(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

epidural waa...epi sounds so dangerous

jelly it must be very difficult - to puke and push at the same time?

mrslong your sis almost 'died'? what happened?

ica

i was holding my puke and concentrating to push so after i push, i will puke. it was v messy.

junie

erm, can be done. just hv 2 listen to your body

mrslong, i agree with you. went to mrs wong's class last night and she mentioned the 5 steps to soothe a crying baby. i can only remember 3. so can only imagine what else i'll forget when i'm under pain & stress!!!

PD during birth: If my gynae is not assigning me one, I think i will choose Terence Tan from Mt A since I am giving birth there. Heard alot of good review on him as a PD.

Anesthetist: Had not source yet. Slowly see. Haha!!

Anetenatal class: I assigned the role of remembering to my hubby cos i told him when in pain, i dun think i will remmeber so much. So it is his job as a hubby to support and remind me what i can do and what i can't do. He is also supposed to listen properly to the gynae instruction and guide me thru labor. Haha!! So throw all responsibilities to him.

its so true for me! i really forgot all abt my breathing techniques when i was delivering my #1. All i can remember is that i kept telling my gynae i want to go home!

babycoco now that you mentioned the 5 ways to soothe baby by Mrs Wong - me forgotten all 5 oredi! shucks! doubt my hubby can remember either

ica >> my sis said she might be allergic to epi so when she was injected & the nurse left, she had difficulty breathing and almost black out. She was also breaking out into sweats....& she tried calling for the nurse, but they cldn't hear her...she was scared to death man.

Then luckily later, a nurse came in & saw my sis had difficulty so adjusted the dosage.

Ann >> I also asked my HB to pay attention & remind me on my breathing cuz I will sure forget.

mrslong eeee...so scary. what if no nurse came into the room. does your sis have any allergy? must be something in the epi that she couuldn't take ah

babycoco sigh...ya lor. maybe tonight i ask my hubby see he can still remember. hopefully our maternal instincts will auto kick in

Jellypurin - both sons i take epidural cause from the start water bag leak, i dont feel the pain. Even the small contraction i dont feel pain. So gynae ask how want or dont want. She worried i might push when the pain really comes cause with my attitude everyting want fast, sure the TORN below will be terrible.

So he put epidural while waiting for me to dilate. But once epidural, i will vomit non stop. I tink it could be the side effect, below dilating i got no pain so it comes to vomit.

After vomiting episod end, i sleep lor. Almost time dilate 9cm doctor say push. 3 times out the 2nd ones comes out. 2nd one is easier smaller 3.45kg and he is facing down. 1st one was hell 3.75kg and facing up. So the shoulder hard to come out. I almost want to give up man!!

But with epidural we do not suffer from severe torn below. So we can minimize below injury and we can heal faster.

I started to walk after 5 hours of delivery. Go toilet bath and walk to nursery to find my sons.

Nurse all panic scared i faint cause just delivered mah, but i told them i want to see my son. So they let me see my sons. Nurse says mummy determination sooo strong till the below no more pain ...

My cousins all of them no epidural, all below torn like hell, cannot seat and walk properly for almost 2 weeks. I cannot suffer like that i am active person so i cannot imagine my below torn till like that.

CT

that's why w my #2, am wondering if i shd just really try to tahan the pain.

phy

u r v lucky... i'm not allergic to epi, just suffer from the side effects... yucks...

first time mummies.. dun noe if i can tahan the pain a not, some say just like da bian.. but some say its pain like hell! so it depends on invi. scary! counting down! btw, Wk 37 will be good enough for bb to land to the earth right?

COs what i noe is my doc will "choose" date or advise to see if ready for deliver

ica >> not sure if my sis has any allergy but I doubt so, that's why she also didn't expect when she was injected with the epi, she had such a reaction.

aiyo im the type that will vomit also i think. Many yrs ago I had an operation and i was under GA. After that really damn terrible, vomit for at least 1 and a half days.. non stop just yellow bile keep coming out and the feeling of nausea was very bad.

Thats the ONLY thing thats stopping me from taking epi. But without Epi... sounds like so painful n scary..

haiyo!!! :~~~(

CT does epidural really determines severity of the tear? i thot it's episiotomy - you can still go natural without epidural but have an episiotomy so that the stress/tear is concentrated in one direction, as opposed to natural tear, which can be uncontrollable and all over the place

CT,

Actually i dont really understand. Why with epi the tear is smaller? And without epi the tear is worse? I tot epi only controls if we feel the pain or not?

For the 5 steps, moms from Mrs Wong class can share? :p I am taking Mt A classes and i dun think they did cover this part leh.

jaclyn

yes, yellow bile... i did not eat the whole day when i was sent to the delivery room so i hate that feeling of the bile coming out. v gross.... but epi is like LA...brace urself for it if you already hv some side effects and if you are on it...

re: tear down under

okie, i know what CT is trying to say. epi is suppose to take away the peaks/edges of your contraction. when u r about 8-9cm dilated, all u wanna do is push bcos the contraction is so strong and so painful. with epi, u control ur pushing, u will not be in the position to push as you wish, causing u to lose energy as well as creating a long and uglier tear down under. so when u r on epidural, u will be able to minimise the tear length in that sense...

i think i better not take epidural. i'm allergic to Nurofen + i'm asthmatic. skali some compound in the epidural wrecks havoc with my body, then my childbirth story will be very "memorable" indeed. kakaka

ica

ur gynae know of your condition? if he/she does then shd be able to advice if epidural is safe for u or not [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jelly yes, they're in my medical records. i've gone under GA and LA before - could recover very fast and no side effects. but maybe epi is a totally different thing all together

Jellypurin - U is right. When we dont feel the pain we would not push sooo much. So the tear will be nice and perfect for gynae to do episiotomy when we dilate up to 8cm onwards to faster the episod.

My cousins all during 6 cm the pain is soo painful that they start to push, thinking baby can come out so the torn is zig zag and till torn near the anus. They dont control so by the time gynae come to deliver the torn already done badly no need episiotomy.

I dont want like that. I rather suffer vomit for few hours on the bed and rest after vomit. The torn i am most concern. So vomit still i can accept [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

reading all these sound so scary. is like, no epi, very painful.. with epi, got side effects. but i agree is up to individual. some of my friends gave birth without epi, they say pain is bearable while some mentioned it was the worse pain they experienced. i also have friends with epi for two deliveries and all went well, while some suffered side effects. perhaps it depends on our luck!

counting down, i have 7 weeks to go and i am so nervous. when i count back to 7 weeks ago, i was 26 weeks... how come time passed so fast? now that i am in fear and anticpation, the weeks seem to go slower.. my feeling is like a cross between excitement for bb's arrival and fear of going through labour.

Keer: I at first also wanna buy Avent. Forgot why.. haha.. i also like the blender for food by Avent. I heard the milk warmer is not a must, can put on the boiling water to warm it up.

I also bought medela breast pump from the spree.

Regarding the baby wipes, i heard now all hospital using Johnson baby wipes. I thinking of buying it. I also heard pigeon got this new wipes which is anti-bacterial. Can 'xiao du' one.

Taking epidural so dangerous?

i think can lei.. just use the steamer lor, like how u steam the food, but i also bought the milk warmer.. eh the pigeon milk warmer is also food warmer right? i forgot haha! i think it is eh.. i rem it also comes with cup, put the food in cup then can heat up the food. just that for milk u turn to 40 degrees.

Shann: it's a 3 in 1 thingy. steam steriliser, food & bottle warmer. But i still thinking whether to buy as individuals or buy this 3 in 1 thing.

oh oh... i didn't get the 3 in 1 thing.. mine is the avent steam steriliser by itself, then the avent steamer and blender, and then i bought the pigeon food and milk warmer..

hello mummies to be! the day is drawing nearer and nearer! have you prepared one of the essentials for your baby - the beansprout husks pillow?

my BP is coming up on Tuesday, in the meantime, you can drop by my blogshop to take a look first ya?

http://www.itemsmadewithlove.blogspot.com/

We make and customise beanie pillows and bolsters. Customisation of sizes is available.

Our beansprout husks are washed, carefully handpicked and sun dried repeatedly.

All fabrics are 100% cotton and will be handwashed with baby safe washing powder before being filled with beansprout husks.

Sweetkiss: you are right, thats what I feel too. I can't wait for my baby to come out but yet im abit weary of the labour haha!

Nvm mommies, lets just remind ourselves.. we have gone through 9 months of discomfort....... whats 1 day of labour gonna do to us?? NOTHING!!!

End of the day, we will be rewarded with a precious darling! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Want to ask those breastfeeding mommies with experience.. how does breastfeeding actually feel?

Hahaa sorry .. but im curious to know what its like. Do you actually feel milk coming out... is it ticklish? painful?

Jaclyn: agree!

mummies, for those using avent bottles but non-avent breast pumps, the converter is really good! i just got my ameda pump today. with the converter, my avent bottles fit perfectly to my pump! rem to get it! it's not expensive, less than $15 thru spree, BP also selling.

morn mommies

jaclyn

u dun feel milk coming out from your milk ducts at all. when bb suckle, u can feel him/her sucking on ur breast... it can b painful if bb is not latched properly. if you squueze ur breat... u should see sprays/trickles of milk. when you express, there should not be pain too unless you have block ducts...

Jelly: okies thx haaa.. just curious.. is there such thing as "blocked" nipples? I see my nipple now have some whitish stuff (dried stuff). I clear away.. few days later come back again. Dont know if that will affect baby's latching and whether anot hes able to suckle.

babycoco: when i bought the pigeon sterilizer, they gave some bottles. Then when I buy medela breast pump, they also gave some bottles. So now i have both these brands but haven decide which one to use. Depends on what bb prefers i guess

Hi, can i check those bottle store breast milk need to sterilise? Then if i buy medela pump & avent steriliser how?

Anyone know where to buy or get cheap milk storage bottle & bag? My pump is medela.

Sweet: link pls? hehe.. does it fit got Avent bottles?

jaclyn

maybe u r leaking colostrum... am not sure...will not affect bb when he latches... not to worry at this point

ceres

ur set comes with 4 bottles from medela. think u dunnid to buy at this point. maybe u will b v successful in latching?

re: steriliser

most branded steriliser can be used to steam all sort of bottles from the various brands we talk about here. you do not need to buy the same brand bottle for the same brand steriliser... i use my pigeon steriliser for avent, green to grow, medela and pigeon bottles. will work.

But I heard that avent sterilizer can only fit avent bottles. Better check first.

Haa I bot avent bottles, pigeon steriliser n medela breastpump. All diff brands!!

hi all! havent log on for few days coz been busy with my new maid! been doing a lot of damage n control in the house! My maid has arrived for a week n guess what.. last night she told me she missed her 2 year old baby and her family and tell me she wanna go home! I called agent n let agent spoke to her.. and the maid told agent my baby not here yet, house alwaz nobody, nothing much to do.. too much free time so miss home terribly! Then after that agent spoke to us and questioned us why so relax with maid! my hubby angry lor. Actually I think the way he talk to the maid more patient than when he talks to me! Moreover after every meal (I cook one coz gota show maid how to cook), he will make sure maid have the same fruits as us. And whenever we snacked or have tea break.. she will eat same thing as us. Told my hubby everyone been warning me thats not the way to treat maid n he doesnt care.. he feels proud to be so good to maid. Now maid also doesnt reciprocate n want go home.. xiao liao la.. I'm delivering end of june... prob not enough time for a new maid to come in le! headache! Hubby somemore leaving again this noon at 2pm! Be away till next week.. I got to do fire-fighting myself again... SIANNNNN

Jelly: Thanks! Hehe. scared later spoil the bottles. Hopefully i can sucessfully let him latch. So even those bottle to store milk need sterilise also?

My colleague told me her frd breast feed feel that it generate more milk then when she pump. Haha.

Atomic: Siao lor ur maid. Think ask agent find her an abusive house. Haha.

Hi atomickitchen, I m getting a maid too. Suppose to come early but now agency told me her passport not ready! Headache. My Edd is 4 July, needs time to train her also leh. Seems like time not enough!