(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

Hael: I have not check out the prenatal class yet, but I will sure to attend. Next tues i will be going for injection, so applying for the FBI too. Any idea when should we start going for the prenatal classes? I am also waiting for 2nd trim then I want to go for massage. Cant wait! I will be engaging a Malay auntie who go ppl's hse to do the massage, so I dont ve to travel out.

Oh Hael, I realise Dr Cheng package doesnt include scanning [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Gotta fork out extra $60 each time.

Re: Stretch Mark Cream

I bought the Clarins cream instead of oil. Quite good so far as I feel it is easily being absorbed and not oily at all. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Sun tan, I think is ard $50 for a session of 1.5hr. I got 2 contacts right now, so maybe when the time is right, I will try and see which is better. If you are interested can let me know [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow not bad huh, $50 for 1.5hr (normal spa only 60 mins..) somemore is at the comfort of own house..yup, i am interested, do let me know which is better ok. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Okok sure[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i will post here to keep all of u update. Guess earliest also must wait til Jan2010.. QUick quick comE! I wanna massage! Hahaa..

massage - I thought can only do after 1st trimester right??

Prenatal classes - I read tat we can only do from 20 weeks onwards??

Oscar Test - hmmm... besides down syndrome what else is tested?? I definitely won't abort.. maybe I'll give it a miss too.

Hael - dun think they will bother, cos their price is quite low already... think I'll get the clarins oil too then.. sigh... jus went there to get toiletries today... I'm still struggling to finish my stinko coco butter which I bought before doing any research

Taurus - yah loh... mum booked the trip before she know I'm pregnant.. am going to rot in the resort for two days since it's a Skiing resort.. sigh...

when my gynae asked whether i want to go for the Oscar, i was surprised and asked her, you mean there are pple not going for it? even for now 2nd bb, without a doubt, yes i will def do it again.

i guess i am a person that don't like the doubt feeling. even if choose to keep the bb, i would also want to be prepared mentally. having a bb is not just abt myself. its also my husband and parents, parents inlaw for support. i would want them to be prepared for me as well.

so i would definitely go for the test. as for false positive, yes, i have heard before that cause a lot of anxiety but there are further tests to achieve 100% accuracy should the oscar results turn out to be not good. if we can't even handle this, how can we possibly handle the truth if really something happens? It's an enormous responsibility that if we choose to shoulder and i feel strongly about preparing everyone in the family. Its gotta be a conscious decision and not something which we can say go with the flow.

re: oscar test

for my #1, my gynae did give me option to go or not. but for this #2, he straight away give me appt to do this oscar test. kinda worry also, hope it turns out alright.

Pillow, we are from the same school of thoughts. Must know what we are getting into. Be mentally, psychologically andphysically prepared, if not ready. Agree with you about all the support needed.

Gynae package

my gynae stopped offering packages so I'm still thinking if I should continue with her.

Anyone seeing any female gynae who offers packages at TMC?

Joe,

it's a test to see the odds of having a down syndrome baby. Ultrasound scans of measurement of baby's dimension eg head circumference, limps length etc. If lucky can know the gender of bAby.

Cherrymum,

don't worry too much. My oscar schedule on 31st dec which is a half day. Won't get to know results till 3 jan. The wait will be unbearable but I tell myself everything will be alright.

phy,

my gynae dr sim is also from tmc...her package is $700 starting from 12 weeks... i've been using her since my no 1 who's 20 mths now...

phy, If you want to consider changing doc, still not too late, most package start after 1st trimester.

First time I heard of oscar test! I dun see that un the test list that my gynae offer leh! maybe I miss out.

under what circumstances will your Gynae ask you to do it?

morning ladies.. i would like to check how much does the oscar test cost?

my gynae charge me $470 for oscar test and blood tests.. to be done at my gynae's clinic and lab.. quite costly hor.. but i check with them if do at TMC, will be $300 plus with some blood test excluded.. eventurally all the necessary blood tests have to be done lah...

Hi, I have the following to let go:

1) Medela PIS pump (Medela 2008 Pump In Style Metro Bag). In good condition as I only used it for less than 15 times.

This new 2008 Pump In Style Advanced features the latest Improved 2-Phase Expression Technology.It allows moms to toggle back and forth from stimulation to expression phase ; an updated bag design with contrast color accents ; personal Fit breastshield and a new bottle design .

Features

* Let-down mode: Simulates your baby's initial rapid suckling to initiate faster milk flow.

* Expression mode: Simulates your baby's slower, deeper suckling for maximum milk flow in less time.

* Feels more like your baby than any other retail pump

* One-touch 'let-down' button designed for faster milk flow

* Customized pumping with adjustable speed and vacuum control

* Roomy messenger bag in a durable, stain-resistant nylon provides plenty of space for all the essentials.

* Adjustable strap for customized drop length is also reversible for a different look

* Completely removable internal parts, so the bag can be used long after mom has done pumping

* Battery Pak for pumping anywhere, anytime

The following is inclusive:

* Stylish messenger bag with adjustable strap

* Removable motor unit in its own case

* Battery Pak (8AA batteries not included)

* Removable cooler carrier

* 4 collection containers & lids

* 2-24mm Breastshields

* 2 valves

* 4 membranes

* Cooling element

* Instructions

2) Almost-new nursing pillow (My Brest Friend) to let go as baby is not used to the pillow when latching on.

Features:

- Wrap around design secures to the body helping mom and baby maintain positioning and latch-on

- Back rest helps you maintain good posture during feeding and prevents sore back and neck

- Firm, flat cushion keeps baby from rolling

- Adjustable, silent-release strap fits Moms or Dads comfortably and unlatches without waking baby

- Arm and elbow rests eliminate shoulder stress

- Convenient Pocket keeps water bottles, burp cloths, phone, and other items within reach

Pls PM me if interested!

springleaf: after tested 4 high-risk down symndrome, i did de amniocentesis (dun noe hw 2 spell) n after a terrible 2 week-wait, bb was found to be OK..hEe...so he is a healthy boy now..

Hi all, been silently reading this thread and decided to join in the chat with all the JUL MTB.

I am expecting my first child and I noticed I hve the same EDD and gyn as another fellow MTB. I am with Dr Kowa at MEH and my EDD is 10 July.

I hve been suffering from MS, having no appetite and been vomitting too. I hve lost abt 2 kg but I heard that weight loss is quite common in the first trimester.

Oh I am also suffering from a breakout as I notice my skin is getting much oiler. Any one faced the same prob? I dun know what i can use on my face for the breakouts. Argh.

Hope to hear from you MTBs soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi munchies, welcome to the club. Dont worry abt the breakout. Guess its due to hormones changes. My faces was so bad too. Currently I am going into my 11th week and my skin condition improve. I believe eventually it will turns better.

I also lost 2kg from all the vomiting and no appetite. All these will go off soon. Hang on there!

Oh just realise u mention ur EDD is 10 July. Hee mine is 12 July. My MS has gone, only feeling neusea when I am super hungry. Hope urs will go away soon too. Right now I begin to enjoy the journey. Week 5 to week 9 is really a torture to me. Try getting the anti vomit pills from ur gynae if you are still vomiting alot. That pill is like GOD to me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hello mummies, my baby is 9 weeks old today. Went for a scan this morning and he is growing well at 21.6mm[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I also saw the yolk sac. So mazing!

joetsang,

$700 only includes consultation and (normal) scans, vitamins and urine tests till delivery. delivery will be another charge...think its abt $1000 ++ for normal and $2000++ for caesarian

Re OSCAR Scan

Just did my test at TMC this morning. Cost abt $289 after FBI discount (card that I signed for no. 1 still not expire). Must drink lot of water before scan. Can see bb fingers today but too bad this sonographer seems like rushing for time didn't let us see bb's gender.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

so exciting bb_gen [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

we can request to see baby's gender during scan? actually i thought gender only known abt 20 wks thereabt? ..

re:MS

mine's not so strong now. on & off still but managable lah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hael,

I think if you are having a boy and the bb is in a gd position, u can tell the gender during the oscar test. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I think there shld be a blood test too on the same day u do the NT scan.

Hi Ladies.

Hope everyone is feeling fine today. I had a great time shopping yesterday and today. A little overboard and was starting to spots just now. Opps.

Oh.. by the way, I stopped by Clarins counter at Taka today and check with them on what is the difference between the oil & the cream. The counter staff told me that first trimester.. pple will use the cream... when going in to the 2nd trimester.. our tummy will grow bigger faster so pple will normally use the oil and cream together. So I ask what is the function of the cream and the oil. She told me that the cream only does prevention and reduce stretchmark but the oil does prevention and reduce plus toning and firming. So I ask her if the oil is better.. then why buy the cream. She told me sometime mummy cannot stand the smell of the oil so prefer to use cream. Abit confusing for me la. Don't really see the logic. But I feel since both the same price.. why dun i just buy the oil only since it had more function. Anyway... i told hubby to buy be the cream for Xmas and the oil for Vday next yr as gifts. Hehe!!

I also went paragon to buy my full body support pillow at the shop called "The First Few years". Cost me $138. Quite nice to sleep with and now i need not worry about my posture.. but I need to worry about my bed space.. hubby kanna squeeze to the side of the bed. And when my dog come to bed, the bed is even more squeezy. Wish we had bought a king size bed instead. Hehe!!

Oh by the way... the shop is quite good.. at least to me.. i find quite a number of products which i like there... would consider going back to paragon to buy if i can't get a 2nd hand things which i like. Pricing also quite normal. Sales staff also very good and professional.

There's a new MotherCare shop which had just open. Quite big. Went there to buy the nursing bra.. 2 pcs cost $70 plus. I find quite worth it cos after BB is born.. can still use it. Better than buying support bra.

That's all the information I had gathered these 2 days. Hope it is of use to you all.

Do share if you all have other things or shop to recommend.

Hey MTBs....for those 1st time mummies, shld look out for the motherhood fair...cos can get really good deals there....

not sure abt the exact dates of the fair, but u can sign up with http://www.todaysmotherhood.com/

n they may notify you of any upcoming events...

the last motherhood fair in Aug, there's super great deals on Avent n Medela's products....esp Avent...even the Taka bb's fair cant beat...

fyi...

Hael, ya I did the blood test as well.

The sonographer who did my no.1 scan was patience she went thru the scan and told us that 60% is a girl which was further confirmed later during my detailed scan.

This one not so, perhaps it's a weekend..

munchies

i thk i'll ask if can see anythg. at the moment i hve not officially started buying any baby clothes yet bec duno buy blue or pink. just got 1 white & 1 yellow top the other day for newborns - that's abt it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ann

thanks for the detailed explanatn on Oil or Cream. so confusing right? but it sounds like the oil is the better one to get with all the benefits, i think i will get Oil & Bust Gel tomorrow & give e cream a miss then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bbmermaid

the baby fair is that the one at Expo there?

bb_Gen

oh dear, I am a not exactly one who likes needles - wont be looking forward to it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] by the way how much blood do they take? little bit or a few vials?

re: prenatal massage

there are 2 persons whom some moms have recommended me that do prenatal msg 1.5hrs for $40 home visits but after some consideratn i tink i may prefer to do the trek to the massage joint to get e prenatal msg. so far there is a javanese massage place near my place $40 for 1hr prenatal body massage. i will prob start next wk or wk after [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hael, they will draw abt 3/4 of the tube. You will feel abit pain when the needle is poke into our arm..

Re Pre and Post natal massage

Just curious to know when can we start prenatal massage. And if c-sec, how many mths later can we start postnatal massage? I din have my postnatal massage as I had a c-sec.

one more difference I heard between cream and oil is that oil is more suitable for later on as the tummy gets really big as oil tends to glide over the skin more easily and reduces the amt of friction as compared to cream. This will cause less "pulling" sensation on the skin too. I'm using earth mama now but thinking of trying mustela after this cos of the many rave reviews.

By the way also wanted to share on this great pc of item I got recently frm Mothercare called Belly Belt. It's an expander for bottoms with buttons or slides closure. Gives me more mileage out of my current bottoms! It's prob not as flexible as the Bella Band but is gd for me for the price of $29.

hi mommies

hope that many of you had a great weekend...went for my last check and bb was 8w4d on 19 dec, meansuring 1.83cm. EDD is 27 Jul. will be going for downs test 1 month down...

bought the clarins oil yesterday and just wanted to share that it's wonderful. smells good too!

ann, thanks for sharing your findings with us. saves me a few trips to look for the support pillow. by the way, i have 2 dogs, luckily only 1 asks to sleep on the bed. what dog do you have?

Ann, haa, thats quite some shopping you have there for the 2 days. I was at Isetan sale the other day and bought quite a few baby doll tops. Feel that they look much nicer than the nomral maternity top and is definitely cheaper. Also after giving birth, still can wear, so more worth it.

Hael, where do you stay? I dun think all massage place have prenatal massage? Hmm.. maybe i should call mine up and ask if they have the service.