(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Hi Vivian, should I pump? I scared pump later no more milk for his next feed. But if I dun pump I will only be able to serve my bb now, cannot store.

Dunno how long I can tahan. Now I do tbf for two days, really quite tiring cos noone can help feed. But more convenient, no need bottles, no need sterilize, just take out e boobs and feed. Haha

Elle & Groovy: I oso used to use avent pump n had e same prob. Painful nipples n every time like getting stuck aft nipples enlarge. Try not usin e petal massager abit more space. Later changed to medela n things r better. N can buy personal fit breast shields. I gotta agree that avent can yield more though but sore nipples everyday bcos of pumping then also latch... Only 1 word to describe: Ouch!

Ian,

I oso dun like those head in romper, worried tat I will injure bb's neck. The rompers tat I bought n wear all front button type. Hehe, save the unused rompers for no 2?

Jac,

Ppt need 3 working days. Apply online n can check status online, faster than post. Bbs grow up n look diff very fast n now ppt cannot change photo. Muz mk new 1 when they look diff. So Bo hua to mk now unless necessary.

Re: breasts full

I tbf now n no longer get harder breasts even when full leh. But have enuff milk for bb. Maybe breasts seasoned liao?

Xian & Starry: I hv e exact same prob w milk supply. Can't pump on time if no one's hm to help n at night I'm so exhausted that I can't pump every 3 hrs n my supplies are decreasing! Initially hb at hm so religiously can pump so milk kept increasing till I cld make back up supplies in e freezer. Now 1 pump for both sides equals to exactly 1 feed nothing less nothing more... So sad... Thought of building up so can tbf but now not a chance coz bb wil not get enough. Can e problem be solved? Can get back the previous yield???

Ian,

Over a 24hr period, Jadelyn uses about 8 diapers. Sometimes I know she pee already as can feel the diaper slightly bulging. But I leave it be since she didn't fuss and is sleeping. Once change her she will be wide awake and wants ppl to entertain her. 20 cloth diapers is really a lot!! But your MIL is right in saying that clothies are better than disposables. Oh yah, how come Xavier can't use Mamy poko?

Vivian!

We've missed your posts!! Baby Rhea is super adorable! Hope she gets back to normal and recovers from the thrush soon. Take care!

Stella,

I think if you revert back to your previous pumping schedule, supply will slowly increase. Saying easy lah. But I have no energy to do so. Really very tired out at night to pump religiously. In the day sometimes need to bring her out etc so har to follow strict schedule.

Zuen,

Your breasts season already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I had engorgement the first time I was able to pump out 180ml. After that no longer engorged, just feel full. Btw, thnx for info on the passport. I know can do online but I thought better get proper photo done at the shop. Then wanna buy some diapers also.

Re: HS

Been a while since we last saw any HS posts!! Wahahaha!! Hubby been dropping hints and I think we shld get back to 'routine' soon. Anyone feeling the same??

Vivian, rhea is so chubby!!

Jac, i submitted passport appln for baby online on monday. Friday got email its ready

Groovy im using medela freestyle. Expensive but worth the investment! Not so noisy n not painful n can pump a lot more than when i used e chepo medela single mini

Xuan, mine is a one breasted baby. She only prefers e right breast so everytime i latch her on e right, at e same time i pump my left breast. Save time n it also means i pump 3hrly or less. I do this also at night when baby wakes up 2x. I realised some days i get more some days i get less depending wat i eat/drink. Now every morning i drink hot milo. Evening drink horlicks. I also love drinking milk. Dunno whether dat contributes to e increase supply. Like after bf i will always feel hungy n thirsty, i jus drink. Milk, lazy to eat

Ann, at night i bf baby.

Hubby been bugging me!! but jus when i thot im clean suddenly a few days ago my period started! Lol. But i told him must Use protection.. Coz after giving birth we r more fertile.. I dun want get preggy so soon again!! If not like me n my sister less than 1 year apart

Marissa,

so daytime u give ebm n night latch?

Another episode of crying...

Tugged him to bed at 5.30. i was mistaken abt the time n bathe him at 4.30... supposes to b 5.30.

Then he cried. Latch on as he seems to b really hungry n he drink. He was sleeping on my stomach n just when i was to transfer him to cot he cried till face red n really loudly oo! n he drink more in anger. No vomitting.

Growth spurt? or colic?

Vivian, cute baby!!!

Hope rhea will get better soon.

Marrissa,

is ur period painful? im scared to get back as i heard the first time after delivery is supposed to b super painful..

yo yo yo my dearest HS gang!

Wahaaahaaa .. I dare not play play le... HB really wanted no3 hor!! I declare public holiday myself .. Scared scared! Wahaaaaa.. But will wait till dec when after my pap smear n a green light from gynae then will go back for some ACTIONS!

On my way to HRC ... Can't rem when was the last time I was there ?? Think 13 14 yrs bk .. Meeting all the mommies n teachers from school!!

hi vivian ,haven't heard from u for so long. Rhea is supercute and cheery! I'm also wary about overfeeding but he seems to want to eat all the time...

mummies who bf at nite, how do u stay awake? I tried to do it but end up both baby and I doze off. So less than 1 hr later, baby wakes up for more and again, fall asleep at breast.

princess, how was the jab today? how come ur pap smear scheduled so far away? I had done mine one more after delivery.

re : HS

my gynae told me that if tbf, can do without protection in the first 4 mths. But I'm kind of wary abt that...

Vivian: l'l Rhea is so adorable!

Marrissa: same here my ger prefer my right too. I wish I cld latch n pump but at times bb like not full n I hv to offer left to her. tks for sharing yr diet. Didn't drink milk only mix with oatmeal am will try out drink milk as supper. I'm tempted to buy freestyle if can yield more..now using medela mini. Troublesome esp when there letdown n got to save precious milk by holding with bottle!

At times I'm quite fedup with my cl. After latching n whenever bb not sleepy fuss cl will ask me is it not enuff n ask to top up ebm. like this pm I was napping didn't hear bb cry..woke up by hp n cl told me she oredy fed 80ml... but my ger jus finished latch an hr ago! As long as bb don sleep she will wan to feed until bb sleep then consider enuff. now I try tbf so can latch n pump according to my schd. I understand cl wan to quickly 'settle' bb then continue their tasks but it interfer my bf! Any mummies share similiar situation?

Emma1776: can u share the nepia email contact? Wld like to try out so convenient with delivery.

Stella: u still could stored in freezer..mine machiam like sell hotcake pump n out of fridge! Hahaaaa

now I try out tbf n pump after n hopefully ss slowly increase to b able to store as returning to work nxt mth! So stressful thinking abt this as no ss to back up[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

gambatte together;)

Can check if breastfeeding can rebound hair? I thinking of going Tmr to rebond before baby full mth this wed. Wanna look nice nice.

Xian: store in freezer oso no use must asap use coz breastmilk properties change as bb grows. Last month bm this month wun meet bb needs. Haiz... Me using freestyle. It's gd lor last time avent will nvr get 2nd let down. Now will. N I use e handsfree attachment so still can walk ard n heat up ebm haha.

I have an unopened bottle of GNC Fenugreek & Medela Pure Lan nipple cream.

Fenugreek(100 capsules) expiry date: 01/2014

Medela Pure Lan expiry: 032012

Pls pm me if interested.

Emma, I am also interested in e nepia diaper contact.

Avent's spare parts

anyone know where to get? Want to get e spare parts for my manual pump...

Hihi mummies n Ian

How's everybody? Been sometime since I post.

Vivian baby Rhea looks so cheery! Hope she will recover from her mouth thrush soon! May I know what's the cause of it? Is it we got to clean baby's mouth? I haven't been cleaning.

Nepia diapers

I have been using the diapers. Really convenient coz can just call them n get them to deliver the next day just that u got to buy 4packs per delivery. Their no is 62262650. The diapers cutting is quite big my baby is still using the nb. I thk it is better than huggies, can last longer.

Rebond/colour hair

Mrs Wong from my antenatal class told us that doing rebonding, coloring or treatment is fine when breastfeeding.

I went to colour my hair before my baby's 1st month party.

pumping milk now.. Just got back not long n just couldn't stay any longer outside! Breast gonna burst!!

Emmie

The jab ok?haa had rotavirus too!next is 6weeks later...

My gynae scheduled me for pap smear 2.5mths later .. Same goes with when I had jade

Dest,

I only express if bb falls aslp after one breast or if he latch shortly n falls aslp. Not after every latch. But I tend to total latch so wat I express usually ends up in the freezer.

Jac,

Normal postage willneed to wait for the collection notification card n that will take longer than 3 working days wor.

Hb got hint too but I m still leaking down there n still sore wor. Anybody's wound still healing? I gave birth almost 4 weeks liao n wonder if I should go bk to gynea.

Emmie, at nite I latch baby using the lying down position. Sometimes we both fall asleep, sometimes I fall asleep first. But like wat my hb said, if he don't cry means he had enough. Then I'll leave it. Have been doing this for the past one week, works well, can sleep slightly more also. Now my problem is daytime. Think I'm going to go back to ebm for daytime cos takes too long and want to know his intake. Tried direct latch past two days totally, but really uncomfortable.

ZuEn, then the milk u store when u will feed?

Emmie,

iPhone n scv r my best friends in e night. Haha.

Dest,

So far, he only drank 1 frozen ebm when I went out. Otherwise, he sometimes go on ebm when he's hungry n dd demands attention n refused to let me latch.

The frozen ebm ah. Kip lor. Feed him when I go bk to work? Hehe.

i have more than 20 packs of frozen breastmilk packs that I don't intend to keep ( planning to breastfeed for nine months at least). Anyone interested for a small token of one pack of baby wipes? collection at jurong west.

PS: my baby is currently 7 weeks old.

Xuan, Woofwoof,

u can also email them to place the order at [email protected] as sometimes the phone is on answer machine. They are prompt in responding to their emails. As babydes says, it's really convenient as they deliver the carton to your doorstep the very next day. Don't need to stress about running out. ONe carton with 4 packs of diapers, but flexible in that you can mix and match sizes (e.g. 2 NB, 2S).

Can i ask how much milk a 3-week old drinks? My baby was very drowsy at 3 am this morning and I got upset with him for not waking up to latch properly [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]( in the end my hubby gave him 120 ml of formula but this morning at 7 am he didn't take very much milk.

Feel very upset with myself and sorry for my baby as i think i am under so much stress that i am not loving him enough....everytime i just want him to quick quick finish his milk so that I can get some rest. Very sad.

emma>my boy drinks abt 90ml of BM..as for FM, he usually takes abt 60ml max..

dats the sacrifice parents like us got to make lor..~

i slept like 3hrs last night..and woke up at 6am to work. lol~

Ian,

does your wife express out her BM or direct latch? i am very very tired as i latch on in the night and express out after that if he didn't latch on for very long. Each time takes 1.5 hours and in 3 hours the cycle repeats. I don't have a CL and want to let my husband get more sleep in the night so end up doing everything myself and get ultra stressed out, depressed and sleep deprived, plus still recovering from pregnancy + labour and completely exhausted!! In the day i feed EBM top up with formula and express every 2.5 hours in the day to build up supply as i still don't have enough milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] In the day his combined intake for both EBM and FM is about 90 to 100 ml per feed, every 3 hours. He will scream for milk with all the hunger cues, the pacifier doesn't work, we tried other things like burping, check room temperature, cuddling, diaper change..... Is he just a very hungry baby?

I feel so guilty towards my baby and frustrated with myself. *cry*

groovy,

i have yet to bring my gal for e piercing, intend to do it at e accessories shop located at B1 of wisma atria. e shop is next to e famous amos cookies,. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess,

whoa.. so there will be a rabbit bb on e way.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

emma> she's using breastpump~ haha..husband must contribute abit also la~ 1 person is simply not enough to cope with a newborn lor. ur baby ask for milk every 3 hrs..mine asking for milk every 1½ to 2 hrs!!

if really cant cope..ask ur hubby to take leave and help out lor~ or ur parents/in-laws also can.

dont need to feel guilty la..its not ur fault ma~

cheer up! things will get better as bb grows older..esp the night feeding part~

Emma,

I oso do all e nite feeds myself. To Kip my sanity, I will nap in e day. I got my mum n helper to help in e day lah, but mainly tbf lah. You shld try to nap whenevEr bb naps in the day. Housework just do bare minimal. Or get part time helper.

Emma> Jiayou! I also do night feed myself.. When your baby is sleepy, just wait until he wakes up by himself and crying for milk. It will be better because he will latch automatically.

Sometimes I also tired to do night feed lor.. Realizing 1 (or 1.5) hour x 5 not equals to 5 hours of sleep in a stretch. huhu..

Hubby usually still awake until 12 or 1 AM, so I used to do twice night feed myself (usually around 3/4 and the other around 5/6).

My baby 7 weeks old but she still wakes up sometimes every 2 hours [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]... In good times she'll wake up every 3.5 hours. huhuhu..

We used to put her to sleep on her tummy at night before hubby goes to sleep, so I can sleep better before the night feed.

She can sleep on her tummy like 3 hours everytime!

Emma, I know how u feel coz I'm gg through it as well. U shdnt feel guilty n even though u want ur hb to get more rest u shd let him help abit to maintain ur sanity. My son is 6 wks old n day in day out is still a nightmare with feeding, expressing, changing, screaming... We will get over this phase soon enough. N feeding every 3 hrs is normal. U hv a perfectly normal bb. Mine feeds up to 120mls every 2.5 - 3 hrs!

It's true every feeding time will take 45 minutes minimum.. If I'm tired, I won't latch her back if she unlatch herself. This baby of mine likes to unlatch herself either because: 1) sleepy 2) wants to vomit 3) wants to fart!

Emma, babydes: thanks for nepia contact[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

emma: my ger drank 60-70 ebm at 3wks. Cheer up as the challenge phase is temporarily. plan nite feed schd so u n yr hubby can catch some sleep. It tough to do everything by yself. I'v to carry my ger to like her sooth into dreamland daytime n also can get impatience when she still fuss after long time. Jia you!

tks everyone for the support and encouragement! i should be thankful that my baby is happy and healthy. Will get all the help that i can and at the end of the day there's no greater joy than seeing baby's smile....

hi Emma,

thanks for nepia contact.

re: breastpump

i agree Medela Freestyle is good. I used Avent Manual Pump for my elder boy when i bf 3 years ago. need to pump at least 30min each time. there are days where i pump for 1 hour even. For this baby, i invested in Medela Freestyle. I also bought a Avent Manual Pump cos i scared i can't get used to electic pump.

comparing Avent and Medela, after direct latch baby, i take about 30 - 40 min to pump 100ml using Avent. I take 15 min to pump 100ml. And the best part is Medela is automatic. no more finger ache.

for those interested to buy, you can consider buying direct from US. I bought through one of the mummies who buy from US. I paid about $480 include freight. I think freestyle is selling at $700 - $800 plus in retail.

Hi Ian,

I am strong believer of not introducing pacifier if i can. i didn;t introduce that to my elder one. my cousins gave her daughters pacifiers when they were babies. when they were older ( 1 -2 years old), they need pacifer to give them comfort to sleep. when the pacifer fall off their mouth, they will scream. so my cousin had to wake up in the middle of night to look for pacifiers. just share with mummies who are intending to introduce. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ZuEn, i tot the milk properties will change as bb grow older? So should use asap?

Emma, my bb similar to yrs ;) dun think too much, just do Yr best for bb.. Maybe for nite u want to latch lying down? At least can rest?

Thanks for all the sweet comments on my chubby Rhea... she used to be the smallest bb in this thread... keke...

HS

===

Hmm... my hb no action leh... coz too tired from work, handling my #1 and occasional nite feed for Rhea...

Anyway, I have done my pap smear, think da yi ma also came before that... and during my last gynae visit, i have discussed with her,

and decided to take the jab for prevention. It will stop ovulation.

Coz of bfing, cannot take pill or patch and i dun like IUD so the jab which last for 3 mths is perfect... fyi lah...

Babydes,

The oral thrush is actually bacteria. It is like a layer of milk stain. It might happen even if u breast feed or bottle feed. Prevention is to clean the tongue and mouth at least once a day, usually during bath time. For me, as it is quite serious, I try to clean after every milk feed.

emma1776,

Your bb is 3 weeks old and you gave 120ml FM?? That is a lot, no wonder he din take much milk at 7am lah.

Dun need to feel sorry. Maybe you shld get some help so that you can get more rest...

I also do nite feed myself. But when I really cannot tahan liao, will get my hubby to help once in a while.

My case is same as ZuEn. Night time I take over night feeds + pumps (I pump exclusively) and daytime, my maid will help out with chores and sometimes feeds. I will nap when bb nap if possible.

Ian,

Yup, Rhea is taking pacifier. So far, she only take when she fuss or got sucking sensation. After a while, she will auto spit it out, even after she doze off. So far, the pacifier is a godsend. hee...

From experience, my #1 also have pacifier. He managed to wean off very easily before he turned 2yo. And he dun take pacifier during sleep too. To me, I prefer to wean off pacifier then wean off thumb sucking.

Mommies, I know if refrigerated ebm has been warmed its only gd for 1 hr but for how long can i leave out refrigerated ebm at room temperature?

Ian, i bought a pacifier for baby but decided not to gif her in e end coz suddenly i remembered my old neighbour n also one of my cousins had probs weaning off pacifiers. They were still sucking e pacifiers until kindergarten ley!