u're free k, thks!

yah, she's going to be unwed single mom lor. so sad for her. tats the prob wz today's youngsters... too stubborn n naive.

Yurieve,

Emily is only like 17 right? I thought she have a steady bf? Dun intend to get marry?

Unwed Single mum can get baby bonus and maternity benefits or not :p

BabyT,

yes glucose test must draw at least two tubes of blood. One is before you drink the glucose, the other is after you drink the glucose. Just to let you know the glucose not nice to drink de. Very very sweet.

Val: ya la wait for u. But u dun last min chicken out hor! hahahaa!

Candice: I am WAITING for Gab to poop. Though my PD say 10 days w/o poop is ok...mine hit 1 week liao..n now I panicky. He still seems very happy though but I super sian.

No la..if got # 2 la!

sstarlight: I also wanna FULL WAX!!!!!!!!!!!!

AWBB,

Ya.. ever since I pregnant I do bikini wax.. This time round do full wax. Not too bad. Not as pain as I thought :p

Lucky no contraction ahahahha..

U also do before you give birth tat time right? Less messy right?

sstarlight!!!!!! ..keke..hw r u doing???....

weather so hot outside..nw sweating man.

erhmm ...emily that the gal who is v v young one???yukiko sometin?

sstarlight: I did not do lor...cos my pregnancy abit different frm yrs...mine alot of pre term symptoms so I better be safe lor. Until now havent wax...sigh~

candice: my boy 7 days never poo! Still thinking go PD or GP leh. PD consultation very ex liao...

rehi.. had a rush lunch.. last min got meeting ended at 1pm.. feeling breathless man..

yurieve, ohhh.. how you found out? from the thread ah.. i tot she married leh.. cant believe such young gal want to get preggy where she is just in BGR lor... amazing mah..

sstarlight: I knw...but thinking HOW? cos I dun wan to leave Gab with maid. hmmnn...feel like lighting my bush...then become flat land. xP

AWBB

Bring maid along loh. Very fast one mah. 15 mins kao dim already. Maid just wait outside a while.

Woofy,

I really got friends who married at 18, have kids at 19.. now still happy. 30 already kids already Primary 5.. Next year PSLE. And she look so youthful! Damn...

xinyi: mum working leh. Think will go weekend so I can get my hair done as well.

sstarlight: dun wan. I go out dun like to bring maid leh. I dun wan the maid to see what I spend my $$ on.

Woofy.

Tat day at KKH, I saw this couple.. Borned in 1986. The kid very big already like 4-5 yrs old. Must be those tat marry very young. The mummy damn sexy :p Ah lian type, long hair, fake lashes.. cant even tell she given birth before..

vicma, wow so many tipz...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So did any ladies succeeded from your useful tipz hehehe.

Did tried the Ovulation Kit - Clear Blue (V ex.)

Can see the smiley face so does it means got egg huh? Then tried one time niah lor.

So the trick is BD consistently around tat period lar... LOL. OkOk.

AWBB,

Ohh.. Why? Maids suppose to make your life easier one leh. Now u like that, even lesser freedom..

Or ask ur parents to come babysit then u take a day off?