(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

dqueen - me also going to get medela (still considering between PISA & freestyle)..heard medela is good..motor strong..when are u intending to get the pump ah? shd get closer our due date rite?

dqueen: the medela spokesperson claimed that the mommies who used their pumps sterilised it for too long, hence the discolouration. but then one mommy in the article said the hospital said to sterilise the pump parts for certain no. of hours (more than recommended by Medela). if my memory does not fail me, that's the story la

DQ, when i was doing my detailed scan, gynae said it's not so important to count the fingers & toes because not having the correct no of fingers / toes is not reason to terminate preg. she was more concerned in making sure there are 2 hands, 2 feet, even checked the soles of the feet to make sure bb don't have club feet.

Astrogal.. cost abt $300+ http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/nursing-products-pricing.html I wanna get the first one. Electrical one..

ica - e artical says it's for kids.. I dunno about BB in tummy.. It was on straitstimes I think.. dunno when one liao.

DQ - that ST article jus say mums complain, medela claim it's still safe and not defective or anything.. then experts says even use steam steriliser shouldn't discolour.. tat's e 3 parties pt of view.. for me, I read liao I won't buy.

autrumn: i heard pis's motor is v good. but a bit too heavy & bulky for me... hence im aiming the freestyle.

my sis's using freestyle now.. her review not bad. but i didnt kno abt the discoloration incident. how ar? any other brands worth considering?

n i dun plan to get it like now... but im sure i wanna get it b4 i deliver. cuz im afraid frens/ family mite buy somethg i dun like as a gift. lol~

ica & noknok: like tat i better reconsider my choice of medela...

sounds scary.... wat other brands r as lite as the freestyle?

for me i need mobility...

babycoco: wah! so good! ur detailed scan even scanned the soles? sigh.. i feel so shortchanged.

but then again... the detailed scan was foc for me. cuz i signed up as a research subject for the GUSTO project. so the detailed scan was complimentary. but the lady did chk vital thgs like brain, heart, organs etc... i also heard my bld flow to bb n stuffs.

juz tat nva chk the fingers n toes n soles... lips i only saw 1 side. cuz bb was lying sideways. so i dunno if everythg's fine.

i can only cross my fingers now~

pray...

dqueen - freestyle seems cool & light hor? my only concern is that the motor isn't strong enough..& it's also very ex (almost $1k!)..so your sis find freestyle ok la?

my sis tried ameda & avent before. ameda failed on her but avent is ok..just that the motor is not that strong lor..she finds medela still the best, that's why i m going for that..

i think there are other brands like pigeon but dunno reliable or not...

Sun Tan - The maid salary from MNK agency is $340. We can pay by post dated cheque for the advanced maid loan. We pay deposit $200 first, maid will come around 1 month later. Agency fees & insurance pay upon collection of maid.

My friend recommed me the agency due to good customer service.

At first i think my sent bb to infant care. Than Sunday i read the news paper it say that 5 babies to one caregiver. I worried how my bb going to survive. And further more who going to sent and pick baby. I worked very early 6.30am out the house. Back around 7pm. Not enough time to pick up and sent BB after 4 months maternity.

So finally sit down and hubby says dont crack the brain anymore. Get a maid train her well , stick to rules and regulation closely. And put web camera at Living room and kitchen. To prevent child abuse.

autrumn: ya, i picked freestyle cuz my sis said its v lite. n a few of my colleagues r using tat as well... so i didnt do other research. im lazy mah.. hahah...

its a bit pricey tho.. but i tot there're some sprees gg on?

I have been missing out on all the action for the past 2 days. Ihave been on medical leave - had flu and nasty sore throat. I have been resting throughout. Im back at work today.

Mitch: Sorry about your loss. I lost one last year too and the best thing to do is to put it behind us and keep going. Take care Mitch and never give up yeah!

hi jayamum, hope you're feeling better. i think i'm coming down with sore throat too. did you take anything for your flu/ sore throat?

DQ, my gynae also had a hard time looking at bb's lip & nose because she was either sucking on her finger or her hands were around her face.

siti: i tink getting a maid is not a bad idea.. esp there'll b someone to help u w hsewk.

mayb get a fmaily member to come n jagah a few hrs everyday too?

r u gg to lock the rms? cuz the cameras only can capture ur living rm n kitchen...

better to b safe then sorry. paiseh ar.. i v kiasu one. hahah...

jayamum: i was down w flu last wk too... tink we a v prone to the flu bug. cuz we cant take antibiotics mah... drink more water [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babycoco: ya lor.. i only saw the side profile (abt 3/4 of his face).

bb lips like v thick leh! sausage mouth... i keep saying is my husby's fault. bb got big mouth. lol~

dqueen - ya, sgmotherhood got regular sprees but it's fr U.S leh, so no local warranty (unless u don't mind) & need to get transformer... i also saw someone selling a 2nd hand medela freestyle on motherhood forum..think abt $450

autrumn: i dun mind not getting the warranty. it's so much cheaper then getting 1 fr sg stores!

tink abt 50% cheaper rite? ive the difference as a buffer for servcing cost mah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Siti,

So you gg to leave the maid alone with bb when u gg back to work?

DQ,

I think my fren got the freestyle version for S$400+ during spree leh. But no warranty.

Babycoco,

Me too..sore throat now..trying to drink more water.

DQ - The Master bedroom must be locked.

Only maid room no need locked. But I will tell her that BB cannot be in her room. In the day baby will sleep at Living room. Only night in my room. I want baby to differentiate between day and night. My room got aircon and sure darker in the night. Baby will enjoy night sleep better than in the day. Thats my plan.

Hubby can come back anytime to spot check or i can come back now and then to spot check too.

Every Saturday when i am at home than Maid clean my room and my toilet. 1/2 day to do that while i take care of Baby. Sunday she got to wipe kitchen cabinet racks, window, washed clothes and iron clothes.

Normal days she have to clean up daily living room, kitchen etc. Than maybe list her activities for the baby to do.Thats why i want to sent the maid to english class and some baby training class. At polyclinic should have need to check.

siti: looks like u've got all planned out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

goodgood!!! cuz no matter wat, maid's still not part of ur own family... sure will haf worries one... even own family will make u feel worriesome. u all kno wat i mean lah.. lol~

suntan: ya lor... buying a pump is a big investment... so im still deciding.

or shd we haf a std by manual pump? issit better in terms of clearing blocked ducts?

Sun Tan - Yup have to leaved BB with Maid . Thats why i want the maid to come early. So that i can train her. IF i dont like her still can change before baby arrived.

Need her to go for classes too. So maid have to arrived before May. I am tired to clean the house too so she have to full solid used her 1 month to clean the house too.

Siti - my friend choose maid in Jan until now still have no idea when maid is arriving leh..

DQ - I read it's easier to clear block ducts if BB is feeding on one breast and you hand pump the other.. how it's done I have no idea.

I was also down with sneezing and coughing few days ago, didn't see doctor, just drink plenty of water, take vit C, now all has gone! dare not to take medicine at this period of time.. =(

noknok: tks for the link.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sun_tan: ya lo, some of my friends also said manual pump very tedious. pump till their hand pain.

seems like pump is really very ex..indeed a big investment. i think i will get a single electric pump.

Huh? Which agency is that ? From Jan till now maid had not arrived? Something not right.

Either maid no passport or medical got problem or family problem. Asked for refund if they refused make police report and go small claim court.

Must find reputable agency. You can google at you tube is MNK maid training agency. They have short video about the trainig centre and video interview for the maid.

Astro Gal - but single pump in office a bit slow leh..but then.. think again.. it's excuse off work.. haha..

One of my collegue advice me to research properly and give the name and model to our hubby.. after birth established got milk flow then send Hubby out to buy.. one down side for this is that hubby will jus go to a shop and buy, they won't compare prices like we do one..

noknok: sounds like performing stunts leh... BF the bb n pump the other side concurrently... hahah... dunno whether i can handle anot. :p

bbbliss: my flu come n go... visit me more often than my 'aunty'.

Siti - I dunno which agency.. but she did say e maid is from indonesia and the date of arrival will depend on Indonesian government.. I believe it's the indo gov giving problem ba.. cos this one is her 2nd maid liao.. she has one working for her now already. I think the agency she used should be the same one as her 1st maid.. which din give her any problems at all.

You selected ur maid liao?? how's the budget thing affecting?? you know?? on e foreign worker levy.

just to share with all of you, i bought baby bjorn synergy from amazon for US$100. got it sent by vpost, received the bill from vpost today, $39.20. so total cost for the baby bjorn is $180. quite a good deal. just in case you're looking to buy baby carriers.

Nonok -I select on line few faces than hubby finalised it. Called the agent than she reserved for me. Thursday will do interview via webcam with her at MNK Chinese Garden oulet.

The maid levy $175 still not yet raised up as we have children below 7yrs. Salary $340. All her toletaries will buy at Malaysia. Food she will eat what i eat. Total i for the maid $515 exclude medical and her toiletaries.

babycoco>> the carrier u bought is brand new?

I'm considering to get those baby pouch/slings like Pupsik sling...esp. when BB is only a few mths' old.

Dunno if use carrier suitable for NBs or not.

DQ - they say let down easier woh.. think most prob BF lying down.. then dun need to hold BB..

To keep off flu n cough, I usually drink 2 litres of water in e office.. 1 litre before lunch, 1 after... those excludes e glass tat I take right after I wake up and drinks I take during meal.. When I have signs of sickness, then I'll pop vit C. 1000mg.. and sleep super early.. enuf water n enuf rest shld be able to fight flu n sore throat.. If not jus see doc and ask for MC to stay at home to rest.. hee..

Oh.. talking abt BB carrier.. I saw in church this lady using those sarong sling. e bb is a toddler already.. can walk on e pew.. She was crying and mum took out her sling and wore it around her... what amazes me is that she was breastfeeding her with BB in e sling.. e sling made it discreet enough.. cannot see anything at all.. all covered by e sarong.. Think I'll get that.. after that BB was sleeping inside e sarong..

Siti - icic.. let us know when she arrives..

Doubt I'll have a maid.. I'm one of those who dun like an outsider in e house... Would not want anyone else to bring up BB.. can't imagine BB closer to maid or my mum or mil then me..

babycoco: that's a steal. the RRP is $299. wow! 40% cheaper. dunno why prices are so steep in spore...

babycoco! I like baby bjorn synergy too! Just that over here it's so pricey! I like the whole white one but guess it will be dirty in the future.. hai but white looks so clean and cool T_T

Okie i will search for that in amazon, thanks!

But will the bb/toddler be too heavy for the sling? As its carried on one side (one shoulder), the weight dispersion wont be as good as using a carrier? Maybe use sling when bb is younger and when older, use the carrier?

noknok: actually im worried abt BFing..

which pose will min breast sagging in the future?

cant wait to attend prenatal classes to find out more! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrslong, ya, the carrier is new. i probably won't use when bb just born also, but will use when she's bigger. hopefully she won't hate it. i read in earlier post that some bb just refuse to be put on the carriers.

i shd b getting the sarong sling too..

cuz my sis uses it. i tink its really cool to use it to BF outside.

n my mum she likes it. cuz she v kampung, says they all last time ppl all uses these kinda slings. -.-|||

Also, i have compared similacmum and frisomum content, generally, Friso's nutrients are better than similac, so similacmum is out of my choice, now knowing it's hard to dissolve, definitely won't get it.

I am drinking EnfamamaA+ now cuz it has DHA omega 3 & 6, just wanna try whether it's good... also because my gynae hasn't given me fish oil tablets! she will only give me during my next visit which is next week.. I am now getting used to the taste, my first try almost made me puke haha just don't like the chocolate flavour..

I still prefer Frisomum, the taste is good, easily dissolves in water too. Will change back after i get my fish oil tablets.

I am like drinking 2-3 cups of EnfamamaA+ now, wanna finish it chop chop.

ica, shann yheng, ya, i also couldn't believe when i saw it for USD 100 on amazon. thought better get in case sale ended. i noticed their sale is quite weird, only for limited time, like 6 hours. keep trying, we tried a few times before we got it for USD 100. i got the black carrier, cos worried the white will get dirty easily.

Mitch: Sorry for your lost. Do take good care of yourself. I am sure you will join the mummies group again very soon.

Woah.. discussing breast pump again.. haha!! I think I just set my mind on Ameda pump. Dun wanna think so much liao. Still got alot of other things to buy. Haha!!

Shann: Must really take care during these periods.. weather is very bad. I also dun dare to take medication during these period.

Oh.. I find that if I drink Milo, the next day I will fall sick. Anyone has such an experience? Maybe after taking certain thing, then you will fall sick the next day.

Suntan - she was sitting down and breastfeeding cos it was in the middle of mass.... din notice after that whether the husband took over the carrying or not cos they have I think 3 kids altogether. Just wanna share what i saw lah.. as in e sling is versatile.

DQ.. I dunno leh.. ask 2nd time mummy.. haha.. but I think daily massage of your own breast helps..

talking abt powdered milk for mums...

I'm actually drinking the SimilacMum...ya, cannot disolve completely but I like the taste (tho some may find it too sweet).

I tried the Dumex Mamil Gold for moms sample...drank 1 sample satchel & dun like it...like no taste one :p

mrslong: i dun like similac... hahaha i prefer dumex mamil mama... no taste lor... gd as i dun like the milk taste... similac got a strong taste... kekeke my hb teach me not to use too hot water n use half the amount of powder recommended as using recommended amount of powder cant dissolve fully ...

I went to BHG sales yesterday & saw that the Medela products have 15% off.

Wanted to get the freestyle too but don’t know to get from US or not…

I bought the steam sterilizer & food/milk warmer at $139.. Dunno worth it or not but just buy first!

Ann: Hmm I have no prob with drinking milo. I drink it for most breakfast, but without milk/sugar.