(2010/12) December 2010 MTB

melissa: u got good imagination... never think so much of the climbing.. but since u say.. i think we should all lock our windows and doors... I guess the size of the toilets will be the same.. as for grilles, i have to check with husby.. cuz he says installing grilles not nice.. but if for the safety for our bub, will need to consider.. anyways BTO is like that.. we cant chose.. only see pics.. unlike second hand flats.. Is just like chosing gowns.. haha.. MTM and off the rack.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tenq - ya, mine too, watches TV, worst still, watches wat my FIL watch on SCV. Plays some toys also. I was thinking classes can help in social skills and have some kids to interact with weekly instead of being alone and with adults.

leelee - ya should lock windows and doors, cos the design is really weird. The grilles are quite ugly, but I will install for safety sake. no choice..Do you read the punggol sapphire group in Facebook?

Mummies any recommendation for any nice birthday ballons/banners I can get for kiddo's 1 year old party? I guess I'm too late to order online cos I keep procrasinating.

bubbly, yup you need a data plan. =) Yay.... can't believe what I said ytd had came true. It's sad. I still can't believe. He was such a genius. Without him, my job as designer would be so much harder.

sad....

Melissa> i get my balloon bouquets from harvestwell at parkway parade $40 for a big helium filled bunch , latex and mylar. Or at Tampines behind Safra there is a shop called balloom baron, its an warehouse type. Lots and lots and lots of balloons!

Can check them both out online [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

LeeLee: I'm not nice la.. hope zaizai will learn to drink all he sucks.. hahahaha..

TenQ: I hate it when I reach home early afternoon and see the tv is on with those repeated TCS series. :-( Issac loves the ads, and he'll be drinking milk watching tv, with helper and MIL staring at the tv. I find it disturbing, but I am not able to do much, other than carrying Issac away and say to him "cannot watch too much tv", or telling helper not to let him watch too much, max 1 hour, on YBCR and also nursery rhymes. MIL also super bored at home, other than talking to Issac, she cannot carry him, too heavy for her.

Melissa: You're most welcome. Yes, BJG have trial class, $43 for 1 class. When we went for trial class, there were 3 of us, 9mo, 7mo, 6mo.. so, zaizai is the most advanced and most kaypoh, sabo teacher's materials. The semester just started last weekend.. Heard GUG on long waiting list, so you must do it early oh.. :)

BBribena: my colleague suspects he passed on even before yesterday.. just for the sake of the iphone 4S announcement etc.. and some even said probably coz the shares dropped so much, he couldn't take it..

stefie

yr colleague realli super duper posion lei...me stl tinking wan to chg or nt, nw he say processor is faster my heart itchy wan to chg liao lei...

ya...gt cheaper plan better den nth rite...can save up a lot per yr...

Roz, I also dun know how to pack my Ergo Sports and Sports is already their tiniest version. Sometimes, I just tuck the shoulder straps in, then fold in half but still bulky.

Iphone: I just got mine 2 months ago. Wanna cry now.Waste money.

Hi mummies, sorry to disturb, I'm an Nov mum, my friend just started a cake baking business, she bakes cakes and cup cakes. She will be baking my BB's first birthday cake with Anpanman theme. Please do take a look if U are looking for baker for your BB's birthday! Thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.facebook.com/pages/bewitCHING/201761753226971

Bubbly> i also think maybe he passed on earlier and they announced it later because he didnt want to steal the limelight from his iphone...

Even tho the shares may hv dropped slightly, apple is still one of the richest companies...what's a few billion dollars..ha

Bboy> thats my only grouse with ergo...cant pack it neatly ^.^ anyways not waste $ lah, 4S is not reeeaaalllllyyy that much of an upgrade. As long can call and go online, can liao. I got my iphone 4 a couple of months ago, too, but it was because my 3GS was dying...

Mel, the 1st and last day in the company is always the happy occasion[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Enjoy your count down lah[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bubbly, maybe can let zai zai join in play group or 1/2 day class. Alexis has a classmate who join them daily from 9.30 am - 5.30pm. I guess will be good for Zai zai? Better than watching TV for Ah ma right. But will be ex about $670+ (After $600 subsidies for full time working mother) for my 1st skool. Full day better than 1/2 day cos 1/2 day too short. Maybe can discuss with Mr Teo?

I told hubby about Steve Jobs pass on, hubby said he has been sick for many years. So it is just a matter of time.

PSH, tell me about that mouse (Xiao Lao shu) my colleague, ha!! ha!!! He is siao one lah. Heng I can control[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Everyday new temptation for me... Haiz, his pay is much higher than mine leh[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Cannot keep up with his high style lah

I want to wait for iphone 5 cos totally different design. Will be like Samsung lastest Galaxy phone, larger screen and thinner. Hubby said no point cos iphone4S very much like iphone 4. See how long I can tahan that mouse poison lor.

Anyway can never keep up with the phone one lah, too ex liao. I am very happy with my piece of art ; iphone 4[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BBoy, Roz, no regrets lah. Iphone 4 is very good equipment[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Stefie,

U have lobang for shoe cabinet? I need to change so furniture coz my flooring pop again[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but I want cheap 1 so that when I move in 2-3 years time I dun want them already..

Now no choice must change

BBoy: don't cry, don't cry.. not very significant diff rite?

Roz: you also think the same?

Stefie: ya, life is unpredictable, what to say cancer.. sometimes, it's irony, only rich people can get rich people sickness.. if poor people, sure no way out..

That day when I was unhappy about the tv thing, I really contemplated to send him to "school". Mr Teo says can discuss on how to improve things, I'm not sure, coz he is not in town now. But for sure, he also agree he doesn't want zaizai to watch too much tv, heng we don't have cable tv. :p Now, need to weigh all options and see what we have. I wonder if it'll be too shiong for him to go "school" everyday. What do they do in class? $670+ is per month? But then, it'll kinda defeats my purpose of hiring a helper, ie to take care of the little one under MIL's supervision.. aiyo..

Yah i wont be changing phones so soon, mainly coz of my casing, haha. It is a good piece of equipment, my kids abuse the phone quite a bit. But i think my hubby will be getting the 4S since his contract is due for renewal soon...

Someone said 4S sound like Samsung's Galaxy S, then now iphone5 also going to be like Samsung? No wonder they are suing each other..

Melissa: how to join the punggol sapphire group in FB? saw u asking abt GUG and saw bubbly replied. so far i went moubatten GUG after muddy recommend.. not bad.. not on waiting list... i guess cuz moubatten is new so not many pple.. but i find the programs quite good.. $50 for

1.5hours on the trial class..

Bubbly: I also agree sending zai zai to sch helps.. jovan also watches alot of tv... sometimes worse still, my husby watch wrestling, i worry my boy will become violent next time.. but when watching tv, he will sit still and doesnt move at all.. faintsss..

bubbly, actually IFC, they basically do nothing[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Just play, interactions with one another thru play, makan, sleep, shower by teacher lor. Tuesday I was at Alexis skool, I saw her standing supported by one of the baby rocker playing with her teacher and kpo about her sleeping skoolmate, wow I am so touch cos i never see her do these stuff at home. So I am happy that I made the right choice to send her to IFC instead of putting at my MILs[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] The stimulation with 1 another really help her development[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]And babies can be more independent, more routine.

Too much TV for babies are not good, especially adult TV leh.

Roz - Thanks very much for the info! I'll order from harvest well.

bubbly - okok I'l try to sign up for 1 trial lesson to try. Your zaizai very cute.

Yours is TCS series, mine is "Fenghuang" on SCV. You know those taiwanese news? My FIL watches that everyday. She even knows some of the taiwanese commercials. Will pause and watch them too.

Stefie - yupyup counting down to my last day now! But really miss the collegues here.

Leelee - I think have to request, you can search for punngol sapphire den request to join the group.

Oh..did they tell you how long for the waiting list?

My hubs watch soccer, Kayleia likes!

Roz- i tried piggyback ytd, chloe's fine in it and comfy but i think i still prefer front facing cos i have no idea wat she pulling off the shelves at my back! almost pulled off some stuff at NTUC ytd..hee..

Klitz - ya, i tink for now i might stil use front facing better.. cos hor, no one seems to notice her behind and im worried people might bump into her.. will try out hip style tonite... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Melissa - like u i also worry bout people climbing onto the aircon ledge cos there was a report ever on those foreign worker climbing into houses by tat way! and i stay on the 4th floor only! so i install grills in my bedroom side window ( one panel where it opens to the ledge ). i insisted tat HB install it cos i dun wana wake up to suddenly see a bangala man standing in our bedroom! haha...better to be safe than sorry for me.. :p

stefie: wow.. at least u can peek at what alexis is doing.. I cant even see.. always at the door.. really picking and dropping him nia..

melissa: my hubs also watch soccer and motor GP... all also jovan's fav... as long as its tv channels.. so far they never say im on waiting list.. But i felt its too early for jovan.. i just went for the trial class and say that if im interested, i will sign up for the actual classes.. i think i will only sign up when he's about 14-18 months.. now jovan still blur blur.. only when sing songs then he listens.. else he's playing the toys in the trial class or in his own world.. haha

LeeLee: my poor zaizai doesn't have the luxury of sitting still on chair to watch tv, except meal times or his supposedly tv time.. hahahaha.. we normally put him in the play yard, so, when there's ads that he likes, he'll stand up immediately and watch the tv, like from his "prison".. so cham hoh..

Stefie: ya, also we are superstitious.. hahaha.. I am very affected by the geomancer, when he calculated zaizai's name and life, he says not to let him watch too much rubbish show, let him watch more news.. hahaha.. maybe that's why I am more disturbed than usual.. hahaha...

Melissa: isn't it amazing they know the songs and the music so well?! especially the starting of the Ai show, he'll sure turn and watch the tv, regardless what he is doing! If you try to block his view, he'll still try his best to peek.. haiyo..

bubbly, ur geomancer will even tell u not to let him watch shows but watch news???? wow that's the first time i heard of a geomancer say this hahah.. so interesting.

O Ai song is unavoidable haha even my newphews that does not watch adult tv know this song hahah

Crystal: hahaha.. paiseh, we superstituous in this sense.. ya, the geomancer is very detailed, to what he is suitable to take up, how to teach him properly based on his character, even about his wife! but, I try, still trying to take it with a pinch of salt! hhahahaha...

cel> haha...k i've never been to the supermarket with my son in the back...usually for walks and he would zzz. but my mum saw me carrying him like that once and she said that someone could have taken him out and i would not have known...-_-'"

some TV is...oklah, but no TV is best. but how to?? i notice even childcare centres (at least the ones near my place) let their kids watch TV but I think they put on DVDs like Barney and it's only for 30 mins a day..

roz, i'm sure we would be able to feel the wt difference rite? and I thot they would be strapped quite tightly to us?

bubbly, hahaha ya with a pinch of salt is good. haha but he is quite detailed haha

Roz: i rem the pic when he doze off behind u... like trying to catch the air from outside :p

Bubbly: wow... ur geomancer very detailed.. all the way to zai zai's wife??! u took him to the geomancer or u gave him his eight characters?

god's child - wahahaha! Funny abt the bangala part! Ya so scary rite? Dunno who will climb into your house. So best to install grilles. So if I forget to close my service yard or balcony doors I won't be worried. I have to worry for both! If i forget to close service yard, ppl might climb in, if I forget to lock blacony's door, neighbour can climb down. OMG! Stress!

Leelee - hehe, maybe cos Jovan's a typical boy, so he follow your hubs, enjoy soccer and motor GP. My girl also blur blur one, especially when she's outside even more blur! Now she's into a pointing phrase. Pointing at everything. My mil also said too young to bring them for classes, says its too stressful for them. But actually I just want her to interact more with other kids.

bubbly - ya its amazing. She likes the colgate advertisement! If kenna block she will peek too. They are damn funny! Do you let zaizai watch educational shows?

crystal - ai song too addictive

re: geomancer

ya woh.. geomancer really very detailed.. we gave him the 8 characters.. coz hubby went there alone, he worried hubby forgot everything, he even recorded and burned into CD.. but many of his advices are pretty "logical": in order to teach him to be filial, we must show by example.. instead of taking dishes for him, we should be taking dishes for our elderly, so he knows he should be taking food for elderly.. something like that..

melissa, goodness your new place is built in such a way that u can even climb into neighbor's house?? wat a structure. i tink the grilles now are quite pretty too so no need to stress over this oki.

bubbly, ur geomancer very cute le haha

Melissa: zaizai loves ads with GALS in it.. the weiken.com small little girl with piggy mouth to Magnum angmoh lady running towards the icecream truck.. educational shows ah, just the YBCR, some dizigui or sanzijing or barney counting.. all those that can put everyone to sleep.. hahahahaha!

Crystal> actually when he's in the back i can't really feel him, haha. But am quite sure you can't yank him out without me realising

Leelee> that one fail lah...i cant believe he could sleep like that. I had my husband load him into the carrier for me, and he wasnt really placed properly. No wonder i got all the weird looks, hahah

Iphone: Not so upset now since many of you are still ok with your Iphone 4 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

IFC: I'm also about to send my boy to IFC. Even if there's not much he can learn there, at least he will learn communication, socialising skills. And more open to new people, independence. All these are better than watching people quarrel on TV all the time. I find that those Taiwanese series that older folks like to watch always have scheming and arguments. Having said that, I do let my boy watch TV with me. Not cartoons cos he can't appreciate TV yet.

CArriers: someone gave a link on how to wear carrier other than front facing. I can't master it. Since many mommies are using Ergo, maybe I can check with one of you on how to wear otehr styles during the bash?

I have one good stroller then thought it's too big. Bought small one for bringing him out myself. Still inconvenient. Imagine MRT, lift always no space for strollers, etc. End up with this carrier. Best buy so far. My good stroller is a waste of money, used only twice.

Melissa: u very funny leh.. i think bangala more scary.. so to prevent neighbour form climbing down, u should make friends with them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Kayleia is fast.. can stand and walk abit.. now can point.. clever gal..

bubbly: wow.. very pro le ur geomancer.. issit ex? u engage him to calculate zai zai's chinese name? does ur geomance see feng shui? ur zai zai v cute leh.. no wonder he smiles so sweetly at me... awwwww... can i kiss him next time? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

LeeLee: I'm not sure about price, as we didn't compare, but we got him to choose chinese names, as both of our Chinese super CMI.. even after choosing, we had difficulty knowing how to pronounce them.. that was why, I asked you not to ask me what's the Chinese name stands for, I don't know if separated, what's the meaning.. but we chose Happiness.. I think they do fengshui too, but I can't recall what's the geomancer's name, tonight I text you.. kiss kiss.. we exchange kisses, can I kiss Jovan too? :-D

Re: babies watching tv

bubbly, I feel a bit upset too when I see my MIL put my boy and his two other toddler nephews in front of tv in the evening. Oh wells. Sometimes MILs just dunno what to do with the young ones or they got no energy. Maybe next time send zaizai for half day playgroup? I sending my boy for half day playgroup from 18 months to 2 years. Then at 2 years, enroll him full day into the centre I work at. My centre only take in children from 2 years onwards. If I leave him at home, he sure become tv addict. Regarding my little genius, you make me feel so guilty to stop my boy after second term. Haha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I lazy mummy. I think I would be too tired to bring my boy for class on weekends. Haha. The new class you sign zaizai up sounds good!! What I like for my little genius is only the songs, flashcards and memory activity.

Roz, I read an article before about tv and children. For children above 2 years old, a bit of tv time daily is acceptable. That's why childcare have 'tv time' while waiting for parents to pick children up.

bubbly: hahhaa.. exchange.. okok, set! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks, hear from u tonight...

Debbie: I'm sorry, I didn't mean to make you feel guilty. You have your reasons, and I'm sure you are doing the best for your boy. I agree MILs sometimes really have nothing much to do already, and putting them to watch tv is the best distraction.

LeeLee: ;-)

Mel, can always meet up with your ex colleagues to be lah[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bubbly, in SIN. People can die cannot be sick cos medicial expenses super high leh. Sad to say most of the jialat case are for poor people, no $$$ to pay for medical treatment. Haiz....

Believe in good ones and forget about the bad ones. Take everything as a pinch of salt. That's why I can't go to fortune teller, I only remember bad ones and forgets about good ones[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zai zai, straight lah[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Good to know. Ha!! ha!!

Leelee, I can only see small portion of Alexis centre, that day heng she was right infront of me[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Her teacher said she can clap already, only few days later then she starts clapping. Ha!! ha!! I missed alot of her 1st[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But better be late than none lor[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

PSH, you want to try this method? It works for my hubby home button. Just snap your iphone on your thigh (gentle also not too gentle), where the home button facing down (front facing your thigh). This was shared in the web, later I goggle and add here.

If it works, you can wait for iphone 5[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tv

Ooh, I think my girl is totally kampong kid. Don't watch tv de. I download those children shows and sing along also no interest. She only like to go for my remote controls to chew. Worst thing is she don't let me watch also. Everytime will disturb me. Want me carry...etc. Wanna have a break also cannot.

Sam, yeah. Babies love remote control cos they like the cause and effect. They wonder wow so magic, mommy or daddy press 1 button, the TV change screen. Like wise for the fan remote control for my Alexis[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Guess what she want the real thing, and not some not working one. Alexis will eye on our working one. Ha!! ha!!

Btw mommies, anyone followed Child of our time series? It is very good.

Just yesterday me and hubby was watching

Series Three (2002)

Thanks for the Memories

Power Struggles

Active or Idle

In this series, it was shared that it is good for daddies to help to bath babies. It will stimulate some chemicals in the brains or something like that. I see whether I can catch it again and update all the benefits. I remember very well, cos I was so happy to push some of this responsibility to hubby[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Just forget the real benefits beside bonding.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Child_of_Our_Time

Bubbly, me knock off i 22 mins time[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stefie: wow.. very clever leh... can clap liao. i need lots of patience and i cant wait to see jovan too.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

samantha: mine too!! love the remote control and mobile phones.. also chewing.. dunno whats so nice.

and me!! 10 mins to go!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Leelee, Girls faster than boy lah. Just see Jovan enough liao. SO cute and handsome boy[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

crystal - ya weird rite??? alot of ppl complaining abt the place man.

bubbly - haha! zaizai typical boy also, so like to look at girls. Kayleia watches YBCR. Really damn boring. Except for the little songs now and den. thinking abt it, I haven seen him since I think 1st gathering at Alena's place!

Leelee - haha, ya must make friends with them lor incase they climb down. Wat if their kids climb down too? omg..

No lah, Kayleia only managed to walk a few steps. now she's not interesting in walking at all.

stefie - ya must still meet them up man. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ok I'm going hm too!!!!! chat with u girls soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: Sending our babies to school

Reading about Alexis in IFC & the things she has learnt how to do & the positive way she behaves just made me more determined to send my gal to some playgroup at 18months.

Like what some mummies here mentioned & are concerned about, MIL/FIL putting babies in front of the TV for extended periods are a no-no. Cos they themselves are too old & have run out of ideas on how to entertain our starting-to-be-mobile-and-active bubs. And most of them are too weak to carry our babies for long periods. So school is definitely the way to go in the very near future, at least for my gal. It is not so much about kiasu-ism but more about letting them get exposed to different things, people & environment. Remember most of us had such a horrible time during confinement, I am sure our babies also do not like to face the 4-walls & the same old people day in day out. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think our kids hv an affinity for phines and remotes because we spend so much time on them...hahah

Bboy> jus go youtube...there are a lot of videos, hv to patiently go through then because some are quite bad quality. So far i hv only tried front and back carry only.

Playgp> my girl went to playgp at 18 mths too. 2 hrs daily. They did *some* learning there, ABCs, counting, coloring...but she just enjoyed being with her friends and adored her teacher to bits. And my mum used the time to do her marketing.

For my son, probably will be enrolling him at the same sch my girl is going to when his time comes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]