(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

juz now i was in the toilet and suddenly got one pop sound which startled me quite a bit coz i'm home alone. To my horror.. the energy-saving kinda of light bulb dropped right infront of me onto the bathroom mat. It was juz inches from my head n feet! Can u imagine if it had hit my head!!! which will break first!?!? I'm getting impatient waiting for my hubby to come back ...everyday i tell myself it's okie, its okie... but i'm getting fed up! I did so much housework that i feel so frustrated coz there are juz somethings which i can no longer handle like b4! i'll juz leave the bulb where it is and show him when he is back!

hi ladies! im still in TW! hee..coming back on Sunday.. its cloudy here and definitely cooler than SG!But with more dirt lei.. washed my clothes and like veri dirty lei.. same goes my hubby clothes..

BB clothes here isnt that cheap eh.. tink buy BP in forum is more worth it.. but bb clothes is still the winner!I only bought 5 top for myself? LOL.. even for bags i wanna buy big one so that it can be a diaper bag too..

just a relax trip for me and hubby.. watch Iron man 2 just now here too. Ya, i also prefer iron man 1. BB didnt move much previous 2 days.. was so worry lei... but today he's with reaction le.. especially to loud effect just now..

Im so worry for my little one.. when im back, I try to have 4d scan again..

Anyone noe if really still cant see bb, they nv give any photo and video still must charge? The last sonographer mention to me no nid..

Hi, I'm a July 2010 MTB. It has been a long time since I visited this thread.

I have already booked a confinement nanny. However, as I am getting a maid at the last min, and my mom can cook for me during the confinement period, I am thinking of not engaging her to save cost. I feel bad for not engaging her at the last min as she did my previous confinement for me so I hope to find her another assignment. She is a Malaysian. She is quite a good confinement nanny. Got initiative. She charges me $1.9k. Interested MTB can email me at [email protected].

Atomickitten,

Aiyo..*sayang sayang*...relax ya. When is your hubby coming back? Think its better to sweep it to a side first. Very dangerous to just leave it there.

cheese - for 4D scan, don't think they will charge if baby position is not good or no photo/video given. i went for my scan last wk but becoz baby was too skinny & not in good position, the clniic din charge & ask me to come bac in 2wks' time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

FL,

my boy is coming to 4 yrs old. ya i will rush home to cook for him sometimes i dun cook as he wants to eat food @ restaurants n sometimes mac.

i need to leave on the dot as i have to reach cc by 7. hb schedule not regular and he needs to fly frequently. so every morning and evening i am just like a crazy woman.

Morning mummies..

for the BB pillow, i did get at the Taka fair where ther tis ladies introducing the beans sprout pillow..for the head type its totally flat in the middle but with the bean sprout at the side so tat BB head can be position without lifting it... dnt knw got use or nt...

Atomickitten - u hv to stay cheerful no matter wat k...tink of ur BB n be hapi.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello morn! Ya these few days the weather was really hot. I have been waking up in the middle of the nite to find myself perspiring! And i didnt switch on the aircon coz hubby is sick.

vivi: u r a supermummy... i hope i can manage like u next time. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Atomickitten and Jaclyn: Yes my little rascal is uncooperative. So young got attitude already hahahahah.

At this point I feel that I should leave it as a surprise but my poor husby is keen to find out baby's sex.

Im more keen to see my baby's face during the 4D scan... so curious.

I have seen the other mummies post the 4D pictures.. the baby's cheeks are so chubby and cute.. .and I feel like pinching them hahahaha

Atomickitten, I understand what you feel but best to clear the mess dear... in case you hurt yourself.. You know lah our memories are especially so bad at this time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hello morning mummies!

i'm thinking of an english name for my baby boy and would prefer a name starting with K (cos that's my hubby initial for his english name also)..

anyone can help me to suggest a few? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning ladies,

Went for my gynae checkup yest....BB's weighing at 1.17kg at 28 weeks. Normal weight, and head down position yesterday. I asked doc if BB's head will stay down throughout, she said NO...cuz still too early.

Sweetkiss >> I was also just prescribed my iron pills for the 1st time yesterday as my iron level was pretty high but I told doc I have giddy spells so I requested to do my blood test yest (initially she wanted to do my blood test only in my Wk 32).

Turns out my iron level dropped alot. From 14.6 to 9.9 (if iron level is below 12, then need to take iron pills already). My HB was pretty upset cuz he said why the gynae never check earlier, if I nvr request then wait until Wk 32...jialat liao lor.

Mrslong: No wonder... cos my iron level is also 9+. Previously was around 13. Only found out during Wk 31 as well. So i was told to stop my multi-vitamins and take iron instead.

Sweetkiss >> Doc asked me to take 2 iron pills p/day....think most pple take only 1.

BTW mummies, how to deal with constipation? Nvr had a prob with that but now with iron, I forsee it coming.

mrslong

try drinking prune juice or apple juice..it help for me.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrslong drink more water, eat more fibre (fruit, vege). prune juice, papaya good to combat constipation but be careful coz they're sweet - not too much.

Nowadays, I keep feeling very werid bb movements. its like my bb is having a spasm or something. Anyone feel anything like that? I am worried. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

munchies: Is it something like a sudden jerk? And you can feel the tummy vibrate suddenly? I get that sometimes and wonder is happening?

hey ica, how do hiccups feel? but they are not rhythmic... i tried conveying my concerns to my gyn but she doesnt really understand what i am trying to tell her. BTW my gyn has never been preg before.

I am worried if my bb cld be having seizures in the womb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hi vernie,

Yah yah its like the stomach will vibrate suddenly, but i dun feel any jerks though. Its like the bb is shaking or struggling inside cos the stomach vibrates.

mrslong, before i got preg, my blood level has always been 14+, almost 15. imagine my shock when i did blood test & it went down to 12+, and that's after taking the iron pills. even then i do feel dizzy, giddy sometimes.

yup, taking the iron pills will make your stool greenish/black. nothing to worry about.

for baby hiccups, it is faster than ours, but there is still a slight interval.

hi munchies, i get those weird movements too. just got one in fact.. like a very fast and violent dum-dum-dum-dum? I think baby should be fine, better if she moves than if she doesnt?

babycoco >> Oh ok, thanks. Think my BB hiccup quite frequently and the interval is quite fast so was wondering if he's hiccup-ping, heehe.

I also have weird vibrations... they don't last long.. just a short while *vibrate vibrate vibrate* then stop. I think its normal lah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yesterday my boy didn't move the whole day.. make me so worried. But at night while watching soccer with hubby, he begin to move alot hahaa.. hubby say he surely soccer player nx time =D

Oh dear all these iron talk making me scared cos I have not been on iron pills at all.. doc also never ask me to go blood test. My 31week appt is next monday.. will ask her abt blood test then.

Jaclyn,

think u shld ask to go for a blood test, i hve been taking my iron regularly and yet I am still low in blood count and doc says just ok if i have to go for a csection.

hi peanut,

thats is true, when bb dun move, i also get paranoid..

But my bb has been super active .. esp last night. I think it was the orange juice i drank after dinner. She kept me awake till 3am.

Morning Mummies! (well almost afternoon)

munchies- i get dat movement all d time.. glad dat i'm not d only one feeling it.. yah been wondering y also. myb tmrw for my checkup i'l ask my gynae.

Anyways any mummies knw whr i can find Pigeon Nipple Cream..?

Ystrdy went to Giant to find NB diapers, was so clueless as thr were many type of brands n prices. So i was juz browsing for quite a long time, went back to hubby tld him i cldnt make up my mind on whch diapers to buy. So he told me "how hard could dat be?!" then he went thr himself n ended up browsing longer than me.. hahaha!! i turned to him n say "right back at u honey!" [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/kao_laugh.gif]

Hi aisha,

boy am i glad too that I am not the only one feeling it. Being a first time mummy, I get paranoid easily. let me know wat ur gyn says.

Actually, I dun know what brand of diapers to buy too but I will prob bring back Pampers from manila to sin when I return to SIN for birth. Heard from the mummies here, pampers is much much cheaper in manila than in sin.

Sweetkiss >> Same as you Neogobion. So scare I'll hv very bad constipation cuz am taking 2 pills a day....

Aisha>> U can try getting Medla nipple cream. My friend recommended it to me, she said it's ok. I got one for myself during Taka BB Fair.

BTW mummies who are giving birth in TMC & goes for gynae visits @ TMC, who wants to buy Fitti Comfort 360 NB diapers, it's available at the Pharmacy $8 a pk for 28pcs.

That diapers can be quite hard to find elsewhere.

I get those movements from baby too. I think now baby is bigger so we're feeling a different set of movements. My gynae said just as long as we monitor movements, doesn't matter what type of movements, can be small kicks, hiccups, flying kicks etc. then baby should be ok.

Last visit, my gynae asked me to stop my formula maternal milk cos baby is slightly on the big side. That day I went back and compared the formula milk to HL milk and boy, was I shocked! The formula milk provides 10X more fats than HL milk and much more CHO also. No wonder!

so sad! heard from my colleague that our co is converting the changing room to somethng else. hence i cant use the place for expressing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

have to express in the toilet. feels so sorry for the bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

the baby movements in our tummy are mostly reflex movements.. if u watched the video which i posted earlier, it mentioned that baby are sleeping 90% of their time.. and the movements we feels are mostly them learning thru reflexes.. so dun worry too much abt it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hmm..i notice that my boy didnt move much after monday when he was kicking away while i was watching Iron man 2..lucky my gynae apptm is tonight...can have a check on my boy then.

I also encountered bb movements like jerks and was also wondering.

Taking 2 iron tablets daily as iron level is low.Must watch sugar level and doc doesn't want me to gain weight (already underweight b4 I was preggie and just in case of swollen feet) and yet bb needs to gain weight. What a dilemma. Really feel like eating durians to help bb to gain wt (though I dun like)!!!!

As for nipple cream, the antenatal trainer told us that it’s better to use Avent nipple cream as it can be used during bf. Not for other cream which has to be washed off before bf.

Anyone got website to recommend for chinese names? (preferably no reading of 8 characters)

erm mummies

Just want to check with Mummies tat are using or will be using Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment if with one - the Original (Purplebox) or the Creamy (bluebox) is better?

Ling >> Nipple cream - i didn't know only Avent cream can be used during BF. Cuz I thought Medela also can...hv to go bk & read the packaging.

Mrs Long - not sure abt Medela but do check whether can or not. esp if it contains vitamins, then not advisable according to the trainer.

Haven't bought my cream yet as my friend told me it's not necessary to buy unless you have sore nipples.

hi LT, i am using Desitin Creamy (blue box). Its the best one so far amg the creams i've used (Drapolene, Pureen, Anaku). The other good one is California Baby Calendula Cream but its a bit expensive.

junie

alot of the nipple cream can be used for breastfeeding. they are the "no wash" kind. u apply and it is safe for baby.

the following brands are safe for BF

avent

medela - v oily. i dun like

lanshinoh - this i use before. quite good

earth mama & angel baby - am gng to try this out since it is organic but is costly

hvg said that, it is good to practice good hygiene by using a warm, moist towel to clean ur breast before and after breastfeeding.

i have heard that the best breat cream is ur own milk! cheap and good, but that din work for me because i din dry and air my nipples enough after a feed.

another thing u may consider getting is a hydrogel breastpad if u r afraid that u will get sore nipples. u can keep it in the fridge. make it v cold and apply on ur breast after bf. quite shiok and also calms ur nipples down after bb suckled it for alike good 20min

Back from check up~ so happy! bb girl is not too big this time, at 24th week was 1kg, now 28th week at 1.3kg, so happy lor! Gynae said I can continue with my durian intake. Hubby has been pestering to buy again and i have been stopping him. We always get our durian at bugis queen street, best durian supplier.. good service and their durian is the BEST!

Bb has been quite active recently, and saw her sucking thumb during the scan!

Also, gynae said it's ok to lie on our back to sleep no worries.

And i put on 9kg so far. Weight is shooting up!

Actually i started applying nipple cream & bust support cream since i was about 5mths preggie, coz i was leaking colustrum and my nipples seemed to be "peeling". I am using Palmers & Mustela. On the packaging it mentioned is safe for breastfeeding, dun have to wash off before BF. After using nipple creams, my condition really improve.. so i think if i were to start BF, I will continue using also.