(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

ET

Heys you do know right that you don't have to buy Clearblue or those branded pregnancy strips to test? They sell cheap strips, think only about $5 or so for about 10 pieces. Not sure if the BP has it for now. I only buy the clearblue one if I want to double confirm, else I buy the cheap ones. Try for fun last time hehehe... but ya lah, don't stress k? Bright side is you get to enjoy Oli for the time being [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Redtea

Oh yes, BF, and late night feedings...i don't miss those days when I'm perpetually sleepy!

But babies are so nice to smell rite?

It's a confirmed case? You mean you're really preggy? Congrats! Salute moms of 3 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

smalldreams,

having #3 is not in my plan. and i dont think i'm a good mom to my 2boys too. me very fierce to my boys until my FIL always said i fierce toward them and tell me not to. anyway, i dont intend to visit a gynae until end of october, jus take all naturally.

Smalldreams, i have 5 clearblue digital kits which i bought from ebay.uk, i actually bought 8 kits, but wasted the 1st 3, so didnt really wanna waste again, and its so much cheaper than i buy from Sg, cos i feel that i am not preggy, didnt really wanna test.

I also have the cheap hpt test strips, but all used up for the previous cycles.. hahaha.. test and test and test. If test its negative then its even more sad, so now patiently wait for it to report. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

good morning mummies...

been reading on silent mode on and off.. will be heading to Melbourne this thursday. i only hope MS would give me a break during this period. but before that, got gynae visit and oscar in the morning.

redtea> i cannot imagine myself having a #3 too. so i will die die make sure that it will not happen. i asked DH to go for vasectomy and he looked at me with his mouth hanging open. having said that, if it does happen, i think i would be in the same dilemma as you, but will not have the courage or heart to terminate it. probably like what you do now, let nature take it's course. i remember my mom used to tell me that she wished that she had had more children after we all grew up and had our own activities. btw, being a good mom doesn't mean giving in to the kids all the time. i am also fierce with YX and it is my heart that ache, but I rather he learns the right things from young..

ET> baby dust to you....

i also have mild PCOS. Losing weight will help to regulate your cycle and improve ovulation. what i do to regulate my cycle is to take EYS bai fong wan. it really helps in my case. i take 1 bottle weekly after menses has cleared. and if you are trying, after ovulation, skip BFW. this was what i did when i conceived YX. all the best...

smalldreams - Nah, I am very very relaxed with Bryan's eating habits already and especially since he has moved on to CC. I have given him things like Chicken nuggets for tea breaks, instead of his yogurts, fruits and all, so it speaks a lot. I have also started to add in light soy in cooking his food. He had also tried peanuts cos my dear mum went to feed him peanut soup without me knowing, vege stir-fried with prawns and abalone/oyster sauce as seasoning.

cocomama - enjoy your holiday! I miss Melbourne!

Anyway, how do you or any mummies here bring milk powder overseas? Do you bring a whole unopen can and pack into the check-in luggage or hand-carry the whole unopen tin?

redtea - as much as I know you don't want it to happen, but I still would like to congratulate you for your #3. Think on the bright side, 3 boys (or 3 kids) are quite nice too cos they would have more fun in childhood (with a bigger crowd) and they would learn the idea of care and share, and family bonding more readily cos I supposed they will have to do a lot of things together...

redtea

if you decide to keep, you have 9 months to sort things out, be it childcare arrangement, financial, physical & emotional readiness, so don't worry too much. By then, the 2 siblings will also be older and more sensible to welcome the baby. No doubt will be busy, get all help you can. I find our LO getting more independant into their 2nd year, and the stress of the newborn and first year seem to reduce tremendously.

Being fierce is not a bad mummy like cocomama said. In fact being lax without boundary is worse as the child will be spoilt. Just don't overdo in anyway, and always remind them that we love them.

I know of a couple I know who was overly strict with the son, using belt and canes with great force. Turn out the son became gangster, dropped out of school and got into trouble. Now he is 18, the parents can't do much to control anymore.

vasectomy

it seems the local guys do not take this option often, unlike in the west, it is pretty common. The woman already goes thru 9months of carrying a baby, labour, stitches, water retention. Here, the guys thought they will become enuch by doing so...LOL

I need to check with you all if you kids like to walk particularly on 1 leg, cos my mil kept nagging me to bring him see specialist, said he got 1 foot fleshier than the other. He likes to run and always trip. They say maybe its something gotta do with his leg...N I am having problem trying to get a slot to see the PD. I read up and it seems to be pretty common in early stages of toddlerhood. Probably cos he might be flat-footed also...*sigh* I dunno how, hope its nothing serious. I kanna nagged at for mths, dunno y nvr go n tell my hb, everything tell me!

redtea, actually its really tough to have 3 boys when they are young but when they are all grown up, u wld be glad u had made the right choice.

Elynn

Wah, so the peanuts didn't cause much allergy? Seems that he's getting better already. That's good, no need to worry so much.

Furby

That sounds scary man, kids turning into gangsters. My worst nightmare!

I forgot the term they use for vasectomy on females. that's such an extreme thing uh? Anyway these days remarriages are common. So sad if the woman can't conceive should there be a remarriage and couples want baby.

Hi Hi

ET dun give up hope ah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cocomama, u so fast oscar ald ah ? hahahah mine still 1week+ to go , mayb because i visited gynea quite late, too slow to knw preg :p

BTW did u all babies still wake up for night feed ? Tristan does wor, he every night w/o fail will wake up for a night feed, he dun like cereal, drink milk only max 125ML, he take normal 3 meals a day lor ... other junk food he dun take, fruits he still take ...

smalldreams, compared to SAHM with maid, definitely have less time with my gals now esp since the maid didn't return after home leave in June so I am maidless. Now no. 1 is at full day cc while no. 2 goes for 2 hr pg then my mil brings her back. But it's good that my hours are flexible. I'm nursing a bad bout of cold/cold. Went to see Gp for the 4th time this month and he said my lungs are congested, ask me to rest fully so I will try and take a break from work for a few days.

ET, oic, must really try and meet your targets to slim down then. But agree with small dreams, at least you have more time with Oli. I find that once no. 2 is born, days pass in a blur, hardly have time to bond with no. 1 unlike before. :p

big_foot> thanks. this is the first time that I'll be travelling to a country that is so strict with food. previously i just lug along without any problem. so, this time i will bring an unopened can of milk. i think it should be ok since my x-colleague who's an australian told me that he ever brought back pineapple tart. just have to make sure that it's completely sealed. there was once when it was sealed properly and there was a small tiny opening and the custom threw the whole box away.

dolphin> oscar can be done between 11 and 14 weeks. by the time i do it this thursday, i am very close to week 12 already. but then it was arranged by gynae at the last visit. i guess they also conincide with my visit due this week also.

where will u be delivering this time? by the way, were you the one with low placenta the last time? or was it mamaD?

YX has been off night feed since 4 months old. how much milk does he drink during the day? is it possible to increase his day time feed/food? also, does he wake for milk at the same time every night? could be a habit...

firipy> my colleague's son who is 3 months older also has similar issue, especially when he climb the stairs. apparently it has something to do with his foot. but the PD advised my colleague to wait it out cause sometimes they outgrow it naturally.

Dear all, thanks for all the encouragement and advise. actually my aunty who hv 3boys said that bringing up boys these days are much easier than girls. i hope that will also applies to me. but by then when my boys grow up, generation different again. :p

red tea, i have a neighbour who has 3 boys now preggie wt the 4th boy!!!prob it won't be that bad cos ur eldest will be more sensible understanding when no.3 comes out!!!

Bigfoot, i just put Whole unopened tin in luggage n check-in. Took the 3 portion powder container on plane. I am going hkg NeXT fri, Cant wait!!! I dunno when the shit wk days b over

Cocomama, i its nothing major. My Joy likes to run n hop..... Sometimes he likes to purposely walk outwards toes pointing or inwards toes pointing n when we correct him, he laughes! He tinks its funny....

Morning!!

So long din popped in already..

Congrats to all the mummies expecting number 2/3 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cocomama> have fun in Melbourne. Are u gg for the farmstay? I bet YX will enjoy it. I just came back last friday

As long as you have a BB with you, you are safe from bringing milk powder, snacks and hot flask on board or in/out of australia

We declared the items and the customs din even check us..

firipy> i c..

sherry> thanks for the info. we are not entirely sure of the itinerary yet as my sis-in-law will be doing the planning. we did request for a stay at the vineyard though. not sure whether it'll be the same as farmstay.

Shernise is looking so pretty in the pic. where is that taken? errr.. i think YX might (just might) be the heavyweight champion in this thread. you didn't bring a stroller along?

Cocomama> no, she dun usually sit in the stroller.. She either walk or I gotta carry lor hahaha

Vineyard might be a little different though they might probably keep cow, sheeps and pony [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

This is taken at the farm...

How heavy is YX now? Think HW, shernise, Oliver, YX and Ashton can fight for the heavy weight championship lor hahaha

sherry> i c.. with YX, if he's in the stroller, it has to be moving. the second it stops, he wants to be out of it..

oh i c.. hmm.. we are taking this trip pretty free and easy.. so i guess we can always arrange something. by the way, how was the weather like?

at his 18 months checkup 3 months ago, he was 14kg. nowadays, whenever i carry him, i have to use my hip to help support the weight.

I think we were quite lucky cause weather was good. Between 7 to about 18 degree.. heard from the guide that its usually raining or late shower during this period.. U may wanna standby raincoat or bring a small brolly for YX.

it was drizzling one of the days in Sydney and poor feifei only has my jacket over her head hoho

sherry> ic.. thanks for the tip. will probably bring a brolly along. but it would be funny to see him in a raincoat though...

Shernise so pretty, I love her hair [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cocomama, my Kyra only slightly above 10kgs at 20months, is she under weight?

jasmine> i think it's more likely that YX is overweight... ha..ha.. but the doctor did assure me that he's ok because he doesn't look fat or obese.

if Kyra has always been lightweight and she doesn't criss-cross between the weight percentile too much, i think she is doing very well... no worries yeah.. i recalled that you are due sometime this month? have a smooth delivery..

cocomama, I wanted to type hope its nothing major, dunno y came out this way... Pray its nothing to worry abt...*sigh*

smalldreams - yup, Bryan is much better nowadays as he has passed the tests of those highly allergic food. However, he is still having his wheezing issue which comes on and off and definitely on the high risk of asthma. Duhz....

cocomama, firipy - Thanks for your advise. At least now I can be sure that my naughty boy will not miss his morning and night 'opium'.

firipy - I am heading to HK too and will be going this Friday. Too bad that we will miss each other. Otherwise, will be fun. It took us a super long time to plan for this trip after much ding-donging of leave between DH and me. The joke is we chose HK among many places in mind cos Bryan would nod his head vigorously when Mickey appears on TV every evening and say "Do you want to come to my clubhouse?" in Mickey Mouse Clubhouse.

Sherry - Shernise is so sweet and your pix has made me more determined that I must make it to Australia for farmstay next year.

Jasmine - Don't think Krya is much underweight. Could be the Dec/Jan 2010 "genes" cos many are hovering at this weight currently. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

firipy> oh! probably bring him to the doc to check it out? enjoy your vacation..

big_foot> enjoy your vacation..

ET> YX is heavy weight lah.. luckily he doesn't look like doraemon..

wonder how lsntyl is doing... hope they are settling well..

and where are the Shanghai mummies... lamb and jessie, how are you ladies doing?

good morning...

red tea, take it as it comes... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

you can do it...

dun worry abt being fierce.

I'm fierce to my boy too when he is wrong.

But will explain to him and speak to him after scolding and punishment.

ET, Shayne and Oli same weight...

he ard 11kg too... hahaha...

Dolphin, Shayne still wakes up for nite feed too... but on days he is super tired, he will skip it. just let him be lor...

Cocomama, YX really has a good weight... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

now we have one more shanghai mama...

prayinghard also move to shanghai now... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow ET, Oli can compete with lightweight...together with Tristan & Shayne [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tristan slightly above 10Kg ...

Doc did said so long as their healthy & running away, weight is just numbers, dont need to be too bother...

I agreed with Febie, ya i am also fierce mama, i take cane out to cane Tristan :p

Febie, u wonder y all night feeds but they not growing much ah ... aiyo ...

Oli no night feeds le, his last milk is 11pm and first milk is 6.30am.. But he is drinking lesser now.. His head is big nia, and he is short.. hahaha.. Compared to Tristan and Shayne, he seems bigger cos he shorter ma..

Hhahaha...

Dolphin, I'm not bother by his weight at all...

As long as he eats, drinks, pooed, sleep, I'm ok....

Dolphin, milk so they will have strong bones lah...

dun think too much... they wanna drink we give lah... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Febie, i m also fierce, he wld pretend to cry on front of others the moment I tell him to stop( spit saliva) or jump on bed. If its me n him, he Will just stop.... Sigh! Wayang at young Age.

looks like we have a lot of drama king and drama queen around ah...HW is one of them, pretend to cry loud loud but when she see i bo chap she will climb unto me and just keep quiet...she knows when mummy bring out the cane (esp to beat kor kor) better dun play play...haha

I am here~ yes, busy lah! Lisa and Kiana coming to SH!!! When? Must ask her to contact me or lamb eh!

Was very very heartbroken to learn Steve Job died.. it is like as if my mentor died...

Drama queens ah, Arwen also number one. Now when she know she do something wrong and I scold her, she will cover her face with two hands and cry but no tears one, then she will slowly split her hands and peek through the fingers to see if we are watching. If we are watching, she will cry louder, if not, after 10 secs, she will walk away and play on her own liao.. so young know how to act , funny also lah!

I hopeless..... I met a SG last week who is staying in my block . She first approach me in the lift and say hi. I look at her and before I can stop myself, I ask "hi, you stay here? Where is your KID?" She says she doesn't have one and I go "why? nice to have a KID, when you going to have a KID? Easy to raise a KID here you know, many KID things in Shanghai". Then she told me she is still trying and I go " Adopt a KID then, easy here, only 1 year waiting leh". Then I finally manage to cub the MOTHER persona back in me with a trout and apologize for being so mumsy! It is like.... really I forgot how to talk to an adult without kids anymore! Now I bet she hides when she see me. LOL!

Sherry, Shernise so pretty eh!

Hmm.. Arwen now weights 13.5kg..... I still think she is too heavy but her nanny insist she is ok.Haiz..

Show you guys a picture of her trying to water plants in France.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/6125391.jpg]

jessie

arwen is so pretty...wow she is another one wt good weight!!! according to FB update, Lisa is in Shanghai already.

you are really funny, i think tat neighbour of urs will be so scared of you liao...hehe...anyone who dun want to hv kids, shd go to you...sure can catch the joy of being a mother fm you!!!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/6126426.jpg]

hehe I also upload HW's photo taken in Xin's place during kids playdate!

Megan , HW so sweet now eh and looks like a full 2year old siah!

Lisa is already here? Maybe busy settling in. I can't access FB so dun know where she stays..

hi all. long time no chat. nice to see so many new postings and pretty gals. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

no time to read all the posts except the last few. Lisa n Kiana move to Shanghai ar?

Jessie

Oh my, i think you just frightened that young lady, haha. Sometimes also I tempted to yak & yak, but really must control hor? Very hard lah, coz I so talkative.

Once I saw someone wearing baby sling so low; i was worried the baby would fall off! But I controlled myself from asking her, coz she's also a 2nd time mother. If not scared she say I kepo hehe...

Arwen is so adorable lah. Like doll! Do you tie her hair up? I think my girl is destined to have short hair till she's a bit bigger.

Megan

I think my girl will look like a smurf beside HW. Heheh.

TYL

Hey how's it like over there? Hope you're more or less settled down.

tks jessie, ya i think HW looks quite big girl...no more bb look...

smalldreams, haha ur girl look like smurf...tat make HW the giant ah...haha, oh dear...not so big lah...Shernise and Arwen is heavier than her...

TYL, how's things there, all settled down??

all the baby girls are so chubby and pretty! Where are all the boys?

Seems like everyone is taking a trip with LO. I am also thinking of a trip year end but just can't decide where to head to with a LO and mostly winter at this time of year.

Drama kids

yah, mine also nowadays suddenly very demanding and manja. Like last night, even after switching off all lights at 10pm+, keep on wanting to go in and out of the room, drink water, knock on maid's door, go yao lan, scold her she only cry louder. Slept at 12am+...sigh

TYL

How's things over there? Hope your family has settled more or less.