(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

munchies

yah, i think i have been to the SM at glorietta but that time i didnt know babystuff was gd buy. so blur.

when are their sales period by the way, do you happen to know? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yup, i'm sure all of us have the same worries and stress. i didn't find out i was pregnant until i was 10 wks +. in the meantime, i still went for my normal yoga classes every sunday (still cringe when i think of all the poses that i did), had very severe diarrhoea, worked my butt off at work. i feel very guilty that i didn't take care of my bb, didn't take folic acid etc. but i'm thinking this bb must be a fighter to withstand all that and hope that everything will be ok.

Noknok,

I'm going for my scan and doctor's appt tomorrow. You can't imagine how nervous I am too. At least I know it's normal for us mummies to feel this way then. Hopefully I will manage to get a good night's sleep tonight. Tomorrow wake up and get ready to go! Wish me luck!

I really respect all of you working in this 1st trimester period. I guess different pregnancies have different effects. I am currently on leave. My body wants to do nothing but sleep, but I try not to be too "unhealthy" in that sense. Plus the nauseaness and the bloatedness, I can't imagine working. I will only go back once I've cleared my 12 weeks.

wow fazzy, you are lucky to stay home throughout your first trimester. I dun have the luxury of doing that. It has been quite tiring to be at work but no choice. Cant wait for the Christmas holidays[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My next scan is on 11 Jan 10. Still a looong way to go.

can't help to stop worrying after a call from my gynae last evening. Result for my Oscar scan was not good, probability of DS was 1 out of 240, normal case is 300. Compare the scan for my #1 was 600+. Result was based on my scan & blood test calculation. However, he also mentioned that from scans on bb nose shape & neck thickness, they look normal.

Gynae said I may take the amino fluid test to further confirm or wait to do detail scan then decide. By then bb is already 4-5 mths liao, Hb and I are really worried. No holiday mood liao.

Hi, does anyone feel stomach aching sensations at night? I only feel them at night just before sleeping. Daytime seems okie. Haven't put on much weight yet, at most 1 kg, now at 9 weeks. Though tummy definitely flabbier. It's another agonising wait till 11 Jan when I see the doctor next.

Hey bb_Gen.

Don't worry so much. I heard Oscar test is not very accurate. Since gynae also say that from bb nose shape and neck thickness, they look normal, it could turn out to be just a false alarm.

If really worried then take the amino fluid test to give yourself a peace of mind.

bb_Gen,

Take care ya. Maybe give yourself a break and enjoy the holiday first. After that then sit down with hubby to have a serious discussion on what to do next. Like wat Ann mentioned, Oscar test is not very accurate. Have heard of cases when the test came out negative but in the end, the moms delivered perfectly healthy bb. So try to relax (know its hard) and dont worry too much.

valarie - re facials. u tell your beautician that you are pregnant, they will know what not to do. I done my facial when i was 6 wks preg. my beautician omitted the usual shoulder massage but she still use the some of the machines.

re:sleeping. I usually have no problem sleeping throughout the night. though I find the most comfortable position is to lie on my left side hugging the bolster...

re:weight gain. Heehee, some of my pants i cant buckle already, so dont dare to weigh myself. But when i apply the anti-stretchmark cream on my hip area, can feel that they are flabby and bigger...so sad.. only two plus months nia

ecym: my pants also got this problem ... dare not weigh myself too...

BTW so early need to apply the anti stretchmark cream ready ?

morning everyone....

been on MC for the past 2 days....had been given MC till thur but i dare not take so long....haizzz

had a breakdown yest...even thought of dun wan this no.2.....feel so bad that i've such thoughts....

backache - heard from my friend that backache in the 1st trim is not due to the weight of the baby, but due to the loosening of ligaments caused by hormones to support baby growth.. will check up on tat later.

Weight gain, I'm starting to worry abt me not gaining weight and my tummy not growing much... can't help but wonder if bb is growning well inside.

bb_Gen, dun worry so much... worrying is not good for both you and your baby..

bbgen, try not to worry too much. Go for the amnio test for confirmation. Sometimes it is just a false alarm.

xbeanniex, I also started applying anti stretchmark cream. Using those sample packs from my goodie bag. maybe abit kiasu:p

I'm still wondering if i should splurge on Clarins or Loccitane.

hi bbgen,

like what a few mummies said, don't worry too much. my cousin's test also came out with higher risk of down syndrome, but her bb is beautiful, and perfectly healthy.

Julie,

me me.. I have tummy ache at nights and sometimes in e day too... too much air inside the stomach / intestines.. sometimes that will wake me up.

Woo Hoo.... Just wanna wish everyone here a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!!!

Last working day of the year for me.. Office close after that (sad to say, it's force leave and leave deducted). Won't be online much after today already. hee.. no mood to work at all...

hi noknok,

i read that it's normal not to gain weight in 1st trimester especially if you're having bad ms. some people even lose weight! i haven't gained much weight either cos felt so sick after eating that i ate very little, imagine, for a few weeks, i only had fruits cos that's all i could eat without feeling sick. but you should be gaining more weight in the 2nd trimester when your ms subside.

xbeanniex, yes, i'm farting a lot too, quite embarrassing right? this is because our stomach is taking longer to digest the food, that's why we burp, fart more.

does your hubby accompany you to every gynae appointments? Because my HB just changed a new job so he cant take leave so easily. I have to go to KKH to draw blood myself. Though he will go to the Gynae appoint with me on sat.

For the DS scan on Jan 4th, looks like I'm going to go myself again... sigh

ecym.. I go to gynae appointments alone too when it's on a weekday cos gynae will cover me with MC but not my hubby. Actually, save up some leave also good... it'll be very much needed next year when our bb arrives.

babycoco... I know... was so excited that tummy started to grow a bit two weeks ago.. but till now, like tummy nv really grow liao.. I guess it's jus those unneccessary worry that we are going to have for the rest of our lifes.. haha

aiyah why is that the gynae MC cannot cover hubby hor... birth cert will have his name what... hmmm...

noknok, you're right, we're such funny people. i don't enjoy ms, and yet when i don't have ms, i wonder if my bb is ok. haizzz

Hormones making us moody??

My temper had nv been good... when my sis first got to know that I'm preggy, she was like commenting that.. oh no.. you'll be even worse now... But I realised the opposite happens to me leh.. I dun get agitated so easily after I got pregnant. Anyone had Mood or temperament changes??

bbgen,

Hugz. Ya, it's normal to feel worried. But like what the other ladies said, oscar is only a test, accuracy is not 100%. Most probably your gynae will advise you to go for the amino test later on. Meanwhile, have +ve thoughts only about the baby. Don't get too tensed up ya, doesn't do you or your your BB any good.

Suika,

Care to share what's troubling you? Work securities?

Aiyo, yesterday was an adventurous day for me. Took my boy to Orchard, intending to shop at Robinsons. Then car park queue was super long so Sister decided to park at OC. The winding road up to the car park on 10th floor (lots available there) caused my #1 to have motion sickness. I was carrying him and he was facing me. Guess what? The boy threw up all over me! I couldn't do a thing but to just watch in horror coz car was still moving.

In the end, took him to toilet to clean up. Lucky for him, I always bring along a spare set of clothings for him. Unluckily for me, my top and bottom all kenna.

The cleaner in the toilet (a Chinese National) was superb! She offered to help clean me up while my SIL changed my boy. Even gave me the whole bottle of hand soap for me to wash the dirty clothes in the Janitor's room.

In the end? Sister bought me a pair of shorts and luckily she had extra Tshirts in her car.

Anyway, didn't shop at Robinsons. Got sales there though.

Noknok,

Me! I am calmer and less easily agitated when preggie.. haha, I think because I tend to react and think slower when preggie!

ecym & phy,

had a very big fight w my hb lor....till so bad....dun noe is it coz of mood swing....i kind of abit worried oso....my boy n NB...dun noe if i can handle anot

guys r always so not sensitive....esp mine :-(

phy,

nxt time when gg up carparks, dun look outside the car....so long ur eyes dun follow the car go round n round u'll b ok

Hi Munchies,

Dr Kowa didn't mention anything about OSCAR or triple test at all. What he want me to do is the amniocentesis test. He say that's the best test for DS. Haiz.

bbbliss... Amniocentesis test is the more accurate one but there are risks of MC as this is an invasive test. I t thot Gynae will only recommend this test when the OSCAR test result is not so favorable. read this link http://www.babycenter.com/0_amniocentesis_327.bc

Think you must have misunderstood him. Have you gone for any bloodtest recently ?

suika: since i got preggie, i always controlling alot of no quarreling with my hubby. but most of the time still end up quarreling with him... dont know y so irritated by his very small action or words said by him. Eg: his coming home late from work... (he usually work OT before coming home at 8pm+, if he comes home aft 9pm, quarrel is cfm in)

Suika,

Ya, most probably hormones and lots of worries caused you to feel this way. We women are the emotional lot. Furthermore, pregnancy hormones can also wreck havoc in your system.

Take heart that you're not alone. Maybe you can write down your thoughts and let him read it? Sometimes our tone and body language are more like attacking the other person so it's natural for any human to fight back.

My hubby is not good with words nor expressing himself and that got me upset some times. I have to tell him explicitly what I want. Guess some men are just like that.

xbeanniex,

u alone at home? maybe u hving those mood swings? some times i oso like that but i always calms myself dwn if i'm feeling like that

Wah, for me, my moody swings alot! One min can be very happy and hyper and another min suddenly feel very down. Lately, hmm feeling very moody and agitated too. But gynae says its common, the mood swing is due to homrones changing..so now the poor thing is hubby..cos he got to bear with all of these.. :p

hi phy, saw your message [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] you like march? it doesnt matter which month. i guess out intention is to give our sons a sibling, right? you take care & rest well too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Our hubby sometimes very poor thing.. after work damn tired liao still have to entertain our nonsense.. haha..

Just want to ask, is it alright that we eat bak ku teh?? They use herbs to cook right?? Saw the news about m'sia making non pork version of it and I feel like eating.. hee.. but dunno if it's safe.

suika: I am working full time... probably work stress plus preggie... haiz...

Work ah... cant tolerate those man that cant handle work load... i m in retail support mainly coordinating retail sales sellings. abit more sales to handle in support side only, man complaint too crowded , ask me to stop retail from submitting sales up. haiz... i m doing that alone all the past 6 mths without guidance, that man work for 3-4 yrs liao is worst then me...

lovinglife,

Ya both hubby and my Birthdays fall in March. ROM also in March so tot a March baby will be complete. But yes, nothing beats a healthy baby.

PM me your FB ac. Saw some Dec 07 mums in November when we went for Dec Baby Bash. You didn't go leh.

hi mummies! So glad Xmas is here soon!!

I just came back from my 2nd scan with gynae and now i am at 11.5 weeks. Had a scare as I was spotting during my 6 day trip in HK nonstop and I thought I lost my baby for good so I went to see my gynae this morning after i touched down midnite. And Doc says everything is good but I have low lying placenta so have to be cautious about the bleeding but it should stop once the placenta moves up.

And at 11 week, I know the gender of my baby! I'm expecting a baby boy again! He's v active in the womb, turning around and waving. I'm so scared I cannot handle 2 boys in future. Well anyway, I am just glad that he is fine as I was down with flu and food poisoning in HK and I lost 1 kg within a month.

Morning sickness is still there but much better than before already.

I was told to do triple test next scan. Is that too late or usually the case? Not sure wats the diff between triple test and oscar though.

bbgen, dun get worried. As long as gynae says neck not v thick, it should be fine.

wah minibean, congrats! so early already know its a BOY! seems like you BB very cooperative....

congrats again...

hi bbliss,

my gynae said that the amnio test 99% accurate & strongly recommended me to go for it. i guess our gynaes figure that's the best test for us.

xbeanniex,

working retail side v shiong wor....

congrates minibean!! i hope mine's a gal if not i oso dunoe how to handle 2 boys

babycoco

actually, i dun really quite agree w ur gynae that is the best test even though it is accurate. amnio test has its risks...and i also question... if u knew that ur bb has a higer chance of suffering fm downs/is a downs kid, what will ur decision be as a parent? to be honest, i go for my downs test to make sure bb is growing well... if detected that bb has downs i would keep it because i dun believe in terminating a pregnancy... sorry, may sound hash in making this statement but i think that sometimes tests like this makes parents nervous...

I went for my gynae visit today. bb about 11 weeks plus. EDD 8th July.

Today did the blood test and measurement of bb neck.

next visit will be another month's time[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

suika: true lar retail is shiong but colleagues cooperate abit nothing is that bad de... hate those that see heavy work load coming then faster reject or stop work from coming... haiz ... n market now not so good boss grumble like shit liao ppl still dont want to protect their own dish...

Hi mimmies,

My EDD 19 Jul.

Just to remind these who have not get a confinement lady to confirm one soon.... the gd ones are taken up fast!