(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Re: jab

E 1st jab for 6 in 1 is 2nd month is it? 2nd month meaning anytime after they crossed the 1st month or after they crossed their 1st month huh?

Jac,

I oso tried the sling, my boi never slp but Kip struggling to get out n eyes big big.

Check with you, the instructions show the baby almost Ina sitting position n head visible, u do likewise? My boi eye big big n looking everywhere with his head partially out lor.

cyn,

Yeah!! Finally can enjoy handsfree moment. She's still asleep in the sling! Hoho! Seems to be working better than yao lan.

Same for my girl, she will make noise if paci drops out and I nv pick her up then. Just pop the paci back into her mouth and walk away. In fact my mum picks her upper than I do! Think she 不忍心 hear her cry and cry.

Glad that ur in-laws are more understanding now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Any mummies using pigeon bottle and veg cleaning liquid? What's ur review? I find it super watery/dilute!! Used tollyjoy's one before and it's more viscous and seems to clean better using less of the liquid. Can I know how you all clean the bottles and pump parts? Sorry for stupid qn but I really find the pigeon brand one 'hard' to use. Feel a bit cheated. some more so ex.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

zuen,

Yes, partial sitting position. Slightly more than the usual cradle hold, if u know what I mean. The head is partially out, supported by the padding. But it looks very cramped to me, esp the legs (crossed like in the womb) although she's like sleeping so soundly. Don't think can use long term hor? Scared later not gd for their bone development..

Cyn,

thank u once again.. Trued just now but scared will drop the bby.. Haha. Maybe try again when hubby n in laws are home.

Zuen,

btw i just check bp thread, there is bp on beco n ergo going on.. I am tempted to get beco gemini, as it cld carry baby facing outwards. Waiting time is 5~7 weeks, just nice by then my boi is about 3~4 months... Heehee..

Smiling,

has anyone's baby smile a "social smile"?

My boy will smile after doing his business and when i pat pat his head only.. And when abt going to sleep - he can even chuckle by himself for minutes..

Haiz jus came back frm kkh. My boy has been acting up because of his stuffy nose. Can't feed properly because he can't breathe properly n he cries coz he is hungry but fed up that he can't eat n can't sleep because he is hungry! He wants to be carried upright coz he breathes better n same for sleeping on his tummy...

Doc said can't do much coz bb is too young gave iliadine drops n saline drops again... If bb continues feeding poorly n he has less wet diapers I gotta bring him too be warded... Poor baby

starry

u mean there's a pharmacy at polyclinic selling ridwind for $0.70? or is it must see doctor then can buy from then? Can just walk in and buy? I've tried several pharmacy but dun hav, if polyclinic can buy just walk in i'll try.

stella,

hope he is getting better by the meds n need not to be warded. How is the weight gain?

Mine also still hv stuffy nose. Once i cleaned his nose, his snot was about 10 cm long.....

Ann,

No social smile from my girl yet. She shows her smile when she is half asleep. Once in a blue moon will hear her chuckle, but that's during half asleep mode also.

Stella,

So sorry to hear that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Hope baby gets well and doesn't have to be warded! Don't let fan blow directly on him and avoid aircon. See if this helps clear the blocked nose?

Empress,

If I remember correctly, it was BBlin (sorry if I recall wrong) who shared with me abt polyclinic pharmacy selling a lot cheaper. Think it's just walk in can buy le since not prescription medication.

Ameda pump

mummies using ameda- do u use e 'cycle' function? I only turn in e suction and leave e cycle function at 0... Wat do u do with e cycle function?

Starry,

cannot do hair treatmt while bf? I am contempleting to do tcm herbal hair treatmt soon... Since it is done at e head, wld it 'transmit' to e bm? Hair is in bad condition nw..

Jab

do mummies give e fever medicine even before bb has fever-immediately after e jab... Some aunties advised me to give in advance e fever med

Jac,

U hv a pix of urself in fb? Can add me, I want to see. I finally active in fb after all e endless nite feedings. Haha.

Ann,

I got ergo. I found beco easier for ladies but ergo good for hb to sling, less girly. My dd didn't like ergo until she was much older cos ergo restrict her movement. She prefers mim sling. Ergo also good that we can sling the kid until they are quite old. Less stressful on the back n shoulder.

Ann n starry: thanks, I hope he gets better soon too. It's been a month n he still has this prob. Kkh docs said he has some kind of virus. Tried the meds before with no improvement so dunno this round how... No wonder he's so cranky. He has been gaining weight steadily. Last week 4.7, mon 4.87 today 4.86 so not so worried n doc said he's not dehydrated. Jus praying he gets over this stupid virus.

Woofwoof: not all bb will get fever after jab lei. There are some bb who hv no reaction. So if urs is one of the lucky ones then ur bb will hv had to take fever meds for nothing wor...

Jac: I wash my pump parts using the pigeon bottle cleaner than soak it awhile in warm water and than air dry it. Sometimes, i just put it into the steriliser....

Ann: You are welcome!I'm sure u will get it right after more tries!

Stella: Hope your boy recover soon! Take care...

zuen,

Added u le..

Woofwoof,

Check with the hair therapist/stylist? Whatever we take in will be passed on to bm, only whether more or less. Really depends what sort of herbs are used as some may not be good for baby. My scalp treatment also uses herbal extracts but the therapist told mebetter wait till I finish bfing.

Cyn,

Thanks! You don't find it too watery and difficult to wash the bottles and pump parts?

Jac: Personally i find it quite ok but then pigeon's bottle cleaner very expensive so i'm going to switch to other brand when i finish it otherwise very shiong leh... when i wash i use the brush to brush the pump parts and wash it under running water before i soak it in warm water for awhile. Other days i sterilise it but then i think its not good to sterilise it all the time because the shield will turn yellow.

ladies, i wanna share something....

seriously, i dunno if there's anything wrong with me, i realise that i dun like my MIL to take care of my baby. The thought of her going near my baby irks me and i get very upset. I find her to be 'extra'lor. aiyo, dunno why i feel like that , she's going to be the baby carer when i go back to work leh...if i have such thoughts now, then how?

Cyn: your feelings r normal since u didn't grow up e way ur mil brought up her kids. Same for a few of my frens n Same for me. N I live w my in laws so everyday close both eyes n "ren". Lucky for me my mil abit scared to do things without asking me or hubby first if not I would vomit blood for sure. If u r sure that she will be ur baby's caregiver then hv to close both eyes n ears unless it's something u really can't accept. But I know sometimes u will jus feel like screaming at her to get lost.

Shireen : I finally decided and bought ameda liao!

Stella: I brought my boy back for review at pd yesterday, he said his nose still stuck after one week of the drop so he gave him an antibiotic cream. One small 3gram tube which cost $40! But I think quite effective ;)

Woof: read the manual it's written there. I going to try my set later. No more cramp fingers hehe

Cyn: I used to feel the way u did with my first baby. I think it's human nature. And also sometimes their practice different from ours so also irritate us further. But I have learnt, whatever they do, it's for the good of the bb. They never mean any harm. Compared to maid, definitely safer and better. Now with the second bb, my mil still with me.. My one month at home with her is much better than three years ago ;) I think cos I try to look at her gd side rather than things tt irritates hehe it works ;) and it's important for us cos such relationship is going to last quite a long time.

Zuen,

i think i mistaken u for suwaiwai who asked for carrier earlier.. Hehe.

U have tried beco too? i wanna try first before buying but heard there is only one shop selling it in spore??

Mummies can add me to fb too?

I wanna see cute babies' photos [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cyn,

I also don't sterilize everytime. The shield is yellowed already. After washing I just leave it to air dry.. Think it is normal for u to feel that way abt ur mil since she wasn't 'sensitive' in her words and way towards u previously. But Like what Desitonia said, she means your baby no harm in anyway and also way better than letting maid take care of ur boy. Try to see more of her good points and don't think abt the bad. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ann,

Added u! I'm Jacqueline. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

good evening mommies and daddy

Been reading the thread but lazy to contribute...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hahha...really busy lately runninga round looking for another school for Jade...Have yet to find a suitable one...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Will take another week off from school hunting till HB is back home next week...

Hey,Meghan cooo and chuckle and smile whenever we talk to her...When i read to her before her bedtime..she will make cooing sound as i read and smile...

her wide smile usually came early in the morning when she is awake[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry

been using the veg liquid wash and pigeon bottles since Jade's days...

It is meant to be like that and you don't need to use alot!1 pump and wash it with a sponge...it's clean....)maybe because we have been using those cleaner for normal dishes and to compare this ,it is indeed abig different..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

but only on milk btls and accessories.. when they get older,those bowls ans spoons with cereal stains gotta used normal cleaner..

steela,

hoep your baby will gets better...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cyn

Don't worry too mcuh if your MIL gonna be the person to handle Eldrick...Jsut let her know what you want and schedule...hoep she will co operate lor...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]unless you hire a maid and put them there so that the maid can help to monitor too..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cyn

thanks for the mail!! I will try using it when my boy is awake.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

On days when I dont get to nap, I will catch a quick rest beside my boy when he naps.. but not those deep sleep type... Jia you!!! When we are all alone at home, there is no ME time!!! I can post now cos my boy finally sleeping soundly [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I hope I have time until at least 9pm before his feed... I am very tired already!! hahaha

Ian

thanks for the tips!!

Suwaiwai

thank you!! I went to buy the ridwind liao.. hope it works for my boy!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jac

I dont even have time still to go for my mani/pedi or to cut my hair! hehehehe

re: startles

my boy startles so easily and then every time will fidget while sleeping... he so poor thing... they will outgrow it? WHen will that be? sometimes he literally jump in his sleep! see already also like so xin tong.. hahahaha

ann/zuen

i have added you on fb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: ridwind

i bought it liao.. from unity pharmacy

gave my boy the first dose liao.. hope it helps! so far he hasnt been fussing and is sleeping...

re: pigeon veg wash

i have been using it to wash my milk bottles too.. so far its ok leh! hehehe

Cyn

i used to think like that.. and very protective over my boy.. and its like i wanna see him 24/7 and make sure whoever is around is handling him the way i want it to be... then soon.. i find it very tiring cos i dun have time to rest [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

so slowly bit by bit i share the routine and what i usually do for my boy with my family, hubby and MIL... i even demonstrate how i do certain things like cleaning him, feeding etc... and with their help, i get to rest more and now, i keep an open mind and slowly feel more at ease with others helping me supervise my boy... don't worry, at the end of the day, you are still the main caregiver, just make ur expectations and routine known to whoever is helping u lor.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] don't feel bad for feeling like this...

Princess D

I was just tinking abt you today!! hahahhahaa

was wondering how come so long didn't see the green wordings liao... kekekekeke

Have been MIA for a while spending time with my kids & helping with hub's biz stuff since quite free. Approximately last 1 week of maternity leave le coz I am only taking 10 weeks. Dunno looking forward to work or not.

My son juz had his injection on Tuesday and has been super cranky ever since. Dun want to drink properly or sleep properly. Keep having to carry too. Sigh.

How's everyone?

Desitonia, how much is your ameda pump? Does it include the cooler bag too? I'm thinking to buy ameda since I read the tube is more air tight.. Where do u buy it?

Shin

hey hey..hahah...i have been busy with Jade's school lor....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]hahah..but been reading the thread la...

Since HB was around to help i gotta quickly get my things done otw like now..i'm all by myself with the girls again...

How's your lil cheeky boy...?he has got very cheeky and lovely look.^^

Hi, everyone i'm new to this forum. I given birth on 1 oct 2010 a baby girl. All the babies here were all oct babies right!

princess d,

I was also wondering how come no green text! Haha!! Sometimes I also justread, too tired/lazy to contribute anything. Today more 'free', so contributing more red color to this thread. :p Oh, thanks for the reply on the pigeon liquid cleanser. When did Meghan start being more social? Jadelyn a bit 'dao'.. Hardly smile except when she's half aslp and that's not counted lor.

Shin,

Is ridwind working? Jadelyn farts quite a lot when she's on ridwind.

Fifi,

Whig jab did your son go for? From the sound of it, I think most babies will be cranky for a few days after a jab.

Antz,

Welcome! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My girl born in October also. Some mummies here popped earlier than EDD so end up September.

Fifi

hello! wah.. so fast u gonna go back to work.. Jia you!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Princess D

thank you! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Aedan very naughty ah.. hehehe... been giving us headache.. but what to do... he's still our darling.. hehe..

Jade and Meghan also looking cuter.. esp Jade - prettier and prettier.. hehee.. I wonder how u cope with 2 girls man!

Antz

yah.. all mummies here have their EDD in October.. but some of them gave birth in Sept though [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jac

yah.. sometimes i also just read cos usually one hand carry Aedan.. the other hand free to read from iPhone.. otherwise I duno what to do when he's like sleeping on my arms.. hahaha..

Before I gave Ridwind, Aedan has been farting a lot too... so I am not sure if it is working.. so I have to observe these few days to see if he farts more.. but at least just now he poo.. cos now, he sometimes poo one day, the next day dunt poo.. alternate like that.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

My MIL tried putting my boy into sling tonight cos he was fussing a little just now.. He seems to love it cos he will fall aslp in it.. but once my MIL try to remove him slowly and put on bed, he wakes up again.. hmmmm any skills or advice how to transfer him from sling to bed without waking him up? I think its a bit hard leh... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Btw, isit ok to be using sling for such young babies? Eg: isit ok for their neck or body development?

Thanks ian for e readup. I hope babys legs Would b straighten soon

Mommies, i realised my baby has probs sleeping at night EVERYTIME we go out during e day. n even tho go out means shes naps less its amazing how she can still stay awake at night. Anyone experiencing this?

Cyn: I would like to have the instruction manual too, pm my email to you.

Starry: Find the pigeon veg liquid wash alright but intend to switch brand as quite exp. Some of my frens even use normal dish wash to clean. Dare not do it now as bb still young maybe much older.

Stella: hope yr boy recover soon.

Re: laundry detergent

I'm thinking to use the normal one we wash for our laundry to

wash baby clothing cos intend to dump everything into

machine. Anyone doing this? Should b ok i suppose?

Is the hepB jab optional? My baby jab apptm only in dec shd b the 6-in-1 if remember correctly.

Marissa: my bb oso doesn't slp well wen he goes out. I read that it's because of too much sensory stimulation. Some bb get stimulated more easily than others. My boy super easy to overstimulate. At night he will cry himself to slp. Hv to try to stay away frm bright lights n loud noises or too much activity.

Shin,

I used to put dd down with e sling. Loosen the sling n i wiggle out. Too tough to try to take her out w/o waking her.

Thanks stella! I googled online after u wrote.. Ya la its overstimulation. But it doesnt happen to all babies issit? would it eventually go away as they grow older?

Actually i did realised dat shes like fighting the urge to sleep during e day whenever we bring her out. I thot maybe its noisy or maybe e envt is diff but din tink much abt it coz i thot she would b tired later on n sleep better at nite. turned out lagi worse! Now everytime i want to bring baby out i tink twice coz at nite i will suffer. But at times cant b avoided. Like yest i needed to go back office for 2-3hrs so i carried her along, still she cant sleep at nite. She normally sleep ard 9pm.

Last nite she fussed n cried till 12.30am ;(

Hi mummies n Ian.. I m back 2learn n share again! hope to come in more often now as I got an I-pad. So much more easier for me to surf the net...

Irene, welcome back! Nice to hear frm u again

Thanks ian for e article! Hmm, i tink e overstimulation also has to do wif my babys temperament as written in dat article. Actually i observed n realise dat sofea is a light sleeper like me. For myself no matter how dead tired i am, if the place is not condusive or noisy i can never fall asleep. I have never slept in a moving vehicle before unless its parked. N I haf a feeling my baby falls under e category of 'sensitive babies'.

Marrissa: ya not all babies will get overstimulated. Some very calm n happy no matter wat. Usually will fade over time but some children tend to get overstimulated wen they play too much wen they grow up as well. For my boy jus staying at hm n looking ard n playing w grandparents is enough for him to reach meltdown every nite. Somemore daily activities can't escape so hv to minimize alot of things for him.

Just to share something I read:

An easily overstimulated bb may cry without an obvious explanation, just bcoz sights or sounds that hv been fascinating to him for a while suddenly become too much.

A sensitive bb may cry wen undressed or bathed n will probably howl during procedures such as being examined by ur healthcare provider. As bb gets older they all cry frm frustration at not being able to do things, but the sensitive bb is easily frustrated n thus cries even more.

An active bb needs to hv plenty of attention. He may b awake alot during the day n appear to take great interest in his surroundings, virtually frm birth.

Part 2: how to comfort

An easily overstimulated bb:

Create a calm environment for him n keep lights dim,

Keep play sessions brief, n watch for cues that he's had enough- he may turn his head away or squeeze his eyes shut,

Encourage sucking-a fist, thumb or paci shd help,

Try lying down in a darkened Rm w bb on ur chest,

Avoid handling by many diff ppl,

Make sure whenever possi, he takes his naps at hm in his bassinet, cradle or crib.

A sensitive bb:

Do all u can to cut down triggers, such as sudden cold or loud noises,

Watch for cues that he's abt to cry( becoming tense or jerking his body)

Speak in a soothing voice, telling him u understand his distress,

Take things slowly n at ur bb's pace- for example, nvr rush feeding,

Use soft cotton clothes n covers for his sensitive skin,

If bathing or undressing him adds to his distress, keep it to a minimum,

Use distraction frm frustrations as ur bb grows.

An active bb:

Put him in a bb chair so tt he can see more frm his propped-up position; swings n bouncers r also useful

Keep talking to him while ur working ard e house,

Move him to diff rme n views to provide variety,

Provide lots of stimulating things to look at, such as mobiles,

Plenty of songs n games work well,

Rotate or replace playthings, so that he doesn't become bored,

Set up " play stations" so he can move frm 1 to the next as his needs change.

Oh no!I just saw one of my medela tubing has a bit of algae in it..anyone know how to wash it off?I tried warmwater but no help.where can we buy the tubings?

This is the first time this happened,must be bcos I brought the pump to office yesterday in my bag when it was still wet..sadz!

Thanks for the info Stella.

I dunno what baby I have!

That night after full month celebration, she cried the house down. Non-stop wailing and lasted for 1hr plus.After that episode, her voice became hoarse. A few days later, she suddenly cried again n won't stop. We tried diaper change, give milk, pacifier, carry, rock, sing...nothing can calm her down. She scream till no voice. We got so scared n rushed out to find a doc. Surprisingly, her cries stoped when we reached downstairs.

I have no idea why she cried. My MIL said cos that day we brought her swimming. Also on full month there were many people n too noisy. But the thing is she slept through the full month celebration n when we vbrought her swimming at Baby Spa, she didn't cry n could still sleep when placed in the water. She was sleeping throughout when hubby n I hv lunch at the mall. So really cannot figure out why.

I asked PD why she cry n if bringing baby out will cause them to cry at night n she said if baby is calm during outing, den shouldn't hv crying at night. If baby is distress or over stimulated den possible will cry at night.

Anyone baby has similar prob? So far her crying non-stop only happened 2 times but her voice already goner liao. MIL said cos baby born in the year of tiger so very fierce cannot anyhow let others carry if not will clash. FIL said during full month many ppl carried her n some 8 characters clashed with hers so she cried.

Tonight supposed to attend full month dinner of a friend's baby but hubby said better not go cos MIL told him bout the carrying thing.So dissapointed cis looking forward to going out.