(2010/08) August 2010 MTB

Ducking hw I wish my supply can be like urs leh!! But too bad!

I gt a qns if milk take a longer time to flow out frm our breast meaning I dun hav milk Liao ar?

ducklingeshop - okay, that is like almost every feeding. Do you sterilize your breast pump every time you pump? like very mafan right if have to?

as for the excess bm... I also dunno? make coffee? teh? curry?

I know one of my friend donated her bm to those mummies who have low or no supply but wish to let their babies have breast milk.

wow ... i am surprise to see so many of you awake at that hour! i logged off at ard 5.15am when everything is quiet.

I am overdue for 4 days now liao. ya I am also very afraid that the bb will poo poo inside, the very thought of it really freaks me out.

NG, you also gave birth in SGH? thats great news ...finally there is someone as strange as me hahaha... i chose sgh was because it is very close to my house , my attending doc is doc yong tze tein.

According to what i know, cabbage leave will only affect milk supply when it is used on a long term basis, if we were to use one or two consecutively the milk supply will not be affected.

Recently i got to see a breast specialist because i discover a breast lump. She was previously stationed in SGH but she is striking out on her own now in Mt E. Anyway... i asked her about breastfeeding and she say that to increase breastmilk supply, can take fenugreek. she say take 2 in the morning and 2 in the evening. i counter-checked what she say by reading up and true enough the books also reco this. GNC sells fenugreek.

congrats mdm yip, nature lover, pink xuan & glamgem!

jascmy,

i also went for checkup yesterday, my bb is very low too, weighs 3.07kg at wk38day2, water level is very good but strangely i am only 1cm dilated (my gynae thought i'm suppose to give birth soon). i also still gaining weight. >< and also feel breathless easily even when i'm lying on bed.

wanna ask how much amount of bloody brown discharge is considered normal after a VE check? and how long can it possibly last? cos i did an VE check yesterday around 3pm, had brown and bright red discharge for the whole yesterday and still have a little brown discharge today. is it normal?

No winnie... low supply doesn't mean NO supply....don't give up! Talk to the lactation consultant ...ask her about fenugreek or domperidone. Domperidone will be a prescription drug and it is proven to work but strangely it is now not approved by FDA... so quite scary ... I believe and trust my breast doctor so maybe you want to try fenugreek. by the way her name is doctor georgette chan. i think she is really really nice to share this with me.

doctors normally don't share this much cos if something happens ...they don't get the credit but all the shit...

ducklingeshop, kudos to you man! My aim is to stock up 6 month supply so that i can close shop and stop all these pumping and breast-abusing thingy! But still far from my aim.

Mdm Yip, I also lazy to sterlise after every pump. So now I only sterlise all the equipments once in the morning and the rest of the times, I just pour hot water over the parts after wash. Should be ok lah hor?

Jasmine,

you might be in labour anytime. Look out for water bag leaking or cramps. I had the same situation as you. Check 1cm dilated in morning and my gynae's nurse told me I will expect bleeding. At night i saw brown discharge. The next morning it stopped again till it came back at noon. I called gynae and he asked me to wait. Took half day leave since my ML was next day. Waited till next morning. Water bag burst. So you just look out for signess. Time to standby now. Good luck =)

Winnie, let's jia you! Must really pump diligently every 3 hours to reach that target... sigh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

my problem is after sterilize I have to wait for my pump to dry then can use. Or can just wipe dry? or use wet? :/

How long do you all pump each time? I was told by my friend, how long I take to bf baby for each breast is how long i should pump?

And pump and latch so much... nipples wont be very sore and crack in no time meh?

Or pump until nothing else drip into bottle? Sorry for all my qtns.. I really know nuts about all these.

Currently sitting in front of lappie, breast pad in hand, feel which part of boob starting to get stiff or hurt I will hand express abit to relief the boob. Really feel like dairy cow.

ducklingeshop

u so good leh. got so good supply.. me whole day milk got about 700-800ml nia... sometimes i latch on so didnt give ebm... the excess u do milk spa for ur bb lor.. haa.. else how? throw too wasted.. all our hardwork leh..

mdm yip

after sterlise, u can just shake the water off. dun have to wipe dry or wait til completely dry.. some pple did not pump just latch only. some pump only. some pple do both. if u latch liao, the milk will be left lesser to pump out. however it's best to pump to clear the milk so as ur breast will send signal to ur brain that u need to produce more milk hence supply will increase. for me i will pump til no more milk dripping for another 5mins-10 mins den stop. cos sometimes milk will come again.

scooby

i was up at 2+am & 5+am to pump.. saw ur post but lazy to type msg.. cos using hp to surf net. haa..

jascmy

ur turn shld be soon liao le.. hang on there.. soon u will join us on the same topic...

winnie

jia you~ at least u still have BM. do pump diligently. 3hrly cannot , try pump 2 hrly. btw wat type of pump u using?

eeyore

how's ur wound recovery? ya doing the full month early.. cos i tink many say cannot do on actual day.. plus i prefer to do on sunday so chose to do full month on 29 Aug. btw u were asking about pumping on during the day but dont pump at night?? if u dont pump at night u will kanna engorgement leh.. if u dont pump out, den SS will possible decrease de.. unless u still latch ur boy at night.

I wanna check if anyone of you will be constipated after delivery. Now its my 6th day, I can't seem to poo. I did take medication from hospital after discharge. It doesn't work. Other than drinking water and fruits, any other help?

cheekrene

Gynae give something to my wife and then she got no constipated liao. But is not comfortable one.. the nurse PUMP something into her behind hole.

Alibaba: I using medela single pump! Thanks! I pump every 3 hr! Trying hard to meet my ss!

Cheekrene: I still go toilet as usual to clear my bowel leh! Aft my delivery..

Congratz glamgem!

Ann, thanks for the advice on the crying. I give it a go after confinement if she's still carrying on like this. Cos my in-laws will undo my efforts during the day... Lol. Yesterday she moved her fussing to late evening.

Ducklingeshop, very jealous of ur oversupply. I dun have enough milk and need to supplement with fm...

Scooby, hang in there...btw, did ur doc mention any side effects with fenugreek?

Winnie, dun be upset. My supply very low too. Jus Try ur best to latch or pump religiously to give ur baby as much bm as u can but dun overstress...

Cheekrene, I was constipated for about 1 week plus after delivery. Now ok liao.

Mamyvelle,

If 70ml not enough, y don’t u give him drink more , slowly increase to see if he can intake..80ml, 90ml.. Mine also 2hrs for EBM..100ml…but sometimes can only intake 90ml, so I don’t force him..

Cheekrene,

So fast engorgement liao ar..so ur supply is there liao..confinement can take fruits meh? My CL don’t allow me to take..

I’m also having engorgement now.. I tried to massage very hard..have to endure the pain while massaging..massage over and over again ..then quickly pump out...and it works..

N_g,

Can reuse meh? My CL wash the liners when no poo on it..i told her to throw for hygiene purpose.

mdmyip, I pump every 3 hrs. sometimes overshot to 4hrs..and I sterilize every use.

Duckling,

So envy u leh! I think u can giveaway ur milk hehe

Just back from pd.. My little gal got mild gastric reflux.. Gastric acid flow back to throat n nose, cause heartburn n discomfort n also throwing up of milk.. Given 2 weeks of medication.. Super exp medicine.. $200+ exclude consultation.. Hope my gal gets well soon.. Quite tired to take care of cranky baby..

all mummies,

maybe can try drinking red date tea to increase the milk supply.. i have been drinking it since the 2nd day after my delivery n even back home cuz cannot drink plain water at home, my milk supply increase quite abit n can always pump out alot.. hope this will help. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

huffpuff,

my boy finally din fuss last night after i increase his milk feed to 80ml.. think he din have enough milk for that 2 nights, that's why behaving cranky.. hehe.. ;p

MVH, to help your gal, u can also let her sleep in a slanting position with her head higher after a feed next time. Hope she gets well soon!

duckling, aiyo, how come excess supply is a problem leh? I don't mind having this "problem" if I were u..... :p

cheekrene, I also got constipation ... end up, I try to force to poo and then my stitches bled. Oops. So my MIL went to those TCM shops to buy a small enema (those small pump to pump salt water into our anus) for me. I pump once and then instant relief.... passed motion immediately and smoothly. No pain.

scooby, I'm taking domperidone to increase my milk ss. My gynae prescribe it. I didn't know its no longer approved by FDA. Maybe I should switch to taking those nursing teas.....

cheekrene,

ur gynae got give u lactose for constipation? mine have, to help to prevent constipation. i couldnt poo until 5th day i think..then now i can becos u need to eat balanced diet..

ann,

i did, mine FM is those instant ones which i took back from the hospital n its only 60ml, so i top up another 20ml of BM to feed him n lasted him to 3 hours instead of 2 hours but my guess was probably the instant FM too diluted le, so cant hold him for too long.. thinking whether i shd go get a small tin of FM anot..

Huffpuff: am trying not to be sad, doing my pump every 3 hrs! We jia you together.

Sunflower : let down mean? Paiseh I very blur duno wT u mean! Hee!!

winnie,

means your milk is ready to flow. A few seconds to several minutes after you start breastfeeding or pumping, you may feel a tingle in your breast, and milk may start to drip from the breast not being used.

jascmy,

take k n hAV lots of rest. all the best to u. induce still can be dewlivered via natural delivery 1 lah. no worry ok.

madam yip,

must pump after evrytime latch on to totally clear your breast. must pump abt once every 3 hour. after supply stable oledi then mayb can prolong the interval. i will pump for abt 20-30 minutes cos i use low suction power to pump, to spare my nipple from bleeding. i will pump till no more milk flow out = almost fully empty my breast.

cheekrene,

cold cabbage not long term solution cos it will reduce supply.

glamgem,

congratulation!

ducklingeshop,

so envy of your supply. last time wat i do was store those fresh EBM in freezer, let my boy consume those old 1 cos old 1 can only store for 3 month. must consume before due else wasted. beside tat, saw some mummy actually giv away extra EBM under WTG section. some mummy unable to produce BM or unable to produce enuff BM for their baby may wan them cos BM is good for baby.

scooby2010,

i choose sgh cos my gynae at sgh, so no choice. actually not really convenient for me oh as i stay at woodlands. =p

jasmine n cheekrene,

i am fully dilated but waterbag not burst. so waterbag burst is only 1 of the sympton but u may go into labour even your waterbag not yet burst.

sunflower,

yup, reuse for few times. wasted if just throw away after use once. but must handwash lah. dun throw into washing machine.

mvh,

oh dear, take gd care of your baby. u too must take k oh. hope your girl get well soon.

ann,

hahahahaha... i oso dun mind oversupply problem.

winnie, dun give up, pump more frequent & milk will come... my#1 time supply also low, but i still managed give Bm till 4 mths...

mdmyip, right now i got CL at home, so after every pumping she will help me to wash & sterilize.. but my CL leaving on this sat, so i still wondering if i will sterilize every time after pump or may be like wl just sterlize 2 times a day & the rest just use hot water to pour :p

wl, stock up to 6mth? then need to buy a big freezer (those ppl selling ice cream type)to specially store the milk liao.. haha!!

huffpuff/ann, ya, actually my problem is how to storage the excess only cos currently my freezer already full... i also very glad that this time round my ss is good as compare to my #1 last time...

Sunflower/n_g, give away the milk huh? but franky speaking, got ppl want mah?? i personally feel a bit strange to let my bb drink other ppl milk le : (except FM la)

Cheekrene,

I think u scared the wound might break right...

me too, although 2nd delivery liao but still scared, that time i only 4th day then clear my bowels... tell u i got to force it out otherwise my tummy keep having the pain and the bowels already hardened...

alibaba,

my stitches already recovered and the blood reduced alot like gg to go off...

regarding the night pumping, i don't feel engorged other than the 4th day, now i dont pump at night during sleep time, i only feel heavy... so after i woke up i pump and can get about 200ml... usu day time i pump abt 3 or 4 hrly and can get abt 150ml...

cheekrene,

thanks for your info. am kinda worried cos still having brown discharge. and yesterday night my bb kicks and moves like crazy, i almost fainted. will keep monitoring.

n_g,

oh. for my #1, my water bag broke first then followed by contractions so it's obviously i'm going into labour. hopefully for this pregnancy, it will be easy to tell.

hello everyone...

back from my gynea check up...I am going to admit myself to TMC this sun after 11pm...going to induce on mon morning...hope that i can give birth naturally...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mvh, ur poor baby...hope she gets well soon.

Pd0513, hehe, so u got a good nite sleep? Glad u found a solution.. I got some sleep too last nite cos she was too tired from fussing in the evening. Lol. I find latching on at nite makes her calmer too, too bad my milk supply not enuff. Din know red dates tea helps with supply, I will try to take more. Sick of it...been really bad and drinking water all the time even drank some orange juice...oops.

Winnie, yes must persevere, we will be able to give our babies bm, jiayou [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jascmy and dsqyvonne, good luck! U will see ur babies soon.

Sunflower: oh ok! Ya when I pump one side another leak milk out!!

Ducking: u really movitaed me! Low supply still can tahan 4 month! I hope I can also..

Jascmy n Yvonne: jia you!!

jascmy,

i hope so...cos my gynea said that my cervix is not open at all only soft...but bb's head is very low and engaged already...and my water level is still normal..

dsqyvonne, jascmy,

jiayou jiayou... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

huffpuff,

yeah, had a peaceful night..hehehe.. waaa.. orange juice!! i only drink red date tea n milo for bfast nia.. no other drinks allow.. no harm taking more red date tea, it might help with your milk supply.. ;p

dsqyvonne, same as me, water level good, Bb kicking well and I still gaining weight. Bb very low and engaged liao. Nvr check cervix yesterday so don't know how is it but gynea say shld not hav dilated cos no very pain sign.

Hope Bb come out fast.

jascmy,

ya lor...haiz...just now did a VE check...no signs of dilation...me also no pain no nothing...no choice lor...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Thanks all for the encouragement. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Will wait patiently. Till now no call from KKH, if by 5pm no calls from KKH means I pass the blood test.