(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Sun_tan,

I'm gonna deliver at TMC coz Gynae is from there. Too lazy to change.

I'll go back and check my bill tonight.

phy

my #1 is under 12kg but she eats like that too... at one pt, she eats every hour for about 2 weeks, like on growth spurt... bcos she is not v tall, everyone of my fren say she v bah bah... like xiao fei nu.. i was v affected...but i realise her wt and ht is normal so now, i just let her eat/drink whatever she wants... i also scared if i restrict too much, she will end up picky abt food

I think each of us are having our own pre-natal anxieties as the date draws nearer. For me, my baby still hasn't turned! I've tried the chest down, butt up exercise for 15 mins everyday but she's still breeched. Yesterday I tried play music on my ipod and putting the earphones on my lower abdomen, hoping that she'll be attracted to the music and go heads down. Hopefully this will work. Mummies, how many of your babies are still heads up?

the weather has been super hot. I am thinking of installing an aircon in the room else I think I will not be able to take the heat esp during confinement if I can't turn on the fan especially.

However, is it true that it is not encouraged to do any renov or installation of any sorts in the hse while preg?

springleaf how many weeks are you now? i'm Wk32 and baby is still rolling around. sometimes horizontal, sometimes heads up. gynae said not to worry yet. i find that every time i play music near my lower abdomen, can see that she moves towards that direction

munchies if you're not the super pantang type, can go ahead and do it la. old folks' advice is to stay away when the installation works are going on

Hi ICA,

stay away as in as long as I am not ard at home when they doing the installation is it?

For me I am not pantang, but I dun want to be held responsible and be blamed for anything if you know wat i mean.

Ica, I've passed 33 and now going into 34 weeks. Are you considering caesaerian if your lil' one is still breeched at full-term? I'm getting more worried each day as baby grows bigger there'll be even less space to turn. Now I'm also researching on external cephalic version (gynae turns baby heads down manually) as an alternative but I don't know if my gynae has the skill.

munchies ya, i know what you mean. if anything happens to baby, we sure kena

yes, as long as you're not in the house when they install the aircond. last time when BIL wanted to shift into his new house, my MIL just asked the wife to sit in the car and not come out at all till they have finished moving the furniture. so same concept. my mom even asked me to tell baby if i wanna do any sewing, so that baby won't be alarmed. hahaha!

Baby's position: Last 2 gynae scans, the BB is head down liao. Last Sat, Gynae say BB head going further down the cervix. That's why my pubic bone always so painful. Ask me to walk more so that BB will engaged earlier. Maybe Springleaf, you can try walking more everyday. Once in the morning and once at night.

Installation/moving of furnitures: My mum told me not to be in the house if these are being done. So when my hubby install the fan, I will stand outside of the house with my dogs. Hehe!!

Just finish washing baby clothing and the sky turn grey. Sian!!!

Hi ICA,

Thanks for the advice. GG to discuss with my hubby first. THink we will do it quietly .. dun want to let too many pple know.

springleaf i'm open to any options as long as baby is delivered safely. my 1st choice is natural without epi - will tahan the pain as much as i can. i'll let gynae decide best course of action lor. if we insist on natural even though baby is breeched, yeah, gynae can help but it's very dangerous. if baby's head is too big and gets stuck, within 10mins baby will be gone if cannot get oxygen. and by that time, too late to wheel us in to have a c-section

i've also heard that some gynaes are able to turn the baby while still in the womb but the gynae must be verfy skilful and experienced. i read of a stoy - this mommy did it but after every session, she'd be in pain. in the end she had c-section. they found out that baby's foot was stuck in the birth canal, so that was why she felt the pain after eash session and baby was struggling to get the foot out

sorry ah, giving you the horror stories but try not to worry. trust your gynae - he/she knows best. in the meantime, relax and rest more

munchies,

Ya i think as long as we are not there its fine. We are now currently renovating our new house. Trying to finish it and in time for us to move in before bb comes out. So for us its really RENO, which includes hacking, driling and everything. But now i am not allowed anywhere near the house.

sun_tan, Hope ur reno will be completed in time b4 bb arrives. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BTW how many bottles shld we standby if we are intending to breastfeed? And wat size shld we buy them in?

springleaf yup. some babies only turn down in the last few weeks, so . can talk to your baby about this - i've been doing that. just have an open mind and don't stress yourself up ya

my gynae say.. bb will normally engage 10 days before delivery.. Note: not EDD.. its when the bb's ready to deliver

dun worry, our bb will find the right time to do the right stuff... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mommies, just came back from Gynae visit. Baby is 1.79kg at 33 weeks. Wanted to do 3D scan but as usual baby is not in a good position. In fact Gynae says he is facing my spine so even 2D pic I have today doesn't show much. Ah well, as long as he is doing fine.

For me, I gained 2kg in 2 weeks. Total pregnancy gain is 14kg. Doc says that's enough weight gain for entire pregnancy already! Aiyo!! There goes all my sweet treats [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Springleaf: don't worry too much, there's still time for baby to turn. Just keep doing the pelvic tilt excercise as often as you can. Do it especially when you can feel baby moving and is active. Keep us updated [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

munchies, i am not sure too but just for sharing, i have 8 bottles... 6x4oz and 2x 9oz.

i bought the avent newborn starter set with 2x4oz and 2x9oz bottles. then i bought the BM storage bottle set which can also be replaced with teats for feeding, which comes with 4x4oz btls.

i will also be renovating my flat next mth. will move in after confinement but was told not to enter the house when reno works are being done. if i wan to see, i can only go at nite after everyone has left.

during my 1st trimester, my dad also painted and even drilled the house. i used to worry but my hus always tell me, the more pantang i am, the more my worries will come true! so i just keep quiet and dun comment on anything.

sweetkiss, it's true. you don't see these angmohs have any pantang during pregnancies and they're all ok. my bro-in-law & his wife moved house, she even helped to pack & move, no problem. in my family, can forget about moving during preg.

sweetkiss,

Wah, at least u r better, can go at night. I am strictly not allowed to step into the house at all cost..can only see the "updates" from the photos which my hubby takes.

yah i find that all these pantang n beliefs actually make the pregnancy more stressful for us. Its like everytime we do something that is considered not gd by the elders, we feel stressed n worried even though we know these are only pantangs and are not based on any scientific evidence.

Sweetkiss - thanks for sharing. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I think i will get four first just in case. then get more when needed. my hubby has been nagging n nagging that we are spending too much on the bb. He keeps asking me why do we need to buy a sterilizer when we can just boil the bottles in hot water. Sigh.

munchies

u can boil the bottles but who got time to do that and watch over the steaming? sterilizer is far more convenient... can tell ur hubby that [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yeah, jelly purin is right. sterilising takes 9 mins. boiling? waste gas lah :p

my neigbour just gave birth last wk. we GASP when she headed for her #1 concert with the newborn on the day she was discharged ! salute her.

a lot of our inconvenience, stress, tears are self inflicted unfortunately....

Hi Munchies - Same here.. My hubby also complains I spent too much on BB stuff.. He also lament on the sterilizer if it's necessary.. Then, I told him if boil water - if it's too hot, all the plastic will melt & we need to spend $$ to buy a new pot too.. So, work up the same.. Men, they just dun understand at times.. Hee..

For bottles, as I plan to breastfeed. So,I only prepare 1 small bottle 150ml, just to stand by. In case for night feeds, I would express & ask hubby to feed.. I also bought 2 260ml bottles for babies when he is 3 mths & above cos by that time, we need to prepare to go back to work already.. I think 2 is enough for the time being as I read in the forum that sometimes, some babies do not like the teats & the bottles, and you might need to change eventually. So, just 2 to try first..

gd evening mummies..just came bk from gyane too...bb weighing at 1.9kg liao..

just a week difference only..he grew 100gm le..

he is still in breech position and still refusing to turn head dwn..everytime using his strong little leg to step on my bladder causing some squshing sound from it..

sometimes i really wonder if he con't doing it will he break the water bag...

will try to coax n talk to him very nite from nw..hoping to psycho him turn the head dwn..

lasery2k - Try to do cat pose, it can help your bb to turn down.

Btw, there is a philips sales on 28th-31st May in Toa Payoh, are they selling avent products at the same time?

I just went to my checkup last week at abt 33-34 weeks, Bb at 2.3kg..Dr asked me to stop carbo intake & sweet food as my bb puts on weight too fast which my size is quite petite & Dr said if I want normal delivery bb got to be abt 3kg<

My total weight gain todate 7.7 kg.

Hi all ,

does any ladies here know if the nuk wide neck teats will fit the pigeon wide neck PPSU bottles (the brown tinted ones) ?

I prefer the pigeon PPSU bottles but I wanna use the nuk teats as most of my friends say that nuk teats are the most similar to the nipple so bb wont hve nipple teat confusion n refuse to latch.

Munchies-i just bought the Nuk wide neck teats to fit on my pigeon BPA bottles (tinted) and they fit. Just that the cover cannot close properly. hubby suggested buying bigger covers.

lasery2k you're so cute - trying to psycho your little one to turn head down? hahaha. no worry la. my baby's also not head down yet. still moving, exploring around

btw, Mrs Wong mentioned that we need to use sterilised cotton wool balls to clean baby's eyes when bathing the little one. do we really need sterilised cotton? have been hunting for them and the ones i come across are those meant for dressing - very expensive woh

oh, Ru Yi oil - is it the one in a tin canister? i saw something like that at Guardian but not sure whether that's the right one as my chinese is not good. i can only make out the "Ru". The description says it's a type of oil but on the tin, it does not indicate that it can be used on NBs

Sito: I think your BB is still smaller than mine.. mine is 2.233kg at abt 32 weeks. Also need to cut down on carbo.. i think both our total weight gain abt the same. Haha!!

Ceres: So far the thermometer I bought quite ok. Hubby tested it out liao. Hubby say no warranty also ok lo cos price cheap ma.

ica: I think i will just buy those normal cotton wool balls. I dun think we really need sterilised ones.

Ru Yi oil.. yes.. it is in a tin canister one. But that is only use when BB have wind in the tummy.. dun use it everyday hoh.

Ann thanks for the pic! ok - will use only when needed

just had red bean dessert - no sugar, just boiled with dried longan. taste not too bad. maybe gotten used to the no sugar diet oredi [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi ladies..

Received a call from my gynae today n was told I have impaired glucose tolerancen she wants me to do a 6 point blood sugar monitoring! meaning i ve to prick my finger 6 times a day.. before n after each meal! No wonder i keep getting infection.. its bcoz of diabetes! but I'm in my 33 weeks le.. by the time i get back to her with my results.. i will be 34 weeks.. only 3 weeks left then to my c-section!

Worst scenerio must do daily insulin injection like my mum's leh! I ve been doing for my mum.. but ask me do on myself. i dun dare! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Anyone got to do blood sugar monitoring too?

ica: i think shld use cos eyes are very impt.. i bought sterilized cotton wool balls and gauze from guardian. the cotton wool balls cost $1.50 per pack of 20 balls, gauze is 90 cents or something. but of cos, once opened, not considered sterile anymore. but to keep it as sterile as possible i will seal in a ziplock bag after opening.

during the prenatal class also learnt that we can use cotton with water to clean baby's butt after they poo, esp if they have stools stuck inside. cheaper that using wet wipes also. now Guardian got promo, cotton wool rolls at $1.95 each, 2nd pc at 50% off. cheaper than buying the baby brands. i think gd to get cotton wool rolls cos we can tear out bigger pieces esp for cleaning butt.

Should be..? i was told in the past when wet wipes did not exist or when people wanna save $ they used cotton with water only. perhaps gentler to use cotton and water to clean inside the butt than wiping it with wipes.. maybe butt cheek area can use wipes.. more xiang~

Hi, sorry to interrupt. Any mummies interested in doing prenatal pilates? Am currently letting go some classes at Sky Pilates at Liat Towers in Orchard at a discounted rate.

Pls PM me for more details or email to [email protected] if you are interested. Thanks.

hi atomic kitten, i also failed my OGTT. have been monitoring my sugar level 3x/day, twice a week for the past 5 weeks. so far results have been good, no sign of gestational diabetes but gynae still wants me to monitor. i think with a low sugar diet, your sugar level should also be under control.

hey mummies.. actually how does a real contraction feel like? I was so afraid yesterday night! tummy pain when i went to sleep, and the pain came with intervals, each time it came, bb would be moving non stop! Aiyo i tot she was gonna come out~~ then i touched my tummy, well it wasn't tight like when i was having Braxton Hicks..

I cannot differentiate whether is just pure wanna poo poo pain or contraction. In end end, i got diarrhea la haha, luckily just one time. After that, no more pain le i slept till morning..

Last last sunday, went to KKH 24 hours clinic cuz i suspected i had infection due to itchiness at vagina area.. spent almost 200 there, was given only one pill to insert at night. Hmmmm but they never call me back regarding the test result?! Why like that? then i pay so much for what ah..... heart pain........

Shann Yheng,

dont' heart pain ba..cos afterall, it's all the for good of our baby!

i was also given this huge pill by my gynae to insert when i had yeast infection previously..how does it look like? is it something like pale yellow and has a rather soft texture?