(2010/12) December 2010 MTB

Eon Eon,

I laughed at your comment about your Cheyenne disliking your MIL. I totally agree with you n Stefie; I'd rather my baby to be closer to me & my mum rather than the in-laws. Everytime my PIL carry her, I would be secretly hoping she will cry n reject them. Once she does that, I will praise her afterwards. They are absolutely dirty, unhygienic, irritating n disgusting pp. I have been staying with them for many years with gritted teeth. Now with the baby here, I lagi can't stand them & their habits. I can't talk to my husband about it cos no way I will win them.

Now that old woman is talking about making 'mi-hu' for my baby for weaning. What crap is 'mi-hu'??? She said all her frens' & relatives' babies eat that. Yah yah, hello, this is MY baby you are taking about hor, who cares about what your relatives feed?!

Sorry for the rant. They never fail to spoil my day. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi all mummies, its been long since I log in here. BB suppose to be born in feb 2011 but she wanted to see the end of 2010 so she popped out in dec 2010. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I have read through the thread like so many bbies are on semi solid. Mine still refuse to...Dont know what I should do. Plus she has been having cough for nearly 2 weeks. Seen GP seen PD still coughing at night. Hmm heart pain seeing her coughing. Anyway just want to know what should I start of with for her semi solid food. I bought Friso rice cream though. Trying to see if there is any other alternatives. There are so many of varieties on shelves dont know which one should I get for her.

Oh dear, wonder if it's because I left the puree in the blender to cool before I put into the ice tray. Tried scrubbing using the bottle cleaner but unable to remove the stains. I will try to soak and scrub again. Thanks Muddypaws!

lena> the baby blenders usually have quite small capacities. Or you can get the magic bullet type, you can use it as a juicer for yourself as well :D rather than the steamer/blender type.

toddler...can eat anything liao hahah. best is if you can give them the same food that you are eating.

jialing> can try soaking overnight with some vinegar or baking soda, may help.

leelee> if you're feeling lazy, try banana or avocado since these no need to steam ^.^

lena, oh I mean still I steam my gal food but not blended anymore, so no pureed for her age la, hehe :p

Oh u gng to 2 places, then maybe can consider the weaning machine? Easy and light to carry and make pureed food, I saw Mums and Babes selling [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

chercat, 'mi hu' is rice cereal, that is wat older folks mean[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

eoneon: just back from PD's say he indigestion. gave him prebiotics... one smallsy bottle $40 let him try that and see if he is ok. PD never mention abt teething somemore ask me want to shun bian let him take his vac today! his poo smells a bit sourish PD say it is undigested milk. wahhh jiat lat hor he on EBm some more and i supplement with Formulae (karihome)Goats milk supposed to be more digestible hor???

cc: mine is failing me big time leh. cham! so scary. i heard from my friend that one of her colleagues never got her memory back after childbirth. sound scary!

roz: eh, not really in her face but she can hide her face there at times... so far, its not posing any discomfort for my gal.

lena: actually not a necessity to get blender. roz method is just as good. im using as i bought it long time back but never really use. so must make use of it.

stefie: i actually just wrote to nestle about nan pro 2. see what is their reply bah.. hehe

chercat: mi hu is rice cereal if im not wrong.

papergirl: i think this is my first time talking to you. i MIA for a couple of months after i gave birth. so might not know you if you started frequenting our thread back then. maybe your girl is not ready for semi solid yet? take your time to slowly intro to her. as for coughing, dewdew taught us how to make chuan bei pear water for baby to drink when they cough.

- 1 Tablespoon Chuan Bei

- Some rock sugar or honey to taste (optional)

- 1 Asian pear, sliced

Put the semi-crushed cbuan bei, rock sugar, and sliced pear in a ceramic bowl. Fill up the bowl with hot water and steam for about 30-45 minutes, or until the pear is soft. Serve immediately.

jialing: dont have to worry about the colour stain. i think will come off. cause i remember my rice cooker and blender was badly stained when i cooked tumeric rice. but after a few washes, the colour slowly disappear. tumeric stain is worse than pumpkin...

Thank you mummies for all your important and precious inputs on cereal feeding.

I only have time for a quick browse through. Will go home tonight, digest and share with my wife.

Really appreciate it!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mango: Average about 3-4oz... half an avocado, or 3oz of porridge (cooked with potato, carrots, broccoli, chicken stock + white bait), or pureed sweet potato with rice cereal+BM or oatmeal+barley etc etc....

jcbb: oh, think just let your boy be on prebiotics as a supplement loh. i remembered when i was pregnant and had a super bad case of food poisoning, my gynae prescribed that too me too. and when i went to the pharmacy to buy cause i think my gynae ran out, i heard the pharmacist from tmc pharmacy telling one mother that its good to supplement her kiddo with that.

oh, so you are belinda.. okok.. i can put a face to this nick liao.. hehe

Thanks all mummies foe the well wishes.. Hopefully can get well soon. My fever went up and down.. Sianz~

Lena: if u really want to get a philips blender or steamer cum blender, I cam help u get it 20% off retail price. For steamer cum blender think it's retail price is $179 (it didn come with those cups as mentioned by the others). Blender retail price is $79.90. I gt the blender myself.

stefie

hd read e link...hhmm...wif e samples i gt shld able to last till end of Jun...later i'm gg to ntuc n see if they restock Nan Pro 2 or nt...go n kpo...hehe...

so far she taking it well...there is one day we didnt let her drink any stage 2 milk but she will stl wake up in e middle of nite n cry so milk powder is e make cause n nw her poo is back to normal so we will juz cont wif Nan Pro 2.

nw yr gal cannt take similac n nan pro 2...like tat hw huh??

Eon Eon, let us know once they replied[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]I will also write to them soon.

PSH, I will also kpo when I pass by NTUC[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good to hear that your gal is taking it well.

We just started feeding her Nan pro 2 again on Sat. She has gasy poops but least better than lau sia right. She lau sai when on similac.

I think her crying at night is due to teething, or over stimulated, not cos of cereal or Nan pro 2. If she is taking Nan pro 2 well, I will not change again, cos really easy on wallet and good balance of vits, minerals and probiotics.

Lena,

U can get Braun basic no frills hand held blender for abt $45.

I bought one for #1 but hardly used it cos she moved away from purees very quickly.

I steam over the stove n just mash with a fork or push through a wire mesh sieve. Sometimes I finely grate first then steam, then mash with fork.

Sorry to disturb your thread.

I have some items to let go.

1. Desitin Creamy 4oz (Blue packaging) (Expiry Jun 2012) - $8.50

2. Desitin Creamy 2oz (Blue packaging) (Expiry Jun 2012) - $5.50

3. California Baby Calendula Cream 4 oz (Expiry 2013) - $25

4. California Baby Calendula Cream 2 oz (Expiry 2013) - $15.50

Please PM me if you are interested.

PSH, when you baby fart very loudly and forceful, then poop. Alexis doesn't have this problem before she was on Nan pro 2. But on the other hand, it is better to fart then trapped inside her tiny belly. Nowadays, she will poop after feedings. Ha!! ha!! Change in pooping pattern.

When she is on Similac, when she poop she will cry. So I rather have gasy poops then difficulty in pooping.

Does your girl has this also?

stefie

oic...my gal gt fart but nt loud n forceful juz normal fart...so i tink she can take nan pro 2...but she always didnt finish her milk, will always left abt 10-20ml den dun wan le.

agreed...better to fart den trapped inside their tummies...

Hello thanks for organizing the 6th mth bash! btw, May i know the venue n date n time ? I would like to join if i can make it, is it on weekend or weekday?

As i wish to bring my girl along to mix with all the kids, as notice that she will cry when she see strangers or tend to cry when she see too many peoples in shopping mall. I hope to join you all your gathering, to mix with all the kids, to let her socialise. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eoneon thanks for the recipe! I hope it will help most importantly she takes in. I seldom come into this thread before going birth instead I'm always browsing feb 2011 MTb .

My bb progress: makes all kind of sounds alot of ah buuu, when I lay her down on tummy she can't really lift up herself yet, her neck consider stable but when carrying her still need some back support.no teeth yet but keep drooling n wanting to put her fingers in.

How about the rest? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello papergirl, my girl also no teeth yet, same also, keep drooling and she like her hand more than Sophie..

She is 6mth old , but still doesn't know how to flip.

Papergirl, C@ndy, Alexis also drools alot, saying abuuuu, do secret hand signs, like her thumb thumb more than sophie[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

C@ndy, the later the better, if not you will be super busy[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

PSH, Alexis also like that. She will scream for milk now, last time over feeding time, she still can tahan, she is taking 180ml x 5 feeds now. Will up to 210ml soon, when she gives the cue.

C@ndy, every baby are different, just let them have their baby time and enjoy every min with them.

Don't give them timing like within this month must reach this milestone. Cos once into main stream school they will have enough stress.

I don't really read much into it when mommies shared their babies milestones, cos every baby are different[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Roz: yeah yeah... Going to try apple, avocado, banana and payaya... btw, are u the one who replied Eon's purees? Is that u in FB? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pauline: I also get the blender instead of the steamer cum blender... hehhehe.. cuz 79.90 is cheaper than 179.00.. i steam in the rice cooker..

Re: Poo

When u all say gasy means what? poo got bubbles?

Supposed to go to pasir ris meet PSH to swap FM but just as i was getting ready to go, my boy decided to puke all over me and i dont hv a change of clothes at my mum's house zzz. Why timing so good, hah?? Lolz...sorry PSH!

Anyways my boy can actually get up on all 4s and then do some weird leap forward. Most of the time is still leopard crawl all over the playmat and bed. He's almost flipped over a few times while on the changing table zzz. He can also recognise my iphone and will always go for it first if i leave it within his reach, haha.

hi mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow i'm so tired trying to find the 'teether' for my girl, she seems to be biting and sucking everything and anything T_T

now that she can move ard though not really crawling yet, shes bumped her head few times on the floor liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

decmum, my girl using pigeon size S teat, tried M on her but failed so stuck to S until now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies, when giving your baby pureed fruits, do u add it into cereal or give by itself?

Cindy, have you tried using wash cloth? Alexis like it now when I put wash cloth on her neck when feeding her, she will help herself with the wash cloth instead[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

She will learn to be gentle after few bumps lah[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

stefie, hmm i notice that clarice like wash cloth as teether also! i find worst coz she seems to drag it with her and 'clean' wherever she drag, i have to keep changing :p

haha her bumps recently more, then will cry cry abit to warn me and when i carry she stop, omg!

i hope shes not bumping herself to make me carry her haha

roz: Liz is all all fours, and rocks back and forth... she makes a dash for my Nokia phone and my hubs iphone as well. She got acquianted with her laundry basket and was found sucking on it.... faint!

Cindy: I got this little water-based teether that is rather soft and handy. Not sure if you can get them in Jkt. Else like what stefie says, give your girl the washcloth or bib. Liz loves chewing on her bib too.

Papergirl/Candy: let babies develop at their own pace... my girl is 6months 2weeks, has 2teeth, leopard crawls and attacks my cellphone.

Mummies, is there a possibility that my bb's bumps are caused by bm due to something my wife ate?

My mum told me the bumps appeared again this morning after a milk feed.

i yet to start my bb on solids.. and seems a bit confused of what to start first? so if i like to start weaning.. what food should i prepare first? and seems that many mummies buy the ice trays to keep frozen puree? so the frozen puree can keep for how many days?

the 18th weaning class anyone going? i yet to confirm for the gathering too cos i need to check if hubby can fetch us there... when the deadline to confirm?

Stefie,

The feeding dish is good and I have been using .. I recommended some mummies too..

As for the grinding set.. No use.. I gave away...

Eon: can add my name to the listing. Thank u.

Mummies, if you don't want to spend on blender, pigeon and combi has weaning set where there are 'tools' for grinding the food. The weaning set is not expensive. Isetan has sale too for the pigeon set.

stefie

i went ntuc n see nan pro...they hd restock but nt frm Swiss

ooh...yr gal aso like tat huh...cld it be teething tats y like tat but i ask my PD, he say cannt b, shld b hungry.

yugal

wat i kw is wat e mother eat will goes to e BM aso...mayb those mummies who is breastfeeding can advise u more.

Roz

its ok...we live quite near so anytime can pass to u...

yugal: there is a possibilities that what ur wife eat that ur bb is allergy to .. so, just ask ur wife to think back what she has eaten .. i asked my sister b4, she said her children has some rashes when she was bf eventhough food she ate is the same old things .. sometime, bb just had allergy at that point of time .. she said can try to eat that type of food again in future n see anything happen or nt . another sign of allergy is look at ur bb anus . if there is a ring type of redness then confirm is food allergy.

Yugal, I think it's possible that it's something from breastmilk that your girl is allergic to. Ok my boy doesn't have bumps, but he has a bit of blood in his stools when I consume cow milk. My boy in tbf. So PD suspect a cow milk allergy. I suppose if cow milk can spread to BM like this, some types of food that your girl is allergic to may also go into the BM. Check with PD. Anyway, issit your girl's skin sensitive to dust? Dustmites?

Juliana, my boy has the same problem with pigeon magmag!! He will treat it like a teether and bite the tip and he will be wet with water spurting onto his face and romper -.- and to think I was so excited letting him drink from it. My mum says is the baby not ready. Hmm..

Stefie, I like your attitude when you said you dun really read much into milestone stories cos every baby is different. And from your various posts, I gather you are a cool & 'relaxed' mum though Alexis is your first child. I hope to be like you too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And like Alexis, my baby rejects all teethers, including the very expensive Sophie but instead prefers cheap & easily accessible things like her own hands, thumbs, bibs or face cloth. Haha!

Stefie, haha.. PIL stands for parents in law leh.. If i say like dat like nv gif my mil face.. Besides i dun reali blame them for insistin to shave her botak... her hairs is not alot when born also.. n little hair easier to bath her... hahaha... But of cos, i rather she got more hair la.. at least better lookin when dress up... I dun find ALexis very boy boy lookin leh... at first yes but later i dun feel that.. especially when she cry or smile.. so girly lo compared to mine...

Muddypaw/Roz/Eon/Grumpus, haha... after some tinkin.. i decided to stick to the traditional method (fork) first... If reali dun work then i will buy the blender cum steamer which you all suggest... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Cos i also ask my colleague for advise n wat she said also correct la... BB food portion pretty small so not hard to manual mash ourself... So i decided to try... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks for ur advise jie meis... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pauline, thanks for ur offer but guess i will stick to traditional method first.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

LitttleMay, i also thought of using ur method but i scared later when i bring back some of the puree food, it will start to defrost on our way back n worried whether it will hav bacteria or spoil?

Mangogal.. Haha.. ok.. will go check out the weanin machine you mention cos i'm not sure wat izzit.. But i rmb u mention the feedin dish which is also in my consideration list.. haha...

Stefie.. Hmm.. the baby food maker seems good but tin i gotta go c how its like cos i nv c before... haha... N the pic doesn't show much details... Yes, i also considering the feedin dish cos seems convenient n not ex... hehe..

Hav u start givin Alexis water? Try givin her more water to drink cos now that they start eatin cereal, their body may b more heaty too.. wa.. Alexis seem to be growin very fast leh.. If she's 70cm now, she's taller than Clarissa already n i tin weight probably heavier too... Good that her intake increasin... Clarissa's intake seem stuck at the same level since she 3mth +...

Roz... haha... my ger also doin leopard crawl all over her bed and the leap forward u mention look abit like leopard goin to pounce on prey rite? lol.. Cos my ger also like that n so active lo... She's very interested in my iphone too!

Debbie and Juliana... Haha... i let my ger tried once on magmag too but same like u all, she chew or hold in her mouth or even swingin it ard wif her hands.. So i keep the magmag first as i tin she's not ready yet.. :p

Dbaby, I can't really recall cos I requested quite some time ago but they were timely in the sense that they delivered the sample to me when Darius was 5 and a half months. Are you going for the gathering on the 18th? Hopefully you can get it before then so we can exchange there.

jj, I don't mind buying the similac from you but where do u stay? I stay in Bukit Panjang.

Lena, its ok ;) Btw I got the Avent steamer cum blender at the Philips carnival fair at $176. I also find it quite ex but since already go all the way there, so just get lor. Also very convenient to make puree for bb. Anyway you dun need to bring it to and fro your mum's place. You can prepare the food to last for 1 week and freeze it.

DewDew, I will be bringing a gal fren along for the bash. Can you attach your list again? Sorry can't find it .

Lena,

actually i dun think its necessary to get a blender to puree the food.. in fact, if u just cook till v v soft, and mash it up and get ur bb to try, she will be better at eating semi-solids food then babies who start on pureed food.. at least tat is my experience for no 1..

cos for no 1, i blend everything.. until to the point where she became v slow in learning how to eat coarser food...

then she also became lazy in learning to chew.. so wld reject food if it was not finely blended..

can u imagine at 16mths, i even had to bring my handheld blender overseas cos she was still taking that kind of food?

so for no2 , i shall see if i can straightaway start her on food tat i just mash.. i guess they will choke a bit but slowly they will learn..

but i dunno why i still stupidly go and buy a new handheld blender 2 weeks ago! i forgot i wanted to try her on mashed food.. haha.. anyway, the blender i bought was a Braun one for $79.

Cindy, I read from somewhere (sorry hoh being reading alot, can't remember where) can chill the washcloth if baby teething needs something cool to bit on[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] is clarice looking for security item? Could be the wash cloth, she helps you to "clean" yr house. Ha!!! Ha!!! So cute, wasted last trip didn't really carry her much, miss her leh[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

PSH, really.... I guess have to make do with made in Phil till nestle willing to release made in Swiss[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif];)

I also don't know why she like that leh, more like nightmare than hungry. I think is more of teething or maybe one of the mystery in baby bah. It will pass. Maybe try to put ru yi you before she sleeps.

Lena I checked pigeon one is selling at $39.50 at kp. Some other brands have also, tollyjoy is selling the same thing at 19.90, piyo piyo is selling at 29.90, the Taiwan brand farlin is selling at 14.90, the prices is +/- bah, before 20% discounts for members and 15% for non members. I think might as well get those popiah grinder even cheaper, the same thing

I gave Alexis some water already. Maybe should add some gripwater and let her drink. To kill the wind in stomach

Chercat, glad that my Posts help in some ways. Everything will be cool for anyone if we take everything positively. And my fav phase happy mommy= happy baby[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] everything will be soon soon heng heng[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good mah, can save money instead of getting more teether[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]