(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Shann, I did. Baby's name is Chloe, right? I sent it to your gmail account on 31 Mar (the add has both your and hubby's names in the address). maybe it went to Spam folder. Check and let me know ya

Claudia: huh, you going back to work soon?

NAN HA:

I rem mummies saying that it is not necessary to change to NAN HA 3 when bb is 10 mths old, can just continue with NAN HA 2. Just curious, can I know the reasons..?

charliebrown: According to what the consultant told me.. Nan stage 2 & stage 3 formula are not much of a diff. So if bb cannot accept the taste of stage 3 formula, we can continue to give stage 2 formula.

Ann: Thanks!! So possible to give stage 2 all the way..? How about you, you changing to stage 3 for NAN Pro? I have not compared the composition in 2 and 3 yet.

Charliebrown: i also spoke to nestle about nan ha 3. They said it is formulated for bbs who are breastfed beyond 6 mths, so they can go straight to nan ha 3 at 10 mths. For bbs who are on FM earlier, it is fine to continue with stage 2 till 1 yr old. I am continuing with stage 2, switching again so soon is stressful lar...

Vernie: I also dont want to change to HA 3 that soon ... as my BB now is happily back to her drinking routine... I worry later I change to HA 3... my Gal gona on strike again... Surprisingly when I give my Gal the HA 1, she is very happy to drink... but HA 2 only morning and night feed she willing to drink... most of day time have to feed her semi solid food...

Sorry to be whining on a Monday but i really need to "let go".

My baby girl is extremely wary of strangers, thus i am quite stressed when i attend gatherings. Yesterday I attended a wedding, followed by a birthday party, so u can imagine the number of unfamiliar faces she faced. She would not let anyone touch, what more carry her. she would wail her lungs out and this can continue for the longest period of time. Actually I really dun mind her clinging on to me, but i hate the negative comments i get from others e.g. crybaby, scared baby. Sigh.

Even worse, I think my friendship with my best friend is getting further apart, as I feel she keeps harpering on the fact that my baby is having extreme case of stranger anxiety. She has two boys, and none shows such behaviour. So she kept on talking about how my girl is so scared of strangers, even commenting to others abt it. Like yesterday, she said,"Eiliyah, you must learn not to be so scraed of strangers. How are you going to school next time?" In my heart, how do you get this baby girl not to be scared when everyone snatches her away from her mum just like that? And i believe her condition will get better as she grows older. Furthermore, all kids will eventually survive school, no matter how scared or shy they are right? I dun mind people telling me on negative behaviours of my child that I can rectify, but i get pissed when they focus too much on it? Why dun they instead look out for signs of other small achievements she has made? This is making my friendship falling apart from her. At the same time, she's making me feel like i'm a bad parent. But this stranger anxiety character of hers is really innate, and there's very little i can do! I go to my in-laws' place every weekend, and yet my girl refuses my Father-in-law.

Again, sorry for this long whine, but mummies, am i too sensitive? You can be honest with your views. Im more saddened with the fact that i'm falling off with my best friend cos i fells pressured every time i go out with her and how she keeps on pointing out that her boys are not like this and like that

erh, i thot it's a phase that every child goes through ?

same for my girl. she cries on top of her voice when we have visitors over at my home even.

pillow: Not all children experience stranger anxiety. Some kids are just very friendly. Well, the people ard me seems to see it as a big deal. *shrugs*

charliebrown: For me, I am sticking to Pro 2 first cause I bought too many liao.. Haha!!! So when Pro 2 about to finish then I try giving Pro 3.

Fazzy: It is a phase that will pass. I thought she was quite ok with class at The Little Gym? Maybe you can talk to your best friend. If she is really your best friend, she will understand. You can tell her that girls might tend to be more attached to parents than boys. Are you still bringing her to go for any gym class? I find it quite good cause now my boy tend to be more sociable. He will play with almost anyone in class but of course he doesn't go off with strangers. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fazzy

sorry but i dun mean to sound so bitchy... ur best friend is making snide remarks about your baby. if she takes u as her best fren, she shd just shut up bcos it does not help u to manage the already bad situation when u girl reacts to strangers.

seperation or stranger anxiety is so common among bbs... my #1 only wore off that when she turn about 18mths and today, she is a fiesty littel girl who has little to fear let alone strangers

personally, i think u shd talk to ur best fren and tell her her remarks are hurting u and if there is anything, u really want to maintain this relationship w her but if she continues to blabber about your girl's anxiety issue, then perhaps, u and ur best fren can maintain a more distant relationship.

fazzy,

not to worry, my #1 already 28mths n he's still not willing to let go of mummy off his sight....it's perfectly normal...oni till recently then he lets more ppl to carry him...last time u say wana baobao him, ur hands hvn touch him he cries loudly already

as for ur friend, mayb coz her kids she no faces such problems that's y so insensitive towards this....juz tell her off nicely that this type of behaviour if normal no nid to make a big fuss over it etc

Ann: ya, Eiliyah's very fine in class. She will react to her peers and even strangers, but her rule is "strictly no touch". She's still attending class and enjoying it. So actually she's not that bad, but like i said my best fren makes it look as if EIliyah's case is extremely bad, and that's y i'm affected.

ann and mrspung: thanks for the advice. i'm really considering talking to her, though i'm also worried things might get worse. I also need to check whether i am actually being too sensitive or not, thus my post here.

fazzy: Just like what JP mentioned about ur bestfriend, she should just shut up.

My best frd's (a gal) her no.2 is also very shy n wary of strangers. But I do help my GF to "train" her BB not to be so...

My this GF actually stops herself from bringing bb out totally to meet up with anyone... only after some good time on the phone with her then she finally tell me about this problem.

her bb is still learning ... now 11 mths old ...

Fazzy, u can try starting with chatting and letting ur another person carry ur bb for few seconds while u do something but still within her sight, slowly increase the durations. It's like telling ur bb in actions "its ok, mummy is around, who & who carry awhile only" rewards with lots of snuggles and hugs and kisses.

I do that to my gal when my colleagues at times help me to carry my gal and after some time, my gal can recognised a few of her favourite aunty uncle to carry her only...

Fazzy, dont frown, thou its a phrase u have to walk thru and would be over real soon, at the moment u can teach ur gal to trust someone that u trust too...

Cheer up Fazzy!

i am feeling v sad today. my 9mth old niece is now in hospital, suspected of kawasaki disease. my sil, who does not earn very much a month told me that the treatment for the disease is 4k/dose. i sure hope her insurance covers my niece's stay in hospital and her treatment.

Vernie, Beannie, Ann: thanks for the info! Will also not change to stage 3 so soon since it is unncessary, save the hassel.

JP: So sorry to hear that..I don't know much about the illness, so I just went to do a quick google on it...hope everything will be fine with your niece and SIL...

Mrspung, that is sad!

is always heartpain to see bb suffer.. even from a flu or cough! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

charliebrown/cheese

even though my niece is not my own bb, but bcos it's another live, i really feel so sad for her. i hope she respond well on the treatment quickly.

i think above all else, i wish for good health on our babies; not how smart they are or what they can do or not do...

JP: sorry to hear abt your niece. It's a real heartpain. Hopefully, she'll fight it off eventually. I looked up the term too to find out more. Be strong for her.

omg!! poor baby... can't imagine the pain going thru... hope bb would stay strong n be positive to treatments given !

*i help pray to god for bb*

mrspung

hope your niece gets well soon. Good thing is that she is receiving medical attention now... quick read on kawasaki is that it can be treated fairly quickly as long as detected early.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

AK -

Do you have your mum's support in the day? Maybe some nights you can get her / your good gal friends to come over? Once put bb into bed, chill and chit chat with them?... helps alot mentally to do something other then baby care. You are very brave and capable... Give yourself a BIG PAT [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Charliebrown...

Yeah... no pay ending mid May... A part of me wants to go back to work to get that brain working... but a big part of me can't bear to leave the little one. My new work supposedly allows flexi hours so hopefully it works out... Someone nowadays my boy very manja me... makes it so much more difficult! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Fazzy: Just to share, my niece who is 2.5 yrs old now has always had stranger anxiety even with relativees and when there are crowds (even up till now). She will always cling very tightly to either mummy or daddy. She takes a very long time to warm up to strangers (sometimes not at all). But she luvs interacting with other kids/babies and enjoys school so much that she does not want to go home! I am sure your bb will be fine, and just need more time. It hurts when your bf is not sensitive enough, hope talking to her will help.

JP: Will say a prayer for your niece. Really hope your niece takes to the treatment well and will get well soon. My boy was in hospital for 3.5 months coz he was so premature. It was really tough for us as parents but he is proof that babies are very strong and resilient. The doctors say that babies have a significantly higher threshold for pain than adults. Take care...

AK:

I know it very tiring. Hang on.

Maybe when u feeding ur ger, u can take a towel to cover her, also try to sit away from the carpet. so at least when she vomit out, no need to wash so much thing.

Last time, when my ger is down with stomch flu, she also tend to vomit her feed out. so whenever i feed her, carry her, i will put a towel over me, in case she vomit, also a pail within my reach. i knew sometime we will caught unaware.

Hi mommies, any of you keen to combine purchases of Healthy Times products from the local distributor? http://www.healthytimes.sg/products.php

There is free home delivery for $80 and above. Buy $150 can get 10% off. Buy $250 can get 15% off.

Or if anyone knows of good deals on HT (e.g. via sprees) pls do share! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cheese: Do you feed cheese to your baby? Thinking of feeding cheese to kayden. Dunno if it is too early.

Self feeding: Do you all know where to buy those bowls and spoon that have suction so that it will remain on the tray of high chair and not thrown on the floor?

ann - so funny lei.

U writing to cheese and asking abt cheese!

haa!

I haven get to feed him lei.. cos i dun noe which one can feed now.. can one has any idea??

I bot a bowl at expo with suction de..

got 2 kind, one is brother max with suction.

the other one dun noe what brand..

Ann, I got munchkin suction bowls. It comes in a set of 3. The smallest one - it's suction not so good but the other 2 sizes (both different) hv good suction power. Spoons with suction power - dunno wor

Cheese: if I remember correctly, cheese and yogurt can be introduced to your bb at the same age/month. So if bb is ok with yogurt, should be ok with cheese - my theory

Today went to Cold Storage and saw that there's a new brand of bb food called Organics, only food jars. What's interesting is it has this pasta dinner in a jar for 8m+ and tomato is listed as one of its ingredients. I'm very tempted to buy but I thot can intro tomato to bb when she's 1, just like orange?

Anyway, I've not been very prudent in weaning baby. Sometimes I dun wait for the min 3 days when introducing new food. Or I intro 2 at one go :p and I've stopped sterilizing bb's feeding items

i have similac 2(400 grams) expire on 09/05/2012 and similac $5 voucher to exchange for enfapro(400 grams) and the enfapro $5 voucher.

I also have nan 2 pro(400 grams)expir on 31/07/2012 to exchange for enfapro

if interested,please pm me

Just wanted to thank everyone who had provided me with some advice, at least I feel better now.

I cried again as I poured out to my hubby this evening. I'm hoping to get some sleep now. Dun think anymore! Most importantly baby is healthy.

Cheese, what do you mean by artificial cheese?

Fazzy, no baby is the same. Some just take more time to warm up to ppl. It also boils down to genetics. Tell ur friend how you feel. Perhaps she thot you are ok with her comments since you never voiced out your displeasure? If she still continues dishing out unwanted comments, then you know where you stand with her

Btw, why do ppl snatch Eiliyah from you, making her scared? Keep her close to you - if she's not ready, then she's just not ready. Sometimes we try to do things for the good of all ppl but is it good for you/Eiliyah? Baby's well-being comes first, IMO. Will keep E in my prayers, that she'll overcome and be fearless

JP, keeping your niece in my prayers.

Fazzy: can understand how u feel. My boy also wailed loudly when other people jus carried him but he's ok w shopping crowds or other kids...Last time when he was much younger whenever my mum-in-law tried to carry him, he always ended up crying. And she kept commenting even in front of others that 'my bb only sees me, everyday at home...that's why becomes like that' (cos I am a SAHM). Can understand how hurting some remarks can be & we told her off nicely her remarks are hurting & it's not true too.

Most importantly, we must believe that there's nothing wrong with our babies. It's jus a phase they will surely outgrow & we continue to slowly expose them to other kids/adults/environment at their comfort level. Read somewhere that different babies react differently too...so if they are wary of strangers, we got to slowly warm them up first & when they are comfortable they will be ok. So dun feel so lousy *jia you*

Fazzy - something for you to read. i guess every baby goes thru this phase - that's why we are individuals and not some mass-produced beings [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Your contradictory baby

Nine-month-old babies can seem like a mass of contradictions sometimes. On the one hand, your baby may be beginning to assert his independence - pushing you away if he doesn't want something, hating being held on your lap and wanting to wriggle away, insisting on trying to get something, even if it's out of his reach.

The next minute, he may be following you around all the time and wanting to stay right next to you, unwilling to be picked up by anyone outside his day-to-day family and positively wary of strangers. These behaviours are all part of a complex balance between dependence and the desire to assert his own awakening identity. Little by little, his confidence will grow and you can support him through these contradictions, knowing that they are an essential part of his development as an individual.

Hi fazzy...

not too worry too much. baby K also like that from a lovable and friendly bub to a recent anti-social clingy gal. Though its very disheartening at times. That haven't prevent us from bringing her out as usual.

As for your's friend remarks, its good to let her know that not everybody is like her two boys....

Cheese, according to wholesomebabyfood:-

"Always buy Cheese from a Deli and ensure you buy full cheese and not a "Cheese food product" such as Velveeta or those packaged cheese slices. While there is nothing terribly wrong with these cheeses, we prefer our babies to have only natural real cheese without any artificial colors or fillers.

The "safest" types of cheeses are Cottage cheese, ricotta, cream cheese, processed cheeses and hard cheeses like cheddar and parmesan.

Types of Cheeses to try: Colby, Cheddar, Monterrey Jack, Parmesan, Romano, Cottage Cheese"

haha. some of these i've never even heard of or tried.

where to get natural real cheese? from NTUC tat kind can a not? I dun noe how to buy.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Cheese, i supposed supers like Jason's, Cold Storage - they have a deli. Or places like Jones the Grocer - it has a cheese room

For cheeses - better to go cold storage/carrefour where they sell gourmet cheeses by grams... cottage cheese is good.

Wah.. seems to be alot of knowledge abt cheese. I was thinking can we give those kraft cheese that we buy from the NTUC supermarket.

Jonas: Haha!! No la.. I am not asking you about cheese. My topic was cheese. I always address you by your name. But now that you mention it, it really does seem funny. Hehe!!

I just bot the laughing cow cream cheese (full fat) from NTUC for bb, saw from a photo at the dietician at KKH so should be safe to give bb. Will share my feedback after he tries it!

Hihi fazzy.. dun worry, my gal is also like that. In fact she is super clingy to me that if I bring her to a place full of strangers (gym class, music class), she gets scared and will only want me.

Even her daddy carry, she will cry like mad with her hands and body coming towards me. So usually im the one who do the classes with her. Last time even when she sits on stroller & some stranger looks or play with her, she will cry big time. But as she grows older, she is ok with playing with strangers but she still refuse to allow people to carry. She is most afraid of the elderly. Dunno why. Slowly lor. I realize most babies who are more friendly are those who went to CC or infant care. Coz they are exposed to more kids and adults mah.

Musikgarten: any mummies went for the trial already? I went le, and I find the classes a little like a combi of Gymboree + Kindermusik. My gal enjoys it and both she and my friend’s 5-mth old bb somehow paid very serious attention, sat still for 5 mins when she played with a certain instrument that looks like a xylophone. For a baby class, the fee is reasonable at only $55/mth (they count by no. of lessons so dun have to worry about paying for a missed class) but excluding materials of $100+ which can be used by baby till 16 months. I like the teacher a lot but unfortunately she can’t start a class for us coz she needs more babies. If any mummy interested, pls let me know so we can form a class! It is a home-based lesson at Pioneer.

SK - mine also see elderly will cry... so when she sees my parents (every two weeks) she will cry big time... sigh

The suction cutlery which I am looking for is as shown below. Anyone know where to buy? Or something similar also can. Last time I saw BP selling but then I wanna buy the blue set and it is OOS. Only got the pink one left so never buy.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5331906.jpg]