(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Atomic kitten, totally understand what you're going through. My maid's been working with us for over 10 years. She got very easy job. Only me & my hubby at home, plus 2 dogs. Last week she told me for the past 2 months she's been having pain in her lower abdomen. She said maybe she got womb prolapse and need to go back to her kampong for massage! I'm also due end June. So can you imagine my stress? Last min she said must go back. Took her to GP. GP said nothing wrong with her womb, she's just looking for excuse to go back. Very disappointed with her. Treat her very well, she also eats whatever we eat. Afternoon can still have kopi session with other maids by the pool. Where to find job like that?

Wah .. Maids problem again .. When they too long with us they will be too pampered. When we make them work harder they also will give us problem.

My maid philipine now stay with Exhubby taking care of my two boys. I want her to work for me but she prefer my exhubby cause ex hubby not fussy. She can even bring friends (maids from other homes) at my ex home for lunch. But my two sons she take care very well. So my exhubby keep her for almost 5 yrs now.

My last maid i sent home 3 momths ago cause only sleep and sleep. My time table she only follow when i am at home. And she always say miss home. So i told the agent if she missed home heart not here no point.

Now i am asking MNK agency if i want to take again how cause i am due on Mid July. They say take better but the maid i feel will again work 16 weeks hard working and after i am gone to work , my baby and the house handover to her i worry what will happen. What if she dont like my time table and bully my baby. So many tings i worry.

Some maids clever, they just want to gain 3-6 months experienced in SIngapore than they want to go home cause once reach home, they will apply to work at Arab or Dubai. Better Salary and benefits.

I am tinking of all alternatives now before i commit for one maid. Maid is a 2nd Queen at home if nobody is at home. Hubby told me if too many problem sent to infant care ,but infant care start at 7am end 7pm.

Only left 8 weeks more to deliver the baby and yet still i cant decide maid or no maid.

hello mummies...thread pretty quiet this weekend...just came back from my gynae visit...happy to see bb again...gynae showed us how bb was opening and closing his eyes...so cute!

BB now 1.96kg at 33 weeks, 4 days...6 more weeks to go!

Next visit in 2 weeks, more frequent now, so can see bb more often. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies, have a hard time coming into the thread.. It is always missing!! Argh!!

Hael: Just to check with you does Dr Cheng weighs ur baby? Or u only get to know the baby weight during the growth scan at level 4?

Re: Breastfeeding

Just to check with you girls, if there isnt any leakage or sign of milk fr our breast now, does it mean we have no milk?? Or some ppl just dont experience it until the baby is born??

Hi, just to recommend mommies to "bookmark" this page. So that you can come straight to this and dont need to rely on the main forum... donno why the main forum always something wrong and alot of threads missing !

Jolyn: No i dont think so, i also dont have any leakage now... i dont think it affects milk supply when baby is out dont worry too much =)

Stretchmarks;

i am seeing small red marks on my tummy now around my belly button and under belly have 1 ugly red line.... its itchy for me too .. so irritating! I have been applying cream religiously since i am 12 weeks, looks like no use... !

dun worry about leaking colostrum at this moment.. in fact, its a good sign.. we dun have to wait for supply.. its alr on the way!

if u have dried colostrum, jus use a warm cotton wool and wipe it away.

i have been having it since i was about 7 mths pregnant for both pregnancies.. i recall, the moment i discharged from hospital during my last delivery, i start to leak milk liao.. whereas some of my friend still have to wait for a couple of days...

dun worry too much ya... enjoy the process [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jo_lyn

no leakage does not mean no milk. so dun worry about it just means that maybe, you milk will come in later... just keep trying to latch bb when you can...

jaclyn

stretchmarks will happen due to a person's genetics and how elastic your skin is at stretching... so some of us cant avoid having that but it will fade away though it will nv disappear.

hey mommies...

was reading the posts these few days.. and i realise that... most of us have the panic button ON.. but hor.. i was thinking to myself... i think... we shud jus relax..

everything thats happening to our bodies now is jus the final preparation for our new arrival. it will only be for the better...

whether we leak or not, whether we feel cramped or not.. i think.. we will soon be missing these.. lol... some of us have 8 more weeks, some 5 weeks.. whatever it is now.. its to STAY HAPPY!!

And good news is... our bb's lungs has more or less developed (if u are in ur 32nd week)!!

oh ya.. and dun worry about the delivery part, whether its pain or not or whether u will be in orchard rd when ur water bag burst.. lol.. let nature take its course and dun panic urself for nothing..

i remember when i first delivered.. i got no clue what will happen.. i jus let the gynae and nurses help me and i jus follow suit.. with a peaceful mind and relax mind.. not only will i not be so tensed (which will somehow help with the pushing).. i also managed to save more energy for the actual pushing than to tense up all my muscles..

when the time comes, jus call ur gynae, pick up ur hospital bag, take a quick shower and let the angels in the hospitals guide u along the way...

as for epi.. i always advice mommies to keep it optional.. and of coz, let ur nurses know that u are considering that so u wont "miss" the timing for epi. cause after certain hours, u cannot use epi liao..

pushing will be tiring.. so rest more if u can.. it is very impt and not to drain ur energy too much on the delivery day.. stamina is impt to prolong each push.

my tip for delivery?

- save ur energy

- prolong each push.. meaning.. give urself a count.. like.. breath in, push, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and repeat it in a consistent manner. i did that and i delivered bb in 3 pushes and i wont feel so out of breath after every push

Tear??

- gynae didnt thought i would tear and wasnt considering of cutting at first.. and it tore by itself. i tore myself at the inside of my virginal.. but his stitches were good and i managed to walk arnd the ward as soon as i was transferred back. (but of coz, the nurses kpkb at me asking me to bed rest)..

after which, i try to adjust my butt a little whenever i sit and bed rest more and wash my wound and keeping it dry (althou its quite tough with lochia aka menses keep coming).. but thank god.. all these went well and my menses finish and wounds recovered in 2.5 weeks. everything went back to normal!

so ladies.. let sit back, rest and relax ok? at this pt of time, we gotta rest more and do our last preparation for the new arrival..

most imptly..

stay postive

meaning..

dont compare

dont scare urself

dont think negatively

think good stuff

think happy stuff

and believe in urself..

GOOD LUCK MOMMIES..

Jolyn - My 3rd Baby almost now is 31 week, my breast still same , no milk leak and no swell.

I bought pumps & breast pad i hope i can breastfeed him once he is born ...

Maybe hormone change so got to wait for some of us..

Braun Ear Thermometer: Some time ago someone posted a link where we can buy the Braun Ear Thermometer at a cheaper price, anyone happen to have it?

Actually to check, i bought avent bottles but they dont comes with bottle cap (ie its the normal ones with teats and cover). So if i pump straight into avent bottles but might not be feeding my bb soon, i need to put into the fridge right. So i need to buy the avent bottle cap to cover the bottle before putting it into the fridge?

sun tan, if you don't plan to feed your bb right after you pump, then maybe pump the milk into the avent cup? i bought about 30 storage cups, they come with lid.

Hi Ladies.

Went to the gynae today. Gain 1 kg. Once again gynae commented that i didn't gain much weight but tummy look big. I told him must be BB gain weight lo. Then he say normally weight gain is mummy gain weight and not baby. I also just realised that from Febraury when gynae start to weigh me till now, i only gain 2.7kg.

Upon scanning, BB is 2.233kg at 31wks plus (Gained 867gm, which mean the 1kg i gain almost belong to him). Gynae say quite big. If BB continue to grow at this rate, at full term, BB might be abt 3.3kg to 3.5kg. BB's head is heading further down into the cervix area. He told me to do more walking so that it might help to bring on early labour and BB won't be too big for natural birth.

Hubby ask gynae if it is still possible to deliver if it is 3.3 to 3.5kg.. gynae say still can hope for natural birth.But if BB hit 4kg then gynae say dun bother, will go C-sec immediately. I told hubby if 4kg I also dun wanna try natural liao. Just cut me up. haha!! Gynae also told hubby that it is safe to deliver BB from 35wks onwards. So one more mth.

Gynae also told me to cut down on carbo and concentrate on protein, veg and fruits. Maybe this might help to maintain BB's weight.

I also confirm my hospital and PD today. Gynae say will help me to book.

I went in JB today.... Finally... Me and hubby ordered quite abit of things - crayfish, char kway teoh, bbq chicken wings, popiah and ba kut teh (which hubby ate alone). I also bought rice dumpling (ba zhang) back from tomorrow's lunch. I saw those vans selling lok lok... but hubby say no.. those are too risky to eat.

I even bought sesame oil le.. I wanted to buy Ghee Hiang which was recommended at first but then the boss say Ghee Hiang is not as good as another brand he intro me. And Ghee Hiang more ex.. so in the end, we bought the other brand of sesame oil instead.

Now stomach full full liao.. going to sleep le. Good night and post again tomorrow.

Cheerymum: your EDD early jul and maid not ready to come! You ve to bug and hurry your agent leh! See what happened to me.. maid came n went within a week! And it will take time to find another n train her!

Babycoco: your long-time maid really shouldnt "abandon" you when u are abt to due! I was telling my hubby that from my personal experience (mum's maid), no matter how nice n good u r to your maid, they will not repay the "qing" with kindness one! You treat them as part of your family but it doesnt mean that they will do likewise. Actually, all these "patterns" are so common... parents sick la or need operation, siblings no money for studies, home sick, children fallen ill, husband's gambling debt etc etc All sort of excuses n reasons to boro money, call home, go home etc So how? Are u sourcing for another maid? We dun ve much time left le..

Tonight I'm home alone again.Frankly..now I can tell my hubby I rather be home alone than to be alone at home with maid! BTW hor.. my maid is only 19 years old but the agent and biodata stated that she is 26 years old! And I suspect she might not be too stable mentally.. and we caught her lying to us even tho we really tried out best to help her out. We didnt expose her but I feel very scared to be alone at home with her so this morning we immediately sent her to the agent before I sent my hubby to the airport.

sun tan, yah lor, just pour back to the milk bottle, i am sure you will have more than one bottle of EBM to store in fridge, so buying the avent cup is more economical?

Ann : your baby is on the bigger side hor! Btw how n what u eat so that the weight gain is on your baby n not you ah? Do u exercise?

I'm 33 weeks today and I ve stopped all exercise including walking since 2 weeks back. It has been increasing difficult to even walk. After sitting down, also got prob getting up. Pelvic more n more pain. I also stop watching my diet... very scare weight gain be outa control again. hehehee

Sweet: oh~ then need to wait for spree... abit lazy leh! heh.

Ann: Wah~ your BB sure gain fast. ME gain 10kg BB only 1.3kg the recent scan.

morn mommies

sun_tan

essentially, i think you are looking for this:

http://www.amazon.com/Philips-Avent-Sealing-Discs-BPA-Free/dp/B000067QMD/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&s=baby-products&qid=1274576149&sr=8-10

this is the sealing disc for your regular avent bottle. kiddy palace and other major department store sells is at 2 for $4+.

otherwise, you can consider the via cups for storage.

i bought these from amazon bcos i prefer bpa free product:

http://www.amazon.com/Philips-Avent-Free-Breast-Storage/dp/B001GAQEGC/ref=sr_1_12?ie=UTF8&s=baby-products&qid=1274576149&sr=8-12

this is currently not available in SG but the PP version which is also considered BPA free is available in leading department stores. this 4oz bottles, u can just replace the sealing disc with the teat and feed direct after you express and had warmed milk up

Shann yheng n jellypurin,

cos I am considering if I shld get the avent n medela converter or not. So if I am gg to express out, pour into cups for storage n pour back to bottles for feeding, then I might as well as just using medela's storage bottles.since there would need to transfer the milk ard.

As for those dual breastpump, ie pump both side of the breast at once, can I combine both bottles onto 1 at the end of the pumping so tat I just store 1 bottle inside of 2?

AtomicKitten: Ya lo.. BB on the big side. Quite worried cos I really wanted to go natural birth. I also dunno why BB gain all the weight and I hardly gain much. I didn't really watch my diet at all except all those sweet things. I scared get GD.

Yes, I do still continue to swim even now. Now gynae encourage me to walk more to get BB to engage earlier. Preferably can give birth at 35wks since it is safe then. My pubic bone area also getting more and more painful when I walked cos BB is heading further down and pressurizing on it. But since gynae say walk, so I just follow his instruction lo. And try to lower my carbo intake too. Hopefully BB dun gain so much weight by the next scan.

ceres: Ya lo.. I think BB like sponge lei.. absorbing all nutrients and growing fast.. like sponge sucking in water. So scary. I hope he slow down his growth abit sometimes. He was on track all the time till 3rd trimester. Maybe cos I relax myself during 3rd trimester, so he grew pretty fast. Maybe I should be stricter with myself.

Ann your case and my case is samelor!

I week 30 plus baby already 2kg not even week 31.

OGTT results is good not GD. I dont eat much too.

Only my tummy too big till walking also at times got cramp and water retention at legs.

I tink now gynae will monintor me every week lor.

They also dont want bb gain much wait. If gain too much weight by week 38 that is around 5-7th July sure i will asked for Induced Labour or C Section.

So i got 6 weeks to monintor and control my food.

jellypurin: i am also looking for the avent breast milk storage bottles. i saw a set at isetan yesterday but the box didnt state BPA free. u mean PP version also BPA free? BP section is selling the BPA free ones at $45.00...

For the VIA cups, they can only be used for a few times rite?

creres/suntan: the converter can be found in BP here if u dun want to wait for overseas sprees. maybe the seller has ready stocks! http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3617486.html?1274574036

hope this helps!

Ann: i think at this stage is like that? my friend also put on weight but went to bb instead of her. my gynae told me bb will grow at a faster rate now. i also feel pain when i walk or stand for very long. i was walking for a straight 10hrs yest cos had to shop for housing stuff. till now my legs still hurt..

CT: Ya.. we have big babies. My OGTT results also come back normal. My gynae still not monitoring me much. Except he abit worried about my spotting cos I spot alot. He told me that if i have spotting that doesn't stop, must let him know cos he scared i go into pre term labour.

SweetKiss: I also dunno... I heard it grow fast during 3rd trimester but then the growth will slow down during dunno how many weeks. 10hrs of walking is alot lo. I shop awhile with hubby at paragon and taka, I also cannot tahan le. Then go antenatal class, I nearly fell asleep.

Massage Class: Mdm Ida came to do pre natal massage for me yesterday. She mentioned that she is interested to start up massage class for ladies to learn the skill. If any mummies interested, you can contact her.

Ann: Haha... learn & massage myself? I think better for HB to learn. Hehe.

Jelly: The pump i ordered from Leng Leng got 4 bottle free, for storage or can feed BB? got teat come with it?

ceres: I think I would rather pay than to learn. Me very lazy and pampered. Haha!!!

cheese: Dun worry so much.. breastfeed more to lose weight. Haha!!

Saw my tummy going down today. think bb moving into engaged position. suddenly can eat more food!

sweetkiss

via cups all PP material so BPA free in a sense but the best is the yellow plastic BPA free bottles if you can get it. i bought from spree, much cheaper. shipping was only $4. btw, the via cups can b used for a long time. dun discard. can use it to store purees, snacks and even trinkets when u dun need them at all! it's stackable so it is quite good

ceres

i dunno if the teas comes with the package... i think so it is...

there are many causes for colic... actually, main cause is mainly due to the length of the gastric track of the baby... sometimes is wind... but if u bottlefeed/bf, u cant avoid introducing air into their feeding. all you can do is reduce air intake, that is why leading brands of bottles tells you the design reduces air not eliminate.

bpa free just wondering whether bpa free bottles are crucial only when the milk is warm/heated up? say we wanna feed baby with room temperature water, can we use non-bpa free bottles?

Ann your baby's really big woh. Mine was 1.7kg at wk31. From your description of the food you're consuming, looks like you're having a carbo fiesta woh, and high in fat also. So you may want to consider changing your eating habits lor. Less sugar and minimal carbo really does help in weight control

Mummies i think in Middle June all of us must get ready all the items needed already as we never know anyone of us will deliver first.

Those due on early July might deliver middle june or end june, 38 weeks mah!

I really hope can deliver at 38 weeks that will be 5-10July.

anyone pack hospital bag le ma?

any reference? I noe TMC got give bb clothes etc. my sis ask me to bring botties and a bb cap.

Jellypurin: Wah.. so fast your stomach going down le ah? Mine is still up. Mdm Ida say maybe a week more or so, my tummy should be going down liao.

Ica: Ya lo.. maybe i consume too much carbo. So trying to cut down my carbo. I think I had too much Mac liao. Must cut off if I can. Cos lunchtime and breakfast always lazy to walk further to buy food so go Mac most of the time.

ica

i maybe wrg but i think i read that regardless of what temp ur water/liquid is, we consume some for of "plastic" in our diet. hence, it is quite ok to say that if u dun use the bottle for liquids of high-temp, u do not need to use a BPA free bottle, still just remember that ur bb will consume some traces of it.

Ann

ya, can feel today that my tummy not so close to my breast liao... keke... but that means more pressure on my pelvis and back [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi CT & Ann,

you have big bb..so envious. My one only 1.42kg at week32 but i gain 2 kg in 2 weeks..mummy gain weight instead of bb..

HI ladies,

Anyone know where to buy pyjamas? Thanks!!

Aisah: I'm still taking the vitamins.

Jelly: Oh, is ok. can wait for it to arrive then see how. Hehe.

Ica: i heard those non-BPA just rinse hot water over can get rid alrdy. But dunno true or not. Me using BPA free bottles.

I'm also troubling on pyjamas.. dunno where to buy those buttons one which is dark in colour. Dun wan too light colour.

Aisha:I'm also taking the vit n supplements which gynae gave.

ceres & Eunice: I bought my front-button pj from la Senza. Very comfortable. They are having a sale now..

Ann : I missed MacDonald leh.. I havent had that since start of 2nd trimester but still..I already gain like 12 kg le.. and bb only 1.8kg at 31 weeks nia

atomickitten,

I just weigh myself yesterday and i have also gained 12kg already. Me also 31 weeks, but dunno how heavy is my bb..previously at 28th weeks, bb at 1.17kg, most of the weight goes to me..

Ann ahh..must be all the Macs that you've been eating la. ya lor, try to cut down on Macs or any processed food. not good for us, also no good for baby

Aisha me too am still taking the multi vit from gynae. gynae said to take till we stop breast feeding

Jelly thanks. i was thinking along that way as you. coz i have some avent non-bpa free bottles that came in a bundle, so quite wasted if not used at all

ceres if use hot water to rinse non-BPA free bottles, shouldn't it be worse mah?

Atomickitten your baby is not small/light. 1.8kg at 31wks is average. dun forget your 12kg weight gain includes amniotic fluid, increased breast weight, higher blood volume in body, etc. so no worry - once you start BF, it will all go away

glass bottle holders i saw plastic bottle holders by pigeon (i think) at Tom & Stephanie. looks good - at least no fear of glass bottles slipping from hands or too hot to handle. then no BPA worry also

Jellypurin: noted with thanks! i also saw mumsfairy selling some BM Storage bottles which are BPA free. maybe i will consider getting them as well.

CT: I will only be on ML at my 38th week! my EDD is first week of July. So scared will deliver when i am still working.

cheese: i just started packing some stuffs today only! will do bit by bit next week.

Eunice: OG at Bugis has some Felancy sale for the pyjamas at $10. Maybe u can check them out! Not sure if it will still be on next week.

Aisha: I am still taking Iron, calcium & fish oil.

i heard from my friend that we need to buy disposable underpads for our beds? firstly is to protect our mattress in case our waterbag breaks when we are in bed. she said hospital might charge for extras so we can bring a couple for our hospital stay. is it necessary? i just bought a pack at Watsons today, $7.50 for 10 sheets. was thinking if not needed i can use it to protect baby mattress or mine in case i accidentally stain my bed.