(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Marissa: pacifiers if used correctly is ok to use. Most prob ur old neighbor used e pacifier like magic off switch. Bb cry only stick e paci in the mouth. End up bb will get so used to having the paci in his mouth without it will be quite upset. Hv to rmb that pacifiers are not cure alls. Just something to soothe wen all else fails. Still hv to troubleshoot before giving paci.

Ann, ya daytime gif ebm n nite latch. So far my period not painful

Thanks vivian! Thinking of jus bringing e chilled ebm when going out w/o cooler bag. I tink my fridge v cold. Even after i transfer ebm to cooler bag, which i use reduce ice pack to 1 insteqd of 2, still ebm takes a v long time to warm up

HS: my gynea gave e green light today n hubby was there n heard it. Haiz totally no mood to do anything else but slp. Doc oso said if bf libido will go down. Mayb in another few wks will b better? Plus hb wants dragon bb so gynea said in 6 months can start trying. My gawd! So soon! Can't imagine handling 2 at e same time!

Dest,

Sad to say, bb prefer my breasts to teats, so we seldom bottle feed him unless necessary. Still untrained. He latched for 10 mins each side but via bottle, can take forever to drink. Properties do change but I supposed frozen ebm is still better than fm? Hehe. My girl oso survived on stocked up frozen ebm when I went back to work, supplement with fm watever that I managed to express @ work. She grew up fine too. Hehe.

Mummies n daddy,

My boy is still very fretful n cries everytime. When he wakes up sure wanna drink n then after tat will cry cos wanna sleep then cry till sleep. For the past week whole day liked tat.

Any of ur babies also like this? Any solution? Tried giving pacifier, but he dun really wan.

Really frustrating sometimes.

Give him drink somemore milk he also cry while drinking.

Emma,

tks for e thread on avent spare parts

my boy is slightly over 3 weeks and I am feeding him 120ml at 3 hr interval... He can finish his feed during day but at nite, he takes only 90-100ml

maternity leave

anyone taking e flexi scheme? I intend to take 10wks first and e balance 6wks flexi. My office works 5day- so I wld have 6wks x 5days = 30days flexi leave? Is this rite?

Shireen: this qn seems silly..how many accessories are required to sterilize for medela freestyle? Saw fr web so many. I,m using elec single jus 3 items n I blanch with boiling water n keep in hot water container n sterilize twice daily..v easy. For freestyle you steriize after each pump? Also is it easy to assemble?

Xin: did u burp yr boy after each feed? Mayb his tummy is uncomfy due to much crying. Tried rubbing ru yi oil or do some massage. Some bb are more tricky to handle n is a

passing phase.

Woof: yes 30days flex ml days. That about 3mths to clear if u

work half day;)

Xin: my boy exactly the same. Cry n cry. Dunno wat he wants. Paci also not really working today. I dunno if this cld b part of a growth spurt. He only managed to slp 3 hrs straight in my arms.

Woof: yup 6 weeks ml doesn't include weekend or ph.

Hi Xuan,

it is not advisable to sterilise medela cos may warp and affect the pump. I just use hot water to blanch them. only 3 parts. very easy to wash. I feel it is easier than washing Avent's parts.

mummies n daddy, i hv a question regarding the CDA account. we submitted the CDA application form at ICA during the registration of baby's birth. how long will it approximately take for the bank to mail us the baby bonus CDA card?

Mummies, are yr baby's stools watery?

Then hor, when u bathe baby, do u apply shampoo to the hair? Cos I attend the class during the hospital stay , they teach us to put two drops of shower foam into the water is sufficient but when I smell his hair, very smelly

Destitonia:

I put johnsons top to toe wash. A few drops into the water then wen I wash his hair I massage his scalp abit. pour e water over his hair n massage again another couple of times. The smell usually goes away. My boy sweats alot so gotta wash abit more thoroughly but I dun use shampoo at this point. Scared his skin still too sensitive.

i apply two drops of johnsons top-to-toe wash directly onto his hair and wash it, then rinse off. cos my baby has a lot of hair and sweats a lot (bedsheet has a wet patch where his head is), if don't wash with shampoo, i worry that it will not be clean and will be v smelly.

baby's stools are quite watery since he is taking about half ebm.

Stella, thks! The cash gift we received but funny... It's been month and we hv not received the CDA card! Dunno shld chk w mcys or d bank?

Morning mummies & Daddy!

Lilac the CDA card you need to check with the bank that issues it.

Any mummies let their baby cry for smetime before picking them up if you know that it's not their feeding time?

Stella: if yr refrigerated ebm is less than 48 hrs can still freeze.

Teoong: I will let her cry out abit longer if she is already fed n not sleep time. When wailing getting stronger then pick up.

I noticed a white bleb (like spot)on my nipple. Had soak in hot warm water n milk leak out also used moist warm towel then latch bb on. Any mummies face this prob? Will this affect ss n does it require any treatment? Any other solution? Help.

yes, my bb's stools quite watery ... like a thick curry stew or dhal. Haha.

re crying out: If it's just a whimper or a "sayang me" soft cry i would wait for a while unless the wails become unconsolable and very loud. Usually 99% of the time the unconsolable crying is because he is hungry so if I really can't calm him down after 15 to 20 min (patting, cuddling, rocking, diaper change, pacifier) I would do a split feed like 30 to 60 ml even if it's not quite feeding time yet. I try not to let baby wail so loudly for too long as he becomes too distraught to calm down or feed properly / sleep after that, and then all the timings for the rest of the day get disrupted.

Yes my BB stools r quite watery also. Guess it's due to the partial bm intake.

Regarding shampoo on hair, I only use the non-rinse type of shower gel for BB n use it to wash both both body n hair.

It's wk 3 already n my milk ss still not enough for BB. Sigh. Think I can't escape from the partial bf fate. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Gonna be a busy day today. Baby Kayden celebrating 1mth tonight.

Having buffet dinner at hotel for relatives n friends.

Just got bk from temple. Went to pay respect to ancestors.

Teoong,

I oso let bb cries if not feeding time.

I m out now with bb. 1st official outing since birth. He chose to slp most of the time when the environment is super noisy lor. Lol. He doesn't even seem like he wants to wait up for feed!

hi mummies and Ian

Haven't had time to post but have been reading on and off... Ever since cl left, I really struggle on my own... No time to eat, sleep, bathe, pee or shit. Hais.. And just when I thought baby is settled and aslp, he wails again and I tried all ways he still cry and cry until I also feel like crying! Finally after quite long den I settle him down... By then my meal times all haywire and I lost all appetite... Pimples and ulcers start coming to look for me... Really no joke looking after a baby alone... There is no ME time!

I only get my 2-3 hrs of sleep every night when hb and MIL comes back to do the night shift... Den midnight i will wake up and take over the 3am and 6am shifts...

Right now I'm at my mums place and I thank them for helping me settle my boy while i catch my much needed sleep... I can even doze off while trying to feed my boy...

Anyway can I ask how come sometimes my boy doesn't burp even though I tried for very long?? Is it normal or ok not to burp?? On the other hand he farts a lot... Does that mean he has too much wind in tummy and is bad?? my mum says as long as he farts out the gas it's ok...

re: diapers

I'm using nepia too.. Really very good and seldom have diaper rash [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my boy already upgrade to small size... NB too tight for him... At night I will change to mamy poko.. Amazing sometimes 1 mamy poko diaper can last him thru the night [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: feed

I went to pd ytd for follow up... He said previously i feed 120ml too much Liao... My boy is abt 5 wk old and recently his appetite dropped to 80-90ml and pd said this should be the appropriate amt of fm to give.. And he stopped his vomitting Liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My boy is 4.4kg now!! Gained 1.5kg since birth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Everything is normal and doc says my boy is very alert and responsive.. Hahaha

Hope all mummies doing fine! I miss chatting with all of u!! But really have no time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Nelc, wat type of shampoo is non-rinse? From johnsons? I now at fifth week, milk supply not sufficient yet like u ;(

Shin, u must jia you! My bb sometimes also dun burp. I remember I read somewhere in a magazine not necessary must burp all the time

destitonia

Thanks! Anytg for sake of baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh isit? I thought everytime must burp or later he might spit out milk..

Hello mummies, i finally have some time to login today and catch up on some of the posts.

Thanks for replying on how i can set up the routine for my boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Right now, i am coping better taking care of eldrick alone.There was one day i brought him out to orchard with my sister! Took me 3 hrs to prepare to go out...anyway i manage to bring him out from 11am to 9pm! He was a good boy. I put him in a sarong sling and he sleeps most of the time when we were out. And i found CK tang to have nice nursing room!They have steriliser, hot water , changing station for our use. Even the chair is those leather chair, very comfy!

I saw someone asking about breast pump? Personally, i recently invested in Medela Freestyle, bought the US Set at $450. Am loving it as it definately reduces the time i spend on pumping, otherwise when i use my medela swing, it takes me 40mins to 1hr to pump...really tiring if i follow the 3hr schedule.

Shin - What you are experiencing are exactly what i experience too. Jia you! It takes time to understand what baby wants but i'm sure you do fine as time goes by once u know his pattern.

Vivian -Rhea is so kawaii!

Supplementing with fm

for mummies who are supplementing fm on top of bf, cld u finish e 900g tin- most fm are of this size. I read e instruction and it says to discard after 1mth of opening. I only use 1-2 feeds a day and still have a big balance after 1mth. Wat do u mummies do with e balance? If put in fridge, can increase e shelf life?

princess, did meghan have any side-effects from the rotavirus? Didn't take it but was advised to do so next trip to paed. On the next jab, is it also 6in1?

re : Medela pump

I noticed that for my PIS, the tubing has condensation. How to get rid of it?

cyn, good that you can use the sling. I still can't figure it out.

Shin, you are not alone... My hubby can't stand my boy either after today. He finally understand what I mean by his fussiness. Hubby feels that I have pampered baby too much by picking him up whenever he cries. But baby knows I'm around. How to ignore the escalating wails? The other day, I also cried when he cried. Too stressed.

Desitonia, I'm using Gaia body n hair shampoo. Actually jnj top to toe also non rinse formula. Jus dun put so much until it's very soapy. Cos BB wun be that dirty anyway. No need to put alot. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nvm as I said, give whatever bm I can. Then wun get stressed out abt it.

Cyn: how do u use the sarong sling? I hv One but for the life of me cant figure out y My bb los like he's gonna suffocate with all e fabrica hanging over him. I follow e instruction cd Step by step but still doesnt seem to look or feel rite. Gave up n bought a carrier but wasted if dun use the sling as well.

Shin & emmie: we gotta jia you together! I made my hb take care of bb 1 whole day n he nearly went mad! Now he knows wat I go through everyday. We can do it!

Emmie: i notice my tubing has condensation too, i dismantle it and let it be air dry by itself...

Stella: are u using the type of sarong sling from Moms In Mind? I'm using that type of sling...all u have to do is to secure the cloth into the ring and adjust to the comfortable height before u put the baby in. When i put my baby in, there are fabric hanging over him as well but so far he likes the sarong sling alot (even more than the baby carrier i have!). If u are still unsure how to use it, u can go to kiddy palace and get the staff to show u...

sarong sling can use till how many months?

any recommendation which brand is good? thinking of getting one also coz sometimes just go market nearby very troublesome to push stroller around.

empress, i just bought a new one from Kiddy palace today, the packaging says can use up to weight 20kg...i suppose up to 2 years old? Its quite convenient to use the sling!

try to get sling which can be adjusted so that when the baby grows, you can adjust it to different styles and position as well.

At home now when my boy is cranky, i will put him inside the sling and he will fall asleep...

Cyn,

When you sling the baby, the head is which side? The ring side or away from the ring huh? Forgot liao.

Empress,

My no 1 loves the sling n I used it alot on her until she was 1+ year old. Actually, when you stop is dependent on when the kid gets too heavy for you. Cos unlike carrier, the weight of the sling is on one shoulder + back. If or too heavy, the weight can be over bearing.

thanks mummies for the encouragement. We will jia you tgt!!! My MIL and hb helps take care of bb and they also scared Liao.. Now they know what I experience everyday... Lol... But luckily my mum have been shuttling over to my plc to help out.. She say my face very pale when she saw me today!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Then my grandma kept asking me to buy Yao Lan for baby... I am quite against the idea... But she insist that easier to soothe baby down... But I've heard reviews that very hard to wean baby off Yao lan and difficult to bring them out cos they always want the Yao lan...

Any mummies can give any reviews or experiences?? Thanks!!

shin,

Jadelyn also drinking 120ml of fm (also taking 120ml bm). So that's too much? How to know whether too much for her huh? Skally I overfeed her also dunno! -_-!! Is there a 'guideline' to follow?

Re: sarong sling

Is it the type moms in mind is selling? I have one given by someone but don't know how to use..

Anyone using Pupsik sling pouch? Does your baby like it?

Emmie, Cyn,

By right tubing shouldn't have condensation. Mine doesn't have so far. I'm using freestyle, btw. I suppose it's caused by the hole in which the tubing is plugged in isn't dry enough. Shldn't be caused by bm since tubing does not come into contact with any bm.

Shin, Emmie,

My hubby just wanna play with dd.. If she cries, he will try to pacify her for the most 5-10 mins. After that cannot will 'throw' her back to me when in the first place he was the culprit who made her cry!

Mummies supplementing bm with fm, have your periods returned? I'm having bleeding which doesnt seem like nor feel like lochia leh. Looks like menses! Is it for tbf then menses won't return so soon? Really hope not menses 'cos still wanna enjoy being period-free for a few more months!

thx zuen and cyn,

my friend said the pupsik studio one quite small, maybe i'll chk out the kiddy palace one. I carry the baby until got muscle already, thinking of trying out on sling so can free my hands to do other things.

shin,

the thing about yao lan is if baby get used to it then may hav a problem to sleep when go traveling as u can't carry ur yao lan with you. I try not to introduce things like pacifier or yao lan unless i've tried and there's really no way out.

shin,

I'm using Yao lan for my girl. I was against it also, and still don't really like her to sleep in Yao lan. But fact is, she loves it and sleeps very well in it. Sometimes it is really a life saver for me as I get the chance to catch a breath and take a nap too. If she sleeps on the bed, there will be times when she startle herself and wake up crying/fussing. Don't know how hard it is to wean her off, but my mum, her friends etc assured me that it's not difficult and most children just decide that they don't wanna sleep in yao lan anymore. Gotta wait and see how my girl gonna be weaned off. Too early to say now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh yah, remember the 100 days I mentioned few days ago? A lot of aunties told me this is true. After 100 days, babies will be a lot more manageable. Counting down to it!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cyn: yup I'm using that sling but bb looks very uncomfortable in it. Mayb bcos he's too long? He looks very cramped up.

Starry: try doin wat I did. Made hb stay hm in e afternoon for a few hrs w bb n I went out to meet frens. No choice he had to cope. N now his off day is my off day. He struggle w bb n i rest. The magic of ebm. Daddies hv to learn how to take care of bb too if not won't know wat mummies go through day in day out. A couple of hrs off for us can keep us sane longer hehe.

jac -yes it is the moms in mind type of sarong sling.

I actually wanted to buy Pupsik sling but after checking it out today, i decided not to because it comes in different sizes - S, M, L etc and it is not adjustable. So it can be quite rigid...the only plus point is it is very stylish but frankly speaking i dun find that is is a worthwhile buy at $69 for one....

Stella,

Thought of having hubby take over a couple of hours too! Ebm, fm also can. Haha! Must try at some point. Now still at mum's place so cannot. This weekend moving back so see how. He sure 'garang gaboh' one.

Cyn,

I've one Pupsik one too. It's used though, but in very good condition still. Haven't try both out. Must learn first and try on baby at home then I dare bring her out. For now, it's still stroller! Brought her out in stroller this morning to dim sum restaurant. Naturally she cried a bit and asked to be carried. But after a while still slept in the stroller. Don't know whether she will like sarong/pouch or not.