(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

xbeanniex: ya, i think after 1st tri, gynaes will usually measure the weight instead of the CRL. my gynae also told me for future scans, she'll be concentrating on baby's head, brain development or something

oh, some old aunties also told me to boil red dates and wolfberries to drink - improve blood circulation but i've not tried yet.

hi ladies, this is what i found about honey when i googled online..

Honey - it's fine for pregnant women but honey isn't suitable for babies under a year old

just for sharing..

and oh, yup, i'm interested to know my bb weight also..will check with my gynae on my next visit in 2 weeks time..

and yeah, we shouldn't try to put on too much weight! otherwise, bb must be delivered through C section...more painful (esp on the recovering part) for us mommies

thanks so much for sharing too jellypurin! yup i will sure find a day to shop for maternity clothes these few weeks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babycoco, yours at 140g...so ideal. that's why my gyane told me to cut off sugar. mine is in the 97th percentile - large. she said ideal is 50th percentile.

a Wk18 baby is about 200g and mine is only Wk16!

I got a question, when people say certain food / drinks cause phlegm, it's us the mother that will have that right. For I have this thinking that our digestion system is the one dealing with the food. Whatever goes to the baby are the nutrients that's derived from the digestion.

Another school of thought, dun think Ang Mos have this theory of cooling and heaty food that chinese have. But one thing for certain they dun have as much water melon as we have in sg.

I'll try to avoid food that people say shouldn't take, but then, if I really crave for something, I'll still take it, just in moderation.

watermelon:

i ate quite a lot during my 1st pregnancy, till my hb stopped me from eating, cos i can finish a quarter of watermelon in 2 days. :p

Make-up:

I still put on make up. think no problem ba. else those actress dir lor, since they need to put on make up when they work. with all the out break on my face, w/o make up, can die.

noknok, ya, that's the problem i have. my mil is angmoh, so no point asking her about cooling, heaty food. she won't understand. and my mom not in singapore. so i just eat whatever i want, in moderation, until i find out (like watermelon) that it's not good. didn't know del monte banana also not good.

Agree with Noknok but if unsure better to consult also and also early stage try avoid until BB is stable.. this is what i did.

ica, red dates is 'bu xue' (replenish blood) and wolfberries is ming mu (good for eye sight), wolfberries has loads of antioxidents too if I dun remember wrongly. I usually boil it with longan (forgot what is this for) cos they always seem to be together. Longan add natural sweetness to the drink too.

I'm drinking and eating watever that will help with blood count and iron (gynae ask me to eat red meat and liver) cos I got Thalasseamia trait and I often have giddy spells.

My grandma also ask me to make the same drink when I am having my periods. Suppose to replenish the blood that we lost.

Supergal - I am taking Obical brand for Calcium & Obimin Pluz with DHA & EPA including fish oil in the obimin pluz .. 1 day one tablet . Total i consume 2 tablet ..

ICA - Red Dates are good for blood circulation. Especially when we just gave birth. My Ex MIL is a chinese so when i gave birth 1st son she boil for me that ..

babycoco,

Call your mum and ask?? Make her feel important too.. hee..

Another chinese saying that we should not take is the chinese barley. Not the one that make the barley drink that's usually sold in drink stall, that's holland barley. It's a bigger one that I personally find dun taste nice. It's much more 'cooling' then the holland barley.

Back to food list again...

Raw honey - I'm taking the the Manuka kind because i was having quite a lot of phelgm. I only take 1 teaspoon a day, not every day though cuz now my cough slightly better.

Fruits - except Del Monte banana, i whacked almost all types of fruits liaoz. Strawberries, watermelon, mandarin oranges, grapes but I had different fruits every day... If don't take fruits, easily got constipation --> piles... so u cant possibly avoid all "cooling" stuff as we need these "cooling" stuff to soften our stools leh...

not sure if the phlegm refers to the mother hvg it or the BB...but i heard that if we drink too much cold stuff, BB may develop asthma.

but all these are really up to the individual i guess.

On honey - honey is suppose to ease cough but at the same time it also causes phlegm. If you're prone to having phlegm, add lemon into your honey to neutralise the effect. Remember not to use hot water cos it'll kill all the vit. and to take honey from bottles using ceramic or plastic spoons as metal will cause some kind of chemical reaction with the honey and destroy some of vit as well.

babycoco: how much is the package?

n wat time are the prenatal yoga classes?

i seriously needa wkout. i needa find a life aft wk.

For me, anything that i think is cooling or unsure, i will only eat if hubby is around. Sometimes i just crave for it not knowing whether i can eat it. So i will have a few bites and make myself happy and let hubby finish the rest... So if it is really too cooling, at least wont affect me much since i only take a little.

When can we start exercising??

When I reach week 12, I started walking my dogs again and did some simple stretching at night but ended up having spotting. Doc ask me not to move around so much.. now I am paranoid when it comes to exercising.

Noknok: Maybe just rest more. When I do alot more housework than usual over the weekend, i also kanna brown spotting.. but after resting, it just go away.

Oh.. i have decided to go BKK at the end of this mth.. now is how to tell my mum about it without her nagging at me. I think my MIL is also not as naggy as her lei.

Ann - bring your mum along and ask Dr Fong for permission. That way she got no excuse for not letting you go liao.

Guess she's concern cos you din have a smooth 1st trim. Remember to buy travel insurance as well just in case you need to see a gynae there.

Noknok: I am planning to depart on 26th Feb and my scan is on 25 Feb lei. Haha!! How to bring her along to ask for permission? Even if she say no in the end, i also have to go since I would have paid for air tickets and accommodation by then.

Actually I didn't tell my mum about my 1st trimester.. my bleeding events or my spotting drama.. cause i dun wan her to worry.. so she doesn't know at all.

Ya.. Dr Fong also ask me to buy insurance.

Somtime, just to avoid her nagging, i just felt like going to Sentosa with my dogs and rot there.. hate to hear nagging especially now when i am preggy.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3592616.jpg]

Anyone know where to buy that cage thingy? very cute and good for keeping child from crawling around.

The clearance sales at Thyme Maternity was really good, but it was only available at OG Orchard. Last day was Sunday, 31 Jan. I got 2 skirts for $29, 1 pair of pants and swimsuit for $39. Total damage $68! Worth it!

The vits that I'm taking now is Obimin and Natal Plus (Fish oil thingy) and calcium.

My tummy is also quite small, and most ppl don't know that I'm pregnant. Currently 15wks 2days.

noknok, when i signed up for my first class, the receptionist only said we have to be in our 2nd trim to do prenatal yoga. but you should check with your gynae.

babycoco: my mum told me that i can't take del monte bananas cos it's cooling. only can take those short bananas but i skip that. Somemore thought it would be good to take bananas to fight constipation. Told me to skip watermelons and pineapples too.

Every morning, i ate an apple or papaya to help fight constipation. Maybe u can try other fruits. Even tried prune juice.

Dear gals, thanks. Hee. Will let my younger one to wear her 1 yr old sister's clothing. Save $$.

Yup babycoco, I was given 4 days hospitalization leave to rest. Was told not to carry heavy items and my daughter, not to exert too much or exercise. Might experience cramps too so really hv to rest well.

Autrumn, yes that's this express service but will have to pY extra lo. My hb rejected the offer, faint. Then now hv to wait for 14 days. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re: food to avoid

To share with all mtb, my grandmother ask me to avoid chin chow/ chin chow drinks. Too cooling as well.

Last pregnancy, during the last trim, I took watermelon but in moderate and also 2 young coconut drink per week.

YOGA AT MOTHER AND CHILD

Great offer for Pregnant Mums! We offer a package of 8 classes for $195, and you can come to any of the yoga classes on offer. If you have your baby before you have completed the package, you can use them for the Postnatal classes,

YOGA CLASS TIMES PRENATAL YOGA

Tuesday morning 10.30am – 11.45

Thursday evening 7.15pm-8.30pm

Friday Afternoon

2.00pm – 3.15pm

Saturday morning 9:30am-10.45am

Sunday Morning

11.00 -12.15pm

POSTNATAL YOGA

Tuesday morning 12.00noon – 1.00pm

(baby can come too!)

Advanced Bookings are required for all classes. A maximum number of 12 taken on the Tuesday Classes and a maximum number of 15 for the Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday Classes

Please contact Mother & Child on 6836-0063 or email to [email protected] if you have any questions.

Yoga postures build strength, stamina, and endurance.

Ceres: I saw something similar at the shop The First Few Years at Paragon. Thought it looks good too but when I see my house, like not much space to create such a big enclosure. Haha!!

Morning all,

Ceres / Ann, I think I jus baby gate one empty room in my house and put the play mat will achieve the above liao.. haha... SG houses are simply too small.

How do you mothers manage to kick the coffee habit ah?? I can go without coffee if I'm not working, but I simply can't open my eyes without it in the office.

Oh.. to add one more thing into the avoid list.. someone ask me not to take green bean soup. Same thing.. too cooling

Dear Mommies,

I have a pre-loved Medala Mini Electric Plus (dual electric pump) for sale, suitable for home and on-the-go usage.

Bought 24 Jan 2010, in good condition & comes with warranty.

The breastpump comes with a full range adjustable vacuum, 2 funnels, 1 set of tubing & 1 adapter (Electric or battery use).

On top, I have 6 Medala bottles (5oz), a Medala cooler bag & Medala CityStyle breastpump bag for sale too.

CityStyle breastpump bag

• A stylish and attractive bag to transport the Medela breastpump and expressed breastmilk.

Medala cooler bag

• To cool, store and transport breastmilk

I am selling the Medala mini eclectic plus breastpump, 6 medala bottles, Medala cooler bag & CityStyle breastpump bag, all at SG$280.

Prices are negotiable. PM me if interested.

ceres,

you can get the gate from kiddy palace but they only sell 4 panels...if you want 6 panels( like in the pix) can get from cheong choon at people's park complex(near swanston whereby you can get cheap clarins oil)...they will also deliver

Noknok: I don't have any empty room le.. one master bedroom.. one study room.. and the last room, my hubby use it as his relaxation room. Dun think he will give it up yet since he just convert the room end of last year. Haha!! Living room also not much space.. I always wonder.. i live in a 5 room flat and not much furnitures, how come still not enough space. Even baby cot also got to squeeze into my master bedroom cos hubby prefer baby to sleep in the same room as us for the 1st year.

I just try not to look at coffee.. or smell them.. then slowly will forget about it le.

morning ladies,

talking abt exercise, swimming is a good form of exercising, cuz you won't feel so "heavy" when in water.

i think now is a good time to start exercising already esp. in our 2nd trimester.

Ann>> me also stay in 5rm & I already think it won't be enough, especially when the kid gets bigger.

my master bedroom dun even hv space to put a baby cot cuz we had a walk-in wardrobe built in, hehee. So now may hv to use a Moses bed for baby to sleep with us for the 1st 3 mths...then move baby to a cot in the nursery room thereafter.

mrslong: At least you have a nursery room for the baby.. I dun even have a room available now. I also have a built in wardrobe. But luckily not that big or else sure dun have space for BB to sleep le.

mrslong - not very advisable for bb to sleep with adults leh.. there are cases that the adult accidentally suffocate bb while sleeping. Just to let you know first.

noknok>> oh, my baby will not be sleeping with us on the bed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] He'll have his own Moses basket with a stand, we'll put it beside our bed. But the basket can only be used till he's abt 3mths...so bb will hv to sleep in a cot thereafter in the nursery room [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oic.. hee....

Wah.. then after 3 mths u hv to keep running to the other room to care for the BB ah?? better put in one more single bed or mattress..

Thanks all for the information. Will go look around after i finish my exam. I'm still living with parents (private property) so can buy that cage... once my HBD hse ready i think that cage can give my dog at my parents hse play. -.- I agree SG hse very small.

I really feel like going YOGA but seems like the thread got 2 choices... Shoma & mother&child. Seems like mother&child like cheaper & more flexible...

I dun dare to slp with BB... i toss n kick... i cannot imagine later i wake up wat i will see...

Is there any book that teaches mother like what stage to prepare to buy wat? my hand very itchy to buy BB stuff... hopefully once i know the gender i can go shop for it.

noknok>> ya, i guess so. but it's actually advisable for baby to sleep in their own room from young (maybe after a few mth's old), else wait become a habit, they always want to sleep with mummy & daddy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]