(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Sweetkiss, Eliss, Caris and ica: sorry if this comes in late ( really caught up with work) but a big thank you for sharing words of wisdom/ your experiences. Ica, thank you for that article. Actually I know that our babies are all unique and cannot be generalized. I won't let others control the way I feel abt my baby. Most importantly, I know her strengths and she's healthy too.

Ica: You really very hardworking lei. I am very lazy one. Don't think will DIY so many things on my own. Hehe!!

Bday Cake: I had also placed an order for cupcake with Yan last year. But then now I am wondering should I use cupcakes as dessert and purchase another cake for Kayden? Or combine both together. Meaning using a cupcake stand, place the bigger cake on the top most and then surround it with cupcake on the other levels.

cheese: Yesterday I bought this kid cheese from Marketplace for Kayden. I was thinking if it is ok for kid, then should be ok for baby ba. I did read through the ingredients and it does contain this enzyme called rennet. So it's not microbial enzyme. Alot doesn't really state what enzymes they use so I dare not buy.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5342337.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5342338.jpg]

Ann: U wanted to use the cupcakes as the birthday cake at first? For me im ordering a normal bd cake, then I will get cupcakes from my hub’s friend (as he set up his own bakery shop, must support lol) but I will pack the cupcakes individually in those transparent boxes so the guests can bring home like a sort of favour if no one eats them.. then the kids will get small gifts or something.

Cheese is something new! Im still not that adventurous yet. So far feeding K with the “safer” & same old boring foods but gonna explore.. I still dun dare to feed her egg yolk..

Sk - i gave J egg yolk liao, i buy kampong egg, but I bot 2 nia.. haha. gave 1 last weekend

wa, i wanna buy this cheese for J too!dun noe ntuc got sell a not.. haha..

Cheese84 buying cheese~ LOl

Surprisingly - my gal likes egg yolk leh. I use omega 3 eggs. now weekend she usually have 2 egg yolks + puree on one of her meals. I also start pork on her last month already. This week menu is chicken

Sweetkiss: Yup, wanted to use cupcakes as bday cake at first but then I think like very plain. So trying to make the bday more interesting.

Jonas: You bought Kampong egg from where? Kayden had not take egg yet. Dun dare to let him eat too.

Not sure if NTUC sell lei. But if you interested to let Javion try, I can give you one. In case he don't like then it also won't be wasted.

Cheese: haha.. yeah time for cheese to buy cheese & feed baby cheese~

Im going to try egg yolk…

Eliss: Wow.. K haven’t started pork! I only used pork bones to brew the porridge.

She is a small eater. Very xian when I put so much goodies in the porridge & she only eats half a bowl!

Which part of pork did u buy?

annie:- I bot at chong pang, beside the egg stall cos she got sell individual one.

Thank you! Can share one for javion? can last how long? i meeting u on 23 April (I hope by then

javion cough will recover, if not sorry, cant join! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] )

I gave J pork, chicken breast puree.. fish only threadfin, salmon

Morning, all!

Ann: it's a case of mommy wanting her dream birthday party. lol. i mean, our babies won't remember a thing about their 1st birthday parties unless they look thru the pics when they're older lor. i'm not that hardworking lah.

wow! you and JP placed your orders since last year? i'll be ordering something like this - the main cake is only 6" wide. then for the rest of the guests, will order like 50 cupcakes from the same baker, just simple butercream frosting and I'll add my own picks on each cupcake, just to match the theme

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5342532.jpg]

Re: Cheese - if it's stated just "enzymes" on the ingredients list, it's usually microbial or the manufacturers do not know. this is according to online articles. organic cheeses usually are rennet-free but go thru the ingredients list

Sweetkiss: me also not that adventurous - haven't started H on cheese, egg yolk, meat. bought some organic tomatoes yesterday to let H try. let's see whether there's any allergic reaction. shouldn't be lah coz yesterday she had some strawberry yogurt melts and she was ok. tomato and strawberry - raw ones have higher acidity levels, so advisable to intro to babies after 1 yo but cooked ones should be ok.

MEAT - I use lean pork after cook with vege, i blend the meat. Chicken - i use fillet.

Fish - its the menu for next week!!

New vege for introduction in coming weeks - turnip, chinese yam

Playdate at Babycoco's

I have

one 400g Similac Stage 2

one 400g Enfapro Stage 2

two x 400g Mamil Gold Stage 2

hope to exchange for Pro Nan on the playdate.

Anyone keen to exchange?

Re: Fish - so far, I've only given threadfin and salmon. and silverfish, chicken, pork as stock. an old aunty in the wet market told my mom can use cod fish but i remember reading something about this fish which is not advisable but can't remember lah

Re: Kampong Eggs - yeah, i get Chew's, too. Can get from any supermarkets. kampong eggs taste better

Bday cake: I am thinking of getting jelly cake for my bb's party in msia coz couldn't find nice cuppies/fondant cake baker there. For the small party in Sg, will get a fondant cake.

Which jelly cake is nicer?

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5342631.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5342632.jpg]

vernie: I like the pooh jelly cake. Very nice lei.

ica: Ya lo.. bb's 1st bday is mama's dream bday. Haha!!

For cheese, I also saw organic cheese too but it also state enzyme.. that's why I don't dare to buy too.

Jonas: I can pass to you when we meet or if you Saturday free during morning, then drop by lo. Or I can see you at chong pang on Sat cause I am going marketing. Sunday bringing Kayden to Sentosa. Hehe!!

vernie: Pooh bear cake is nicer! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Meat:

I have given bb minced pork, chicken, fish and beef. He hates fish the most. likes the rest of the meat.

Any new green veg to intro bb?

Swim wear:

Bbs who go swimming in pulic pool, do you all let bb wear thermal swimwear? Or just swim diaper? where to buy thermal swimwear from?

charliebrown: I just let kayden wear swim truck or swim diaper. Not buying thermal swimwear. Choose about 4pm to go swim and if weather is hot during daytime, then water will be warm by 4pm. I also did bring kayden to swim once at about 1pm like that. Water also ok for him.

vernie: pooh is cute! you're having your party in Penang?

fazzy: your baby drinks Similac? i have a $5 discount voucher, do you want it? i think the expiry is May/June. can't remember the exactly when

CB: what have you given baby? spinach (local, US, australia), chye sim, kailan, broccoli, brocollete, cabbage, celery, okra. i guess any green vege is ok but i've not tried the last 3

Ann: oh! thanks! Then did you apply sunblock on Kayden? Cos it will be his first time swimming, somemore in cold water, scared bb will cry.

ica: So far only spinach, broccoli, asparagus, cauliflower, green peas. Din know can intro Kailan or chye sim already..heheh

ica: my party is in Ipoh - can't find good cuppies/fondant cake baker there...so will go for jelly cake - getting sis to order and bring back from KL. Then in Sg, will go for fondant cake for the small party at home...haha...mummy's dream cake! lol!

Oh, chicken I use chicken thigh coz I read wholesomebaby food it has the most nutrients or something.

Also the meat there is more tender..

Fish I also tried fresh silverfish and threadfin only. I wanted to give cod fish coz I myself loves it but my mum also told me not to give cod fish yet due to some reason I cant rem..

By the way, wad else to give to help constipation? My girl rejects prunes, pears, papayas & nectarines.

She still has blood-streaked stools though she doesn’t cry or fuss during pooing.

Babycoco: peach helps also? I think I’ll prepare using fresh ones, cos I realise K doesn’t like any kind of jar food!

But recently dun seem to see any peaches in ntuc.. do we need to steam fresh peaches?

CB: today my baby will also be swimming in a real pool for the 1st time, weather permitting but i won't be there - my sis in town so she'll handle it. kekeke. some babies will cry lor coz not used to cold water, so maybe you can try putting some cold water on baby before going into the pool to let baby get used to it? yeah, go around 4pm like what Ann does.

CB: oh yes, asparagus. tried it on baby but she doesn't like. broccoli is from kailan family, so if broccoli can, kailan also can. i use the leafy parts only. siew pak choy also can. haven't tried it yet. actually green vege shouldn't cause any allergic reaction - my theory. hehe

vernie: so your sis will have to drive fast and in the morning? won't the jelly cake start to melt/water? but it's something unique and colourful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sweetkiss - i've not been steaming the fruits but i make sure they're ripe enough. yeah, peach, pear, plums are good for constipation. and drink lots of water

ica: i think can put in cooler box with ice pack? Getting sis to enquire and see how it goes. KL to ipoh is about 2 hours plus, think should be ok. Initially i wanted to bring the fondant cake from Sg all the way back to ipoh (8/9 hrs journey)! After discussing with the baker, i think better not to take the risk. Some more fondant cakes are not cheap.

charliebrown: I dun put sunblock for him. Intending to buy one but not sure which one suit baby. But the last time he swim is underneath shade so I am not too worried. Plus he doesn't swim more than 15min.

Ann: i did a search on baby sunblock. hehehe. as long as it has zinc oxide or titanium oxide is good enough. avoid avobenzene or something similar - cancer causing wor. i bought one and just read that it has avobenzene, so am going to return it. there's this brand for babies called 'blue lizard' from Oz but dunno where to get it

vernie: fondant cake all the way from Spore? ya, better not

Harlow all mommies !!

Reading about the food given to bb...

Think I am kinda "bo chap" mommy ready...

I have given the following when C was 7-8mths :-

(She just turn 9mths last friday)

1. Egg Yolk (normal egg york & the squail egg york)

2. Cheese (those we "kiap" in bread normally)

3. Yoghurt (Yoplaits - both normal & BBs)

4. Ice cream (Mac's)

5. All types of fruits (melons,durains etc)

6. Fries (Mac's no salt)

7. 100plus drinks (unchilled)

8. plain rice (per mouth - abt 10-15 grains each time) sometimes with fish soup sometimes nothing - just rice grains

9. fresh lettuce/cabbage (let her hold n feed herself)

10. minced pork/chicken porridge

11. chee cheong fun (kosong ones)

12. kueh (white sugar kueh,malay kueh etc)

think still got others i cant recall... hahaha!

so far so good... all food taken accepting well !

Sob, BB j is already 9mths and till date he haven been to BB spa!

Always wanna go then got thing crops up.. like he flu, cough..

IFC bb are more prone to these kind.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

haha xbeanniex,

My boy also eat a bit this and that, kuehs, pancake, KFC wrap, a bit of mash potato w/o the brown sauce.

mashmellow, tao huey..whenever he see us eat he will "mum mum" "mum" mum" all the way...at times is non stop, so I feed him rice grains too.

with soup at times (homecooked)

now I feeding him cough syrup

and he know that is the one he dislike but still, he see it, still say "mum mum mum"

Cheese: how's ur BB J now ? Better?

My BB C went last weekend to babyspa at northpoint.

Dont worry about having flu and cough... as these doesnt affects the swimming...

i bring BB C there thou she still have slight flu. As bb needs to work out their limbs u see...

My BB at IFC do have such cases too... just standby the medicine on hand, when abit flu give 1-2 dose for the day in the IFC. a day or 2 will recover and give BB J have lots of fruits at home... as got Vit. in those fresh fruits.

I keep my BB C hydrate at times with 100plus diluted ... 1part water with 2-3 parts 100plus once a week.

do give those chewable vit. tabs too I give half tab to her 2 times a week to chew... sometimes forget lar... hahaha !

think this should be able to upkeep ur BB J's health and those virus in IFC.

or maybe u can feedback to the sch to ask them to open up windows on some days to ventilate the IFC area... my bb's IFC ventilate the IFC area once a week or on raining days as its cool so no need on air con and can ventilate the area too...

cheese: wahahaha ! so cute !! my BB C goes "Papapapapapapa" non stop till her daddy will respond her "ai yo! coming coming !" hahaha !

xbenniex: I also like you.. abit bo chup too especially outside. We will give him bread toast, chee cheong fun, kway chap, noodles, rice.. etc. Daddy even wanted to give him spicy food.. luckily i stopped him. Daddy abit crazy one.

Jonas: Baby spa? You mean Hwa Xia is it? I thought you referring to doing spa for baby. Haha!!

Ica: Thanks for the information. I will keep a lookout. Maybe I go see see tonight.

Ica, thanks thanks. Will try this weekend.. read that kiwis help with constipation too.

So excited, I get very excited whenever I am gg to give bb new food. Hehe..

Sunblock: didn’t know still got so many things to look out for. I simply bought the pigeon baby sunblock.

So far so gd, I also use it on my face..

Beannie, he is better now.

Can see that cough is not that frequent liaoz.

But I got a qn, cos when he is back, i will feed him porridge.. how to give fruit? He is a small eater..

but I make sure he drink water all the time. when he play for a while, I will always feed him with lots of water.

he love plain water more than milk...

i nv try 100 plus, I try dilute 100plus

Chewable vitamin where to get and which kind?? my boy dun chew one eh..

My boy only noe "mum mum" and "mummmm.... muack" for Bye bye.

Still waiting for him to call Ma ma / papa

Sweetkiss: Pigeon got sun block ah? Where u buy it?

Jonas: You can feed fruit as morning break or tea break. Or also can give as "tidbits".. meaning instead of giving biscuits, we can give fruits. Now I cut the fruits into strips and let Kayden hold and feed himself when I dun feel like letting him eat so much tidbits.

sunblock:

me too din know that there are so many things to look out for..thought can just buy a baby brand one....

Boh chupness:

Hahah! I only boh chup when it comes to the 4 days rule for new food. Now I don't really wait till 4 days to intro new food. Just 2 or 3 days gap. I also don't steam the fruits anymore..just scrape and feed. But have not fed bb with "adult" food yet.

actually i'm thinking of not using sunblock at all. haha

sweetkiss: if your baby's constipation is still not getting better, you can feed her sugar water. can check the web for the dosage for babies. the logic is that sugar draws water to the intestines, so making pooing easier

CB, i got that swimtrainer oredi. hahaha. but i bought it before the mommy posted. i reckoned it is better for babies learning to swim. yes, it is very cute. bath tub ah...then you need a lot of water and it may not be wide enough for our babies..and plus the float

Ann, ya CB has the sunblock. Mustela has it too

charliebrown: That look so cute. Maybe I should buy one for Kayden. I think he is too old for neck float. He doesn't like to use that lei. He prefer those waverider kind of float.

Sweetkiss: Thanks for sharing.

ica: Ya, maybe I will get the CB sunblock. I quite like CB product.

ica: lol! you have a point, maybe it is not feasible. Somemore my bb is not exactly slim. haha! But I imagine him swimming lengthwise in the tub..got to try and see, I guess. ;) And got to get ready all the swimming gear first.

Ann: Yeah! So tempted to buy the swimtrainer.

Cheese: then skip the porridge for the evening. give fruits. but night feeding give it in 2 portion ...

like reach home 7pm for dinner(fruits), 830pm 1/4 to 1/2 of night feeding.

1030pm give another 1/2 to 3/4 of usual feeding then slp !

think like that bb should be very full up till morning ready... hahaha !

about the vit. c tab ah... scotts for kids ! hahaha or brands , they have the chewable tabs for kids... will melt in mouth after some minutes... give 1/4 or u can crush it before giving bb lor... no need to say give whole tab now.. bb need very little of it only...