(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

Xin,

I already sagged liao lor. Breasts grew at least 1 cup size from no 1 n already sag. Now even bigger. Sag even more lor. Gravity does great harm. I dun dare to go braless since I delivered no 1. Sad hor. When I preggy with no 2, with big tummy, I feel that my breasts touching my tummy lor. Uber sad. Hohoho.

Marrisa/ Zuen:

I'm used to not wearing bra at hm. So now wen engorged n leak a bit fedup. Haiz. Can pump n latch? Wa. So skillful leh. I hv prob latching without nursing pillow. Can teach hw u all do it?

Baby like so uncomfy leh.

xin2, ive even mastered e art of latching, pumping, eating n watching tv at e same time! when u haf no help need to multi task! i bf her using football cradle n prop her up on top of 2 pillows. will help her latch then shes on her own so i handsfree.

re: routine

i know its common to bathe or wipe baby in e evening to signal dat its bedtime. so its bathe bottle bed. but eversince babys growth spurt its been bathe bottle bottle bottle bottle THEN bed! by the time i put her in e crib its 10pm ley. 6.30 bathe, 10 pm ghen sleep.. a bit long rite?? next feed is ard 2am. while i tink its ok coz i only sleep at 10+ but it also mean i got no ME time !

yo mummies and Ian, enjoying weekend so far? Finally got my haircut! Woohoo!! Super liberating, man! ^.^

I'm super tired now, but brain still in overdrive. Brought baby out to church and she had her mill then slept through sevice. After that had dinner with friends at the mall. had a VERY good time but really tiring. Think still very lack of sleep at night. Hoping to bring dd out more often and get her used to her stroller. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Princess d,

Haha!! Your hubby really got himself into 'trouble'! But although he hao lian hao lian a bit, I'm sure he takes great joy in feeding Meghan. Good lah, you can relax more at night when he is ard. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: teats

I thot dd needed a larger teat, so bought M size one. but end up she still doesn't know how to control her sucking and swallowing so kept choking on the milk and cry. If use back S size teat, she cry with frustration at slow milk flow. SIGH!!!! So I just poke hole! Just nice, not too big, not too small. Lol!

Re: wedding band

Thnx for the replies! Envy those who can put on already. Think mine gotta wait another mth..

Re: boobs

Xin, bigger boobs sexy! I want also don't have. Still a small B no matter how I latch and how much milk I pump.

Zuen, invest in good support bras and apply firming cream when u stop bfing. Think will help!

Re: bb pimples

For Jadelyn, I notice her skin is sensitive to her dirty mittens. When hungry she will suck at them then rub her whole face, causing pimples. I just change her mitts often and also wipe her face with clean cloth and plain water few times a day. Pimples stay away! If i stop, they come back. No creams or moisturizers.. Their skin very delicate now, any creams, moisturizers etc MAY clog their pores. Best is just plain water for now.

jac, wat teat brand r u using? sofea also fuss at size M but size L milk overflowing her mouth. i poke extra hole in size M.. now she's drinking well

just a quick question... Mummies who are using kodomo detergent for babies... How much to use? It says 1 capful to 3litres of water.... But the cap so big... Or isit fill only to the small dent inside the cap??? Sorry for asking sucha stupid question cos I'm washing the clothes now but duno why so so much suds [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi loca, ian and ann, my boi also has same prob like urs too!! He is 7 wks old now. very stress out by him. not only his eyes wide open, he screams and wails non stop from midnight till next morning. super tired out by him!! then my FIL kept wanting to take over the night feeds, but becomes disatrous!! My boi refuse to be comforted by him. wails even louder!! suspect he has colic at times, but i guess he is mostly too fussy to be comforted by his grandpa.He is fed well, clean , no poo. Put ru yi yew many times a day. almost give up cos really duno wat he wants. Once, i took over from FIL, boi just cling on to me without letting go. No sleep also jia lak. Every night same till last night i tried to put him on his tummy to sleep after making him drowsy. Thank God it seems to be working abit. At least he can sleep a couple of hrs after each feed in the wee hours. If not my HB, FIL and i gg to die out of fatigue!! Will keep trying different methods till something work for him. Jia you to all moms!! This phrase will pass very soon.

Afternoon mummies n daddy,

I was really tired n stressed this past 2 days. Did not log in to chat. Baby is cranky n cant sleep well. Wad wonddering wjether my milk supply drop due to stress because he seems to want more n frustated when latching.

Quick qn:

1. any mummies still drink longan drink till now?

I still drink n in law say its heaty for bby. My frinds say it is good fir milk. The irony is that when i stopped drinking my baby has hard time to poo. He seems to be in such great kain even when farting. We hv tried giving gripe water.

2. Giving water to bby

il and a frind says to give water. I asked earlier n princess d said that no need water evem for formulafed bby

but just wondering whether anybody give watee to drink?

If yes, actually for what purpose n how much to give?

Thanks in advance...

Another qn:

my boy is 7 weeks n now he only poos 1~2 times per day. Sice 3 days ago. He can start feeling uncomfortable at 1 and only pass motion at 5~6. is it normal?

The amt of poo is also less than usual, but urine is ok, at least 5 wet diaper each day.

Mummies n daddy,

For mummies who give bb gripe water, how much to give per day? My boy seems to hv wind in tummy. Thinking of giving him the gripe water.

Tried putting him to sleep on tummy n now he managed to sleep for quite a while Liao. But wonder if it'll become a habit? N also very worried of suffocating la. How?

Re: backache

Any mummies still having backaches? I'm still suffering from it n can't turn in bed without feeling the pain. ML say got toxin in the back area. Dunno how true.

Another qn,

Mummies who bot sling or carrier, which one is good? Thinking of getting 1 since bb likes to lean against chest. Is it necessary?

hey mummies, Mamy poko diapers on sale now at NTUC. $20.65 for the S-size bags. hubby happen to see and bought 2 bags earlier. Jadelyn finally going to outgrow her NB ones. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Empress

I used b-free for my no 1. Quite troublesome as they have many parts to clean- their anti colic features. Both my fren and I experienced early fading of e markings at e bottles - e bottles are fairly new... Tat was few years ago

Ann,

I feed water to my boy, he is always having hiccups

mummies pumping exclusively

my supply is dropping... Dun know why... Still pumping at e scheduled time- 3hr... Supply jus dropped

how to increase e supply?

Xin2: try ridwind? Its pretty gd for removing wind. My boy was difficult to burp but aft started ridwind his burps come easier n loud!

Backache i still hv n can get very bad but i blame myself for bad posture wen carrying bb n feeding him. U gave birth w epidural? Sometimes it causes pain at the back coz of hours of no movement shd slowly fade with care n gd posture.

I got both sling n carrier. The sling I find quite difficult to use n my bb seems uncomfortable so bought manduca carrier. Can use frm 3.5 kg onwards. My boy sleeps like a log in it coz he's against my chest. Can sleep for more than 2 solid hours without moving! Only down point is it can get very warm. End up both my chest n his sweating hehe but aircon places not too bad.

Starry, thanks for the info! Logan is outgrowing his nb diapers as well. Very short for his long body haha.

My baby when put on sling to bring out won't wake up! After 3 hours + from feeding time also only drink 40 ml and doze off. Wasted 40 ml of my ebm! Aiyo I am so afraid she really can't drink from bottle :s

Hi xin, i was having backaches too but ever since i started taking Brand's chicken essence with cordyceps everyday, i felt much better.

Water: I was wondering when should we start giving water? and the amount? Anyone could enlighten me?

hi mummies..

i just started to put my boy into routine, bath in evening, play a bit (mostly he crying), feed then put him on his cot pat pat him to sleep. (i give up on trying to make him sleep on my chest and transfer to bed liao cos sure eyes open big big the moment i put him down)

the patting him to sleep part usually takes 1 hr or more [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] usually i fall asleep patting him first..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

but so far he manage to sleep from 10pm to 2am...

then he will wake up every 3 hr to feed..next challenge is for him to sleep longer after the 2am feed.

xin2, i am using baby bjorn carrier. my hubby loves it...he uses it all the time. good thing about it is easy to carry him out without too much movement if he has fallen asleep.

re. pimples on face

must make sure to clean the face with a clean wet cloth after each feed. i didnt and end up his face kenna pus...it was so painful to see his face all crusty.

any mummies out there with pain at the back where they injected the epidural? dunno why starting to have this pain.

jac, ya e Nuk teat is flat wif jus one hole on one side, so i prick anothet one on e other side. anyway i jus came home from mothercare, bought her dr browns medium flow teats... OMG, she drank so well she din fuss At ALL! not even a bit! no wonder this brand came highly recommended

loca,

me too! i've having backache quite often eversince the back epidural too, sometimes my back is so stiff that i can't move. My bb is so heavy now at 44 days old, 6kg plus, sometimes if feeding is too long, my back will cramped & cannot move. my c-section wound still ache esp when i carry my boy.

This few days, my boy has been making those cooing sounds, seems like talking to us & he also seems to sleep less as nowadays he drinks his milk every 3 hr & every 4 hr at night but he refuse to sleep after feeding. He can stay awake for 2 hours, sometimes he kept staring at the ceiling fan, sometimes kept staring at the lights. He will cry for attention when he's bored. He seems tired but refuse to sleep as he kept yawning repeatedly till tears flow out.

But he still crys when he farts? I wonder is it stomach pain. He almost gave me a shock last fri. Brought him to sembawang to top up his milk & diapers, gave him his feed at 3pm & he was so quiet after his feed & he throw out all his milk after a few min. Then he refuse to drink when we reach home, kept crying then sleep, cry then sleep, then eventually drinks at 7pm then went to bed. Then later on, woke up at midnight, thought he wanted to drink milk but the moment he drinks his milk, he fart, then drink again, farts then cry till he sleep.then he woke up at 3am, tot he wanted milk as he didnt drink earlier on, & the same thing repeated, then 5am he woke up again..same thing repeated..kept throwing away all his milk, then 7am, thought he might not have appetite, make 60ml for him first, then he drinks so fast..must be hungry then make another 60ml for him, then slowly increase his milk intake & now he's back to normal..almost gave me a shock as he didnt eat for one whole day, & less wet diaper, scared he might get dehydrated as he kept tearing for the whole night, almost brought him to the doc but since he regain his appetite now..should be fine..i m going to miss my boy after tmr as will be bringing him to our aunty place to stay for 10 days as we r going to taiwan. Hope he can adapt to that environment.

Btw, do we really need to clean the baby's tongue? As my boy refuse to let me clean all the time, he will bite and refuse to let go.

Hi mummies, I finish confinement today. Want to try tbf cos can bathe liao, not so dirty hehe.. When I pump I get 60-80ml, my bb can drink 90ml. Is it ok? Will he be too hungry? Also can I ask some dumb qns.

1) how to know if the breast is empty? How to know bb had enough?

2) do I need to pump after feeding? Pump after feed very pathetic, keep? If keeP, when to feed? But sometimes so little like very mafan to keep.

3) if I need to go out, when to pump?

Though second bb but first one nvr tbf so not sure. Hope experienced mummies can help

sigh... I'm going crazy soon... what seems to b a nice morning n evening routine have disappeared! for the last few days baby absolutely refuses to nap in the day. He is tired but must be carried to sleep. Once put down, eyes open big big. Lagi worse when I'm the one carrying cos he wants to latch on the whole time! and if he unlatch himself inbetween, he will start to wail. Am so tired and mad that I spoke harshly to him. Now kind of regretting my harsh words as it seem to make things worse!

why this 2nd child so difficult? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Thank u woofwoof for ur answer on water

how much to give each time?

Usually i latch if he hiccups then usually he wants more.

Emmie.

Me suffering the same hing as u.

My boi is 7 week now. Googled whether got growth spurt but supposed to be in week 10.

Not sure because im stressed also that is why he is fussy, always want to latch on n be carried... All day long!!!!!

Though i get abt 5 hrs broken sleep from 12 midnite.

That is because i did not do anything except attending bby, eat n bathe.

ann, mine also just passed 7 weeks. supposed to pass the growth spurt at 6 weeks... things really got worst after the growth spurt at 6 weeks and the 6in1 jab. I keep telling myself i need to stay zen but very hard leh...

Ann,

I research on Internet that baby needs not to be given water as they already got their fluid from fm or bm. If given too much water will cause reflux. It also mention to introduce water at 3 mths or later.

Woofwoof: best way to increase supply is to latch. If not try fenugreek? Wen express add 5 min aft milk stop flowing to tell ur body to produce more. I did some research n found out that If using single pump, pump one side then the other then repeat for another 5-10 min. Or u can use double pump to bluff ur body into believing ur feeding twins so need to produce more. Same thing aft milk flow stops continue pumping.

Emmie,

Mine passed the growth sourt at week 6 alrdy..

Now he hv been latching for 1 hr plus!

Last feeding supposed to ve at 6. I was expecting him to wake up at 10. but he wake up at 7.45 n wanted to eat. He hust poo diaper is clean, hve burped him too.

Put him down at 8.50 after he has been sleeeping in my chest. Bow he woke up again!!!!

What is wrong with my boy??

Giving water

I also thought that for the first few months shouldnt give water till the doc at kkh told me to feed bb a few mouthfuls of water after feeds to loosen his phlegm. Still abit doubtful so try not to give unless his phlegm really sounds bad.

My boy also same!! Wants to be carried. Once put down cry.

Then drink milk can't wait. If wait for milk to warm up, will cry n drink until very fedup n cry also.

Really dunno how.

Mummies with fussy bb:

Maybe can try pacifier instead of latch on when not feeding time? I stopped letting Logan latch wen he fusses because it spoils his feeding pattern. So I give pacifier instead coz bb still needs sucking time to soothe himself. Now he feeds better n sleeps slightly better. Initially he sleeps 3 hours between feeds then wen i let him latch for comfort he sleeps only 2 hrs then wakes up for feed n is cranky. Aft I stopped he has gone back to 3 hours and can finish his milk most of the time and not so cranky in between.

Wen bb dun sleep well they can't feed well and wen they dun feed properly they can't sleep properly. Hope this helps abit.

Stella,

thx for ur suggestion. Want to give up n give him pacifier too but still considering the pro n cons.. I do have nuk pacifier but yet to try on my boy. .

The pro is as u say, that feeding pattern is unintrrupted, but on the other side some say if bby too comfy with pacifier he will lose appetite to eat n too lazy to latch?

Im confused!!

Any mommies use pacifier on ur baby?

How long can wean off he pacifier?

Is it true it will lower bby's appetite?

How long u let ur bby hv pacifier? After bby is sleeping then i take out?

Finally can rest. Baby is sleeping on my chest now after another round of feeding, gave him gripe water too.A little bit of vomit n lots of phlegm came out before that.

Hopefully he can sleep through till 2.

Just now cant recall someone ask abt gripe water.

Dr suggestd 2.5 ml of gripe water diluted ib 10 ml of water. My son is 7 weeks n 5.3~5.5 kg now. Doze might be dofferent. They say before 1 mnth cant give gripe water

hello mummies..

suddenly my boy feels hot. took his temperature under the armpit..37.5deg..should i be worried?

Hi all, sorry for diverging, but I have a couple of extra brand new Sophie the Giraffe teething toy lying around at home courtesy of friends, wondering anybody here interested in them? I don't think my kid will need more than 1 so the extras are just collecting dust.

Available for sale COD or by post, will let go cheaper than local bulk purchase price. Pls PM or email [email protected] if interested tq!

Lotus[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4739444.jpg]

Ann: I usually give him pacifier wen he is full and fussing wen he wanted to slp or during his awake time wen he is fussing. He will drop e pacifier wen he falls into deep slp. If u decide to use it dun use each and every time he cries only wen necessary wen all his needs r met but he still can't settle. Usually if it's not every hr use babies wun get dependent on it. If he doesn't drop e pacifier in his slp remove it aft he is in deep slp.

new to ths thread. i have 2 boys, 3 years old and another 6 weeks old. i tbf my elder for 2 years. happy to share my breastfeed experience. feel free to ask me if you have question

Ann,

I'm giving paci to my girl too! Using it exactly like what stella said. Total time she uses paci is less than 2hrs at any 24hr period as she's sucking for comfort and security only. Once she feels happy enough, she will auto spit out and press her lips shut. Try to give her again but she doesnt want! Paci didnt upset her feeding patterns. Babies are smart, if hungry, they will for sure spit out the paci and cry for milk. I don't worry abt weaning for now as my priority is for her to sleep well and fuss less as this will make her a happier baby. In turn I get more rest too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Speaking of which, I just changed her paci to NUK's latex ones. She likes them better than tommee tippee's. No more struggles to keep paci in her mouth! Heh heh!!

hi mummies who have bad pain from epidural,

try to curl your body into a 'C' shape when you sleep. a doctor taught me. i find that working.

re: water for baby

I do give my girl a bit of water as she's on FM sometimes. Occasionally she will reject it then don't force her. Sometimes she will drink, but whole day add up less than 20ml. Why I give is becos scared she constipate. But if fully on BM, then don't need to give water at all.

hi mummies who have bad pain from epidural,

try to curl your body into a 'C' shape when you sleep. a doctor taught me. i find that working.

hi Ann,

it is possible that baby has growth spurt at week 7. my baby is experiencing growth spurt at week 6. when i was breastfeeding my elder boy, i experienced the same as yours which i bf him the whole day but he slept longer at night. in fact my elder one can sleep through the night from 2nd month. this is very helpful when i went to work. i seldom had to wake up few times in the middle of night to feed him.