(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

AtomicKitten>> Ya...I was quite surprise when my boss pass me the birdsnest. It's quite easy to cook the birds nest - double boil method. Soak the birds nest for 1/2 hour for it to soften. Then put the birdsnest into a smaller pot (with 1 rice bowl of water) in the bigger pot (water must cover half the height of the smaller pot. Boil for 2 hours then add rock sugar for taste.

bbbliss: orh.. now i know whats "double boil". thanx for sharing! Think i can try! so use low heat huh? wouldnt the water all evaporate after 2 hours eh?sorry.. i never try b4 so wondering..

btw, my CL also said we can eat the dessert call "fu zu yi mi"...not sure what's that in English (something barley) but desserts stall do sell.

Just to check, so we can drink chicken esssence with cordycep and ginseng now? Just that dont drink too regularly?

EDD date: My gynae told me the EDD date we shld follow the very first one when we know we are preggie. As all our babies will grow at different rate, eventually when u go scanning, the EDD will be changed.

Jo Lyn>> ya, my gynae also said to follow the 1st EDD date but usually the EDD will change according to your BB's growth. And for EDD, it won't change so much (e.g. 12 Jul become 20 Jun)

Atomickitten>> Any week after Wk 38 is considered full term liao...so it's ok to deliver by then.

atomickitten: i think once u hit week 37 or 38 is safe to delivery ur baby already. I was also told first baby usually will be early. Dunno how true. Hhaha..

My EDD is 9 July 2010, my gynae said.. 3 weeks before, I am ready to deliver liao.. so means its 18 June onwards.. I can standby for delivery liao, depending on the baby.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

AtomicKitten: In that case from now onwards you keep tell ur baby. "Come out on Mummy Bday, come out on Mummy Bday!!" hahaha..

AtomicKitten>> my EDD is 27 Jul but am hoping BB can "come out" on 18 Jul, same BD as my HB & same horoscope sign as me & my HB, hehe. And just nice, 38wks+ liao too.

AtomicKitten : Actually I am very scared.. Hahaha...

My threshold level of pain is very low.. When I cut myself (with very little blood) my whole body will turn soft.. No energy..

I was joking with my hubby.. how ah?! like that how I go and give birth?! OMG!!

atomickitten: hahaha.. Ya hor. Like that one day difference lah. Then ur hubby will MIA during that 2 days! Escape from spending too much. Hehehe... Guess most of our babies will be Cancerian rite?

Jo_Lyn>> if based on my EDD, my BB will be a Leo cuz end Jul....but am hoping if BB comes out by 23 Jul, then he'll be a Cancerian like his papa & mama [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

AtomicKitten>> ya, just buy for BB can already cuz I never buy BD cake for my HB b4 anyway, haha. Guys dun usually mind such stuff. I buy him BD gift can liao.

mrslong

if eat "bu" now, will baby be big do u know?

re: prenatal classes

i have signed up mrs wong's class at 1st May AMK hub bec parentcraft lady told me for July delivery May1st is gd so close enough to EDD to rem how to "breathe" .. but so many mommies going for mid March class. maybe i shld change?

hael: Initially i also want to sign up for May class. But my friends advise me that by then maybe we will be too big and tired to go. & the excercise that they teach us we have lesser time to do. That is why i took the March class. But hopefully i will still remember how to breathe when in labour! Hahaha..

Minmin :your r expecting 1st BB huh? u r not alone.. I also very scare!! but everyday see bump grows bigger.. i get very excited leh! I also scare faint.. I fainted twice on the streets coz of bad mens cramp n once kana send to hosp by some kind samaritan! So for me.. high chance gg for C-section leh

mrslong : if yr BB comes out on hubby's BD..u can juz tie a nice ribbon n give to yr hubbby as his bday present and tell him to take care and nurture properly! haha its a present for life! every year his "present" will grow bigger :p

hael>> that i'm not too sure but then when u go for scan, your gynae wld be able to advise you if BB's growth is ok.

anyway, the "bu" is only taken like once a week so i guess it shld be ok.

but some say taking birdnest, BB will also grow too big, so hv to let gynae advise during your visits.

i'm intending to stop taking birdnest after my last bottle finish (shld be by end of Apr) cuz heard birdnest only "bu" complexion & nothing much, heehe.

Agreed Mrs Long Tigers Boy for me too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2 more yrs try one more. If still boy . Factory sure closed ...

AtomicKitten>> Yes, double boil the birds nest using low fire. The water won't dry up cos you cover the big pot. As for the smaller pot, buy those 炖盅 (chinese double boil pot). It comes with 2 covers. This will prevent the steam from escaping from your soup.

keer13: i take bird's nest once a week. and red date + wolfberry if i remember to boil it..hehe

Ann: try Ariston for front loading washing machine

ginseng (ren sheng): my cousin who's also pregnant, said her gynae told her not to take coz may result in blood not able to clot. pao sheng should be ok, i think

Atomickitten: actually not difficult to brew bird's nest. i put in a small container with water, and place it in a slow cooker with water filled to at least 1/2 the height of the small container. i let it cook for 4-5 hours. oh ya, i will also place a clean washcloth below the small container to prevent it from rattling when the water in the slow cooker boils. i do it at night and in the morning i'll drink it before consuming anything. better absorption on empty stomach

bird's nest also to strengthen lungs. but for full benefits of bird's nest, it must be taken on a consistent basis.

chicken essence: can take now but once a week should be enough. some mommies reported that their babies have strong legs when born

EDD: should take the one given by gynae. anyway, it's an estimated date, so no worry.

hael, Jolyn: funny leh, when i told the parentcraft lady my EDD is July, she said May is too late, so i signed up for March class

ica: hmmm i went the parentcraft and the lady ask me book for May. But end up i insisted I want March one. Hahah... Think they anyhow..

tonics -- im supposed to be bu-ed now.. but i have been sick and coughing for the last 2 weeks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so my mom say... next week onwards then start to bu lor...then i will have 1 mth to bu before i have to start all the liang things liao... sianzz.. but i need the bu wor.. my body so weak.. keep falling sick

EDD -- follow the latest one.. cause EDD will be changed according to the development.. but hor... after the detailed scan, gynae will normally follow the weight of the bb liao... for me, i give myself (2 weeks - EDD) lor.. so i think i will deliver early july...

i also dunno how i sprain myself.. jus cough and i hurt myself.. i sprained at my ribcage area, under my armpit near my boobs... -.- now when i take deep breath, that area hurts... ytd i took paracetamol to ease the pain and relax the muscle.. i almost couldnt sleep.. cause i cannot lie properly on the bed.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ling -- u shud be able to feel bb movement every 30 mins.. as bb also need to sleep and each sleeping interval is about 30-40 mins.. so u shud gauge roughly about there.. dun panic if i dun feel anything but if u dun feel right, u shud see ur gynae.

sometimes we are doing things, walking arnd, so we cannot feel the movement. stay calm and quiet and u can start feeling bb's movements again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ling: I dunno how many times I should feel BB move.. but as long as I feel him move throughout the day and feels right, I think he should be fine. Hehe!!

ica: Ariston? Ok.. shall take a look this weekend if got time. I find my weekend quite packed lei.. dunno why.

Sorry to interrupt. Have an almost BN CAPELLA Cony Premium S230 (2009) for sale. Used only once (less than a month old) as baby prefers the quinny buzz. Bought for $399. Letting go at $320.

Description :

Reversible handle

Adjustable handle

Adjustable back rest

Seat angle – 180 ̊

One-hand folding system

2 sided additional seat cushion

Extension foot rest

Ventilation system

Full canopy

Big shopping basket

Swivel wheels

Safety bumper bar

5 point harness safety belt

2nd safety lock

Convenient brake

Suitable for babies from birth

Weight: 6.9kg

Please email [email protected] if interested. Thanks!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3710813.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3710814.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3710815.jpg]

Atomickitten: I heard caesarean take a long time to recover. Have you thought of normal delivery with epidural? I most likely be going with it.

My galfriend was sharing with me that if I opt for epidural, I should sign on some form of documents 1st so that if I need the epidural they can straight away give it to me.

For my galfriend's case, she was already in great pain, but need to listen to the missy on the effects of epidural, sign on the documents, and waited 20mins before the epidural take effect. It was a painful experience.

Epi -- for my first delivery, i didnt take any epi.. i jus use the gas to tahan and wait for dr ang... when dr ang came, i threw the gas one side and start pushing.. lol.. i was more scared of the epi than the pain.. the needle of the epi is crazily LONG... haha.. i told my hubby... i wont use epi not because im a hero, but im more scared of the needle than the pain.. haha.. so im not gg for epi...

anyway, the pain is not continuous. to me, its bearable.. maybe because my threshold is very high.. and with my hubby's support, i was able to deliver in 3 pushes..

after delivery, i was ask to bed rest.. but i sneak out to the petrol kiosk to buy puffs.. haha.. then kena caught by missy.. wahahahaha.. next day, i could walk arnd the hospital also..

heard from my friend, she took epi.. i was so numb and giddy that she had to sleep and rest on the bed... i hear liao i very scared.. so i decided to go without epi

anyone know if I am having too much pu soup anot... my MIL feed me wif cordycep and wolfberry sometime with lean meat, chicken, black chicken, frog meat... i take 1 - 2 times a week (mon-wed & fri either 2 days)

and once a week bird nest....every thurs

my mother also feed me sweet soup wif wolfberry with tang sheng and red date... every weekend

i worry bb too big and too yellow....

fri i was 19wk 5 days bb weight 328gm

yvonne -- 1-2 times per week shud be ok... bird nest is not bu.. its more "zi run" so its ok..

i dun think bb would be yellow by drinking all these wor...

and.. u bu now its ok... but during 3rd tri cannot bu liao ah... if not bb will be big...

Serene: I salute u leh. How you tahan w/o epi? I telling myself i dont want take too. Hopefully when the time comes i can tahan. Hahaha!!

Ann: ya, my mum used ariston for more than 10 years - no problem. i like it too, but need to let you know that it doesn't spin out water from the clothes 100% - clothes still a bit damp after wash. but ok with me coz there'll less creases. if you want you can spin the clothes again, to take out excess water

Serene: take good care of yourself ya. i find that when i dun drink enough water or take enough fruit, i'll feel one kind, like going to fall sick. also keep yourself in a happy optimistic mood - good for you and baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Omg, is the epi needle really so scary?

I already have made up my mind to have natural delivery with epi..

I tot they will inject anesthesia before the epi? So u dun get to feel the long needle or anything. Heard the needle is thick also.

Wah talking about Bu today? Think i am the worst. Nv take all these Bu except for birdnest and everyday i eat outside food..so unhealthy.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sun_tan, i'm worse than you, i don't even take birdsnest. my mom doesn't know about all these bu stuff, my mil is angmoh, so know even less. but i've loved cordyceps since small. so thinking of getting some & making myself cordyceps soup but have no idea how.