(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Rmummy >> will a lactation nurse be present when BB is brought to me to be BF for the 1st time?

Some pple say nipples will become bigger but i scare if too big, BB's mouth so small how to latch on? hehehee.

Eunice -- when i had my boy, he was a kungfu fighter.. now that i have my girl.. shes more on a gentle side..

when my buddy was preg with a girl, she too had a lazy bb who sleeps and sleep.. and always like to hide at the right side of her tummy.. and each time gynae sees her, the bb sure sleeping.. she too got worried.. but when she delivered her bb.. her bb was soooo active even until now..

so u dun worry so much.. sometimes its also the space constrain.. and the sleeping hours of the bb

my bb is more active from 11pm - 1am.. so i normally will stay awake for her... but some bb can be active at 5am when u are still soundly asleep..

Serene >> haha! bulls' eye. Mine is extremely huge I think! That's why dunno BB can latch on or not....scare wait choke :p

ica -- now hubby will only buy things that she likes and response to it.. i cannot bluff him anymore.. haha..

Hubby: Girl Girl, papa tmr go buy chocolate cake for u?

Baby: wave movements

Hubby: Cheese cake? (cause i say i have cravings)

Baby: silence

Hubby: ok, so tmr papa will buy choc cake for u...

Baby: Wave movements

Me: HOW ABOUT MY CHEESE CAKE???

eunice -- ya, u really don't want violent kicks..coz u can't even sleep at nite due to uncomfy.

erm..nt sure abt nipple size, shape n colour all those..i only knw mine turn darker n bigger. n it's really heavy..

lasery2k ya, sometimes mine bleed when i din apply anything and it's dry - can be painful lor. funny thing is, the right areola is all right. but both breasts getting dry liao. i've been applying olive oil but can't seem to heal completely, just temporary relief

so either lansinoh or mustela right? okie

mrslong -- dun worry about it.. ur lact dr will take a look at ur breast when u deliver and guide u on how to "make use" of ur nipples.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i was looking at my nipples and notice that it looks similar to a milk bottle teat.. keke..

and ya.. bull's eye.. cause bb cant really see properly when they first deliver (because they have been in the dark for the longest time).. so darkening of nipples and size of nipples helps them to detect and go towards it..

Serene hahaha! maybe she was responding to the word "papa" leh? since your hubby din mention "papa" when he asked her whether she wanted cheese cake or not. but very cute...sigh...how i wish i can eat choc cake now. i like awfully chocolate's choc cherry rum - yum yum

Our NIPPLES!!

http://pregnancy.about.com/cs/breastfeeding1/a/aaaboutbreasts.htm

Myth: I have a huge areola and it's just getting bigger and darker. The baby can't feed on that.

Fact: We know that babies like high contrast colors, that is one of the reasons for the darkening of the areola during pregnancy, so the baby can see it! As for the getting it in the mouth of a babe, trust me they can. Babies take much more of the breast in their mouth than a bottle nipple.

http://www.marchofdimes.com/pnhec/159_15243.asp

Darker nipples and areolas

* The nipples will grow darker and may stand out more.

* The areolas (the skin around the nipples) darken and grow larger.

* The small glands on the surface of the areolas become raised and bumpy.

* These bumps produce an oily substance that keeps your nipples from cracking or drying out.

serene: hahaha...tts very very cute of yr little girl...

mine don't response to hubby coz he seldom talk to his boy..typical guys..my little boy rather response to me then him so i still get my way on food..haha..

but then seems like the little 1 inside knws if we are getting his items or wat..when eva we go shopping for his items, he will be super active like he is the 1 shopping..kick here, move there.

ica -- maybe maybe.. but im glad hubby is taking my advice to bond with her more... first 2 trimesters was not so good.. she literally froze when she heard his voice... then he got worried himself.. haha

autrumn >> haha, ya but at least pacifier teats are softer.

Serene >> Oh ok, hehee. Worse come to worse if can't latch, then guess I'll just hv to use pump lor.

mrslong -- some bbs totally rejects pacifier and milk bottle teats and prefer the nipple.. a proper latching is more impt that the size of the booby.. master the latching and things will go smoothly.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

serene -- i trying hard to make my hubby talk to him n try to bond with him...but hubby either stuck to his pc for gaming if nt then watching tv..haiz..

i think need to nag harder..

mrs long, re lactation consultant, i think it depends on the hospital policy and practice. i delivered at Eastshore on a Sun night..so i had to "hamtam" BF baby myself. But the next day, she turned up in the morning to help me and teach me.

Rmummy >> I see. Hopefully there'd be a lactation nurse or consultant around, else anyhow hamtum, wait BB pekchek, i also pekchek, hehee.

Hi Ladies.

Later I am going to JB for dinner with my hubby and my frens. I am wondering if we driving in, where can we get the white cards?

Don't have anymore on hand le.

Ann, very difficult to get the white card now. They have a small hut right before the immigration but a few times that I went, no white cards, and nobody around to ask. We had to get at the immigration counter.

Babycoco: Huh? So troublesome ah? If go to immigration counter then get the cards, wouldn't we be obstructing the queue behind?

Even worse than taking public transport.

depending on which check point wor.. i took mine at tuas check point.. at the queue area, theres a room where u can go in and take [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ica

lanshinoh and medela is made of lanolin... the oil extracted from sheep, so i do not think u would be unless u r also sensitive to lanolin.

just checked - lansinoh is hypoallergenic. can try NUK as well.

My dinner to JB cancelled. Everytime I wanna go Malaysia, sure got something cock up one. That time is hubby has fever.. now is friend suddenly back out say wanna go kill 2 guys. I felt like killing pple too. Now totally no appetite and upset and felt like crying.

yes eating durians does help! When i was having my first child, I kept eating durian during the last tri and baby grew bigger faster! As long as you do not have diabetes or high sugar level, I think eating durian is fine. Protein is good for baby and mummy!

ann - hope u have gotten some dinner by now...don't be upset & starve baby k? maybe your 3rd trip to JB will work out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Serene, autrumn: No.. had not had dinner yet.. totally no appetite. Hubby also dun care abt me.. he is cooking his own food now. Only keep asking me if I wan maggi mee.. if i say no.. then he walked off le. Even more upset. Not even a word of comfort. 3rd trip to JB? I dun even feel like planning liao. It's not the 3rd time i plan to go Malaysia le lo. Very disheartening.

hi, eunice..i'm having a small one too

28 weeks - 940g

doc asked me to lie more on the left side to facilitate blood and nutrient flow..

hmm..next check up is on may 19..

let's see if it helps..err..anyone still on duphaston?? i'm still on it..

ann -- men and woman are diff.. ur hubby prob knows that u are upset but dunno how to console u.. my hubby also like tat.. i must go to his face and tell him "I AM SAD" then he react..

dun be sad.. it will affect the baby.. really.. go grab a bite.. cause ur bb is hungry wor.. eat something.. maybe order a pizza? indulge it together with bb.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Irene- my doc doesn't want me to gain weight in case of swollen feet. Also he wants me to watch my sugar level. Actually, I am quite thin, somemore he told me not to take milk. But I took low fat milk and cheese only in my 6 months onwards.

Eunice-My doc told me that my tummy seemed small and I had to go for a scan to measure the baby and check the blood. Baby is light. Doc told me to have good rest and eat well. So I have to rest more. Praying for baby to be healthy and to gain weight.

Serene: He did ask if I am upset just now. I told him I am upset. Then he just sit there lo. Then went to cook his own dinner and keep asking me wanna eat maggi mee. Then I say dun wan, then he just eat on his own lo. Now he is watching tv in the living room while i cry in the study room in front of the com. Sniffing loudly, he also can't hear.

I really dun feel like eating pizza. Not hungry at all.

Sigh~ dunno which hospital more exp. KKH or Gleaneagles. From the package like no diff like this.. sigh.

Today went for check up, doc say now i am in my 7th month & bb weigh 1.3kg. She say is medium range. Phew.. scared my NB cloths BB cannot wear.

ceres: Unless u are staying in those C class ward in KKH, otherwise I find KKH pricing about the same as those pte hospitals. That's my opinion.

Ann - dun get upset, cos it will affect baby and health. Sometimes, men need to be told nicely cos they dunno how to console us women. Cheer up! Have a warm cup of milo.

Ling: Now that you talked about milo... i just realised i had not had a drop of water since 8pm or earlier... and my hubby doesn't even realise that. He is now just concentrating on his tv. That's all.

i didn't fare too well for my oral glucose tolerance test today. scored 10.1 and the average is 7.8 if i didn't recall wrongly...

julie, what follow up actions did your Dr ask you to take? as my Dr was on leave today, the nurse told me to enrol in a 1-day course where they will provide me with 3 meals, and do finger prick before and after meals. worst of all, i'm supposed to do home monitoring! i'm not gonna prick my finger myself...

feeling so sad and tramautised. didn't expect myself to fail it even though i've been having quite a sweet tooth recently... =(

Ann: try to have a cuppa, maybe it helps to chase the blues away. It can be exasperating when men seem insensitive but actually your husband do care. Actually he seemed to care when he asked you whether you are upset.

Do have an early nite rest!

Ling: Thanks for your comforting words. He care only at tat moment ba. The care vanish in the next moment.

U sleep early too.

Kat - Initially I felt upset when I failed the glucose test when i was made to drink the orange juice. I had do the test twice a week. Per day is 7 times, before and after meals.

Nurse told me to have the packet of rice ready before testing as I had to finish the meal within half an hour. Nurse told me that I can't take the 1st swipe of blood to test as it contains least sugar. So i had to force another swipe of blood out. Try not to take chicken rice (white rice). Soupy fishball noodles (without oil) is preferred.

Ended up i found my pre meal sugar low. Had wholemeal bread for breakfast and sometimes I cook brown rice for dinner. 1 colleague even commented that I had slimmed down! Once in a while, I would have a chicken pie (my fav) and now I skipped starchy food like potato which was my fav.

Jellypuring: I dun even feel like sleeping now. I think BB know how i feel. He just lie still and dun move at all.

ann -- dun be upset liao.. sometimes i will tell myself.. "its the hormones, its the hormones"

dun think too much.. and must eat something.. bb needs food also ma.. no point making urself even more upset..

carrying the bb is very tough process, we must make ourselves happier.. dun think and stay happy no matter what.. like tat bb come out also will happy happy de [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ann

i know... smtimes am like this too... serene is right, it's a tough process gng thru pregnancy...dun b too harsh on urself... happy thots!

Ling, does this mean that we have gestational diabetes or just high sugar level?

Prick 7 times in a day? I'm not sure if I can bear to do it myself... =(

Am still feeling so upset and I would end up tearing uncontrollably when I think abt it...

Jelly: doc oso nvr ask me to go for the glucose test.. I think she'll only ask me to take the test if I fail the urine-on-a-stick test..

ann: dun b too upset, if it's me i will go sit between my husband n the tv so he can't watch his tv. I not happy I will also also irritate him.

Diabetes: omg! Must prick 7 times a day??? Doc been asking me to watch my sugar level, cos I'm v near to failing the test. But it's just so difficult to stay away from bread n pasteries!!!!

Eunice,

Don’t worry about the kicks. Sometimes they are hard and sometimes they are soft. Like for my boy, just last week he was kicking real hard, but for the past few days, he hardly kick. Only felt him moving and turning around only. Just went for my gynae visit and I told him my concern as well, thus he help me check. After the scan, everything is well. At 28th week, my boy is weighing at 1.17kg (mrslong, same weight as ur bb!). He is still facing upwards, lying horizontally across my tummy with his head on my right side and butt on the left side.

Serene,

Wow, your girl is really amazing! Haha and she can differentiate between chocolate cake and cheese cake!? For my boy, he sees his mood one. Sometimes when hubby put his hand on my tummy, my boy will kick, but sometimes no reaction also..lol..

Ann,

Don’t be angry le. Sometimes men are like that. Like what one of the mommies mentioned, when he asked, he is alr showing concern. Sometimes my hubby also like that. Then one day, I finally cannot tahan and I ask him: how come he knows that I am upset, but he is not doing anything to “show concern”. You know what his reply was? He said,” I know you are upset and I think its best to let you cool off first. Don’t want to be doing anything more that might irritate you even further.” So to him, that’s his way to “show concern” cos he scare that he would make me even more upset, thus we choose to leave me alone.