(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Wow u moms r early!! I only managed to sleep at 2am last nite. Totally knock out n over slept this morning, on my way to work now. It's gg to be a long day with lots of issues... Sian. Have a nice TGIF mommies!!

Hello mummies! TGIF! Went to Guardian yesterday and saw the disposable cotton panties (Guardian brand) selling at 50% off for 2nd pack. The usual price for 1 pack of 5 is $3.95. So now, it is $5.90 for 2 packs. Looks comfy since they are made of cotton. Those who have not bought any can consider it.

Good morning mummies.

It's finally Friday. So happy!! Still feeling tired but there's urgent things to rush today. Hai!!!

I am having brown spotting again yesterday. Dunno is it becos I overexert myself at the event yesterday.

Hope it stopped soon.

wah, so sad..i called mdm mariam, wanted to book pre-natal massage to get rid of water retention on my legs but she's already fully booked till july...haiz..anyone still has good contacts available for last minute bookings?

Morning mummies... i have prenatal classes every Thurs till 9pm so on Fridays i am reaallly tired!

for baby lotion, i learnt that we dun have to apply daily. it is optional, u can use it to massage baby... and baby oil can be used for cradle cap. just apply on baby hair after showering and gently comb it.

suntan: same like u, i have complained many times that ppl are saying my tummy is small. i also dun have much probs with wearing undies, cutting toe nails or washing my legs. though i was also assured baby is doing well and i am gaining weight healthily, i feel affected when ppl say my tummy small!

for baby moving late at night, u mummies will ask them to sleep ah? for me, i dun.. i think better to let them active. they feel most secured in the womb and the time is so limited for them to enjoy inside now. thats what i feel personally hahaha.. so normally i just pat my tummy and tell baby that mummy is sleeping, good nite and let her continue to kick.

Sweetkiss>> Sometimes my colleagues will comment on my tummy size, tho it's can get a bit bothering but I choose not to let it affect me. Somemore, I hv a colleague who's EDD is just 1 day after me.....so sometimes they'll compare my tummy size with hers...say her's bigger, etc.

Pls lor..different pple different build mah.

As for BB kicking at nite, yes I do tell my BB that it's nite time & nite time = sleeping time (hoping that when he's born, he'd know, haha), so let mama have a good rest & BB have a good nite rest too. Tmrw morning then wake up & play. hehee.

on tummy size, a lot of people also like to comment that my tummy is not big..i get quite irritated, feel like asking them to shut up.

based on mrs wong's explanation, i kind of have a theory on why some people's stomach show more, while others show less..when the baby starts developing it will grow "vertically", taking up space in your upper body. when baby runs out of space, he will extend outwards, that's when your belly juts out.

So for taller mummies or those with longer upper body, it's likely your tummy may be smaller than the petite ones coz you got more "vertical space" to store your baby...

haha..dunno if i m making sense...

hi jellypurin, our babies age gap around the same! my #1 will also be 19 months when my #2 is out. How do you intend to work out the sleeping and feeding arrangements? Right now, #1 sleeps with us in the room...i dunno if i shld let #2 sleep with us too...afraid that they might wake each other up and hubby and i will be completely zonked out!

sweetkiss, mrslong, autrumn small tummy can also means that your tummy is toned to begin with - so must be proud of that [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

at my last checkup, gynae said i still have a lot of water (amniotic fluid) but baby's of avg weight. too much water can lead to preterm labour, which i don't want that to happen. and ya, my tummy is big. as a comparison, i've a colleague who's going to be induced early june but my tummy is bigger than hers. so you can imagine la. some ppl even think that i'm carrying twins

Tummy size: I get annoyed too when ppl comment on my tummy size. I dunno whether mine is considered large or small. Mine's quite protruded perhaps because I am on the skinny side, so tum tum appear large compared to the other parts of my body. But I have a colleague that kept saying that I am SO BIG (and she was never pregnant before and she is those scared of childbirth and don't really like kids type). What is your point of reference when u comment on someone's tummy size? Big compared to what?

Another colleague even compared me to another colleague from another dept who is pregnant (dunno when is her EDD), saying mine bigger. Then my question to her: You know the other colleague's EDD or not? Of course size will be different if we are in different stage of pregnancy. This other colleague is single, not married, obviously no experience in this area. So annoying lar...or maybe i am extra sensitive now that i am preggy...

anyway, so long baby is growing well, i am ok with any tummy size...

autrumn>> I think I roughly get your idea. Since entering the 3rd trimester, my tummy seems more "pointed/jut out"...cuz I'm short so not much "vertical" space for BB, haha.

ica>> Ya, before preggy, my tummy is almost flat so even now with a tummy, it's tight most of the time. After hvg a full meal, lagi worse....like not enuff skin to stretch...very uncomfy!

rmummy

i tried making arrangments with my family - am still staying my parents... and when i had decided that i wanted both my kids in the same room, my dad just told me yesterday it is not such a good idea!

my boss who had 3 kids told me that most of the time, the adults will hv an issue, not the kids. i want to try it out for a month, if it cant be done, i will try to move one out, but i dun think i had any extra room to move into lah...

thanks ica [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] red bean and green bean soups are actually my faves. used to have them alot when younger but now so frightened to eating too much carbo even beans I also cut down and hve only a few mouth fulls. desserts i still hve but also only a few mouthfuls. my hubby finished the rest - he looks more preg than me now! hahah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

RE:toenails

i also cant really cut toenails anymore. tried to do that a few nites back & tummy so big cant even bend forward to do that! goodness! had to get help to get nail polish off also since cant bend down properly to remove nailpolish too.

Anyone keen in getting a BN Lucky Baby Car Seat (still in packaging)? Suitable for Newborn till 18kg.

PM me if interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4010268.jpg]

vernie: Yup exactly!!! my MIL has a coll who she claimed put on a lot of weight during pregnancy, so she has a very big tummy and MIL keeps comparing her tummy with mine.

my MIL is smaller sized than me. she is very thin and petite one. but she told me my hubby weighed 3.6kg at birth. so i assume her tummy must be very big for her small frame during her pregnancy then. maybe that's why to her, my tummy is not big enough. then her stupid boyfriend (hubby's stepfather) likes to chip in and make such comments as well.

sometimes i feel like telling him "then how big u expect? as big as ur beer pot belly?" but i dun dare lah...

sometimes i wonder what's with these pple's "obsession" with tummy size and tummy size = weight of BB.

As long as BB's healthy can already what.

And I also cannot tahan when pple keep asking me to eat more! I eat alot liao le (small meals at least).

ya, when i said my Baby is 1.8kg at 31wks, they said "huh, so light ah!". i checked with my friend (who is 1 mth ahead and sees same gynae as me), she told me her BB weight also same when she was 31 wks. and apparently her bb is now 3.7kg!

3.7kg?? that's big!

I think on ave if BB's between 2.5kg - 3.2kg during delivery, is good enuff. At least still can hv natural birth.

hi Ladies,

Just wanna share,

yest i bought the pigeon bb wipes (pack of 3 of 82 wipes) at watsons for $8.40. Orginal px is $10.50, watsons is hving 20% discount now. So even if you buy 2 packs for 6 of 82 wipes. It will still be cheaper than $17.50 (which some of the mummies got it for)

Be careful at the checkout though, the cashier didnt give me the 20% discount till I asked her abt it and she went to check and confirmed that there was a 20% discount.

I also bought the babysafe cotton bud tips at watsons.

yup mslong, i think that's the general mentality of many pple that tummy size kinds of equate to bb's weight. cos maybe like preterm bbs which are small, they feel that small tummies = light bb = no good! but they didn't know sometimes it's dangerous to have an overweight bb also...

anyway, just continue to eat small meals now...and most importantly eat healthily with lots of veggies and fruits..

phy>> Oh cuz saw u posted that your gynae will get u the float + antiseptic wash. So since my gynae is also Eunice, was wondering if I wld be given the same thing too.

Then no need to buy from outside.

Rmummy and Jellypurin,

My #1 will be ard 30 months when his didi comes along. Right now we are in the midst of training him to sleep in his own bedroom... Hubby sleeps with him in his room on weekends.. Weekdays I can't bear to let him be so far away from me so he's still sleeping in the toddler cot beside our bed... Deep inside I just don't want my BB not near me...

Arrangement with hubby is that he will sleep with #1 in his bedroom while I sleep with #2 in our master bedroom during my maternity leave... after that we shall see.

sweetkiss,

I heard from my fren that its good to tell bb to go sleep at night. He says its good "tai jiao" and to teach bb that its night time and its time to sleep alr. so that next time when they are out, its easier for them to adjust when u tell them the exact same word and pat them.

autrum,

Thats what my gynae told me too. cos i was saying how come my tummy seems quite small for a 30 weeks preggy, and he said that cos i am tall, thats why can hide the tummy pretty well.

phy

so far my #1 will sleep in her bed. then in e middle of the nt will wake up & sneak into our bed! at least yr boy is sleepin in own bed now

Oic.

Ya, she got me the antiseptic wash. For the rubber ring, I asked from the nurses there.

Btw, decided on the ward already? Me gonna take the easiest way out, followed the previous birth haha.

anesthetist and PD all follow whatever in my records haha... I like the anesthetist, he calmed me and talked alot with me while admistering the epidural... imagine me, the scarly cat lying trembling on the delivery bed, so scared of the needles and the idea of a long one inserted into the spinal area... gosh!! Luckily he has steady hands and very humourous... managed to calm me down.

tek_koh,

Ya, my #1 quite an easy boy to start with. He stopped waking up at night (from 11am to 6am) for milk since 2 months plus... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope #2 will be the same!

Actually even if #1 sleeps on his own in his own bedroom, I will take out my video baby monitor just in case he wakes up at night and cries while the adults sleep away...

sneaking into your bed sounds so sweet!! haha, my boy won't do that, once he konks out around 9 plus, zzzz all the way till 7 plus the next morning.

im quite worried eh.. cos mine ah..

wk 28 bb just nearly hit 1kg nia..

waiting for next monday when im turning wk 32 to see how is bb..

i dun seems to feel the weight..

or im fat everywhere and my body used to it?

hael red beans ok. green beans NOT ok - cooling. but now that we're in 3rd trimester, my mom said can eat anything but always in moderation ya? dun take too much cooling stuff. if have craving, 1-2 spoonsful ok

my baby was 1.7kg at Wk31 - gynae says it's avg, so ok la. some ppl are just so fixated with baby's weight

cheese if your gynae didn't raise any concern, then you have nothing to worry about [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

phy>> I'm taking the one-bedded ward...everything else, hvn't decide yet.

I know nuts abt delivery. U mean we need to hv a PD at the delivery already?

phy, is administering the epidural painful? i am also a scaredy cat. but i read the what to expect book, it mentioned majority of mummies dun feel it when the anesthetic needle went in.

phy

at least ur #1 is quite old leh... u hv ur own hse and all.. i dun... i always think i made the wrg decision to continue to stay with my parents after i knew i was preggers w my #1... i cant do anything now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] just have to live with the current condition but i am v thankful my parents are helping me out w the caregiving...

teh kok - aww, that is so sweet. That he comes to look for u all in the middle of the nite! mine will tend to follow me to the toilet if i wake up at night...she sleeps with me in the master bedroom

mrslong - ur gynae will arrange for PD to be there during delivery unless u have request for a particular one.

Good to know which pd is good coz bb will be monitored by him/her while in hospital. If not just take any pd. Me kiasu bah, asked ard for recommended pd and anesthetist b4 Edd

Sweetkiss, hmm, think I was shivering too much and talking to him that I didn't feel any pain. Don't worry, just keep urself distracted then.

Mrs long, dr chua did ask me abt which pd I prefer.. So it's up to u de

re: epidural

if i can tahan, i will not want to go w epidural. it's not the process ... for me it's the side effects. i got all of it! shivering, vomiting & hallucinations... so yup the works!

Jelly >> do u still have the epidural side effects now? My friend still has one of the side effects - severe backache once in awhile.

junie

nope, my backache problem started way before my #1.

i v scared to go thru epi bcos i was literally in a daze... i told my hubby if anyone wants to kill me at that point no prob at all cos i dun know what is happening around me...

Jelly >> Ah? will be in a daze? For my sis, she took epi for her #2 and said she almost 'died'...luckily the nurse came in & manage to "reduce" the dosage drip or something.

rmummy

nah... i went straight w epi.. regret lah... now i am hesitating to induce #2... just feel like waiting for his arrival rather than pushing him out when i feel like it...

phy

now messy situation for me ... i hope i can move out in 3 years time...

junie

i actually had what they call "walking epidural"... i was on v low doses. i only ramp it up when i cannot take the peak of contractions so in my 7hr labour, i know how my contractions feel. i was nv quite on full dose until 2hrs before i deliver my bb cos my gynae say i need to conserve energy for pushing hence it was ramped up and it was also at this pt i begun to go into a daze... 4omins after the ramp, they brought it down as i was already 8cm dilated and i was ready to push n gynae say i am good so they let the contractions come back... but the epidural was still in my body causing me to go in and out of consciousness... trying to coordinate breathing, pushing and vomiting all at one time. i really dunno how i did it so at abt 9cm, my gyna ask me to push and i push lor... 20mins later out pops my #1...

i think by the time during labour, whatever breathing exercises the antenatal class taught, I wld have forgotten.

say what must stop breathing & then push, if gynae said dun push & u hv the urge, then must do some kind of breathing technique....think by then I will still remember meh? ahaha.