(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

we can buy those minced meat from supermarket right? but even after mincing, i find it still a bit too big to swallow. unless i blend it after cooking?

do your babies have checkups every mth? my girl has her last jab at 5 mths.. she is taking 6-in-1 plus all the optional vaccines. then my PD says she has no more jabs till she is 1 yr old. her next routine checkup is at 9 mths old. that's why i dun get to know my girl's latest weight ever since she was 5 mths..

Sweetkiss: You can weigh bb's weight using normal weighing machine. You carry bb and weigh tog with her, then you weigh yourself alone. The difference is bb's weight. It is quite accurate. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Also eager to intro chicken to bb, but I think chicken v hard to swallow, unlike fish..

SK: Don't think there is a routine check up every mth. My bb had his last 6-in-1 jab at 6 mths old. Next routine checkup is at 10 mths old. I knew his weight at 7.5 mths because he was sick, so went to see PD and they check his weight. Only 7.8kg then, skinny boy...hope he is 8 plus kg now that his appetite is back.

charliebrown: i havent tried any kind of meat before! when cooking fish porridge, u just put the fish with the rice to cook? no other stuff needed? after that need to blend? till nw i still blending her porridge, but about 2-3 secs only. hahaha..

vernie: dun worry, he will gain back his weight.. my girl now suddenly dun wan solids. even her fav foods she also dont want. she only wants milk & those snacks.

oh, i tried the organic rice cakes, she dun like. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] the pigeon fish biscuits, she can finish a pkt at one go! tastes like prawn crackers! i wonder if its too salty.. but thanks to the mummy who recommended it! i was able to dine outside in peace!

Snacks: I let my boy self feed the happy bellies puffs. First he thought the puffs are toys, take from the bowl and transfer from one hand to the other to play. After I showed him that the puffs can be eaten, he became so greedy - tried to feed himself few puffs at a time! I had to stop him - so worried that he will choke!

By the way, what is "jiang yu"? Sorry, my mandarin cannot make it wan... The nanny kept saying she used jiang yu stock to cook porridge. I asked whether it is ikan bilis,she said no. What is that ah?

Sweetkiss: Yeah, I just put the threadfin fish in to cook, plus silverfish. I did not blend the porridge cos I tot it defeats the purpose of introducing porridge to bb- diff texture, taste. But maybe that is why he gags too, maybe not soft enuff for him.

Snacks can be used to bride bb when we are eating outside ah, haha! Then I must try too, cos normally I have to wait for bb to zzz b4 hubby and I can eat in peace and must eat within 1/2hr cos that is how long his deep sleep is when outside.

babycoco, i haven't started H on porridge yet. haha. will be going to the wet market this weekend to get bones/meat to make stock.

sweetkiss, if that's the case, then i think still have to blend/sieve the porridge together with meat, if any - to make the minced meat small enough so that baby can swallow and not choke. or you can cook the meat (in big pieces) with the porridge and when done, take out the meat, blend/puree then add into the porridge. theoretically should work. hehe.

fish porridge: think i'll do it this way - use pork bones, etc to cook porridge. fish will be steamed separately. so when cooked, will sieve/mash/blend the fish and add into the porridge. or when porridge is all ready, then only add in fish, scoop whatever amt needed and sieve/blend/mash. my theory again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

baby check-ups, if baby had the final dose of the pneumococcal vaccine when baby went for the 6-month assessment, then no more going to the PD till 1 yr old. H only had her 1st dose of prevnar during the 6m assessment, so she'll be going again in May, then final one in Aug (i think)

rice cake: it's really, really bland - it's just rice and nothing else. so some babies may not like it. but it comes in other flavours - apple, raspberry (some berries lah). but must give it under supervision - H will lick the entire rice cake to make it soft and put the whole thing into her mouth! had to dig it out of her mouth

Teething: This morning, Kayden took my finger and put into his mouth to chew.. i felt the rough texture on his gum. So excited for him. Hehe!!

Taka bb fair: Any mummies going? I am hoping to drop by during lunchtime to see see. But have to see the workload. If anyone of you had been to the fair, do feedback. Thanks.

Baby biscuit: I ate his biscuits last night cos I was so hungry. Actually no taste one.. felt very bland to me and stick to my teeth lei. Would not eat it again unless I am super duper hungry like last night.

Vernie: I also thought jiang yu is ikan bilis.

My mum keep asking me to make porridge with marmite for K but I find it is like seasoning leh. So not keen to try. I tried to make K self feed the puffs hor, she will hold it inside her palm then dunno hw to open and eat so end up she is sucking her fists. Lol!

Charliebrown: yes snacks are very effective! She can sit on baby chair throughout eating them. I only give it to her after my food arrives. Cos I dun wan her to finish so soon.

Can we use avert steamer to steam fish? Hw long to steam? I'm bad at it, cos I scared I undercook. That's why I always put everything to boil with rice. Like this can cook longer and the flavor will go into the porridge..

SK, no marmite or bovril, please. salty mah. if put fish into the porridge to cook, won't the flesh become coarse and dry? like how over-steamed fish taste like

steaming fish - medium-sized about 7 mins, big ones about 10-12 mins, depends on size. water must be boiling furiously ya. if not sure whether fish is cooked, just use fork/chopsticks and dig thru the flesh to see lor

Ann, i tried the HB apple puffs, see whether they dissolve easily in the mouth - i finished the whole canister by myself! hahaha. just couldn't stop popping them into my mouth

Taka baby fair - I'll be going in a short while. What do you mummies want me to check out?

Ica - great idea to add steamed fish to porridge. Maybe less fishy that way. I stopped making fish porridge cos too fishy. Even I can't stand it, let alone bb.

SK: Haha! Very cute hor when they try to self feed the puffs. I need to video my boy one of these days when he self feed...he knows how to open his palm but sometimes the puff will drop and he will be looking around wondering where it went...haha...

Avent steamer/fish: According to the avent demo aunty and also the guide book, can steam fish and meat. I have not tried though and not too keen to put meat in it...oily...

yoghurt: I let my boy tried last weekend. He loves it. Can bb eat yoghurt everyday?

My hb came back from his overseas trip last weekend and was ransacking the fridge for food. He was so happy to see the box of yoghurt and wanted to eat it, then realised those were baby yoghurt. He went "wah...babies these days...so "hao ming"..."...haha...yeah, i don't think i ever tasted yoghurt as a baby...

babycoco: I wanna know if any diapers booths and pigeon booth there. Also if there are great discounts for diapers and wipes. Thanks.

Ica: I also tried the puffs.. i prefer the melts better. Haha!!

Vernie: I feed Kayden yogurt everyday as morning tea break lei. Now he poo poo very smooth.. smooth to the fact that my FIL & the maid didn't even realise he had poo. Yesterday I ask my boy " Are you a good boy today?".. the maid replied "Kayden no gd boy these 2 days".. I ask her why and she told me "Kayden poo poo no tell me".. I ask what does she mean.. she said "Kayden poo poo no make sound Hmm Hmm.. so no tell me poo poo".. dunno whether to laugh or cry.

vernie, ya same when she eats those baby biscuits.. when she finishes it the last end of the biscuit is hidden in her palms and she continues to suck her fists. wah.. that time we were having brunch outdoors & she ate till there were crumbs everywhere on the floor. birds came and ate the crumbs. my girl very fascinated with those birds.

ann, sorry if u answered many times.. where u bot the yoghurt? i cant find in cold storage..

babycoco, yeah. just like some soups made with fish, usually ginger is added to rid the fishy smell. oh, can help me check whether Avent has any deal for its steamer-blender? Thanks!

SK, vernie, when your babies are self-feeding, ask them to share their goodies with you. see whether they'll do that. coz most baby won't, scared that we'll snatch away their food and their reaction is very cute [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

H will quickly use the other hand that's free to cover the one that's holding the rice cake and move it away from "danger". and when the cake became smaller and she can't get to it coz it's in her palm (pincer grip not developed yet), i'll take it and give her a little at a time, holding the small bits btwn my fingers. when H sees that, she'll quickly grab my hand to pull it to her mouth, and her mouth will be wide opened. think she's more passionate about the rice cakes than cereals or purees

vernie, yes, babies these days have very cushy lives. everything in moderation

Ann, haha. the maid is so funny. melts are nicer? ok i go try

Ya! javion also took a lot of puff and hide in his palm, he still do not know how to self feed and its so adorable to see him sucking his palm and trying to figure where are the puffs.. keke.

ya. I also wanna noe where is the nearest to buy the yogurt? am taking leave on this coming friday and when the taka fair will end? Can pop by and see...

Sweetkiss: I bought the yogurt at the Marketplace at Raffles shopping centre. My galfren say she normally get it at AMK Hub NTUC Xtra. I always cannot find them at normal NTUC or Cold Storage.

Actually I have thought of going to the marriage convention that time when i quarrel with hubby. Haha!!

Ica: My boy will not feed me when i ask him to share but he dun mind me taking a bite of the biscuit from his hand. When the biscuit get smaller and hide into his palm, he will open up his palm and stuff everything into his mouth. Super funny one. Told him not to do that cause will get choke but he doesn't care.

SK, cheese: I bought the yoghurt at Great World City Cold Storage. I think all the high end supermarket should have bah - Marketplace, NTUC Finest...i also saw an organic baby yoghurt - $11 for 4 tubs, so ex!

Ann: Haha...your maid is funny!

ica: Ok, i will try to ask Ian to share his food with me this weekend...haha..

Vernie: I also saw the organice yogurt but expiry dates like next day or next 2 days.. how to finish? Ridiculous expiry date lo. I think to find the yogurt, must go to those supermarkets that ang mo normally goes to.

Ya la.. the maid super funny one. You know hoh.. when I buy new treats for Kayden, she will eat one and then give kayden one to eat lei.. i tell my sister-in-law that no wonder kayden's treat finish so fast especially the baby biscuits.

Mummies whose mum/in laws are taking care of ur child now.. Do u intend to put them in cc when they reach 18mths? Or cont to let them take care by their caregiver and go for playgroup classes a couple of hrs a day? My coll just told me that if I wanna put in cc, migt as well put in IFC now so the transition is better. My girl is already crying like mad when carried by strangers or ppl she not familiar with. Think if she goes cc, she'll cry real bad.. My fren said it took her kid 6 mths to stop the crying part..

Where do we get the HB apple puffs & Organix rice cakes? Can't find the rice cakes in cold storage.

What are melts? Finger food too?

Saw in the website pix babies already has teeth when they use the jade bangle teether? Can bb use it cos my bb's teeth still not fully erupted yet?

Jelly: the HT food looks quite good...may wanna give it a try.

ask u all.. if u make porridge with pork bone... and add fish... must do allergy test for pork bone as well as fish i assume? (so porridge with pork bone only for 4 days then add on the fish?)

oh and Peas....

what kinda fresh peas do you all buy?

Recall one mummy said zhenxin brand @ cold storage but i can't find no peas

I bought snow peas (must de-pod). Anyone made puree from snow peas b4? How long do u all steam it for?

caris

am waiting for the local distributor's reply [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i will let u all know again

Sweetkiss: I intend to let my boy attend CC when he is 18mths old. Frankly speaking, crying is just a phase lo. It will passed. Like when my bro started cc last time, I accompany him to cc for the first 3 days but only for the morning cos my lesson is in the afternoon. He also cry when I left. But after a week later, he is ok liao. He enjoy himself alot. The amount of time kids take to adjust differ individually. So I don't think one should worry too much. That is just my point of view la.

Caris: For baby snacks, normally I order from the BP or overseas sections of SMH. Cheaper. But I do get from Marketplace or Carrefour at times.

Claudia: Ya.. that is what I did for baby when I fed him porridge.

For peas, I bought frozen peas. Steam and puree and sieve.

SK, my mom is taking care of H. I don't intend to let her go CC coz when she's 3, she'll be going to pre-Nursery. H is ok with strangers

Caris, i get my organix rice cakes from Cold Storage Jelita but they run out pretty fast. HB puffs can get from certain NTUCs, in the baby food or organic section. Melts are HB yogurt melts, also finger food. Amazebaby (in BP section) sells quite a number of baby food brands, inc. HB, Organix. worth checking out

Suika: Oh.. then maybe i will skip it.

Baby Can Read Dvd: I remember some mummies had used this. Is it effective? Thinking of buying 2nd hand for Kayden.

Avent combined steamer & blender : $179 but comes with VIA cup & lid, toddler bowl, spoon & forks, teether.

Pigeon - there is a booth but I don't usually buy the wipes so dunno its cheaper or not.

Babycoco, does Avent has a booth there? Are they promoting steamer-blender?

Ann, i'm using that series. actually i started with the flash cards when H was 3m coz i didn't want to expose her to TV at such a young age. just started playing for her the CD and she pays rapt attention man! so serious, like she's attending class. lol. we realise that when she sees words that she recognises, her reaction is different - she'll look very happy, like she knows it. It should be this way - play the CD, then use the flashcards for revision

babycoco, thanks! looks like i'm forced to get stuff that i don't really need. hee

i wonder whether Tangs is having a 20% discount on Avent products? I'm going down tmrw and it's 12% rebates day at Tangs

Ica I think $179 not that good of a deal. Usually they have 20% off and if wait for the extra 10% for taka cardholders it's even cheaper. The steamer/blender on its own is $199.

i have the VCD set too and K simply ignores it and plays with her own things, unless the singing part comes.. how to attract her to the tv?? lol.. luckily i bot it 2nd hand at only $20 with the flashcards... she loves to listen to music. if she hears any music she will sway her body back and forth. lol!!! v funny lo.. i do the incy wincy spider action & sing for her everyday, now when i sing, she will lift her hands up trying to imitate me..

Taka BB Fair:

mummies who have already went to the fair, do pigeon still got the promotion, bring old milk bottles in order to buy new mill bottles at discount price?

SK:

before u add the minces meat into porridge, add some water to the meat n stir, it will loose up, so when add into the porridge, it will not lump together.

SK, when K watched the video, do you watch with her, the 1st few times? i did that, and explain to H when the words come out. now i just leave H alone. 1st few times, she wanted to get out of her bumbo seat after 10mins, but her attention span is getting longer now. ya lor, think all babies like music

oh ya! that day while we were out, H kept shaking her head. me and my mom were wondering why. then on the way home, my mom recalled that there's this part in the video that shows all the body parts and also some baby/child shaking the head. sometimes H will shake her head when we say "shake your head". hehe