(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

don't quite remember the colour i think is white?

Then it's oval, has a slightly sharper end, insert that side first. yea it's soft texture.

Hi morning mummies, I plan to go JB for shopping but anyone know if there's any restriction for preggies to cross the border? Cause I will be going by bus.. They can see my tummy when chop the passport.. :p

sweetkiss ya lor, once opened, the cotton balls and gauze are not sterilised anymore. ok will go search again and see what i can find

atomickitten i failed the OGTT too but don't have to test my blood glucose every day; only when i go for checkups. so far my reading has been good - just cut out sugar, fried food, less carbs and you'll be fine. Impaired OGTT results does not mean we have diabetes, just that higher chance of getting it when we're old if you don't monitor what we eat now

keer

nope, there shd be no issue

re: using water to clean bum

jus remember if you are using cotton wool to clean ur bb's bum and genitals... use a new pc after every wipe! can't recycle [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] otherwise, bb may get infection

peanut

latex teats needs replacement v often and not recommended for steriliser... but boiling. silicones are harder but replacement is up to 3mths each time.

Teats - I remember Mrs Wong mentioning that silicone ones are better (cannot remember the reason already) and no such thing as teats being similar to mummies' nipples. Those are just advertising gimmick. Mummies who attend Mrs Wong's class, correct me if I am wrong.

TMC Swaddle - Any mummies managed to purchase the swaddles from Parentcraft already? When I was attending Mrs Wong's class in April, they were out of stock and she mentioned that the stocks will be arriving in May. Since I don't go to TMC for gynae visit, have not gone to the Parentcraft dept to check them out yet.

vernie, yup, TMC already received the stock. mrs wong brought some to the class last thursday, all sold out. she said will bring more this week. do you want me to help you get?

babycoco: Oh great! Thanks for the info and for your offer to help me buy them. Think I will just drop by TMC one of these days to get them. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

alicia, no she didn't bring any cloth diapers. but you can get from taka, got extra 10% starting this thurs.

vernie, no problem. but maybe you should call before you go down. didn't know it was so popular. some couples even bought 10packs! that's why sold out immediately.

babycoco - i was at last sun's class, all the stuff also sold out (coz mine was the last class)...have a feeling everything will be sold out again this week...somemore last lesson liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

babycoco: Yes, I just did. Lucky to get through the first time! The lady said the stocks are available - ask me to go down within these few days. Aiyoh, some couples bought 10 packs - that is like 20 pcs right? Coz each pack has 2. Why buy so many?

autrumn, what did you buy? i only bought the swaddle, bold wipes, avent bottom barrier & body wash. turns out the avent stuff were cheaper at the robinson sale. 20% off plus got extra $15 off if spend $100. so i bought liquid talc & another tube of the bottom barrier.

autrumn if you want those swaddle wraps especially, better go get them from TMC. mine was also the last class and by that time, only left the bold wipes. was quite disappointed i couldn't get the swaddle wraps. will make do with cloth diapers now

alicia if you happen to go into JB, can get Pigeon cloth diapers there. much cheaper at RM28 per pack

Pris really? ok will go check. thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babycoco -i bought one pack and the swaddle wrap is so "HOT", only come 100pcs only..

grab it when fast. u can call up parentcraft and ask. can go i tink before 5.30 to get it. if not sat is like 12-12.30pm, cant rem.

Good morning ladies.

Stomach had not been well since last night when I sleep. Felt so heavy at the stomach area. This morning wake up, felt my tummy tightening a few times but at irregular interval. So I think it's just Braxton Hicks.

Keer13: I just went JB last Saturday. Shouldn't be a problem.

TMC Swaddle: I bought 2 packs last Saturday during class. When Mrs Wong was teaching us about breast feeding, hubbies were told to "shop". Told hubby I wanna buy the swaddle wrap, then he keep telling me dun have. After class, I quickly walk to the "shopping area" and saw the stacks of swaddle cloth there. Quickly bought 2 packs. I realised it is called flannel cloth (or something like that). No wonder hubby keep saying dun have dun have.

For cleaning baby bottoms, if at home we can use cotton wool few pieces to clean the anus line.

And if baby gerl need more cotton wool cause the vagina also must clean well. Wipe dry after each diaper change.

Depend on babies also, some alergic with wipes. So doctor sure will asked to clean with warm shower water directly to the private parts and dry well also.

Different baby different pattern. My 1st son the buttock is sooo expensive only pampers or mamy poko brand he can used. Other brand no way and also wipes , he cannot use wipes. So every where i go, change diaper have to go to the basin to wash him directly after i use normal soft toilet paper to clean the dirt.

2nd son also i use the same method after hubby bought the wipes and we keep too long become dry. So the wipes become life toilet paper. hahahhaa

Than diapers my 2nd son no problem. Any diaper can use. By the time he 10 months can stand and walk step by step, he pull diaper and throw them.

He dont want to use any diaper. Just underwear. So we toilet train him and off the diaper from him. Save money.

This 3rd one i hope, will be like the 2nd son. Easy and low maintenance...

ica, is there only one kind of pigeon cloth diaper? cos notice that during Mrs Wong's lesson, she is selling $15.90/pack of 10 but kiddy palace selling $25.90 wor.. so big diff.. & also which shopping complex at JB cn I find the cloth diaper? Btw, any lady can upload picture of the swaddle cloth/flannel cloth. Tink I missed it during my lesson.. When I was there for lesson, items are already sold out.

Ling - Do u mean the cover of the milk bottle? Where can we find bigger covers?

Vernie - Is it true that it doesn't matter what kind of teats we use? Cos if so, I wldnt bother with using the NUK teats then?

On the issue of teats, Some of my friends actually recommended using the latex teats in the beginning as the texture is softer n more similar to nipples. They were saying that the hosptials uses the latex teats to feed the newborns.

Any mummies can verify?

Alicia i thot there's only one 1 packaging for the Pigeon cloth diapers no? i knew that Mrs Wong sell them at her classes but I din know such big price diff! the packaging is the same - be they from Msia, Spore or Mrs Wong. i bought 3 packs from KL but when i open them, 1 pack's fabric is slightly different - like the threads are looser (similar to Pureen's but slightly better) but the other 2 packs, the quality is like the TMC's swaddle wraps. i also notice that the Pigeon labels on both are different. i'll try to take pic and post it, then you can see what i mean

I bought them from Jusco KL. there's also one in JB. just to let you know, i think only the Pigeon cloth diapers are cheaper in Msia. other Pigeon stuff, Spore still cheaper

munchies: The teats does matter. Mrs Wong said silicon teats are better than latex teats. I can't recall the reason but i think silicon teats are stronger (perhaps other mummies attending Mrs Wong's class can help if they can remember). And she mentioned that no such thing as latex teats being similar to nipples. Nipples are nipples, teats are teats.

munchies

yes, hospital uses latex teats to feed bb... it is softer on their palette in a sense...but hvg said that the 0mths silicone teats are quite soft...ie avent #1 teats...

hvg said that, if mommies are planning to bf, do not start bottle feeding immediately... start after 2 weeks will be the best bcos SOME bbs will hv nipple confusion

babycoco & ica - i din get anythin coz everything was sold out! not a single thing left! think will make a trip to TMC soon!! thanks!!

Jellypurin - Thanks for the advise. I am hoping that bb will take to the nipple as well as to the bottle. A tall order..according to my friends. hahahah.

good morning mummies! Just to share what i learnt and was told :

RU YI oil

I was advised by my doctor not to use Ruyi oil directly on our newborns as their skin is still v think and senstive. If you want to use it, pls rub it on your palms and place your palms above baby's tummy without direct contact. The same applies for Vicks vapour rub. No direct contact with bb skin.

Sterilised cotton balls

i din use sterilised cotton balls to clean my bb's eyes but i made sure i only used boiled water and a clean container to hold the water. So far, my bb had no problems with that.

Wet wipes

My doc told me to use cotton wool and boiled water to clean baby's bottoms instead of wet wipes. Cos wet wipes, no matter how "baby-safe" will contain some chemicals. And it is best not to expose newborn skin to chemicals if possible.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Like what jellypurin said, Mrs Wong also mentioned if possible, for the first month, don't introduce bottle and try to latch bb on. That's why we get 4 month maternity leave to rest - she kept saying that. Initially, I thought of feeding EBM to bb at night so i can rest. Looks like I should try to latch bb on for the full first month.

Ru Yi Oil: I agree with Rmummy. I am one good case of accident on Ru Yi oil. When I am an infant, my grandma pour the ru yi oil on my tummy directly. This lead to my umblical cord being infected and had to be send to hospital for treatment. In the end, my belly button always black black one no matter how I wash it. So dun ever pour directly onto baby's tummy.

autrumn i also din get anything in the end. for baby bathing stuff, i bought mostly Pigeon. oh, Pigeon also has washcloths and towels, material like muslin. my mom said most importantly, when buying these items, make sure they can dry speedily and must be 100% cotton - softer for baby.

alicia oh, i just remembered. Tom & Stefanie sells Pigeon stuff, too and currently, they're having 15% discount store wide and 20% if you're a member

munchies, its ok. For my #1, we also din know at first and my hubby stocked up one dozen of wet wipes! Just keep them in a dark cool place and when baby turns 6 months or so, you will find plenty of uses for them! wipe baby chairs at restuarants, wipe the stuff they put inside their mouths, wipe the baby seat cos baby will drool and lick it etc etc. ;)

alicia, i paid $14.80 for the bottom barrier, $18 for the liquid talc. also bought milk bottles etc, so my bill came up to $101. then robinson deducted additional $15. so quite worth it. if you want to buy avent, can wait for taka sale this thursday i think they might have 20%+10%. so quite worth it also.

Ann: what is the color of the TMC swaddle that you got and how much is it? is it white and 2 pcs in a pack and looks like normal clothes with no folding?

For those mummies who want to buy avent product, can wait for Philips carnival sales this weekend.

My fren said she got a very good bargain on avent bottom balm n other avent products last year

Wah.. i always thought Philips sales is only for electrical stuff.. didn't know got bargain on baby products too.

If your baby is still in breeched position - you can try talking to him/her... tell him/her that mummy love U but also afraid of pain so when it's time to due must find the correct way/position & co-operate with mummy to ensure a smooth delivery....

My bb did not turn down on wk 27....then my colleague teach me this method & it works... during wk 31 scan - he was down...

no harm trying!

Went for check up yesterday @ Dr Ang.

BB now 1615grm at Wk 32,1 day.

BB head is at the right side.

Doc is going holiday soon.. and next mth then can see my bb..when im going to be 36Wks