(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

mrslong & Eliss,

I also received the TMC Hospital Admission letter like few week ago.. complete the form & send back....

Eliss,

the letter was telling wat bed u booking, for mine will be 1 bedded.. than fill up the particular of the mother & daddy.. + contact person of another person juz in case daddy & mummy cannot be reach..

Admission letter I have not receive anything from my gynae yet.

Hi ladies, talking about MIL... shes been taking my things and using/consuming them without asking me. Thats the #1 most frustrating thing for me. Just few days ago my hubby bought mini croissants for my breakfast.. when I woke up (i wake up later than her), they were all gone so no breakfast for me.

Then when I went to HKG trip few mths ago, we bought 2 bottles of DOM for my confinement.. i checked recently and we're left with half a bottle cos shes been drinking neat everynight for the past few mths already. My dad bought 10 boxes of chicken of essence for me for confinement too... now i check my storeroom left only 5. Meaning either she consume or she gave away...

She oso thinks nothing of coming to our room when we're out of the house to take our things such as colgate etc. Its not the colgate im frustrated about but the lack of privacy!

Sigh! I going crazy but I don't want to make a big fuss out of it, she'll just accuse me of being 'selfish'. I told my hubby and he wanted to confront her but i didnt want him to cos i know that my MIL will know it comes from me, then the environment will be very awkward to live in. So i'll just have to bear with it. Lucky this is the only thing I have a problem with.. besides that she mostly leaves me and my hubby alone.

Carol>> The Admission Letter is sent by the hospital.

Eliss>> Jasline has explained what the Admission letter is...mainly for your particulars.

Hi, anyone here experiencing mucus discharge? I'm 34 weeks and seem to be getting watery discharge every now & then.

Jen: mucus discharge should have a tinge of blood in it.. if its just normal discharge its ok.. its normal to have an increase amount of discharge at our stage of the pregnancy

hi Jen, i also experience watery discharge. Sometimes, it can be as much as a 20-cent coin stain on my undies.

I've checked with my gynae and he says its ok so long as there is no foul smell, no itch and no pain.

And if there are the above symptoms, he says most likely is infection which can be easily treated with antibiotics.

But if you are really worried, u can check with your gynae.

Hope this helps! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jaclyn,

I think your tolerant skills must be so good to endure all these! If I bought something or my close ones bought things for me for my confinement or for pregnancy and ended up being consumed WITHOUT my permission being asked, I will definitely flare up! If it is once, then maybe I shall close one eye but if it happens quite often, I don’t think my good DIL mask can still be put on!

Hope you can try telling your MIL that these are things that you bought for your confinement or for your pregnancy and if she wants, you can get for her some other time or perhaps, let you know if she needs it..then you won’t end up having a “surprise” that the stuff are not there when you need them…

regarding MIl :

when i was preg with my # 1 shes the 1st one to said that my mum will be the one doing for me.

but when its coming to edd , she took over the role. And when she took care for abt 7mths she keep complaining she got no life and things like that and expect us to reach home asap so that she can do her own things. so made me and my hb very stress as we cannot be late.

in the end ,she surrender and we asked my mum to take care for us instead.

As for #2, hb told her once i got preg and the 1st thing she said is SHE IS SICK hence cant help us.

Duh! we dun expect her to help oso

Yvonne,

They are ok with us renovating cos we have not stayed in that house before, so wont have effect on the bb (have to convince them about it).

Jaclyn,

To prevent that, whatever i want to eat or use, i would put it in our room. At least she wont come into our room to take my things. My FIL also knows my mil pattern. That day he gave some a box of birdnest directly, ie he didnt leave it in the kitchen, so that i can put it in my room.

supergal, sun_tan:

yaa.. i also nowadays sneak breakfast into my room. If i buy buns from bread talk or wat.. i will take 1 put into my room so that at least i know i have breakfast. Also I bought birds nest, i also put into my room.. else from 5 bottles maybe become left 1 and its soo expensive.

Hai but this is not really good lah.. so sneaky. Its just a different culture here for me because back at my own home, my parents will never take my things without first asking me or even if they take, they will replace back.

btw, sometimes put things into my room no use.. I told you gals that i bought colgate (those triple pack) and put into a cupboard in my toilet. Few days later, found out one of the tube gone. Like i say.. .its not the colgate im frustrated about.. but that they can juz come in and take things without asking... no privacy for me and my hubby as well.

Ugh!! Tolerate!!!!

eliss,

thanks for updating my particulars. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i've also joined the july mtb grp in FB.

caroltan,

hmmm... my gynae also no guarantee lah. he just said its 99% cfm we'll get auto upgrade fr 4-bedded to 2 bedded but he dun dare to say its 100% too.

keer13,

i see, i really hope u & ur hb are able to resolve the bb issues with ur mil w/o straining any ties. actually my mil is also suffering fr cancer & my hb also the super filial type. this is the main reason why we are staying w the in-laws after we got hitched. my hb wants to be near his mom & spend as much time with her as possible. i'm actually looking fwd to married life with just the 2 of us but i din want to upset my hb so i respect his wishes. that said, my mil is pretty nice to me but she's the very traditional type (she's in her 70s alr). for e.g, she'll tell me during her time, she do her confinement in a closed room (windows closed) with no fan or air-con! she also dun bathe & wash her hair for 40days! although she never really said it out but when i hear her say that, it made me feel compelled to follow her ways. i was telling my hb how to survive w/o ventilation in a closed room?! then recently, she also mentioned twice that if my mom comes visit me during my confinement, my mom is supposed to present me with si dian jin among other gifts. this is part of my mil's teochew culture. *stressed* i havent told my mom abt this yet...

suntan,

gd luck on ur next appt. do tell us abt ur bb's weight after ur visit ya. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jacklyn,

I dont sneak them into my room. Haa, i openly put it there. I dont find it wrong mah. Since thats only for my own consumption only, so i leave it in my room loh. Also easier for me to take if i am hungry at night. So now in my room, i have a snack corner where i keep my biscuits and birdnest :p

Angel,

Sure thing! Next visit is next fri..cant wait! After that would go for the motherhood fair at expo.

btw, can i chk with experienced moms here?

we are looking at milk bottles over the weekends & have bought some standard neck ones.

just wondering whats the diff btwn a standard & wide neck bottles?

also, we noticed there are diff types of teats out there like silicon, latex etc. quite confusing for 1st time parents like us.

how do one pick the correct bottles & teats ya?

would appreciate any feedbacks. many thanks!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

suntan,

wow, i wish to go for the motherhood & other fairs too. but recently, walking has became such a chore. most likely becos i'm heavier + the bb's load in me, so been lazing at home most of the time (not working since preggie).

also, i find that the times that i do go out, it was mostly quite unpleasant with passengers squeezing past by my pregnant belly to get in or out of the trains etc. *sigh*

suntan - if u're taking the rest of the 16 weeks flexibly.. yep... it's calculated by 40 days.. but must look at your company policy too..

hi Angel, i think from medical standpoint, there is not much difference btw wide-neck and standard-neck bottles or latex vs silicon teats.

Though of course, each manufacturer will claim theirs is better.

Personally, i have used both wide and std neck bottles and it doesn't make a difference to my baby.

But when it came to teats, my baby initially will only take latex ones but i think that is because that is what she was introduced to. When she was older though, around 6 months, she was willing to accept both latex and silicon teats.

The other thing to bear in mind is to make sure you use similar teats for your pacificers too, if you intend to use them. Eg, if you use latex milk teat, buy latex pacificer.

Silicon teats tend to last longer while latex ones dun.

In the end, it really depends on your baby and his/her preference.

So, dun buy too much of one type or brand first otherwise you will be like me, with a whole drawer full of different brands of teats and pacificers! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

FYI, my HR dept just got confirmation from MOM, public hols & weekend shouldnt be calculated in our MIL.

Let's say my edd is 4th July, then i need to go back to work on 6th Sept which is exactly 2 mths.

Hi angel,

i think to book for 4 bedded room 1st, but i afraid if i want to change to 2 bedded room then will be no available room for me..my gynae told me the diff btw 4 bedded n double bedded is $600..i thought the room rate's diff is only less than $100..

angel

here is what i think about standard vs wide neck:

standard bottles

as it is standard neck bottles will have MOST of the standard teats fit into the cap. they are slimmer and thus, space saving

wide neck

one brand of wide neck bottle may not fit another brand's wide neck teat...wide neck bottles rae easier to put FM into the bottle compared to standard neck

latex vs silicone

latex is soft on bb's palatte wide silicone is slightly harder. latex cannot be sterilised but silicone can. latex is to be replace frequently but silicone not so. can do every 3mths. latex is v fragile, hole of teat gets bigger quicker than silicone

Jaclyn, yup better keep them in your own room! my MIL is the type if she finds out i keep food in my room, she will be super unhappy cos she scare got ants and will dirty her place...better keep your birdnests really, if you bought on your own..

and she never make any tonics for me but if she sees me bringing bird nests or tonic soups home as usually my mom will make for me and i will collect from her at her work place (near my home), then she will ask me what i'm drinking and why i ALWAYS make my mom prepare all these for me. like how come you don't do on your own?

for goodness sake, i don't dare to cook in her kitchen cos she likes her things to be placed in a properly manner and i'm not a great cook..besides, my mom do it so willingly for me without me asking! but of course, i got give her some $$ lah..but don't know why MIL got a prob with that! my mom even made bird nest for my hubby too cos she thinks hubby will be tired looking after me!

haiz...just hope my new flat can come sooner...

Angel - me not experienced mum, but from what I gathered, Wide neck bottles tries to mimic the mum's breast. As for teats, different material last differently. My friend who's a mum of 3 advice me not to buy so many milk bottles and teats first as BB may not like some. If BB reject the bottle / teat, then will have to change brand. Do look out for BPA free ones for both though.

There is food fair this weekend at expo. I will be going down to buy sesame oil for confinement. Usually there will be bundled deals and freebies giveaway during food expo. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Will go for Chee Seng (double pagoda) brand since it has been around for so many years and most importantly it is made in Singapore.

Hi Jayamum - Thanks for sharing.. It's really so scary that so many mommies here have similar issues wit MIL.. Haiz.. Thank goodness, we have this forum here so that we can share & support each other.. Wow, your MIL so persistent to visit you on the first day of your birth.. Sometimes, when we think about it that we can't even choose what we want in life.. That's sad.. And, you are only asking for 1 day only.. But, on the other hand, your hubby is also torn as caught in between the two of you.. So, I guess it's compromise & see how it goes when it's nearer..

Like you, my hubby also treat me very good.. To be honest.. But, this MIL crappy thing has sort of gave rise to more arguments & heartaches.. Sometimes, evil me, hope that MIL does not exist at all.. LOL!!! But, in the meantime, I hope to brain wash hubby so that he can see my pt of view.. Although not so successful though I tried last nite, will try again.. If still not ok, I think I need a counseller.. :p

Meantime, is your MIL doing confinement for you?

suntan>> My gynae visit is also next Fri, then after that go down to Motherhood Expo. Final dash to get the remaining stuff.

renee, jellypurin & noknok,

i appreciate all the advices! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] they're very helpful cos i got a better understanding now.

for milk bottles, we bought 5 standard neck pigeon brand BPA types. bought 5 becos i wanted to use them both to store BM as well as for feeding. i'm not sure if i'll have enough BM so i start with 5 bottles first.

as for teats, after reading the feedbacks, i think will just get 2 silicon teats for NB first. if bb does not take to it, then we'll switch to latex type. i'll prob also buy a silicon pacifier to stand by as well.

i have decided to use cloth diapers for my gal during the day & disposable ones for her at night. was told the disposables ones last better thru the night.

also for BF, i decided to feed my gal with BM during the day & FM during the night. was also told that FM is more filling hence my gal can sleep better thru the night.

caroltan,

i also thought that the room rates diff btwn 4 & 2-bedded is abt $100-200 only. the diff btwn 4 & 1-bedded is abt $1000+, that is what i gathered fr the TMC maternity package.

BB seems to be pressing on my diaphgram or something when I'm sitting up. Quite uncomfy...wonder if he's already semi or fully engaged...hehehe.

supergal,

Wah, i think its very mean of your mil to ask why your mom always make the tonic for you and not you yourself doing it. I also always bring birdnest home that was made by my mom and there is once my mil asked me what was it with a suspicious tone. My hubby was pretty sore that his own mom didnt bother to make any for me and at that time he said," thats birdnest that her mom made cos she didnt get to eat it here." I was rather suprise at what he said..then after that my mil nv ever ask me such things again.

mrslong,

Haa ya man. Before that got to work out a detail to-buy list.

Today, my mood is much better.. Thanks all mommies for their sharing & support..

Yest, one of my good friend pass me 2 big bags of BB clothes... Was so happy sorting them.. Have tops, bottoms, mittens, socks etc.. Then, earlier on, hubby friend also gave 2 bags of clothes to us.. Now, my house is flooded with clothes & think if BB wear just 1 piece each day also cannot finish.. Hee.. But, very happy to see all the cute clothings.. So, I think it's true that no need to buy so many clothes cos if you are not fussy, hand downs are also cool.. Save $$ & I will invest in more educational things for the BB..

As I miss the last spree to purchase the B&W soft book.. I decided to do the flashcards myself to save $$.. Since BB will only use this for a short while.. Chance by this website & will like to recommend to all of you.. If you like to DIY, please click here..

http://www.brillkids.com/free-download/flashcard-A4.php

I have also just e-enrol myself for Mt A pre admission.. Now, waiting for their letter.. For me, I have not pack my hospital bag yet.. But, what I have in mind is my camera (instant & digital), IC (me & p/n), wallet (cr card for deposit), 2 sets of button front PJs for easier bf, 1 set of BB clothings, 1 swaddle, night flow pads as I may not be used to using maternity pads, breast pump & storage bottles, marriage cert, 1 set of clothes to go home, 2 nursing bras, 2 disposal panties & breast pads..

Hi Angel - Heard from Mrs Wong in the prenatal class that it's better to bottle feed BB after 1 month to keep the milk supply otherwise, please remember to pump out the milk before you sleep & once you wake up.. If not, your milk supply will end earlier.. Then, she also mention that for BB to be full, the front milk which is the 1st 10 mins of BB consumption is not filling but the hind milk will be filling for BB.. So, maybe, you can try to express the milk out & bottle feed instead of using FM.. For your ref... :p

keer13,

thanks for the link, very helpful as most likely will want to DIY too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks for sharing with me on BM supply too. reason why i'm worried that i may not have (enough) BM is becos i'm afraid i'll take after my mom. my mom did not have any BM at all, i grew up on FM.

re. handmedown clothings,

we also rec'd 2 bags of clothing, bibs, blankets etc. the clothing are in very gd cond & some are really nice too. there's even brands like bbgap, bbguess, carters etc. so we were pleasantly surprised & grateful to our friends.

carol

is that true? then i lugi for my #1... darn! haha, but nvm, but we are sure MOM does not have a clause that says it all depends on company HR policy?

Thought ML counts by weeks (e.g. 16 weeks) so regardless if there's PH or weekend, it's included.

That's how my co. calculates our ML.

Supergal, Sun_tan,

Your MILs and mine are one of a kind. I really couldn't understand why they are so unwilling to brew or cook anything for our pregnancies. They don't seem to understand that these tonics will benefit their grandchildren and not us. It's not that we're so hard up for their cooking but this just shows how much they really care......

maternity leave my co. includes PH and weekends too.

i've gone onto the MOM website. maybe if it's covered under the Child Development Co-Saving Act, then the interpretation/definition for "week" exclude PH and weekends? But then MOM is saying "should not" not "must not", so it's still up to company to decide? but if ML is covered by the Employment Act, i don't see an interpretation for "week", so in layman terms, a week = 7 calender days, not business days

Rgd Maternity Leave,

Now i am lost. So its 16 weeks of leave regardless PH, sat and sun, of 16 weeks of "working days" leave?

Had done quite abit of packing with hubby today. So satisfied with myself. Haha!!

Had washed baby clothing and nappies. Had also folded them and packed them into the cabinet. Baby room cleaned out.

But still got more things which I had yet to wash yet. Like baby blanket, baby bedsheets, baby towels, baby hankies, dark colour baby clothings.

Was trying to pack the hospital bag.. but not too sure what to pack. Anyone has the hospital list? Can send a copy to me?

sun tan usually ML includes PH and weekends, unless your company is magnanimous enough to exclude PH and weekends, like the way you apply for Annual Leave

i checked with my co.'s HR - if i give birth on a Saturday/Sunday/PH, which is a non-working day, my ML commences on the actual day of delivery. what a waste ya?

Cheese,

The ROM cert is required if you want to apply for the first child cash gift ($4000) on the spot. I think need to bring the bank passbook for the account you want to deposit the cash gift into too.

At 1st my HR manager oso told me included PB & sun,sat, but later on she said she clarify with MOM, is excluded PB, sun & sat..she said later on she will get black n white fr MOM wor..

hehe,means if i delivered on 4th July (my edd), i ll go bek to work on 6th Sept(non-citizen).

Angel - i also wonder y my gynae said the diff is $600 wor..my hubby said maybe specialist n PD charge ll be increased if i take 2 bedded room..anyway,i will reconfirm during my nxt visit on mon..will update to u later ya..