(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

xbeaniex>> hahaa...differing taste. I always use lukewarm water to dissolve the powder then stir & stir very hard until left slight lumps...but for similac, drink finish liao everytime lips feel sticky. hehee.

Hi, mummies

went for my detail scan yesterday.

I'm having a bb boy, so can update for me.

I personally like sling, cos when not in use, i can actually hold or use as a blanket when bb sleep in the stroller, but as for carrier, a bit troublesome to keep when bb decide not to stay in.

The Bjorn carriers, where in Singapore have sell? Does the First Few Years carry the full range?

Thought it'd be better to try out the models 1st.

mrslong - u wan my tin of similac not?? but opened liao..

Ann - maybe milo too heaty for you... if wan chocolate taste drink, if at home, dissolve dark chocolate in warm milk.. if in office, can change to drinking chocolate.. cadbarry one a bit too sweet though.

Pump: im also getting Ameda de.. cause i got a mommy friend using it... so she gave me lots of advices.. but now, i jus need to do my research on where to get a cheaper one... -.-'''

saw someone posting online to sell 2nd hand.. then my friend say... after buying the parts.. also abt the same price as the new one.. so might as well get a new one...

Serene - me too.. although I did sleep well last night.. dunno why...

After reading the two articles that one mummy send regarding 2nd hand breastpump.. we decided to get new one.

hmm babycoco, i just tried buying one, but it says the item cannot be shipped to Singapore.. why ah? did i miss any step? how to send it by vpost?

Noknok> tks for the offer but I already bought a new tin recently. So no need liao, tks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Something amazing happened last night during my sleep, i had exciting movie-like dream, and know what? it's wide screen with 3D effect, like those in OMNI threatre, funny rite? but it's awesome lor haha! first time experience this.

pump -- i worried no warranty and the condition of the pump.. since i plan to go TBF, i need a good pump to last.. i plan to BF at least 1 year.. so investing a new one would be worth it.. plus my mom dun agree with me getting 2nd hand cause she say hygiene issues... (even thou i say i will change the parts) lol

Shann -- i start to dream of being panic whether my water bag will burst in time or not... -.- i guess i must be tossing and thinking too much before i get to sleep... YAWNSSs

Shann - register at Vpost online, then follow the instructions.. There's a US address for the online shop to send it to... and you have to email vpost the invoice after paying for the item. When vpost receive e item they'll inform you abt e cost and then after payment they'll shipped it over to sg.

vpost can hold e item for free for 10 days.. if you have other items to buy from US on different website, do all together to save on the base cost. GST requirement says no one invoice exceeding S$400.. so different invoice is ok. Dun pay vpost first if you wanna wait for all items to arrive at vpost.

Sweetkiss - i was also tempted by the BHG 15%discount..is it on all medela items? but if we buy now, warranty on breast pump will start..so bo hua rite?

Dreams - I dreamt abt breastfeeding BB, then got confuse which breast have BB been fed on.. then I woke up thinking BB going to come out soon.. then i got more awake I quickly pray that BB dun come out now.. cos I haven't even reach 20 weeks... :p

For those who are gg for the abbott talk, they are giving out goodie bag and i think one of the items included is the Similac milk.

Also just to share, one of my fren mentioned that when we are in our 6th mth or something, before we sleep, we can pat our tummy and calm bb down and tell bb to go to tell..she say its to train bb to sleep normal hrs like us, and after she gave birth, her bb can sleep thru the night pretty fast.

sun_tan: cause the last time it broke itself ma... wahahaha... so recollection of all the experiences.. -.-'''

i remember i was so kan cheong in the dream and told my hubby in the dream... "dear, im only 5 mths.. havent la.." -.-

Shann - no prob.. I used to buy dermalogica stuff from US.. way cheaper.. then my friend shipped a lot of leapfrog things over too.. she say much more cheaper then m'sia too.. cos she's m'sian.

sun_tan: im alr patting now.. hahaha... buay tahan bb always kick at my sleeping hours.. there was a party in my tummy last night! -.- then i pat her to sleep lor... but i must feel wheres her butt first.. if not i pat her head to sleep.. next time i will have prob.. hahaha

NokNok>> if you dun want & not much of a hassle, can send to me...but in any case, doubt I'd be going on trip or...haha. tks.

autrumn: ya lor.. but we only lose out on 4 mths if we buy now. not sure if the 15% off applies to the pumps or just accessories...

Don't know want to buy single electric or dual. Cannot make up my mind!

My in-laws all very discouraging. they just laughed at me when i told them i intend to BF for a year. They all keep saying I won’t be able to do it cos it is very tiring, painful, time consuming, …

And they say BF for 1 mth can already, if not bb will reject bottles next time.

Is it really so difficult?

I want to prove them wrong leh.

sweetkiss,

u can do it. I breastfed my boy for 2 years.

and during the 2 years. i used 2 avent manual pump and a medela single electric.

dun know hw i used 1 can spoil them.

To BF really needs family support.

Actually I only intends to BF my BB for up to 3mths and b4 I go bk to work.

I told my HB if for whatever reason, I can't BF (not enuff supply, etc), dun pressure me.

Mrslong: I tried out the Bjorn Active carrier at The First Few Years.. hubby say very good support. Hubby has very bad backache problem so he needs good support carrier. Not too sure if The First Few Years have all the range of Bjorn carriers. But the salesgirl advise me to only buy after BB is born. Try it out with BB.

Dreams: I always have weird dreams.. recently my dream is my hubby has a mistress. I told hubby and he still ask me chio or not.. look like what.. most imptly.. indian or chinese.. he is racist la and last time he dreamt he make love with an indian.. then i joke with him last time that he always like indian. Haha!!

Ann>> oh ok, tks.

Talking abt dreams....even b4 pregnant, I dream every night. Hated it cuz my sleep is not restful.

And most of the time, the dreams are unrelated, etc and when I wake up 85% of the time, I cannot remember what the dream was abt.

for bjorn carrier:

can go mother care, they got sample to let u try, taka bb dept also have.

i was thinking whether to buy when my gal is small, so everytime, we saw it, we try on it, with my gal, then later a mummy is letting go her carrier, so i bought from her at a lower price.

Quite good with the carrie, but the problem is, if ur bb is quite big size, then it might be a little uncomfortable for the bb, cos the side can't be adjust.

sweetkiss,

We must be determine to breastfeed. Its gg to be tiring for sure, but one thing, can help us to slim down..haha i think thats enough motivation for me already. My sis also breastfed my neice until she was like 2 yrs old. Now she is breastfeeding my nephew. So i believe if we are determine enough, sure can one.

suntan : actually no one in my IL side BF bb... most i heard is pain n no milk ... i m thinking how come no milk... haiz.. but nvm i m determine to BF bb too... tired also must BF... my HB giving me lots of support by finding out informations abt BF...

mrslong: you also can try spring maternity at suntec. it has the full range of bjorn carriers

pumps: i'm very tempted to buy from US. so much cheaper!

Just bought Mother and Baby March copy and they have quite a fair bit of information on BabyCare Festivel 2010 (at expo), showing star buys, time schedules for the 3 days.

xbeanniex,

From what i heard, breastmilk will only come after 3-4 days after we delivery. In the meanwhile, its some white substance call coll..something (dunno how to spell) and that substance is very good for the bb. Also for the 1st few days, need to latch bb so that bb will help us to induce/start our milk flow. So, be persistent on breastfeeding, i am sure the flow will come one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

breastfeeding: i'm very determined to do that - wanna lose the fats...hahaha...my gynae has a patient that put on 30kg for her pregnancy and she managed to lose more than that after childbirth - very determined! combo of breastfeeding, exercise, sensible diet

even if the 1st few days seem difficult, must persevere

i think i'd want my baby to drink just breast milk for at least 6 months

sun tan, xbenniex: that white stuff is colostrum - 1st milk. ya, very good for babies. i think i read somewhere that some mommies start breastfeeding their babies as soon as they're born, in the birthing room

Wa, so motivating to hear so many mummies intending to Bf for some time. I would love to BF for as long as I can too.

Yest, my male colleague told me his wife is taking boiled green papaya to help out with with supply of milk. If not, won't be enough, he said. His child is going 1 yr soon. But i also hear a lot of stories that it's very tiring and the milk supply can diminish on its own. But like what sun_tan said, we must be determined in the first place.

I'm gg for my detailed scan tomorrow. Simply can't wait!!!

Think i saw some post saying that she is going to the expo fair cos they are bring in Pampers. Saw the add in the mag: savings of 17% to 29% for every 3 packs purchased and for purchase above $60, a free pinic mat worth $15 would be given (while stocks last).

ica,

Heard that its within the 1st hr of birth, need to latch bb already.

Bjorn carrier: although can fit inwards and outward facing, if I am not wrong, its pretty tight when the baby grows older which makes it difficult to face inwards. Hence when they are older, like 7-8mths, they have to be dangling outward facing. P

This differs from the Ergo and Beco carriers.

shann, keep checking the amazon website, that's how i got my byorn carrier for $100 cos got some sale. if not it's $119 i think.

sun tan: so it's true then, need to start breastfeeding right away, in the delivery room itself - ok. hope i won't be too conked out by then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ica,

Yup, the midwives will request us to do it and also help us too..afterall its our 1st time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I was looking at the clip on how to sling bb, but am wondering if bb would be very hot if we put them inside the sling? Cos its seems like the sling will wrapped ard them, even the head.