(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Thanks Ann & suntan..

Ann: yup i wanna get the mat but it is OOS. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

eliss: yes my girl had serious constipation when she had carrots. that was when i mentioned she had lumpy poo! when i added it in her oatmeal cereal, it just got worse that she even bled.. but i read wholesomebabyfood that oatmeal can help constipation?? so i am not sure if it was the carrots (cos she had them for about 5 days) or oatmeal..

oh btw u stay in jurong west? i think i saw u & ur hubby opposite the 500+ market last weekend. or maybe i saw wrongly..

Hi mommies, to those that are dealing with babies who are constipated.. heres a great article to read! Looks like food that starts with P is great!!

http://wholesomebabyfood.com/constip.htm

Relieving Constipation in Babies 4 Months to 12 months + by Changing the Food Diet

Try strained foods that contain high fiber such as:

apricots

prunes

peaches

plums

pears

peas

spinach

In older infants who are just beginning solid foods, you may want to avoid baby foods such as rice cereal, applesauce and bananas as these may aggravate constipation.

Barley or oatmeal cereals, prunes, peaches, plums, apricots and most vegetables are preferred when baby has constipation.

---------------------

If Your Baby is Constipated, Reverse the BRAT diet

The BRAT diet is used for the treatment of diarrhea in infants - BRAT stands for Bananas, Rice, Applesauce and Toast - as these foods help firm up stools.

An easy and natural way to remember how to help alleviate baby's constipation is to cut out the foods that contribute to it - rice cereals, bananas, and applesauce are some of the most binding foods around.

If you ever forget which foods to cut out, remember BRAT and cut out those foods!

SK - I used to stay at Jurong. I was visiting my mother last Sat. Yap I was at the 500+ market to have meals. Where did you see me? I'm bad at recognise faces one... next time you call out to me okie...?

jaclyn: when my girl had constipation, i gave her the Delmonte unsweetened prune juice diluted with water. she was frowning when drinking cos it tastes weird, haha!!!

eliss: i see! i saw u opposite the CC where the housing estates were. walking towards the bus stop. My MIL stays next to JJC. i was in hubby's car as he drove past & it was him who saw ur hubby first!

jaclyn, thanks for sharing! BRAT is so easy to remember

sugar water to ease serious constipation: ok, this also came from my friend who told me to add water instead of milk to cereal/puree. coz her son had serious constipation and pears, prunes, etc no help at all. in the end she fed him sugar water - she said the effect was fast! if you google, got recommended dosage. the role of sugar is to draw water to the stool in the intestine making it easier for poo poo. i guess it’s the same principle for fruit juices besides the fibre but the main ingredient is sugars from fruits which help the stools to come out easier. make sense?

my baby has tried brown rice cerealm applesauce, carrot - so far, her poo's still ok - soft but firm and sometimes mushy. maybe because she drinks a lot of water. surprisingly, carrot has the highest fibre content woh - i compared all the gerber's 1st foods. hehe. and banana's fibre content is quite low - surprise, surprise!

Date - 27 Feb, Sunday

Time - 1400hrs** to 1700hrs ** note changes

Venue - Pris' place at Sentosa

POTLUCK!

Names / {Food List

1) Pris (host) - pizza

2) Eliss & HB - fruits

3) suntan

4) suika

5) Jaclyn + Raq + baby G

6) Jasline + Hubby + Baby J

7) bbbliss + HB + baby

8) geri and hb and bb

9) vivi, hb, bb and #1

10)phy, hb, #1 and baby

11)babycoco, hb, bb

12) Chelz, hb, bb, maid => Soft Drink + disposable cups

13) Junie, HB & bb Isaias => I can buy McDonald's McNuggets.

14) DQ => 933 golden pillow

15) Lynn Hb & Enzo => Shepherd's pie

16) Nicole

Who has playmat to bring?!?!?! Need at least 2 more!! = ) it'll be nice to let the babies crawl about.

If you are bring food/snacks, please prepare for 5-8 pax nia.

Mummies, we are planning CNY Gathering Steamboat. Kindly confirm ur attendance by keying in ur name, no of adults. I will be buying food for the steamboat and try to budget it at $10 per pax. discuss with some of the mummies and we agreed that no ang bao to be given to all babies.. Heehee..

Cya ladies!

Venue: Hougang Ave 3 (My house) I will PM u gals the full address.

Date: 12th Feb 2010 (Sat)

Time: 3pm

1. Lynn & Hubby

2. Jasline & Hubby

3. Geri & hubby

4. DQ

5. Guayni (hubby to be confirm)

6. Annie & Hubby

7. sun_tan

8. Jasmine & Hubby

9. mrslong & hubby

10. Grace & hubby

11. Irene & hubby

12. Pris

13. Nicole

Date - 27 Feb, Sunday

POTLUCK!

Names / {Food List

1) Pris (host) - pizza

2) Eliss & HB - fruits

3) suntan

4) suika

5) Jaclyn + Raq + baby G

7) bbbliss + HB + baby

8) geri and hb and bb

9) vivi, hb, bb and #1

10)phy, hb, #1 and baby

11)babycoco, hb, bb

16) Nicole

17) Hershey, hb, #1 & bb galen => i can bring playmat (hope i am not late for this.. C[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Who has playmat to bring?!?!?! Need at least 2 more!! = ) it'll be nice to let the babies crawl about.

Mummies, we are planning CNY Gathering Steamboat. Kindly confirm ur attendance by keying in ur name, no of adults. I will be buying food for the steamboat and try to budget it at $10 per pax. discuss with some of the mummies and we agreed that no ang bao to be given to all babies.. Heehee..

Cya ladies!

Venue: Hougang Ave 3 (My house) I will PM u gals the full address.

Date: 12th Feb 2010 (Sat)

Time: 3pm

1. Lynn & Hubby

2. Jasline & Hubby

3. Geri & hubby

4. DQ

5. Guayni (hubby to be confirm)

6. Annie & Hubby

7. sun_tan

8. Jasmine & Hubby

9. mrslong & hubby

10. Grace & hubby

11. Irene & hubby

12. Pris

13. Nicole

14. hershey, hb, #1 & bb galen.. C:

still nid extra steamboat cum bbq ??? no one bring bb along?? hahah~~

May I know which type of spinach is suitable to give to baby?

charliebrown: I am using the Avent blender as well, wonder how much you prepare each time? If I don't freeze it, how long can I kept it in the fridge?

As for constipation, I think the Gerber prunes puree really works!

As for the baby jar food can feed direct or warm it up first, I usually warm it for a lil while [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Posted on Wednesday, January 26, 2011 - 7:49 pm:       

Date - 27 Feb, Sunday

POTLUCK!

Names / {Food List

1) Pris (host) - pizza

2) Eliss & HB - fruits

3) suntan

4) suika

5) Jaclyn + Raq + baby G

7) bbbliss + HB + baby

8) geri and hb and bb

9) vivi, hb, bb and #1

10)phy, hb, #1 and baby

11)babycoco, hb, bb

16) Nicole

17) Hershey, hb, #1 & bb galen => i can bring playmat (hope i am not late for this.. C

18) Michelle , my parents & bb.

My mum will prepare snacks. Hope u all dun mind bringing my parents.

Let me tidy up a little here

FOOD - we have quite a number of ppl attending, please do not bring too much food (quantity), else everyone need to tapao the leftovers back liao

Date - 27 Feb, Sunday

Time - 1400hrs to 1700hrs

Food - POTLUCK!

Names / Food List

1) Pris (host) - pizza

2) Eliss & HB - fruits + 1 yoga mat

3) suntan

4) suika

5) Jaclyn + Raq + baby G

7) bbbliss + HB + baby

8) geri and hb and bb

9) vivi, hb, bb and #1

10)phy, hb, #1 and baby

11)babycoco, hb, bb

13) Junie, HB & bb Isaias => McDonald's McNuggets.

16) Nicole

17) Hershey, hb, #1 & bb galen => playmat

We need one more playmat! I will bring my yoga mat. :p

Eliss, how many ppl can Pris' place accommodate? If it's not too late, can I join please?

Attending: Me, hubby/my mom + baby

Food: Macaroons

Sito, when 1st opened, I don't warm up the puree from the food jars. If it's from the fridge, I'll microwave it for 5secs and stir just to make sure no hot spots

eveyeoh, my mom says puay leng (also a type of spinach) is good. and when your baby is able to eat coarser textures, can chop up "chai xin" into fine bits and add to porridge

eveyeoh:I prepare just enough for 2 days. I feed bb once per day only for puree. His one feed is equivalent to about 3-4 tablespoon. I wanted to make more to freeze, but my mom said for the time being, don't give frozen ones. So I only keep the puree in the fridge for only one day.

Claudia: You wanna go for the trial class for The Little Gym? I rem you missed out on a previous trial class for some gym. Wanted to pm you, but you cannot accept pm.

oops...

pris' said function room is comfortable for 15-20 adults nia. so let's get UNcomfortable!! Given the list, yes it can be a little packed!

Date - 27 Feb, Sunday

Food - POTLUCK!

Names / Food List

1) Pris (host) - pizza

3) suntan

4) suika

5) Jaclyn + Raq + baby G

7) bbbliss + HB + baby

8) geri and hb and bb

9) vivi, hb, bb and #1

10)phy, hb, #1 and baby

11)babycoco, hb, bb

16) Nicole

19) Me, hubby/my mom + baby - Marcaroons

charliebrown, are you organising the trial class for The Little Gym? i'm interested! but when?

Eliss, looking at the list, it's gonna be very packed! (not just a little). haha. hope pris, or rather her estate management is ok with that

baby having blocked nose: hmmm..i remember one mommy's LO having blocked nose but can't remember who. anyway, jts, i sprayed bb's nose with Sterimar nasal spray and it thinned down the mucus - my baby was able to breathe better. only started on the spray yesterday. i googled and it says saline solution + aspiration is a natural remedy. actually the best is to let baby recover on her/his own i.e. do nothing. i wanted to but don't have the heart to continue since baby got woken up 2 nights in a row due to blocked nose. Instead of buying saline solution, can make it yourself but me lazy

I'm organising the Little Gym trial class @ Forum Orchard, on 19 Feb, 3.20pm.

Trial class is $42.80.

So far already have 8 mummies confirmed.

Anyone else still keen, pls PM me with the following details:

1. Baby's name

2. Mummy's name

3. HP nbr

I'll check with the coordinator there to see there are still available slots.

junie, aiyo. i want to but have to give this date a miss [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Junie,

Thanks for organising.. I have just PM u.. =)

btw the good jar i juz bought last wkend at tampines mall outside istetan.. they have sale..

I bought a "tiger" brand.. from Japan @ $49.90 my hubby like this brand....

The Little Gym: After you all attend the trial, do review ok? Hee! I attended the 3:20pm trial at Forum too and the teacher was Zul.

Yap agree with Jasline, Tiger brand is good.

I bot one too when I was preggie..

Now I use that to store my porride and it is still very warm after few hours

ica: yeah, is Junie who is organising. I have signed up with her liao. This will be the first gym I go with bb. Cos the timing seems short and based on Ann's and Vernie's review last time, I think this is more suitable. I like that it is short, cos my bb may get cranky and wail and disturb other bbs. haha!

Tiger brand: yup, i also agree that it's good. another brand to consider is Zojirushi - equally as good. my friend have both Thermos and Tiger. she says Tiger can keep the food warm longer. but i'm eyeing Zojirushi - saw one at Tangs, a very sweet pink but it's $65!

charliebrown, oic. ya lor, after reading the reviews, i felt like giving it a try

prunes - read from wholesomebabyfood, prunes are dried plums. wonder if we can buy those pitted prunes sold in vacuum pkt. usually these pitted prunes are said to be 100% natural. will you use those to make into puree for yr bb?

cheese,

Can I ask how much is the infant care u r paying now?? & under wat school?? urs infant care is from how many mth to how many mths??

Just went to check agape @ Cecil Street... wow the price is steep! $1005/- per mth aft subsidy lor.. -_-" from 2mths to 17mths bb... 18mths will be childcare liao..

my HB likes Zojirushi brand. Our water container is from that brand, bought from the BP here.

now looking to see if there's a BP again but currently dun hv.

may consider Tiger brand then!

tks!

Jasline - infant/child care in town area will always be more expensive than surburb areas. Unless your company has affiliations with the child care centre, which you have subsidy from your company, i think the child care centres around town area are similarly priced.

2 to 17months are infant care category - more expensive than child care (>18m). i think little school house in ocbc centre is about 600 after subsidy for child care but long waiting list.

Jasline, agreed with Eliss.

Mine just increase the $, is $550 after subsidy.

after 18mths will be $300 I think.

I got no choice.. no one to take care of him.

At times I really heartpain cos teacher will say he never sleep, never drink much bla bla..

They are not the parent of the child, so I dun think they really put so much care as we do.

How I wish I can be SAHM.

Thank ELiss & Cheese...

Oh ya.. the price really high!! wow lao..

OCBC there.. Ya i know where... But abit not near my office.. nvm.. shall see how by then..

cos i might need to put bb in infant care this yr aug onwards..... haiz!

Jasline, why you nid put bb there le?

From what I noe, have to be in the queue?

I register bb J when he is still in my tummy and im only in the waiting list ehz.

Cheese,

Cos my in law tat maid work permit expire this march.. She said dun wan to work liao..

but she said if we wanna extend she will only work until aug & she will wan to go back liao.. so in law they all will hire new maid.. but i dun wan new maid to take care.. dunno can or not.. this current still ok.. she know how to take care.. juz tat abit yaya papaya!! work long liao ma! haiz.. y can't she wait until my house come than leave.. (house coming this yr sept ba) hahaha.. anyway bb next yr jan 2012 18mths liao, can put childcare liao.. much more cheaper..

JP,

wow really ex lor.. mine is $1005 aft promotion.. cos is newly open.. $1000+ lei.. is like a person salary lor.. but hubby said if need to put few mths than bo bian..

jasline, agape also has one outlet at buona vista (one north, i think), right? my friend placed her toddler there, no subsidy and it cost her $1500. then the kid fell sick, so she kept her at home and didn't attend for 2 wks. So wasted - rugi big time

ica

my #1 also sick for many days... for january, she din go to childcare for 2 weeks bcos she sick. her month childcare fee is $780... although i lugi $, i don't mind so long she is healthy...

jasline

i am also thinking of tobang my bb there for a few months until i find my helper. so i am going to KIV first... but the centre manager may wish to extend a discount to me since i "sounded" so interested... hee

jasline

oh, not the same one... mine at midview city where u all had the trial... but if ur centre new, they hv open house anot? cos the branch at midview city has open house special with $200 off for 1 month of the ifc fee... i dunno about cecil branch but still so ex... the price puts me off!.

Hey gals, so many mommies coming! This is going to be fun = ) Due to capacity constraints ( the function room is not very big), I'll have to close the attendees list at no.20. My apologies to mommies who might want to join us but have to miss this round...no worries tho, can always organise another one next time = )

Eliss >> I think 2 playmats enuff else not much room for adults! I have one and Hershey's bringing the other.

I'll PM all my address and contact details a week before the gathering

PS..no.19..'me'..ayee, whats your nick so that I can PM you?

Date - 27 Feb, Sunday

Food - POTLUCK!

Names / Food List

1) Pris (host) - pizza

3) suntan

4) suika

5) Jaclyn + Raq + baby G

7) bbbliss + HB + baby

8) geri and hb and bb

9) vivi, hb, bb and #1

10)phy, hb, #1 and baby

11)babycoco, hb, bb

16) Nicole

19) Me, hubby/my mom + baby - Marcaroons

20) Janice >> fishballs

CLOSED