(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

hi fazzy, its ok to be worried...jus try to relax and enjoy ur pregnancy...becos before u koe it, ur little one is out and another journey begins...

did u sign up with www.babycenter.com.sg

they give weekly updates of bb.

try to read up more abt wat to expect wen bb comes too...so tat u'll b well prepared. one book i strongly recommend:

What to expect the first year-by Heidi Murkroff, Arlene Eisenberg & Sandee Hathaway.

Morning all..

had a really bad morning.. sigh... nothing in stomach still puke n puke.. Welcome all 'new' mtbs... think we all missed out jayamum leh..

do we need to add another column regarding our age?? hee

Fazzy, I guess the excitment will slowly reduce as the news hits you ba... meanwhile, can use it as a drive to research on all baby stuff... i'm so tired with ms nowadays that I can't be bothered with researching on reviews on things needed for baby liao..

dun wori, noknok....ms will usually b gone in 2nd trimester....

wen i was expecting my #1, i always hv a bottle of Florida's lemonade with me everywhere i go, cos it really helps with my ms. and its not sweet...really lemonade n not like others tat's taste more like sugar water.

noknok - try to eat small snack/drinks whenever u feel puky. Whenever i feel like puking i will have to stuff something into my mouth then i will feel better. Don make urself hungry. e more u feel hungry the more u feel like puking.

hi fazzy, i hv another book which is really useful, but u cant find it in any bookstore in sin, so u need to look for it online.

the title: The complete book of Mother & Baby care by Dorling Kindersley.

u can oso sign up with huggies n dumex too.

agree with astro_gal...must eat something ya, noknok, cos if u puke wen nothing in ur stomach, the feeling is....not so good=terrible....

try sultana biscuits...grapes too...

I tried... ate but still puke out... sigh.. bbmermaid, it feels disguisting.. think my teeth will be corroded soon.. haha... hopfully will be gone by 1st trim. my collegue told me she puke for e whole 9 mths.. gosh.. hope I'm not so unlucky.

Oh.. my friend told me before she did ask her gynae which website's information is more reliable and she told me to read up on ivillage.com instead. She did told me her list includes babycenter.com but her gynae din recommend that. Just a note since not all information found on e internet is reliable.

oh, then ur colleague is the 10% tat had ms throughout....dun wori, im sure u will be alrite.

will chk out ivillage.com too....any information are good...thks...

sounds so xinku leh noknok..hopefully e ms will be gone as u approach 2nd trimester.

i was looking at my tummy ylast night and saw the few stretch marks left behind by 1st pregnancy makes me really scare to accumulate more of it..hopefully this pregnancy can spare me of stretchmarks

Astro Gal, part and parcel of life I guess... I have good days and bad days... last 2 days I din have any ms at all.. today very very bad.. guess it depends on bb's mood ba...

I've been applying stretch mark cream religiously even though tummy not very big yet.. hopfully will help. Tummy starting to itch liao... anyone feeling the same??

Hi Noknok,

We are having the same EDD, 29 July 2009. And me too, had really bad MS and was given 2 anti-nauseous jabs by my gynae as I am showing signs of dehydration. I think the peak of MS is bet wk 7 to wk 10 .... so we just have to hang in there ...

For my 1st pregnancy, my MS stayed with me till I am around 5 mths but I find the MS for my 2nd pregnancy is worst then my 1st .... sign .... Me too got no mood for anything now ...

By the way, I heard from my friend hor, she got bad stretch marks for her 1st pregnancy and for her 2nd pregnancy she diligently apply the stretch marks cream and all her stretch from the 1st pregnancy actually disappear after that .... so we have to work harder for this 2nd chance...kekeke

Noknok - Me lo.. sometimes my tummy will itch badly.. scratch and scratch.

Hey anyone feel that their skin turn drier? The other day I was looking at my feet and it look so dry.. like old grandma feet like that.. skin also rough to touch. Now everynight keep asking hubby to put on foot cream for me.

Noknok, I'm also another who puke till I gave birth for my no. 1 hope for this one ms will go after 1st trim.

Ann, ya. My skin starts to crack liao.. currently applying Cetaphil moisturizing lotion.

springleaf: where r u taking ur oscar next wed?? me oso... but taking at TMC.. my #1 was diagnosed high risk down syndrome only at 22 weeks so this time round doing it in 1st trimester..

siti: u noe wat, i m hoping 4 a girl this time round too..

itchy tummy: an old wives tale fr my mummi, if u scratch ur tummy when u r expecting, ur bb mite hv marks on his/her body..i dun noe hw true but 4 ur kind info..

Hi 5 Taurus!!

Wah.. all bad news... MS may not stop even after 1st trim... stretch mark may not be prevented even with stretch mark cream.. sobz... My friend asked me not to scratch when itchy cos she got stretch mark after scratching.. dunno how true.

I feel my face and scalp getting oilier but hands, legs and lips getting dryer.. Cham.. me going korea next week.. think the cold will make it worse.. time to go buy body butter.

Oh ... read wrongly... hee.. stretch mark can go away.. hee.. time to stock up stretch mark cream..

My friend recommend clarin's stretch mark Oil type... but then I go buy they say I should use the cream type. I bought the cream type... anyone knows what's e difference?? cos the oil type din say it's for stretch mark..

Ann, try not to scratch too much.

I do feel itchy at times so I went to buy the clarins treatment oil & stretch mark control cream. It works for me. My skin is not so dry anymore. U should try it.

BTW, I bought it at Chinatown. Only $56 per bottle compared to $80 retail price.

Babycoco, my doc also strongly recommend amniotic test. I am still considering if I should go ahead for the test. My next doc visit is 2 Jan, see what the doc will say this time.

Sigh, I think that's the worry for mommies above age 35. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

bbbliss

i m goin down tis wkened to get after jo_lyn told me its at people's park complex. tinking of a few prdts but wondering wat mommies tink as better ones to get ... do an impromtu opinion poll [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw do u know if they will give more discount if i get a few of my pregger frens to buy wth me too?

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3398841.jpg]for the expanding bustline [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi bbliss, i'm going for the nuchal translucency test next wed (is this the oscar test that everybody is talking about?). have you done yours yet? ya, i'm sure we all have the same worries. but i'm trying to think positive ...

noknok, have you tried chewing gum? i find that helps me when i feel like throwing up. but you're right, some days worse than others right? today my ms is also quite bad, plus got lower back pain, boobs hurt, very tired. sigh ...

bbbliss

i tink amnio test has got certain risks too right? bec it extract amnio fluid & tat is not so gd is it? not sure also ..

babycoco

i tink yr test u referring to is Oscar? its not the same as amnio test right? oh boy, a lil confused ... ..

noknok

i tink e oil is meant for night & the cream/lotion is for daytime [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

taurus, my gynae still recommended the amniotic test as it is 99% accurate. but of course there are risks involved. i think better not think too much for now.

by the way, any mummies have problem sleeping at night? i'm the kind that sleeps thru anything, 8 hours min. lately (even before i found out i was pregnant), i've been waking up at 4, can't go back to sleep till 7.

Oscar Test

I was 33 when I expected my #1. I also went for Oscar test for my #1. For me, I think it is important to know so as to better prepare the parents.

For #2, I'll be 36 when I deliver(tiger and baby also tiger!)Already scheduled my oscar on the 31st Dec, last day of the year. Of coz keeping fingers and toes crossed and Pray hard that all will be fine.

Anyway, now also busy planning my #1 Birthday party. He's a Xmas Eve kiddo. Can't help but feel that time really flies! 2 years just passed like that.

To share with all first time mummies here... I had very bad post natal blues after #1 came along. Ladies, do remember to get all the help you can in the 4 months you're with the kiddo. I was stubborn and insisted on looking after him myself. Who knows I couldn't cope with his eczema issue and sank into post natal blues. It lasted for about 1 year.

Stay happy and positive

I was happy and positive throught my first pregnacy so my boy turns out to be a very happy and easy kid (except his bad eczema in his first year). Now I take things very easy. Just laze and let hubby and MIL look after me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Stretch marks

Didn't know got second chances. Good! Hate those ugly stretch marks on my bum bum! Haha

jo_lyn

i have not gone to TMC since last checkup but will signup the incentive card when i do .. r u goin to go for prenatal classes? i will be doing tat & it gives 10% discount too - quite gd [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

by the way the front desk staff mentioned to me that FBI/SBI alwys do promo with Clarins Wheelock Boutique for prenatal/postnatal massage or products for mommies ... tat shld be gd as well - i am alry shopping for prenatal body massage now - tee hee hee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hihi mummies..

just back from my scanning.. im now 8W6D.. baby is growing well at 2.2cm now.. can see the shape of his/her head and limbs.. haha.. so touch... especially seeing the heatbeat flickering in the monitor.. too bad.. i can only see my bb again one mth later.. i think i will definitely miss him/her.. hee

btw.. are all the mummies here gg to do the oscar test? talk to my gynae abt tat.. and same as rabbit's gynae.. if we are not gg to abort the bb if the result not good.. then no point have the oscar test.. since tat only come back with how is the risk %... so hubby dont want me to take the test too.. he scared i worried too much if the result is not good... any opinion from 2nd time mummies here?

re the stregth mark cream..

are they sell at the duty free? tot of buying there when i flying next sun.. hope it's cheaper. hehe.. which brand is good? clarin? my tummy getting bigger now.. really dont know if tat's cos of pregnancy or my fat... haha...

babycoco

initial stages of preg i was soooo tired, i feel like a zombie in e day & when its nighttime when i hit e bed i m aslp within 5 mins

these few days? i sometimes have insomnia! so for now i just go wth e flow [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nok nok,

the beauty consultant from Clarins told me to use both oil and cream for better results. Thus I bought both at the same time. Put oil first then cream.

babycoco,

my doc didn't mention about the test u will be doing next Wed. Will find out from him more on my next visit....another 2 weeks.

hael,

Yes there are risks for amniotic test...it may lead to miscarriage.

The Huile Tonic by Clarins smells nice too. I used up about 2 bottles for #2. After a bath just quickly apply. No stretch marks on the area I applied (tummy) but I missed out bum bum so there's ugly stretch marks there!

Noknok

korea is very cold & dry, especially during winter (i think they describe their winter as harsh). must apply moisturizer the minute you land. the last time i went to korea during xmas, i started applying moisturizer too late, and had rashes all over my body. it's very very cold & very very very dry.

hael, wow, didnt know that there is prenatal body massage. I still have package with spa and think that i will wait for a long time before i go for my massages again. Any recommendation for good prenatal body massage? As for sleeping, i keep on dreaming lately. And am feeling quite moody for the past few days too..somedays, i can even wake up feeling angry for no reasons..

Reb BB, for me, i will opt for the test. Like what some mummies mentioned. Its to get ourselve prepared..

Noknok,i will be getting the Clarins oil type. My sis used that for her 1st pregnancy and not even 1 stretch mark. Alot of mummies also swear by it.

Oh mummies, rem not to scatch ur tummy when u feel itchy. U feel itchy becoz ur tummy is slowly expanding. For some of my ffriends, whenever they feel itchy they just scratch and end up the area they scratch most have the more scretch marks!

Red BB, I also have mixed feelings about the Oscar test. I opted to do the test last week and then later on when I searched SMH forum I found a few threads with some mums giving feedback that the Oscar test has given them false postitive results, made them worry for the whole of the pregnanacy, only to deliver a perfectly healthy child. I really cross my fingers that my test next week will yield favorable results and this goes to all mummies taking the test too so that we could have a worry-free pregnancy.

For me i will go ahead for the Oscar scan. This is also to make me feel relieve knowing everything is doing well for my little baby.

springleaf,

my cousin's test also came up with a high risk for down syndrome. but she decided not to do the amnio test because she said she wouldn't abort her bb even if she has down syndrome. she gave birth to a healthy bb girl.

babycoco, my gynae just ask me to take the OSCAR and details scan first to determine if I need to go for amniotic test coz she says there are still risk involve and they will not recommend unless necessary.

Me too ... used to sleep all the way but after preggy, i will wake up at 4/5 am and had difficulty going back to sleep till 7 am and then its already time to wake.

Wow Noknok, u going Korea next wk ah ... remember to bring more mosturizer and keep urself warm. Now I got no mood to go anywhere ..just want to stay at hm to sleep ...hahhaha

Red bb, same.. my dh also not keen to take the oscar test.

i actually chat with other mummies in another thread.. and realized some didnt go for the test. but of coz is optional lah..

my tummy skin was soo itchy sometime back.. i scratch until the skin soo red.. like roast pig.. have to really start applying stretch mark cream.