(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Loca: I was told by doc n nurses that normal temp for bb is the same as adults. 36.5-37.5. Anything higher is considered fever so think u shd monitor closely.

hello all... Been busy !!

3 parties .. 2 down left 1 more to go tmrw..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry

Yea.. HB bought it yest !! Haa.. I got the info from rachoho! Heee.. Think is the same price for all sizes ! Meghan is wearing sizeM.. Bought few bags of pampers fir day use too![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ann

About giving water ... What I mentioned before are advised from doc.. It's exactly wat Claudia mentioned that I ve heard from docs..if your boy is constipated , maybe you might wanna visit his pd for a check up ?

Hi loca

I would suggest that u monitor for another hour or so to c if his temp did rise ? Cos usually for babies .. Doc will advised to administer panadol only at 38deg n above .... Since b. Is still at newborn stage , is best to seek docs advise ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Emmie

Hope u are feeling much better now.. Take a deep breath everytime u feel lousy... Maybe he us really uncomfy after the jab??give him

Sometime and he ll b good .. Don't b too stress..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hugs![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Last night my head was like almost tearing apart!! Think is migrane! So painful tt I can hardly open my eyes !!!!so scary as I ve not had such psin before !![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ian

Saw ur huggies diaper post !! Haa

Yest HB too got a stare .. 3 bug bags of many poko n 2 bags of pampers !! Wahaaa... But seriously it was a good buy!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Woof Woof,

you can take fenugreek seed. take note of side effect is you may smell like maple syrup. Another way is lengthen time of pumping. if you normally pump 15 min, extend to 20 - 25 min, ideally if you can pump until there is let down. this method takes longer to see effect. you may need to pump for 5- 7 days before you feel increase in supply.

Emmie: keep trying. Try getting ur hubby or someone else to intro e pacifier. Wen it's in his mouth tap on it with ur fingernails to get him to focus on it. Some babies wen they smell their mummies they will choose mummy over pacifier. Try also to get a pacifier most resembling ur nipple. Easier to introduce. If all fails then you may hv to accept the fact that ur boy is one of the rare few who dun like pacifiers n look for other ways of calming him down like soft music or singing or reading. If he keeps rooting, get someone else to carry him if possi so no mummy smell, no urge to latch.

Thank u stella n stary for ur reply reg pacifier.maybe will try tmr as pacifier still in other room where in laws r sleeping in now.

Shireen and stella

thanks for e replies, wld pump longer to 'tell' body tat I need e supply. Fenugreek seeds doesn't work for me when I am having no1. I am using double pump.... But feel tat I doesn't empty as well when compared to manual pump I used previously

Ann, my boy only take one or two sips- very little only as he refuses e water

thank you all for your replies..i feel less worried reading your replpies..this forum is like a 24-7 helpdesk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i will monitor further. if tmr still the same i will just bring him to the doc.

hubby thinks i freaking out for nothing. talk to you mummies still better :p

loca: 37.5 is fine. cos when my baby is 2 weeks old, i felt his temperature was a bit higher so i brought him to a GP. Gp says for newborn, temperature ard 36.9 to 37.5 is normal. anything higher then need to be worried.

Ann,

If you use paci properly, you and baby will both be happier and have easier time. don't have to worry about paci addiction or lack of appetite!

lilac,

Up for feed? Didnt 'see' u in a while! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shireen,

my son has his period of growth dpurt last week! Is it possible to hv 2 separate period for 1 growth spurt?

I did not sleeep!!! smth is definitely bothering my son or he has learb the skill to manja with me. Ttied burping him, lots of gas came out but he still refuse to sleep... Wake up every hour... First try to coax him to sleep then he start eating his fist / thumb then cry out loud.

Latch n he ate like i nv fed him for days. No throw up.

Shld i be worried that i overfed him?

Morning mommies!

Loca, my baby's temp is always ard 37-37.5. Its normal!

Ann, sounds like yr baby is having another growth spurt but is He feeding well during e day? Is yr baby bf or bottlefed? My baby also refused to sleep at nite n countinue feeding every

hr after her growth spurt. So i kept a watch on her nap n

feeding times during e day. She seems to b napping enuf but

turned out she wasnt feeding enuf. During e day i tbf n she

keeps sleepibg at my breast. So one day i tried bottlefeeding

her more than wat i tink she would take n surprise2, she

could finish it! Her intake has Increased. Dat nite she slept

well!

Mommies im so happy! Finally my smart breasts caught up wif e increasing demand. Could pump out 90-100 ml per breast now!

Morning mummies & daddy!

Start of another week! Can i ask regards to growth spurt for babies, does this means that they will drink more and con't this amount till the nxt growth spurt? Also for BFing mummies, do you find your boobs like one is bigger than the other? Paisey, rather concern abt this cos I hve people telling me that if one boobs is bigger than the other, in future when you stop BFg your boobs will still b one bigger than the other? True or not huh? Ai hiao also la.. If this is true the I need to pump to ensure both boobs are evenly.. ahaha..

Gd morning mummies n daddy!O

Shireen: the maple syrup smell is ok rite? Coz my boy's urine n breath smell very strongly of it. N if stop taking fenugreek supply will drop? Coz I got worried w e smell n stopped n my supply dropped by almost half! Now struggling to keep up w his appetite. If he gets a growth spurt now I die ugly.

Been so bz cannot log on so much and it's been so long since i last looked into this thread!

So many of you have given birth (me included!). Heh.

Just wondering, i want to buy breast pump. Do you ladies know when i should buy them to get those bundle deals? I'm looking at a Swing with the citystyle bag. Anyone knows how much a BN set would cost as a bundle? Should I get them at KKH and check if they have bundle sales at their shops there?

Shireen,

I hope it is just gr owth spurt.. Or is it colic?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

he is really gassy n i dunno why maybe my latching is wrong.

I latch him day n nite. Bottlefed ebm rarely when i went out. But once he fed 180 ml when im out.

When i said this to pd she said my bby supposed to drink max 150ml.

M confused now whether my bby is one of those who cant stop when have enough n therefore stomach is bloated????

He also almost never reject nipple. Never let go also except when he needs to poo or fell asleep.

Shld i see someone, like lc abt this??

I thought i was doing great n bby has routine. Till my mom left everything goes haywire.

N im too sensitive now. What in laws said, evem though they meant well, is like a slap on my face. I feel they shld not say things like teaching me how to do things while i hv been doing well even before tthey r here

really salut those who cn live with in laws. I hve only be with tgem for 3 days.

Direct latching has less tenancy to over feeding. If your baby does not let of nipple, you should remove him from your breast after 10 min then burp him, then see if he wants more milk on the other breast. Burping in between feed allows baby to have time to feel full and reduce air into his stomach

morning mummies~

how often do u put on romper for ur baby @ home?

is it really harder to put on, as compared to those button-up in front types?

i feel that time taken to put on/remove is almost the same..but my MIL simply refuses to put on romper for my son! cause i bought alot of them..and want him to wear each of them AT LEAST ONCE.

just a quick question... Mummies who are using kodomo detergent for babies... How much to use? It says 1 capful to 3litres of water.... But the cap so big... Or isit fill only to the small dent inside the cap???

anyone made baby's passport already? Need to get it done for dd tonight. This sunday gotta go JB celebrate hubby's grandma's birthday. This morning then told us, so rushed lor... I told hubby if cannot collect in time, don't blame anyone since so last minute then inform. Some more Wednesday is PH! Wonder of submit today can collect on Friday or not. Anyone knows?

Ian,

i bought button n tie type. But lots of ppl give romper.

On yhe first week i alrdy know that i prefer romper. Easier to put n take out in my opinion.

But maybe ur mil scare bby necj is still soft.

Marrissa,

he is napping well in the day..

U mean u feed sofea ebm at night with bottle?

Shireen,

Ok will try to burp him every 10 mins.

Usually i only offer one breast every feeding..

If baby is sleeping on breast, cn they be burped?

mine cnnot leh.. So i just hold him up n n wait few mins.

Ok? If i tap hard usully he will wake up n hard to get him to sleep again!

Oh no cant remember where i put the pacifier..

Ian, my elder boy and my bb both wear rompers all the time. Prefer rompers so tt their stomach is not exposed. And of cos rompers look cuter, when they r older they cant wear rompers!

Hi mummies, I trying to tbf after confinement cos can bathe liao, not so dirty hehe.. When I pump I get 60-80ml, my bb can drink 90ml. Is it ok? Will he be too hungry? Also can I ask some dumb qns.

1) how to know if the breast is empty? How to know bb had enough?

2) do I need to pump after feeding? Pump after feed very pathetic, keep? If keeP, when to feed? But sometimes so little like very mafan to keep.

3) if I need to go out, when to pump?

Though second bb but first one nvr tbf so not sure. Hope experienced mummies can help

4), how to build up the supply to store for future?

marrissa:

congrats on yr increases milk ss. can share what u did to achieve it. mine still low ard 60-100 both sides! n inconistent yield each pump due to erractic schd. Are u tbf or exclusive pump?

At times I latch one side n pump after tat not much. Tried latch n bb fuss tink my milk flow slow. Sometime give ebm.

Nxt growth spurt coming n worried cannot catch up.

On breastfeeding, these were the advice given to me when I met with an LC 2 weeks ago...

1. When your breast is full ... it feels like tou gua ... when emptied ... it will feel like toufu

2. Try to let the baby empty the first breast before you switch side (15-20mins?... or till it feels like toufu). Otherwise baby will not be getting enough hindmilk ... so baby will feel hungry faster ... and also will have "explosive" stools (uncomfy)

3. When baby is suckling for comfort ... you will feel a fluttering sensation at your nipple (feels quite different when your baby is actually drinking)... so LC say we have to learn to tell the difference and unlatch baby when he is no longer feeding.

Ian> I prefer the button type because I'm using cloth diaper.. Then actually no need to buy pants becoz almost all the time she wears diaper only. hehe..

After that I realize I bought too much rompers, so right now need to use them otherwise there will be no chance anymore to use. Hehehe..

Right now everyday I put better clothes for Josie, afraid can't use them anymore next time. haha..

Marissa> Which breast pump do you use? Right now I feel slight pain when using the Avent breast pump, because after a few pump, my nipple gets enlarged and kena the funnel [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. Lucky only happens on my left breast which has bigger nipple. Now I also worried of my supply. It has not been increasing since last month. Huhu.. Afraid can't do TBF for 6 months when returning to work..

long time never come in and chat, how's everybody??

Teeong,

my left is bigger cos in the beginning she prefers left. also trying to make right bigger but cannot lei. how ah?

Yesterday evening I ignore Josie when she's having hiccup, then today I'm getting hiccup the whole day. Huhuhu..

I used to let her latch when hiccup.. But yesterday evening she hiccup when I was about to sleep so I ignore :$

ian,

where did you purchase the Huggies diapers at 2 bags for $23.45? wanna go search for it also. whole day and night use Mamy Poko is slowly burning a hole in my pocket. about rompers, i'm letting jadelyn wear them everyday now. occasionally t-shirts and pants. nv let her wear button shirts. so ma fan! rompers and shirts easier to strip her when need to change diaper. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] your mil worry too much lah. just hold the head and neck properly. in fact i find buttoning much more of a hassle.

marrissa,

congrats on the increase of supply! envious leh! i a bit "cheng sim" liao. 'cos too lazy to wake up pump in the middle of the night also. plus baby keep falling asleep at the breast. very tiring to tbf her so pumping in the day time only. i need my beauty sleep! :p

raindroops,

you wanna buy local set breast pump? quite expensive due to the warranty. why not get US set from the forum's BP thread? i bought my US set freestyle (full bundle) at SGD475, compared to local set which is anywhere from SGD700 - SGD900++. even if got problem need servicing also just need to pay extra $100, which is still far cheaper than local sets!

gsm,

hi!!! really long time no 'see'. how are you coping?

groovy,

whahaha! you very funny! goes to show you shouldn't ignore josie in future. heh heh!!

Starry, huggies s size is selling 2 packs for $23.75 @ ntuc. Think promo going end soon. I bot too! My boy wearing huggies s size too but hor he wee wee a lot & large vol! 3 hrs oonly very heavy Liao!

Envious mommies with high ss of bm... My milk ss always not enuff for my boy! After latching still cry for more! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ann/desi> yeah totally agree with u~ can cover the stomach area.

groovy> its indeed more practical to wear a top for cloth diaper babies..cause less chances of wetting their clothes..

but also quite shiong leh..my boy uses abt 20pcs per day..cause my MIL insists that babies should wear cloth diapers whenever possible. anyway the one washing not me..so i better not complain so much..but everytime when i go visit him..i make sure i change him into a different romper! :p

jac>just replied u in FB.

Re:MIL

Really hate the sight of her now. Whole confinement kept coming over. As n wen she likes. Nvr even inform then just come over. Really irritated! Especially wen hb nt ard she also come.

Stay near prob lor. N she nt working. So very free!!!

Need my rest lor. N nowadays baby cranky think I need peace rather than she come n can't help much. Need to entertain her!

Told hb many times but he just dun wan to tell his mom directly. N whenever I bring up this matter, he'll brush it aside or get agitated!!

CL leaving this thursday. I foresee she will come everyday lor. Dunno for wat!!! I rather she dun help n leave it to us. Think worse come to worse I'll go out with bb.

bblin,

that's quite good deal! going ntuc tonight.. see whether got any more stocks or not. my girl was using huggies when we were in the hospital too. can't tell how good since not once did i change her then. back home was mamy poko all the way. my mum loves mamy poko too! we tried some drypers but they were so disappointing. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] overall our verdict was that mamy poko even though more expensive, can last longer so cheaper in the long run.

ian,

thanks for the reply. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hey, your boy uses 20 pcs of diapers a day?? you mean cloth or disposable ones? really very shiong!

Hi, All Mums out there, just to update the Focus Group Discussion for mum with babies/kids 1 month to 5 yrs old is now looking for foreign nationality, if you are from countries like Hong Kong, Taiwan, Philippines, Malaysia, Indonesia – please sms me your name and hp no.,if you are keen to participate. It gonna be a 90mins session at Ritz Carlton Hotel, 7pm sharp on 25th Nov 2010. Token - S$70.00 cash for all respondants. Please sms me asap. Thanks. Sally, HP 97640028.

Not helping much la. Only follow us here n there. Irritating.

Can't stand her. She smart lor. Last time my SIL stay far. So she nvr always go over.

Think next time if weekends we dun wan go over cos wan own time, she will thick skinned come over lor.

jac>cloth ones~

havent really tried putting him on disposable for the entire day yet.. how many pcs u using per day?

Sorry to interrupt. Had some item which i would like to let go below cost price as i have no use of it anymore. Pm me if interested thanks

Bn Lansinoh nipple Cream 2 OZ expiry 2012 - $12

Bn GNC Fenugreek 100 Capsules expiry 2014 - $16

1 brand new box of pigeon breast pad (36+6) & 30pcs of loose pad in box (total 72pcs) - $12

Self collect my place near kk hospital. E-mail me at [email protected]

starry

Diapers: you can consider using nepia, not too expensive at $15 for one pack of 60 pieces. It's quite good and no problems with diaper rash so far. I order through email and they deliver to my home. More convenient as we don't really ahve the time to go to supermarket now.

Hi ladies & ian...

I am back after so many days of MIAing...

Many things happen so dun really have time and mood to post...

after CL left, we found that little Rhea got really WHITE tongue. I am talking abt REALLY THICK white stuff on the tongue and even her lips are getting whiter.

Rem I posted that Rhea is drinking 100-120ml few weeks ago coz CL keep saying she drink not enuff, less than 2 hrs want milk... keep increasing.

Then suddenly right after CL left, this little girl REFUSED to finish her milk. After 50ml, she will cry and refused to drink. Wasted so much EBM. Then fussed and cried. We dun know what happen. Keep trying to coax her in finishing her 100ml.

Finally cannot tahan liao, brot her to see PD and was told that she got oral thrush. Problem is the meds for that is not suitable for baby this young. PD told us frankly that most other PD will give the meds but there are some cases that that meds when given to too young babies will cause some heart problem, and she really dun feel like giving, and we totally agreed. So can only give her oral wash and clean her mouth and tongue after EVERY feed. Now it is better.

And as for the decreased feeding, at first we suspect is the oral thrush but PD said that might be small part of it. Main thing is we OVERFED Rhea liao. She has gained ard 2kg (born 2.63kg, now at 6weeks, 4.5kg) and PD said it is too much. She said that Rhea had catch up with her milk and weight before that and now slowing down so told us to cut down her feed. And truly, now we feeding 80ml of EBM every 3hrly and everything is back to norm. Doc said that regardless of BM or FM, they are still liquid so if overfed, they will blow up the stomach so much that will cause a lot of discomfort to the baby. So must control.

Now this girl lots of pattern and like most babies here, she will fuss and refused to sleep sometimes. I am not exactly into strict routine yet. More of morning 9+ to 10am bathe, then milk then nap. The rest of the time will depends on her. Mostly she nap. Then evening 7pm+/- will wipe her. Thats it.

Will try to join in more... miss you all ladies and babies... oh... and Ian too.... hee...

Hi Groovy, I am also having problem with Avent pump. Everytime I pump, I will end up with painful nipples. haiz... making breastfeeding a very painful experience. But the pump is brand new so I reluctant to get a new one...