(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Hi May,

Funny how our bodies respond to pregnancy ya = ) Hopefully your appetite will come back after this 1st trimester.

Do you know when bb is due?

Ann: Maybe will tell PILs if the next appointment goes well.

Pris: Me too! I've been eating non-stop! My mum said I was exactly like her when she was carrying me.

littlemay: Not to worry. MTBs eat and dun eat for a reason.

My next appointment is at 20th this month. Really looking forward to it!

Hi Pris,

I dont knoe my due date yet....prob sometime in early July. Dr Fong didn't tell me yet, i think he is being cautious, wants to make sure the BB is fine first.

Yup, I'm excited for my 1st scan tmr....WHile waiting to see him (usually need to wait for a loooong time), I will be going for the Ferragamo private sale. Starts 10am tmr! Want to get another pair of pumps for my pregnancy...hehe (excuses only)...

WISH ME ALL THE BEST TMR!!

Morning mummies, sorry to disturb. I'm currently organizing a bp for neurogain fish oil. I have 2 types of neurogain fish oil for pregnancy woman/breastfeeding mummies & kids respectively. Price is around 25% cheaper than the market price. Feel free to view if you are interested. Have a nice day ahead.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3227842.html?1257983036

Hi littlemay.

Dr Fong practice at all private hospital. Actually I was scheduled to do an operation in Dec to remove the fibroid. So he recommended Mt A and he is supposed to be the surgeon. So I guess he do practice in Mt A too. So look like I am not going for any surgery anymore.. hopefully.

All the best for today. Keep us updated.

Hey girls.

Thanks for the recommendation.

I think I will stick to Dr Fong and maybe take Mt A since he do practice there.

By the way, have you girls started to take all the supplements? I am currently on folic acid pill only. My gf told me to take fish oil capsule, calcium pill and iron pill. That's a lot of pills for me.

Supplements I am taking are folic acid tablets, fish oils, antioxident drink, collagen (if you consider that as supplement)...

I see that so many of you are in TMC, made me wonder if I should too. Is the waiting time in TMC long?

Hello everyone!

Wow such a long list of July 2010 MTBs already - we will soon have lots of happy mid-year Tigers and Tigrettes.

This will be my second child. I tested positive yesterday but I have no idea how far gone I am because I have irregular periods and I haven't been charting (my own estimate is 5 weeks). Have made appt with my gynae to see him in 2 weeks' time for my dating/ viability scan. Hopefully all goes well.

ecym and ann - some gynaes prescribe a whole range of supplements but if you have a reasonably balanced diet, you only really just need the folic acid. I'm just taking a regular multi-vit (which has folic acid) but I might add a folic acid tablet from today onwards. if you're unable to keep food down in the first trimester, it might make sense to get some additional supplements into your systtem.

ecym - waiting times at TMC would prob depend on the individual clinic, but personally, I find the carpark very stressful [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ann - my friends who've popped at Mt A have only gd things to say abt it, apparently the nursing staff are really good and caring.

littlemay - enjoy! F makes great flats - def a good excuse to stock up, teehee!

C/jolyn - sorry to hear that you've been having complicated early pregnancies, hang in there and don't stress - hopefully the second tri will be more smooth sailing. i don't think bed rest really helps with spotting, the girls whom i know who have spotting always seem to have it despite taking MC etc. just think positive! lots of gals who have spotting etc go on to have wonderful healthy babies

Hi Ladies!

thanks alot of pills to swallow daily. right now i am only on folic acid and my 3x a day duphaston pill. Think should be alright for now coz tts all my gynae told me to take, though i think there is no harm with the multi-vits.

Hi Picotin, welcome and thanks for the comforting words. yeah like you say not really sure if bedrest can help with spotting but ladies in their 1st tri could definitely do with more rest! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ecym - you really took so many supplements ah? Makes me think should I do that too.

Picotin - Thanks for your advise. I am also thinking of taking Mt A and continue with Dr Fong. hehe!! Sometime I can be quite stubborn and not listen to mummy.

Hey everyone.

I just gave Dr Fong's clinic a call and told the nurse i had tested positive on Monday and would like to check if I should wait till next Saturday then go for appointment since had already scheduled for that day or should I bring it forward. They ask me to go in today and had made an arrangement to slot me in for 12.30pm.

I find the nurse even more professional than the gynae whom I had consulted on Monday cause Dr Fong not on duty. Regretted consulting that stupid gynae. Waste money.

littlemay - do come back and tell us abt the sale! i got the mailer too but have decided to resist the temptation!! oh and of course pl also update us on ur first appt with dr fong !

no no not because of pregnancy, other than folic acid, the others are my staple supplement that my HB wants me to take everyday...

C - 100% agree! always good to rest. any preg symptoms yet? when are u due?

Ann - you're going to see Dr Fong today? exciting! please update us later.

Ecym - wah you are so disciplined to take all those supplements, bet you're super healthy!

picotin - nay, how can be super healthy...i still got breakouts and need medicine to control my hyperthyroid...the 4 fish oils capsule per day is enough to kill me, i need to drink one glass of water to swallow 4 capsule, one at a time.

Collage and antioxident drink is prepared by my HB, so i just drink lo.... kekeke, if he doesnt prepare, then i dun drink :p

Hi ecym,

Priscille is me so u can take Priscille off your list...it'll be double counting = )

The only supplement gynae tells me to take is folic acid and to eat anything else I like.

But i do take fish maw soup boiled with herbs coz I was told it is good for the development of the baby. And also suppose to take lots of fruits especially apples...am not really a fruit person so really need to make the effort.

Sorry to interrupt. Im having a BP on Sanrio Fabric Beansprout Husk Pillow now!

Pre-order for My Melody is available too. Please visit my link for more pictures!

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3216477.html?1257994345

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3235225.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3235226.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3235227.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3235228.jpg]

wow..e list of mummies are getting longer!

have been feeling very bloasted these few days..so xin ku. + e stress at work is making me worse.

I have started taking vit tablet & duphaston 2x daily as im having cramps on n off.

based on the online calculator, my edd will be on 12 July 2010... went for a scan on 06 Nov but unable to see anything [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] will be going again on 19 Nov.. hopefully will be able to see by then. btw this is my #2.. my #1 is now 6 yrs old.. (big gap)

ecym

actually for me i only eat folic acid. when i realised preggers i called to check if need extra anything but was told so long balanced diet just need folic acid ...

i do drink vitagen collagen drink though. not for nutritional factor but bec i like it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jo_lyn

i tink i'm going with Doc Cheng. Although i dun have fertility problems (i heard this is his specialty) but i understnd he got v good stitching skills so TMC here i come [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

welcome shirley [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

did yr gynae said how many wks is your baby?

ecym

thanks for doing up the chart [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] you are a babe!

Hello everyone!

I'm back from my gynae (and Ferragamo sale).

Ann, did you go and see Dr Fong at 1230?? We prob missed each other by an hour. My appt was at 930 but i had to wait till after 1130 to see him. I did a vaginal scan....ehh.....actually I can't really see anything.....but he say that's the water bag. I only see dark dark shadows.

No heart beat yet, he says its quite normal at 5 weeks....so I need to wait another week...(ANother nerve wrecking 1 week....keeping fingers crossed again)

Hi C, the sale has the typical ferragamo flats and open toe kitten heel....at about 30% off plus 10% if you are UOB card member. But I didn't buy anything....not really in the mood i guess.

Oh btw, I'm only taking folic acid 5mg and Utrogestran 6 tablets daily...

Not taking anything else until my gynae prescribes.

littlemay - u are seeing dr fong in one weeks time? since he say it's quite normal u shld try to relax at least u have ruled out ectopic pregnancy right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw, wat is utrogestran for?

for progesterone levels...supposed to help in the lining of the uterus i think. Its not a supplement, but needs to be prescribed. Its like duphaston, i think.

C - I think I'm being overly relaxed, have not gone to rule out ectopic preg. Just going to see my doc in two weeks' time to get dated. Do you think I should go in sooner?

Littlemay - Actually on 2nd thoughts maybe it's best that you don't buy new shoes right now. I think my feet went up a size or two while I was preggers (thankfully it went back down but it took a while).

Hael - If you're at TMC, maybe you can use the water tub during labour. Quite shiok I'm sure!

Ecym - Wow, that's a lot of swallowing. As I said, you are very committed! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks for adding me to the chart.

Have you gals gone to book confinement ladies if you're using them? My friend called her CL first, husband second - haha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] The best ones are booked so early. I don't use CLs so not relevant for me, but just thought I'd alert you to this!

picotin - I'm not sure, if u feel ok, no piercing pain and are not at risk of ectopic then i think you can just wait it out.

erm, for me, too early to think or even dream of CL. will take one step at a time. My fren hired a CL from an agent and had great experience..not going to worry too much about it.

Hael - thats for stablising the pregnancy in early stage i suppose. the clinic nurse said is something like 'an tai yao'

wow picotin, you think super far ahead... I only think of maternity wear, you already think of CL... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so you have your parents/PIL to help you during confinement?

ecym - haha, this is what happens to second-timers, you have been thru the whole process once, so you can think a bit more ahead and know what are the important things and what are the things we can be more relaxed about (first time for me - everything also kan chiong!) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yeah usually my mum and MIL help out during the early weeks, but I tend to be quite hands on so they just provide back-up support and maybe cook for me. i don't really practise strict confinement - so i bathe, go out a bit, eat almost anything etc. the one thing I do do are the post-natal wraps - really believe in them to put everything back where it's supposed to go.

C - thanks, guess I will wait it out. my doc didn't seem v worried when I spoke with him yesterday, said to come in in two weeks. I told him I would "if all goes well", ie I don't have a bleed between now and then.

yeah lah, if not particular, def don't need to worry abt a CL now. my friend has a very experienced one who is booked solid for months in advance (most of her clients book her for 2 or even 3 months because she is very good and cooks really well), that's why lah.

I am due in July too. I already have a 2 year old boy and just wanna join in the thrill.

I have travel plans in Dec too and wondering if it's safe to travel at 12th week. My EDD is 4th July.

hael- as my gynae cant see anything yet so he cant estimate the no. of weeks. but i guess i might be around 4 weeks at the time i went for scan ba..

Pardon me for my ignorance, what does a confinement lady do? Cook? Take care of the baby?

Do they take care of the baby during the night too?

i am new to thread but not new mommy alrdy. my #1 is 2 and this is to be my #2 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

littlemay

CL meant to cook, take care baby & also care baby at night but the things-to-do can be tailored to wat mommy needs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] exactly

picotin

how many days or nights or hours did you wrap for for optimal results? was it uncomfortable? can go toilet? will it become looser during the day and how to tighten? sorry but i am a great believer in post natal wraps too but wondering if i hve e discipline to go thru with it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

astro gal

oic. so once we find out we are pregnant is it better to get that to eat? i mean, i just wanna be safe .. my piano teacher miscarried 3 times before successfully giving birth to her first daughter i rem .. so I dont really want to take anythg for granted

right now i dont even think other than cravings & added folic acid intake i am not even doing anything differently!

Yes, it is better to be kiasu a bit. Don't mean to sound like a wet blanket but all my friends either have miscarriages or baby with no heartbeat at all. Even though they subsequently go on to having healthy babies. AS this is my 1st pregnancy, I'm a bit more anxious.

hael

different wrap ladies will suggest different regimes, but most commonly, it's a 7 day package.

Once a day, the wrap lady comes over to your place (hopefully while baby is asleep!) and does the massage and the wrap. You then walk around/sleep/go to the toilet etc with the wrap on for the next 24 hrs until the wrap lady returns.

For me, I scheduled my wrap lady to come in the late afternoon (nap time for the little one), then got massaged and wrapped. Went to bed with it on and then was allowed to take it off by lunchtime to have a quick shower (my wrap lady allowed showers but with the herbal water), then a few hours of "freedom time" before she arrived again to repeat the whole process.

You can go to the toilet (the wrap stops above the upper thigh). Take some getting used to but not a big problem.

The bindings do loosen up as you fidget and move about, but a gd wrap lady will fasten you in VERY tightly so that even in its loosened form, it's still quite tight. Gotta be honest, it isn't very comfy, but as my wrap lady said, gotta do it! Not just for vanity, she swears it puts all your organs back in place for good health. After pregnancy, all our bits and pieces get kinda squished into weird spots (thanks to the super big uterus!).

picotin

how much does your massage lady charge? how long for a session and are the massages to be started immediately after delivery? does she travel island-wide, or only specific spots?

hael

mine's quite ex unfortunately [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] $150 a pop but she drives anywhere in singapore (even sentosa, haha), one session about 1hr+, mine recommends a package of 10 sessions. so it's a big investment.

market rate for massage ladies is much lower, i think. can definitely find cheaper options.

yes, she starts almost immediately once you're settled at home - maybe one week postpartum? this applies whether vag delivery or C-sect

I am back fr my scan today. Due date will be 12th July 2010. Same as U Shirley!!

Had my injection and I was told to go back for weekly injection. After the scan I went back office and realise i bleed. Scare me too death. Right now got to bed rest at home again. Anyone encounter that? Haiz [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hael,so when will u be visiting Dr Cheng? Heard he will be on leave next week for 4 days.. Maybe u call up and faster book a day with him first. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

By the way its getting crowded here!! Welcome everybody!!!