(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

yang..

The teacher scold kid in front of visitor, u? I m sure teacher will show their best when got ppl come visit them rite.. Hard to tell whether teacher good or not ah.. Can i ask abt teacher qualification and experience ah? Is it too rude?

Wow, this thread seems to move really fast....took some time to read thru the posts!

Koonie, happy birthday!

Jes, I salute you for going thru 5 C-sects!

I will most likely opt for C-sec for this 2nd one too coz my cervix cannot dilate and I had emergency C-sec for my 1st one and lots of other problems.

Like some MTBs here, I also cannot swallow plain water, so have been drinking ribena quite a lot, else alternatively fruit juices. I'm also someone who drinks little water.

cladi,

i think diff cc have diff charges. mine have no uniform and don't charge for mattress/cover. They have individual name mats so there is no mix. Most impt is the cleanliness of the place and that yr child have the space to enjoy school. i visited a few places which i felt was very cramped and did not have good ventilation. In the end, we chose a school that charge more but its worth it as they have better facilities and programme for my boy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So you shld do yr homework, visit a few cc, so you can compare the difference and if you like one place, visit a few times to make sure you like what u see.

cladi, ya lor, i guess that teacher was simply too stressed so just openly scolded the kid in front of us. I saw the rest of the kids a bit blur kind, just sit around, play by themselves.

hmm, you could ask abt teacher's qualifications and exp, i guess. but it's more of a 'feeling' lor - whether you think your child will like the environment.

I put my kid in a playgroup that when we visited, the teachers were cheery, and the kids eagerly said "hello!" to us, and "bye bye!".

Now my boy is in kinderland pre-nursery - i didn't recce so much cos a relative's gal also in same school so can trust lah!

cladi, im also going to woody!

I went to him for my no.1 too. =)

Re: Maternity wear

I got some of my maternity wear from 9mois at paragon the last time round, quite ex but v comfy. Maternity wears in sg v ex. Old navy and gap has some v good ones too.

Personally i am selling maternity wears too but nothing is up yet, feeling so tired during this period.

HiHi,

I am also a Jan 2010 MTB. THis is my 2nd pregnancy.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

JAN 2010 MUMMIES

1. DNA - 1 Jan

2. jasmine - 3 Jan

3. luvbabe11 - 6 Jan

4. Amby - 12 Jan

5. Yang - 19 Jan

6. Linda- 27 Jan

7. dumbger - 31 Jan

I've just tested positive on Sun. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Should be abt 4 weeks plus now.

Dumbger, my EDD is the same yours. 31Jan... Guess we'll be the last few to pop in this thread. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

This is my #2. I've a son coming to 20mths. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

JAN 2010 MUMMIES

1. DNA - 1 Jan

2. jasmine - 3 Jan

3. luvbabe11 - 6 Jan

4. Amby - 12 Jan

5. Yang - 19 Jan

6. Linda- 27 Jan

7. dumbger - 31 Jan

8. Serene - 31 Jan

cladi, are you visiting moriah on Sat? If so, I also want to know the class ratio...cos i will need to find a kindy for my boy when we are back in SG for delivery.

hi serene! how nice, same EDD! i also hav a boy, he is 30 mths. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cladi, u going to get confinement lady this time round???

think i will get... my mil think i dont have good confinement last time too...

joy, update the table for u

JAN 2010 MUMMIES

1. DNA - 1 Jan

2. jasmine - 3 Jan

3. luvbabe11 - 6 Jan

4. Amby - 12 Jan

5. Yang - 19 Jan

6. Linda- 27 Jan

7. Joy- 27 Jan

8. dumbger - 31 Jan

9. Serene - 31 Jan

dumbger, u stay in sengkang?

cladi i have spotting initially. so was on jab twice a wk n 1 duphaston three times a day. now spotting stop oredi. waiting for gynae visit tomorrow to check how is bb condition

Linda, re confinement auntie, do u think we can get someone willing to work during Chinese New Year? next year's CNY is 14 Feb, right?

im thinking to get CN cos it's easier for all - MIL to take care of #1, CN to help me with #2.

hv to call and see who's willing, and prob hv to pay more $$. :p

welcome serene, rina! more & more jan2010 babies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Welcome more expecting mummies.

I'm seeing my gynae tomorrow.

I've been having a bad headache since afternoon and my temperature has been quite warm too. Think i've not fully recovered from my flu last friday. Maybe I should rest tomorrow. You think gynae will grant me a nice rest? :p

summer_mama

U seeing him at cc or sk branch?

Stawberry

Yes.. Yes.. I m from june07 btb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Linda

Dun thk i gettin confinement lady.. My mother is a very good cook le.. If wan i can alway get her help.. But i m ok with my mil simple dishes oso.. Since lots of confinement food i oso dun take de.. Like liver, ginger, vinger etc.. Hehe

Emmie

Ya ya.. I visiting moriah this sat [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] will keep u update after my visit k.. Anything u wan me to ask for u?

Mushloom

Is the jab pain? Dr did ask whether do i wan the jab.. But i tell him can avoid than dun wan lo.. Wonder this tue will i really need to take the jab or not.. Hai

yang

Tot ur #1 go cc.. Y still need arrange some one to take care when #2 arrive ah?

I intend to let shawn go cc 3mths b4 #2 arrival.. Hoping he can adapt by then n he wont thk cos of #2.. We dun wan him le.. So let him go cc.. Then mil n i can jus look after #2 n do confinement.. When #1 back from sch.. Hubby can take care him oso le.. Can this work? Hee..

Linda

Lookin at ur edd.. High chance u will b "trap" during cny wo..

This tread is going so fast. I'm in my 5th weeks. Just visited gynae 2 days ago, can see the sac but not heartbeat, will be going back in 2 wks time, hopefully can see heartbeat by then.

By the way, may i ask, are we suppose to experience nipples sore everyday. Anyone who do not. Kindly advise

re: confinement lady

what i heard that they will go back on cny eve, day 1 and day 2..

but the price will be much much higher.. and of coz there will be CL who dont work during CNY period.

my mil cant handle two also ...

cladi, moriah is the one at 409 rite...

cladi so far i have taken three jabs. the ones at the buttocks not so pain. there was one which the nurse jab quite high tat was pain. but the other two not really tat pain. it is bearable. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

blueberrypie i do experience sore nipples for 1st and current pregnancy.

Hi smalldreams, I had asked my gynae how many csec can I have when I had my no. 3. He told me not a big issue. People overseas have as much as 8 csec.

hi cladi, in fact when you have more kids, the initial few yrs dun seems to be ex cos alot of pass on stuffs. The $ part comes in when they fall sick or start gog to sch. For me, whether I have 1 or 4 kids, I still have 1 helper to help me, so in term of childcare, it becums cheaper than when I have 1 kid. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] If u 1 more kids, then go for it. I dun 1 2 have regret in future. Like u said, somehow things will just fall into place no matter how difficult it is. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi luvbabe11, actually I really scare to go thru another round of csec but bo bien. This shall be the last 1. Dun think I will have a chance in my this life to try natural birth cos cervic just not cooperative, dun progress leh. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

To all mtb in Jan 2010, congrats. There are so many new mums in this thread. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tks mega / cladi and joy (*_^) went out whole day ... yap ! my EDD is 23-01-01 (^_^)

just to share with u ladies, I'm seeing DR KT TAN in kkh ( very straight forward & clear explaination) & tis chn sinseh(address him as uncle)in marine parade blk 81 boon chan medical hall(free consultation & only pay for med)

Hi jes

you also post at bedok mommies club?

Congrats on your 5th baby! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning, ladies...

Went to see the gyna yesterday for the first time. I went with a full bladder, thinking it is a scan at the tummy but in the end its a scan from below. Ouch! can only see the sac nia.. EDD is 31 Jan 2010 same as Dumbger and serene. But the gynae said might ended up a 1 Jan 2010 baby cos the brother came abt 4weeks earlier and she said my body cannot carry any baby beyond 3.2kg. so if this baby is also abt 3kg out a bit, prob he or she will pop earlier than 31 Jan 2010.

Hi, Cladi

Think you better drop down what you wan to ask on a paper. chances are you will not remember all when you are thr at the centre. My take is not to make any appointment and go down one weekday to see. I did the same for my boy's IFC. most of the time, the teachers will just be good, or even pretend to be good, to the babies or kids when there are potential clients visiting the centre so dun take wat you see in the teachers as the true fact. most of the time need to discount by 20 to 30%. dun rush into placing deposit. Rasie your concern and see how the principal or teachers answer.

Dye Hair - Mummies, can we go dye hair har? I forgot if we can or not.. my memory never return back to normal after 9mths or so since giving birth.. sighz sighz sighz!!

LC i remember when i was at my gynae office i read an article pasted there saying dyeing hair is not advised. it was written why, but by the time i could read i was called into the office.

Probably you can research online to find out. hehe.

Your no 1 was bigger than 3kg so he popped out earlier? i hope my no 2 also less than 3kg like the brother hehe.

Btw which gynae are you seeing?

LC, it's not adviceable...but i dye just before i tested cos i din expect to hv after waited for so long liao...

Am going to Gynae on Mon to check on bb heartbeat...kan cheong...everytime i go and see gynae i vy kan cheong...

Lately having backache and cramp...such things always worries me..haiZ

actually i asked my gynea if i can highlight my hair. He said can! infact, kind of gently reprimanded me and said, " you are highlighting your hair right? not drinking the dye right??? go ahead!"

toink!

LC, not adviceable to dye hair but I done my rebonding last week and I checked with my gynae last nite, he said once in awhile is ok.

I'm going to Japan tml and my gynae allow me to eat sashimi [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lil-gisele,

Your gynae so cute! At least not the pantang one, I guess [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cladi, my #1 is only attending pre-nursery - 3 hours daily. Hmm, haven't considered childcare yet. A bit reluctant about cc

blueberrypie, yes i hv sore nipples too.

LC : i think some say better not to dye hair, just in case the chemicals affect bb... Hmm, can we do facial ah? I think should be no harm right?

gisele, your gynae is quite funny! hehe

jasmine : maybe your gynae is also a japanese foodie! hehe! usually gynae will say no raw food. some even say dun eat half-boil eggs (which i love) and dun eat the skin of fruits.

yang,

yup my gynea is the modern type but he can be conservative when it comes to diet & exercise. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yah i agree, most gyneas would say no to raw food, particularly sashimi as if the fish is not fresh, can cause food poisoning which can lead to miscarriage..

speaking of half boil eggs, i really miss having them!! i used to eat them for breakfast every sunday, now, cannot eat liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Yang,

Facial is alright lah, no direct harm to the foetus. When I've #1, I every month will diligently go for facial, must maintain look. And during pregnancy, our skin tends to get drier.

I get this answers from here.

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Is_it_safe_to_dye_hair_during_pregnancy

No one has enough information to promise with certainty that using chemical dyes during pregnancy is completely safe, so many pregnant women wait until after the first trimester. At the same time, no one has any human data to show these chemicals cause birth defects.

Over the years, people have conducted animal studies trying to shed light on this matter. Some, but not all, studies have shown a few of the chemical compounds in hair dyes to be teratogenic (causing birth defects). However, in many cases the animals were exposed to extremely high doses of these chemicals, doses in no way equivalent to the exposure of the woman who colours her hair every month or two.

Clearly, the chemicals in both permanent and semi-permanent hair dyes are not highly toxic. These chemicals have been around a long time, and no research shows they cause defects in newborns, so colouring your hair during pregnancy is probably safe. Plus, if you apply the dyes safely (using gloves in a well-ventilated room, and not leaving solutions on for excessive periods of time), you don't really absorb much of the chemicals into your system.

One alternative you might consider is highlighting, painting, or frosting your hair. You absorb hair colouring agents into your system through your skin (scalp), not through your hair shaft. So, any process -- such as streaking -- that puts less of the chemical in contact with your scalp reduces your exposure to the compounds in dyes.

Some experts recommend vegetable dyes as a good alternative to synthetic chemical agents during pregnancy. Many of these dyes also contain some of the same synthetic chemical compounds that the major cosmetic companies put in their permanent and semi-permanent dyes. Pure henna, which comes in a number of colours, is the exception. Henna is a semi-permanent vegetable dye considered to be very safe, though not everyone loves the hues it may impart!

It's important for women to feel good about themselves during pregnancy. Whether colouring your hair will make you feel good or cause you to worry needlessly for nine months is something to think about. If you do colour your own hair while expecting, wear gloves and work in a well-ventilated space to minimise your exposure to the harsh chemicals used in the colouring process.

Not sure it helps, just for info.

yang,

Cannot eat fruit's skin? I always eat the fruits with skin leh.

gisele,

Because my gynae mentioned that Japanese raw food is very clean in Japan, I don think I dare to eat even I got permission from him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MTB,

you all have any craving or food that turns you off??? I have craving for Msian food like nasi dagang, keropok lekor... dislike pork...cham liao

jasmine, i think abt sashimi in japan and I can drool! it is really v fresh, can melt in food!!

re eating fruits with skin, it was told by my prev gynae. but i tink it's fine as long as we wash the fruit lor.

megan, i dun hv much appetite for any food yet... no MS but just dun feel like eating. also dun dare to eat too much as I feel bloated easily. It's good you have craving, just eat what you crave!

rina, thanks for advice. i just got facial pkg so will just continue to go. just v lazy to make appt. hehe

Hi mommies, can i pop into this thread too?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ha, hvnt been in this forum for a long time and saw tis 2010 Jan MTB thread...:p