(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

jes,

Pei fu, pei fu...

smalldreams & AMby

tis is my 2nd child, my 1st one was Csect due to cervix dun open. so chances of history repeating will be high...tat's y gynae start talking abt csect dates wt me

Hi L&L, no worry on the cramp, as our body is changing and building a warm place for our bb to grow in. There is why we feel the cramp.

jasmine, i prefer ginger beer to sprite. feels its better at curbing nausea...but could be psychological. :p

re : eating crabs

i ate lots of crabs... at least 1 a month since my 2nd to 3rd trimester for my son. So he's very active. but he's quite the model child while out though. :p

re : clarins toning oil

LC, how did you managed to use so much? I didn't even finished a bottle then! but I wasn't very diligent...and i only applied to tummy and bum area.

re : OSCAR test

so this test is to test for down syndrome?

re : cravings

I didn't have much cravings during my first pregnancy...at least not those that i die die must eat the food. But I do rem eating alot of durians and crabs and frog legs. :p My boy isn't a drooler either. *phew*

welcome Jes and the other new mtbs!

Jes you are certainly a poster gal for the government's policies!

re : MS

my mum didn't have any MS at all for her 3 kids. But I had terrible ones. So not accurate in our case.

megan, my hubby is teasing me about getting a c-section so that baby can share his birthday... but it will be a month too early.

Emmie, It is advisable to let the BB stay in the womb as long as possible.

DNA, i know... he's just teasing me cos i didn't want bb to share my birthday mah... just keeping my fingers crossed that the edd will change! :p

THis thread is moving super fast.

Jasmine, I'm a green tea lover too. But i read that green tea sort of reduces the level of folic acid in your body, not healthy for baby.

So now im controlling.

Jes, congrats, i see u in e April 08 thread!

Megan, i'm going for c-sec too! but i was hoping to be able to drag till 2010. Dec babies like v lugi. But if purposely drag until 2010 like wasting one year for baby like that. though it's a good headstart.

emmie,

your hb is so cute. If i choose to csect on 31/12 then my hb will be head of dec n bb end of dec...cos hb's bday on 1/12. My older boy is middle 12/12

Hi Summer's Mama, Same for me too. I want to drag till 2010 too.. But difficult as my #1 is 3wks early.

Hi, think if your kid is born 1st jan, you can chose whether to let your kid attend Pri 1 with those from last year..like eg if your kid born on 1 Jan 2000, so by rite 2007, he/she should be in Pri 1. But in 2006, you can chose whether to let your kid attend pri sch in 2006 (with those kids born in 1999) or 2007.

ya ya....actually i think born on 1st Jan is good leh....my hubby wants a Jan bb, but we having dec bb and doc said cant delay the delivery to Jan cos mine is early dec.....

i didn't realise it's a choice of those born on 1 jan. i had a couple of friends/classmates who were born on 1 jan the year after me. thot it's compulsory, no?

I think we have the choice to choose....not compulsory...but i think most parents will enrol their kid in earlier year....or else, your kid will have to wiat till another 1 year before Pri sch..

summer mama

really? green tea will reduce the amt of folate? i tot it was high in antioxidants. so i guess everything must be in moderation...

megan, emmie, summer mama

haha, looks like i can join the club, i will most prob go for a planned c-sect too. my boy was delivered thru a planned c-sect cos he was too big. :p

linda

cramps are ok, as long as it's not prolonged and very painful along with bleeding.

hee...just kaypoh checked out the MOE website...says if you wish to defer, got to write in to apply. Otherwise you have to.

But i prefer my boy to have a head start than be the youngest among the classmate. My gynea mentioned to me that there is a different as her boy born is 20/dec and is slower in performace then his peers.

dumbger, my previous c-sec was an emergency one.

Fully dilate, midwife asked me to push, then when my gynae came he says my girl's head cannot pass through my pelvic bone have to go for c-sec.

The experience was scary.

But frankly i cant imagine having to go for c-sec again. =(

DNA, i feel that way too. Imagine jan 2009 babies can crawl, walk already, if our babies are born in dec 2009, they are just newborns.

Summer's Mama

That sounded scary. I don't think I'll ever be ready for a C-sect.

Hmm, based on bbcentre, my EDD is 6.1.09. But my first one was 2 weeks early too, so who knows huh, I might just end up with a Dec 09 baby.

Re : schooling

Actually I've heard about Dec babies being slower in devt than Jan babies, but I don't really bother much. They'll catch up at some point in time. I mean, u can't tell the diff between a 30 yr old born in Jan & one born in Dec rite? But of course lah, the headstart amongst peers can be important.

actually i dont feel much of a difference, maybe because my #1 hasn't started primary school. he is also a dec baby.

in terms of milestones now, as long as yr child is developing at average rate, that's good enough. Plus, for childcare and nursery/preschool, alot of them take u in based on the month and not the year. I.e., only when u turn 24 months or 36 months.

frankly, i feel, by primary school age, kids are developed more or less the same. Of course we have to make some effort to stimulate them in their earlier years so they have a headstart. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya as they grow older they will catch up one...am not too bother abt that...haha a lot of my family members are yr end bb...my niece who is 17yr old born on 29 Dec, is doing very well in school...

hi to all 2009 jan mtb

i eat potato chips to ease my MS. whenever i feel like throwing up i juz go n eat a few pieces. my first preg was a breeze. no ms at all. now like after meals esp then will feel like throwing up

i haven announce to anyone other than my reporting officer coz i will need to take leave to see gynae. i guess i haven announce coz this time like quite unstable. don wan the elders to get worried. would let them know when my condition is more stable.

my waistline oso increasing. donno cos i eat too much fat fat or is it showing faster cos is no 2 for me. now most of my working pants cannot wear liao. but i don wish to wear maternity pants yet leh....

my sis and sil born in late dec, both are good in academic...

but somehow i prefer my bb to be born in early part of the year.. maybe my hubby, me, my ger all early half of the year...

Can i check with you ladies, at 6 weeks we are able to see the heartbeat right but gynea will do v-scan or ultrasound on the stomach hur?

linda & lawrence,

yes week 6 from LMP provided yr cycle is 28 days.. if you have a longer cycle, might be longer than that.

pearl,

yes via v-scan. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

summermama

how come ur gynae didn't check earlier that ur pelvis too small for ur bb to go thru? cos that's wat happen to me...my gynae estimated that my pelvis may be too small for my boy, so he pre-warned me that when delivery comes, i may hav to go thru emergency c-sect if he couldn't pass thru my pelvis. that's y i said if like that straight away go for elective c-sect.

smalldreams

if u go thru GA, won't experience anything, so won't feel scary lah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] jus wake up to the pain only haha.

hi, for any mummies working near tanjong pagar mrt, spring maternity is having a sale at the small atrium near Soup Spoon. Prices of tops and bottoms range from $10-$30.

reporting from HK. finally Jan 2010 is up. aiyo.. i feeling terrible here. eat anything oso feel like puking.. even the tastiest food here i oso cannot stomach. don't like means don't like.. i feel like crying when having dinner tdy.. the feeling of wan to puke when u take a mouth of food is so xin ku..

so tired everyday too, always came back hotel at 9plus. really miss my DS, especially when i visit the ocean park tdy.

congrats to all new jan2010 mtb!

btw, my EDD shld be 17Jan.

So glad that this thead is up.

Jes - you're doing real great! No 5! I wish I can do that too.

Pearl - yes at 6 weeks, gynae will usually be able to detect heartbeat.

This is my #2. My 1st boy is approaching 6months old. Yup, he was born in Dec 08! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Natural birth without epidural. Don't ask me how I did it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

This pregnancy is planned, not an accident. We wanted to avoid the tiger lunar year but didn't want to have a 3 year age gap between no1 and no2 so we aimed for a jan/feb 2010 baby! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]In reality, my babies will be 13 months apart but on paper 2 years apart.

I myself was born in dec too but I turned out alright so think its ok if early delivery causes your baby to be born in dec.

congrats to all mtb 2010 mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My edd is 25th Jan 2010. I have not gone to the gynae yet... still chilling and relaxing as I am feeling pretty alright.

Finally the Jan 2010 thread is up.

Went to see gynae today. Do a scan and manage to see the sac. So happy. Going back in 2 weeks time. Hope everything would be fine and smooth.

Btw, in which week do we need to do the detailed scan and blood test?

1st time posting.. test test

went gynae yesterday suprised to knw i am onli 2 weeks preggy.. scanned n cant see the sac.. got me so worried... doc say is veri early pregnancy .. have to go back 2 weeks later to scan n ensure the sac is in the correct place..

I wish everything will be fine..

And also is mild cramp normal? and my breasts starting to get nt so soar as compare to past 2 weeks...

Hi DNA,

actually it's becos dh loves kids and he dun mind to hand-on with the kids, that's why I'm willing to have so many kids. If he's gog to be like a king waiting to be serve, then haha... we sure won't have so many of them. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Smalldreams, I restricted myself from eating crab when I had no. 1 but he's still very itchy hand leh. For the last 3 pregnancies, I hack-care and ate lots of it cos after delivery got to refrain from taking seafood for at least 3 mths as mine were all c-sec.

Hi Amby, I have 2 boys 2 gals now. No.1 is 8 yo boy, follow by 7 yo gal, 3 yo gal and 1 yo boy.

Somehow, symptom for each sex seems to be the same for me. When I had boy, I feel very bulky and my nose was really big. When I had gal, my leg/thigh itch alot and I can really scratched till it bleed. My mil said this is due to hormone change. Really terrible lor. The itch started after 1st trimester and ended when I went into 3rd trimester. So when I had no. 3 and I started to itch, I already knew it's a gal before the scanning of sex. So far this pregnancy still ok cos still within 1st trimester. Let see if I get the same symptoms like the previous. I would love to have another gal but minus the itch. haha...

Hi summer mama, yes, I saw you in April08's thread too. So both of us are quite the same ya.. 1 baby in April08 and another in Jan10. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And like u, I'm gog for c-sec again this time, kind of no choice lor since the previous 4 were already c-sec. For no. 3, I did tried VBA2C but failed. Went thru labour pain and vagina check etc... but just din dilate fully, in the end, I bo bien, gave up and went for c-sec. 1st time I experienced labour pain, wow, horrible feeling but was fantastic to go thru that as it felt more like delivery. For no. 4, I also waited till labour started then went for c-sec. But this time round, don't think I want to go thru the pain again cos come to think of it, very scare lor. In fact, the tot of going thru another c-sec also very scare. Sigh... difficult to be a woman hor..

Hi maidenleak, I'm sure you can have more kids if you want to. Nothing is not possible. In fact, none of my friends expected me to have so many kids cos I was a "chiong" person in my younger days. haha...

To all mums who envy or salute me for having so many kids, I have to say I'm not that great actually. I have came across families with 5-7 kids with only 1 income. These are the families which I really peifu them. Thru them, I learnt that we can have so many kids if we 1 2, it's just a matter of adjusting our lifestyle to a simpler 1. So mummies out there, jia you ya.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I just went for Gynae checkup yesterday an currently in week 7..saw the bb' heartbeat..and he is good...

we asked doc if can drink green tea, crys tea..he say no....suggest i drink ribena..cos i cant stand plain water anymore..

i forgot to ask him abt my Edd..haha...my checkup is 2 weeks ltr...

hi all mtb,

I have just done my confinement this year and would like to recommend the confinement wine that i used during my confinement. I have tried several wine done by different people and i find the one that my friend's mum did was very good.

So if you are interested in getting confinement wine, do let me know and i will help you take order from her. Do PM me if you are interested.

cheers!

morning ladies, so many posts to catch up!! hehee! I looking forward to my checkup next week. Linda&Lawrence, my edd shld be the same as you but see what gynae say. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mothercare is having sale from 29 May wor!!

Morning all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jes

Another wonder - 5 C-secs??! My colleague's wife has gone thru 3 C-secs and I think her gynae has advised her that she only has 1 final C-sec left. Advised not to have anymore kids after tat.

Dumbger

I'll be verrrry scared of C-sec. I am praying not to go through it, hehe. My first one was natural w/o epidural too. I think I was more scared of epidural than the labour pains. But I almost broke my hubby's finger when I clenched them too tightly when contractions came.

Joy

sale on what items? Mothercare stuff are really good, but quite expensive too.

bride_09

Sometimes when I can't stand the taste of water i also drink ribena...at least kill the bitter bitter taste in your mouth...another way to take away tat taste is to eat apple...

Morning, Ladies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I am seeing my gynae during lunch time. hope can see bb's heartbeat..

Hi, Gisele

Shouldn't have say it too early.. my boy woke up a few time at night yesterday.. me now panda eye.. and I got a bit paranoid when feeding him milk these days cos worried he might just puke..the caretaker at the centre said he is doing well, playing well, eating well, poo-ing well and sleeping well too.. hmmm, maybe will continue to monitor for another few days..

Hi, Emmie

Ya lor, other mummies also got a shock when I told them I used abt 5 to 6 bottles. I applied on my tummy, underarm, thighs and buttocks.. KS lar.. cos that time first baby and heard abt the residual fats and wat scratchmarks etc, so diligently applied every morning and night.. my hubby said this time might not even have time to use 2 bottles cos of my first boy is around.. :p

good morning ladies.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Last mite i was having quite bad cramp.. Til both my leg oso can feel ache.. Hubby complain tat i sit on chair n study too long tats y.. Decided to sit on bed n study tdy liao.. Hope tat helps [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyone still experience cramp now ah?

Jas..

Hee.. Me too got tat kind of thinkin like u lei.. I alway tell myself.. Dun thk so much whether financially capable or not.. Things will jus turn out nicely when time come n no matter 1 or 2 kids.. Days still will pass.. How tiring by looking after 1 or 2 kids.. Its still a day to pass lo.. Hee.. But i really pei fu u to go for 5th one.. Will reali look up to u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thread movin too fast to catch up le...

Congrats to all mtbs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]