(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Noknok, you're lucky to be able to even consider quitting. I'm self-employed so can't quit. And up till now still not sure whether my MIL would agree to help me take care of BB.

Hi bbliss,

Yup, its really a concidence that we hve the same gyn and same EDD date as well. I actually switched to Dr Kowa as my regular gyn from RH, didnt seem to want to deliver me as I am based overseas. I will come back for all the major tests and for the delivery however her attitude tells me she is not keen on taking me hence I went to Dr Kowa.

He is a very nice doc but the werid thing is he doesnt offer the OSCAR test (which is a combi of NT scan and blood test at the same time). What he recommended was a NT scan (during the 11th - 13 weeks - which I believed he will do for you on the 2nd of jan) and a blood test (called the triple test)during the second trimester. This is also a screen for down syndrome.

As I am based overseas, I am extremely kiasu and wanted to make sure I covered all the major tests hence I called and requested to do the OSCAR test , as I may not be able to make it back during the second trimester for the triple test. I will be flying back on the 30th dec for it.

Sorry for the long post, hope this helps u. Speaking to most of my preg friends, most of them only did the oscar test and not the triple test. Guess its a choice of you can do either. But i do know that Dr kowa's recommendation is for the triple test as I called the nurses many times abt it. :p I had no choice as being based overseas meant I had to plan and schedule my visits in advance.

Oh.. the great thing abt being based overseas is ..the maternity and bb clothes are much cheaper here. I bought really cute bb clothes for my friends here from gingersnaps which i believe cost half of what it cost in sin. I saw a maternity dress from gingersnaps selling for 60 dollars in sin when it was selling here at the equiv of $30plus sin.

If you are considering getting the clarins oil or cream and if you hve friends working at the airport or are flight/tech crew , you shld ask them to help you get it at the dfs.

I got both the clarins oil and cream both at over a $100 plus, after the 10% discoount (for those with the airport pass) , each item cost only abt $57 which is a gret deal considering metro is selling them at $80 each.

I wanted to “complain” here but I realize everyone is also experiencing the same thing as me!

I am around 3 months now. Throughout my first 2 months everything was smooth for me. I had no serious morning sickness, no backaches, nothing!

I only felt tired all the time and occasionally feeling nauseous, but all will be gone after a rest.

Now, seems like all the symptoms are coming to me when people say it will go off after 1st trimester.

It feels like the starting of pregnancy for me. I start to puke whenever I finish my breakfast. My backaches started yesterday and till now I feel like an old woman because it is sooo painful.

Will I be going through all these till the next few months? I can hardly concentrate on work and been taking MC/leaves.

Sooner or later my boss is so going to sack me.

Hi sweetkiss,

my morning sickness also got real bad the past week, I vomit sometimes like twice to three times a day. Its not even just in the morning, its a whole day sickness.

I am also hoping it will all go away soon.

phy, i still couldn't bear to shift my elder one to own room. so i bot a pull out bed.

the bb will zzz in a cot first and when older, sleep on the pull out section.

so that all of us can be together ;) bo pian coz i am full time working mum. by the time i reach home, i want to spend more time with the kids till bedtime.

Hai, i wont have the luxury to quit my job too. Guess most prob will leave with my parents as we are staying nearer to them than in-laws. Have yet to discuss with hubby thought.

munchies, where u based at? So good, things so cute there!

Hi Noknok.

I'm back. Going to orchard is a killer. So many cars. The spotting had stopped. The nurse say ask me to do bed rest. Enough shopping. Hehe!!

So good.. can even negotiate to quit your job but I can't. I think with 2 dogs and a baby.. I think it's better to work. Moreover I cannot don't work kind. I would go into depression just like how i took leave last week. Nearly go into depression just staying home and do nothing.

Hai, i wont have the luxury to quit my job too. Guess most prob will leave with my parents as we are staying nearer to them than in-laws. Have yet to discuss with hubby thought.

munchies, where u based at? So good, things so cute there!

ann, i'm like you. i won't be able to stop working. drives me crazy to stay at home. unfortunately neither my parents nor in-laws are in singapore, so we don't have anybody looking after our bb. but will see how.

when you say you were spotting, is it red? i had spotting 2 days ago, brown. but it stopped after half day. wasn't sure if it's serious or not.

Ann, I bo bian have to go there on Thur leh.. maybe I set off earlier, hopfully not so crowded. I guess with your baby you'll be more busy at home ba.

sweetkiss: I m in 2 mths pregnant now, past 2 weeks i have been mc for 2 days, take urgent leave for 2-3 days, nausous whole day, backache like no tmr, so tired that almost fall aslp at work. till now... I also hope these will go away soon...

Hi sun_tan,

I am based in Manila.

I guess I am really fortunate to be able to "enjoy" my preg at home as I am not working at the moment.

Kudos to all the working preggy mummies, I really dun know how u gals do it. I cannot imagine having to work and suffer from MS the whole time.

Pillow,

Actually I also can't bear lah, but hubby says must train the kids to be independent so... and we get up really early for work (6am) so don't wish to wake the young ones up. I know how you feel, I also want to spend quality time with my son whenever I reach home from work. Luckily I'm able to take him out for play dates once a week.

Munchies,

I agree with you. I'm now off work so luckily can sleep late and nap in the afternoon. Also wonder how I coped with the previous pregnancy when I had bad MS which lasted a few months. Last trimester is also bad, had to sleep half-seated coz hard to sleep on back and sides.

Xbeanniex,

Read somewhere that ginger tea helps ease nauseous. I tried that sometimes. It helps a bit.

Clarins oil

Intend to get my friend who's a flight crew to buy a bottle. My sister bought the wrong one for me. The cream.

Anyone interested in getting the Clarins Cream from me? My sis bought from DFS at the airport.

Phy : My colleagues was telling me that I shouldnt be taking any ginger stuffs as will cause baby "yellow" & If I am deciding to breastfeed baby, I cant take ginger too... True?

Anyone heard of this saying ?

xbeaniex

i signed liao cos my hubby can claim...

rgd ginger, i take as well... but i dun think any of us takes in hi-quantity so i think it is ok

sun_tan

i know of the error u talk about. u will have to click the back button and wait for a while b4 posting... it's the forum... it's not a good platform

noknok

ic... so u are the unlucky one... pc sorts of reset periodically...

jo_lyn

i stay north and i know that sq2 has yoga class. is that consider town for u?

munchies

i didnt realise Gingersnaps is cheaper in manila! i might get hubby to get some clothes for my 2 year old when he is there for work next time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xbeanniex,

dun think ginger cause baby "yellow". During Breastfeeding, from what I understand, it's wat you eat that goes into your baby as well.. And Ginger is quite common in confinement food to "qu feng" (get rid of wind) So I doubt eating Ginger is bad ba.

Anyone has good and effective way to get rid of the horrible taste that gets stuck in your throat after puking? drinking loads of water doesn't help!!

noknok

for me, i chew spearmint gum (buy from JB) to rid taste [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

valerie : Hopefully mine will go off ... as when backache kicks in, can really hurts n stands like grandma like that ... kekeke

Jellypurin : Which package you signed up for ? I am looking at the package or normal delivery without the empidual.

Noknok : I m thinking so too... but i cant be sure ... my mum is checking out with TMC docs & her own GP doc to hear what they say abt having ginger before & after birth.

Regarding to puking ah... I take fisherman lemon sweets... just keep sucking on the sweet... hahaha

noknok, you can try eating chocolates. I find it very effective in taking away the bland taste which i always have in my mouth.

This thursday we are having a department outing, gg for paintball at Singapore Discovery Center. Really wished to join [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but cant..so i am the official "nurse", gg ard giving first aid if needed and photo lady..lol My next gynae apptm is next monday. Cant wait...

thanks all.. I've eaten sweet but e irritating taste is still there... trying to drink lemongrass n ginger tea now.. hopfully it'll help.

Suntan, bo bian hv to miss.. the 'bullet' hit you super painfull.. sure bruise one... some more the chances of falling down is very high.

my next appointment is on thurs... dunno why, I keep worrying that something wrong with baby.. sigh..

Suntan, I tried eating chocolate.. but the feeling is still there... any possibility that my throat is "burnt" by the gastric juice??

xbeanniex

actually, i will opt of normal w epi cos my #1 i successfully induced and deliver via vagina delivery ... but remember to ask the "what if" questions, that is, what is the top up and so on if u do c-sec, emer-c-sect and so on...

Actually one of my fren just gave birth last week. Her gynae was Lawrence Ang. And you know what, according to her, her gynae keep telling her to think of pain (a few weeks before delivery) and when it comes to labour time, she really managed to go without epidural! lol..amazing right..think we should start thinking of pain from now onwards..lol..

noknok, dun think the juice will burnt the throat. hmmm.if not maybe try drinking honey? To smoothen the throat?

phy, i am in march thread. just started my 3rd trim [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tek_koh,

Gingersnaps can be found in a number of places, easiest is at greenbelt 5, it is at the top level where many of the bb and maternity shops are. But one thing abt gingersnaps is their clothes, smallest size is for 6 mths.

If you are planning to buy enfant stuff like those rompers, u can ask your hubby to go to SM (its a department store) , there is one SM near the glorietta/greenbelt area. Their children's dept will hve many enfant/newborn stuff. That time i went with my friend, she bought 100% cotton shirts for newborn (i dun know the proper name for them) for less than $4 sin each. If he is lucky n they are having sales, the deal will even be better.

noknok, i dun mind if the logistics are not too complicated however, they hve a huge variety of designs plus each design comes in limited quantity. This might make preordering a bit difficult n their smallest size is for 6 mths.

If i hve the time this trip back in sin, i will pop by the gingersnaps shop in sin and compare the prices closely for those items i bought for my friends n let u guys know the px difference.

noknok,

i understand how u feel when you say u keep worrying abt the bb as I feel the same way too esp when I had a scare early in the preg.

When I was 6 weeks, I went for my first gyn visit and the gyn cldnt locate the heartbeat and the embryo was half the size it shld be at 6 weeks. I was told to come by in a week's time to see if the preg progresses. The gyn also told me that it was a 50% chance. I was so worried and cried buckets when I got home. Even now that things seem to be fine, i still cant help worry and questioned if watever happened will affect the bb

munchies.. yeah.. we'll start worrying for the rest of our lifes now...

valerie.. I think it's safe as long as you're comfortable lying for long time on your back.. I guess 2nd trimester onwards when bb grows big, may not be able to lie flat for so long then can't go liao.. Am going for mine tonight

munchies : my first vist with my gynea - 1st scan - can't detect heart beat too. gynea mentioned is abt 5-6 weeks old, embryo was 2.6mm

valerie, you need to tell them that you're pregnant.. for the one that I go to, they dun do any machines facial on pregnant ladies one.

They'll also avoid some essential oil cos those might affect baby too. Let them know and they'll be able to advise.

xbeanniex : really? same here!! then what happened during ur second visit?

When I went a week later for the second scan, it grew to 1.33 mm and there was a heartbeat. i was so happy but still scared cos dun understand why the huge difference in one week.

Wow.. Didn't realise that the backache is already affecting a few of us.. Initially, I also thought baby is so small, shouldn't be feeling any strain at the moment.. But, seems like the pain is persistently continously..

Babycoco - For me, the backache just uncomfortable now and has not affected my sleep. Just need to wake up once in the night to wee.. But, the strain cause me to feel very tired easily. Now, is the time to ask hubby to "tuiku" massage me.. Hee..

Munchies : my 2nd apptment will be on 4th jan 2010.

i suppose my embryo is consider normal at 5-6 weeks of 2.6mm...as Dr Han was very happy when she the scanner touches me - i couldnt see anything but she was so happy n keep saying "good good! Very well seated! But cant hear any heartbeat yet maybe still early..."

Me n hubby was starring at each other blankly .. dont know how to react... hahahaha

Springleaf - Yes, I will also be a full time mummy. Been thinking between infant care n maid for the past few weeks. Hubby prefer maid as someone to do house chores as well but I prefer infant care as maid will only be left at home alone with baby and I'm quite skeptical about that. It's really a dilema as no in laws or others to help to look after my BB.. If we will to place in infant care, my only concern is days which I will need to OT, there will be no one to fetch baby on time. That will be a real headache.

Heard that for infant care, you may need to enrol 6 months before to secure a place. Therefore, today, I went to a childcare near my office to scout around. Wow.. The place is nice, clean n condusive.. But, the price is $1450 less $600 subsidise = $850 per month.. Hee..

Any mummies have same concerns or any feedback?

Keer13 : my colleagues was telling me ... bb so young already backache ... few more mths will be worst... I was so worried ... haiz ... now i prevent myself from slping back straight on bed... most of the time i slp on my sides... i do feels better the next day ... maybe most MTB can try slping on ur sides can slp better...

xbeanniex, maybe ur visit was at 5 weeks cos i consulted another gyn , she wld hve made the same prognosis too if at 6 weeks, no heartbeat and 2plusmm. cos at week 6 shld be ard 4plus mm.

till now i still dun understand what happened. I just hope and pray everything will be fine.

munchies

i guess there is no good or bad time to visit gynae at first visit but an experience one will tell u to come in between 5-6weeks of ur pregnancy...for me, when i saw that i had internal bleeding at 6 plus week, i was v affected... but when i went for my scan lately, the bleeding is gone and am so happy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ur fetus will be fine... dun think so much.. there is enough to worry... rest well, eat well, bb will grow!

keer13

i dun think u need to sign up 6mths b4, but may hv 2 do that for popular ones... maid vs ifc.. i go for ifc anytime since i have heard so many horror stories of maid alone at hm w bb w/o any supervision...

Actually for the backaches and sleeping at night, i think the bed is really impt. It shouldnt be too hard and should compress according to the shape of our back when sleeping back straight on the bed and thereby providing the support that we need.

When tummy grows bigger, we should sleep on our side (particularly left side) so that we can breathe better and also to encourage better blood flow to the bb.

Hey babycoco.

Mine is fresh red. But I think my gynae see untill sian liao. Hehe!! I normally bleed from the cervix area. I think i over exert when I am shopping last week.

For spotting, it is best to check with your gynae even though it is brown. It could be exertion and nothing to worry about or it could be something else.

For me, I already plan very far le. Confinement.. my mum will take 2 weeks leave to do it for me and my MIL will take 2 weeks leave to do it for me too.. so just nice 1 month.

Then baby will be taken care by FIL and MIL say will engage a maid to help out. So all plan out le. Now I have no worries except making sure my BB is fine and healthy.

Hi Noknok.

Ya.. better to go earlier especially if you are driving. The traffic is a killer. I even told them Saturday I will go to my own GP for the injection cos I dun wan to be caught in the jam.

The nurse even suggested that hubby could do the injection for me but I rather pay to get a pro to do it. Don't dare to even think of that idea but hubby is so happy with the idea.

Can't wait for 2nd Jan for my next scan. Hope BB is doing well.