(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

<font color="0000ff">Mrs Neo
What abt Carpe Diem? I'm abt to send my no. 1 there... starting soon, so cannot comment on it yet

Babymax: thx for sharing

xoxo: oo ic, but i think i made wrong mistake from the start already ne.. cause my nanny intend to force my baby to finish her solid food.. so now vy difficult to feed her ler.. she intend to close her mouth when we feed her, so u must wait for her until she wanna open mouth for 1 spoon ne...
. so u cook all kind of those pasta without oil? how bout aglio olio?

Hi all mummies
Its a relieve to see Naven recovered from his viral fever

However, he developed rashes all over his body yesterday morning upon discharged at noon. PD said its normal for such breakout due to high fever. So called 'detoxification'... He tend to have a longer sleep compared to his usual routine when he is well &amp; happy then. Fortunately he feed well but get cranky &amp; crouchy, easily agitated

Mrs Neo>> my elder son Nicholas was in Chiltern House for his pre Nursery lesson. I placed him at Turf city cos its nearer to my resident. Language teacher is India &amp; China. They stressed more in language, the fees incorporated both Eng &amp; Mandarine Speech &amp; Drama.Fees was super xxx but worth a headstart for a better language exposure

Beware!!! the school look upon the student's background one hor...
Pull him out of pre nursery so he can have the life of being in childcare
He was placed in Jus kid. 1st yr in the childcare was good but later part of the yr, the management changed system n become very commercialise, therefore the standard of the teacher also drop, they hired a lot of PRC teacher

Well my elder son is in P3 now
2nd son Nathanael was in Grace house managed but Raffles House. Different school name bcos church base cirruculum was incoprated in Grace house whereas Raffles house is not. The fees included speech &amp; drama too. School fees payable in terms! Likewise i pull him out after his pre-nursery into cherie hearts in Bt Gombak(HQ owned)

Btw Pat's school house was renowed &amp; ive friends child in this school off serangoon.
First skool is owned by NTUC!
Kinderland is famous of its kindermusic incoporated in their cirrculum

Most importantly its not the school system, its the teacher ability &amp; affectionate

havent posted in awhile. was wondering what kinds of activities you do with baby to keep them occupied? my girl gets bored of her toys/walker/tv/everything quickly and i try to take her out a lot so i don't go crazy having to entertain her 24/7. any ideas that will give me some time for myself?

something rather amazing happened just awhile ago. Dre has finally linked diaper to poop I think. dre was in the midst of her usual playtime in the hall. then she fussed a little bit and we sorta ignored her. she glared at both her dad and i and when we showed no signs of wanting to pick her up etc she proceeded to crawl to her room and came back with a pc of her diaper. Dad scolded Dre for taking the diaper and took it away from her. Again, she went to the diaper station and grabbed a fresh pc and took it to me. When I ignored her and Dad came to take away this new pc of diaper..Dre went into the room again and took yet another pc of diaper out - this time, going for the Dad before breaking down and wailing! then we smelt shit. ahh...so that's what she was going after. and how silly of us to tick her off for her diaper pinching habit! shall see if she repeats this again the next time she wanna poop.

miemie > it's almost a year since i've touched anything with dairy...i also worry alot abt her. plenty of nice bb recipes are out cos they involve cheese. i try not to think too much abt it and just bide my time hoping that in a year, she would be rid of this allergy. the ear wax bit...i've been applying this ear drops that helps to bring down the inflammation and soften the wax, in hope that it would dribble out on its own. so far, no success! gee...hope it can resolve on its own otherwise...
and i cannot agree more with your.."the worrying starts the moment the test kit turns positive".. but for all the worries and woes, i won't trade all these experiences for anything else!

funzee > does amelie bring toys or other objects to gum on her own..? towards her mouth? if so, the basis of self-feeding is already apparent. no baby would munch on food the way we adults would right from the start. u need to give them opportunities and space to learn and make mistakes. nevermind if most of the food ends up on the floor, their hair, your face and just abt everywhere else but their mouths. in a matter of days, their competency would just come on - each and every time they are given the chance to try feeding themselves using their hands WITHOUT your help (much as we would like to). dre needed abt 2 weeks before she was competent in self-feeding. it takes time. not instant noodles yah? so be patient. if u are really keen, i encourage u to do serious reading up on this - visit the BLW forums online (tonnes of fantastic, practical advice) and get the book. i understand that folks like Loke managed to get it from Kinokuniya while I got mine from amazon cos Kinokuniya didn't have it then. Don't battle Amelie, love her! **hugs**...and marvel at how she has her own mind! :D

hippo > sure u gave her tonnes of make-up hugs when u returned! no idea abt childcare..but if yr mom and maid is helping, why would u want to place min in childcare?

happy mummy > so aaden doesn't like carrot/broccoli! try something else...and don't put things into his hands...let him go get it himself..wow, chiltern house ah...that's not childcare leh, it's preschool...i saw them having fun at east coast park! rowdy to the max!!

feifei > awww...don't worry...all these things are a matter of trial and error - whichever works best yah? we cook with olive oil. just a nice little bit of it! aglio olio? just douse pasta in chopped garlic and olive oil ...i dunno abt the ear..i think it's still stuck but it's no longer bleeding.

jamie > glad to hear naven is better...all this talk abt schools.... **clueless** how would we know which teacher is able and affectionate?

xoxo,
my hb just walked past and glanced at my screen as i was reading your post. "xoxo's post?" i said how you know? "normally very long one right?" hahaha... but i do enjoy reading them just cos you're so poignant with your words. hehe...
DRE is incredible!!! my jaw just dropped! hahaha...

wrt childcare, well, preschool/childcare, whatever lah. am thinking of letting her go to some playgroup thingy. just to socialise and play. prolly will start her off either @ 18mths or latest by 24mths. only once or twice a week for half a day kinda thing. nothing too serious.

"you wouldn't trade anything for the experience"? then can make #2?!?!
hehehehe...

miemie,
belle ONLY JUST started waking up at 5am? that's like Min's REGULAR waking time. that's why i'm typically up by 6.30am everyday.

hippo > wahahhahaa, yr hb knows my "pattern". brevity just isn't part of my soul's wit. must play play abit with other kids right? i also think so. let's look together...hahaha...also East mah! prolly 3hrs daily. don't see any with once or twice a week...? i shall start looking will keep u looped if u want my lor sor service :p u keep me updated too can?

#2 maybe, but not now.

Morning mummies! Long weekend is here!

Mie Mie: Ya...I never clean her ears leh. Dun dare. You cleaned Belle's ears with cotton bud is it?

Xoxo: For BLW, I think Yx is ready. But my mum is the cautious one. That's why I am going to use the one week break (when my mum is overseas) to start her off again. this morning she gum off my sandwich and loved it!

Haha yes! GSS is here! To start it off, today Isetan Pte Sale!

Hey this diaper - poop association thing from Dre is soooooooooooooo cute!! Clever little girl!!! Shouldn't be one off thinghy...cos it's from Dre!

Hippo: That's the thing. Been wanting a break away from Singapore but think going to miss yx badly so dun dare to travel. So, I think the best solution is to bring her along! Plannign for Perth end of the year!

Re: Playgroup and childcare
Hmmm...I think I am super laid back hahah. Part of me quite keen, the other quite concerned. I know it's supposed to help the babies to learn yet, I dun feel like exposing her to the risks yet. My hubby also think so. That's why till now havent sent her to any gym classes. Maybe because we din opt for the pneumoccocal jab.

Anyway, xoxo, if got good places can keep me in the loop too??? TIA

Hi Mummies, sorry to interrupt -

Anyone wants a single bed &amp; mattress - perfect for a guest bed. Lightly used, going for cheap to clear space for my beloved son. Two are available. Can also be joined for an extra big bed...

Condition: 9/10

Pls PM me for more details.

4031220.jpg

xoxo: ic hope dre's ear can recover soon

Tien &amp; Miemie: i did ask my PD how to clean the baby's ear, but he said don't bother ler.. :p, but sometimes i still clean the outside part use cottonbud + water..

Muumies,

My son 7mths plus liao..from birth till now he always refuse to drink water. Use bottol/mag he don even wan to suck it, I have to always use spoon to feed him. Any idea how to make him drink water himself by bottol/mag so i no need use spoon to feed.

xoxo>> our little genius Dre never fails to amaze and wow us! im really proud that i know you and Dre personally.. hehe

feifei>> i clean belle's ears coz i can see the ear wax from outside, so i use the cotton bud to clean them. im not sure if im poking the wax in, but i guess belle's ear wax are the wet type, so it should be fine ba, anyway i also do that for myself!

hippo>> which villa did you stay at in bali? am thinking of going for a short break during my two weeks before i start my new job.. thing is my ah lao is not keen to bring belle along, and i doubt my mum can cope on her own for the few days.. in fact he is not keen to go on any short break with me without belle, yet he dowan to bring belle overseas. im damn pissed in fact.

Just got some time from work and peeped in to say Hello to all. Work is very hectic these days. Was quite stressed but after reading the posts here and updates on babies - i'm feeling good :)

Xoxo - Dre is really cool !! :)
and i'm gonna try the baby led weaning in this long weekend. I have tried it a bit (not full fledged though). i have noticed that RIona takes to the fruits if given in full - but the same thing if I mash and give her, she doesn't open her mouth.

Jamie - Hope ur son has recovered fully!! its very stressful to see our little ones falling sick.

Riona has heavy breathing when she is sleeping. otherwise in the day time she is ok. she doesnt have any runny nose or so. should i be concerned? anyways, planning to take her to PD today for a checkup. also need to check her weight. her milk intake is still quite less...but she takes solids 3 times a day and is very playful and active - so i'm trying not to worry on her less milk intake.

Last 2-3 days Riona is trying to walk with support. not much - but yeah 6-7 steps. is it ok if i get her a walker??

BTW everyone's talking about playschool here!! :) i had not given it a thought yet but will definitely keep it in mind. specially after knowing that all the good ones get booked early.
If anyone know about good playgroups in sengkang, then pls do let me know. :)

hi hi!

i didn't post for a long time!

hv been very busy since i started work. everything is going well for me. m enjoyin the work n hving my own time n $ again. my dh is coming on sat. hoping that she will b half as gd as xoxo's! hey xoxo, i'm serious in sending her over for cooking lessons!

n xoxo, dra never fail to amaze me! gotta go... just want to say hi to everyone!

Lydia
Nipple cream? Wats tt? Heee, i stopped using it since i recovered fr my 4 wks of sore nips aft birth. It stayed away ever since. Wats ur interval when u pump?
Underfeeding? Hmmmm, i think RN is... she’s on 4 x 12oml ebm in the daytime and latches once i get home fr work. And 4 semi-solids, sometimes she gets it, sometimes she dun. Sigh. Tragic, right?

Hippo
WOW! Min’s appetite really sounds gd &amp; healthy! It sounds so fun to feed her. : )

Tien
Yes, gotta b hardwkg to ensure ss stays on. No choice leh.
Its ok not to pump at 2-3pm since u latch YX. RN is super kpo when she latches nowadays and its literally impossible to get her to feed properly in the day coz she’s so distracted. And it doesn’t help tt my son likes to come and disturb her when she latches. Argh! So all her day feeds r ebm.
Haha, the buying syndrome will continue as they enter different phases... the urge is great! I get that urge at times too but simply no reason to buy coz we alrdy hv them at home. So there, buy to ur heart’s content for now! Haha.
Hi- 5 on the throwing away puree-ed stuff. For some reason, RN hates food tt taste too sweet so basically she hates all the fruits. Am gg to try that again this wkend.

Miemie
Yep, at least it was true for me lah. The buying syndrome sort of stopped when i had RN. Even pretty dresses and all tt, i like it and drool over but i dun buy it at all. When it comes to toys, all the more i hv no reason to buy coz my plc is like a mountain wif lotsa containers of toys – for her to play at different stages. Argh, I am the one tt is stopping my hb from buyg toys for my son. Somemore its those big tix items tt takes up space. So funny its the other way around 4 my case right? Hahaha. And yes, i used to b like u – go anywhere definitely muz buy sthg to satisfy my urge. Hahaha... a packet of food or small toy for my son, i’m oso happy! : )
As 4 belle whom shows a preference to sleep on ur bed, my son used to b like that too. Eventually he outgrew that phase! And i juz let him be then coz we needed to sleep! So he’ll cry and i’ll carry him over in my groggy state and continued to sleep. Watever it works to get the lil one to sleep longer! LOL.
Wow! I’m hoping tt RN learns to hold her milk btl soon! So convenient! But RN is not ready 4 that coz she’s v kpo. She turns ard during milk feeds. It doesn’t help that the gor-gor and jie-jie are forever playing near her and she’s always interested. Sigh.

Xoxolight
The son of a fren of mine was oso allergic to dairy pdts and all. His mouth would swell like a sauage each time he ate dairy pdts or anything tt contained nuts. It was only recently that the boy turned 3.5 yrs old and suddenly outgrew the allergy! Of coz my fren was over the moon! So there, chances of Dre outgrowing the allergy is there. Probably can do a small test after she turns 1 and see how it goes every 6 mths.
3 cheers 4 Dre! The diaper pincher babe! So smart of her! And my, she’s crawling alrdy! V advanced! RN is attempting to crawl but always ends up retreating into a corner and got stuck.

Xoxo: dre is amazing!!! I can imagine how amazed u all were when u realized she was actually askin u to change her . Wow..

Xoxo/hippo: let me know if u all find any playskool type that's is like one or two days a week. East side too ;p ya I jus find that it will be fun tosee my kid interActing w other kids n playin together since I dun hav any toddler relatives for him to play w

My boy has been waking up for milk this week at 2-3am after sleeping at 10plus. He used to be able to sleep thru till 6am. Am getting worried abt it becoming a habit cos am so tired!!
Anyone has same experience? Cld it be another growth spurt?

Vodkarib,

Wow, your boy usually sleep from 10am to 6am? That's fabulous! My boy goes to sleep by 9pm and wakes up once anytime from 1am to 4am for a feed and Then wakes up at 7am. However, he stopped doing that about two months ago!!!! He now wakes up twice a night!!! I was so desperate that I have even started keeping a sleeping log to see if there are any correlation to his day time nap. I thought if he does not sleep well in the day, it might affect his sleep at night. Anyway, I can't find any correlation. The research that I did say that he could be because he is either teething or am eager to practice the new skill he has acquired. It should not be growth spurt at this stage. It is only when they are younger. What do you do when he wakes up? Do you feed him?

xoxo, you know, I always enjoy reading your posts - and marvelling at Dre's progress. She is an impressive little babe!

Well, Amelie puts every non-food item into her mouth herself. All food items, however, are rejected. I have concluded that the only reason for her "healthy" weight gain is fat genes. Thanks for your encouragement - and for always being a positive force in this thread, and for always trying to answer questions! Your participation is much appreciated. This long weekend, we will experiment and let her see if she decides to feed herself. I will need to read up more on BLW. Will cook up some pasta for her. My personal fave.

Vodkarib, well, I have the same problem. Whole of this week, Amelie has been waking up at 2-3am and then refusing the sleep! Giving her milk does not help either. Last night she woke up at 2.30am, decided to play for 2 hours, then fussed and fussed till her father rocked her to sleep. Appreciate if anyone else who has had this experience can share what can be done. TIA!

2010: I will pat him. And if fail will latch him to sleep.

funzee: ya am confused becos he used to sleep well for a 6-7 hour time frame. Hmm sometimes he wake up crying very hard (like nightmare). A few days, he jus woke up calmly kickin his bed..and whimper asking for attention.

tien,
PERTH AH?! brave. my ah lao say 2y.o. then bring Min out. hehe... that prolly means no more hols til then
was secretly hoping for Maldives in Nov tho... sigh...

miemie,
we were at St Regis Nusa Dua. it was out of this world. i dunno how i can stay in normal 4/5* anymore after that. it was freaking awesome.

jrrt,
actually Min didn't take to solids right away. she hated it initially. so always had to have my maid feed her. she will put Min in her sarong and KIAP her so she cant run away. it was only last weekend that i tried feeding her successfully. cos by now she loves all her purees and cereal and milk. its now a breeze to feed her. in fact, she lunges forward when i was too slow to feed. but even with this great appetite she is still quite a featherweight. hope she has her daddy's good skinny genes and not my lousy fat-a$$ genes. hehe...

vodkarib: hey, at least patting works for you. For us, patting doesn't work. Have to carry and rock. Bad habit and before I had Amelie, I told myself I don't want to be in this patting situation and now I'm in an even worse situation. But I don't think I can do sleep training. We tried once and she cried until she vomited. I think the 3 adults (mum, dad + helper) were horrified.

Real time update on A's eating: she is enjoying soup, but not porridge. We will attempt BLW this weekend. *cross fingers*

gal > yeah, i agree...*paging for Astro*...don't neglect yr "students" here also..hehehe...

tien > hehe, understandable that older folks will find our BLW idea abit hard to swallow literally. Okie..keep u in the loop...

feifei > thanks. normally, bb's ears don't need any servicing..dre's case is prolly due to "over-production" of gold...which i am still waiting for the gold nugget to appear...

gemson > is your son still latching for feeds?

miemie > yr ah lao and mine are so similar...not keen to travel at all! says travelling with the bb will render the holiday void...haha, very nice to know u too... :D

vin > cheer up! you have a long weekend...i don't. my work has been heating up and will get overheated tom..all the best for the BLW..share with us how it goes :D

sotong_mum> haha, can send over.. :p and we can have an excuse to meet up.

jRRt > u were also looking out for dairy free cakes? i am planning for her birthday...headache over this dairy-free issue. RN is so cute! which corner does she like to squirrel into?

vodkarib > i was thinking of pat's schoolhouse..their toddler club - 2x a week...and so sorry to hear abt the waking up at night...hmm...is he hungry? would he feed if u offered?

funzee > all the best and may amelie enjoy her gourmet selections!

hippo > *drools*....in my heart of hearts, i know there is just no way i can go on a holiday anytime soon...so the passport that i made for dre..is just for fun. haiz! eh..u don't have lousy fat-a$$ genes...the last i rem u were looking really good!

xoxo,
when was the last time you saw me? :p think i was wearing something very flattering with no shape. hahaha... anyone will look good in those drapes. Min doesnt even have a passport. i suggested to the HB and he was like "for what? no need!" ... but its true. my HB said the same thing. he said after the "holiday" WITH Min, we'd have to have another to rest and recuperate after that. i tell you we are really such incapable parents. if my maid were to TOU GAY KEE KAY, we're so dead... sigh...

hippo > ROFL...wahahaha...u weren't wearing drapes! the last time i "saw" u...u had some giant earwax! bwahahah and u looked GOOD... ***** (see, five stars!)..

that's why i am just dreaming Club Med all the way...very nearly succumbed to the okinawa specials...haha..they have bb care and bb friendly everything..we just go there, and snooze...yeah right, dream on. Straightaway HB said..."rem she doesn't nap.."

Can I add cluelessness to the word incapability for myself? I hell have no idea why I bothered with that passport..and the expiry date for it is like, 5 years so I can safely say I have wasted a good 20% of time value?

xoxo,
hahahaha... that was a BLACK shirt. u know how they create optical illusions?!
n i was @ universal studios with the "cotton bud" :p chey!

xoxo : my son in FM. No problem for him drink milk only he refuse drink water..I don know why..from brith till now don wan water only so have to use spoon to feed him. any idea how to make him latch in bottol or mag?

Xoxo>> plus their concerns on the chlorine level in swimming pools too ya! Haha

I'm just so pissed w my mum. Why is my house not ready yet? How am I supposed to inculcate good habits in my girl when they object to everything I want to buy? And the reason is coz no more space. If it's my own house I wun face such objections isn't it? Everything I buy is a waste of money to them.
thank goodness the govt came up w the law that kids below 8yo must be in car seat, if not my car seat will be condemned for dunno how long.

miemie,
hmmm... think if its my mum she'll be like "why never buy one for me too?" for everything i lug home. hehe... oh well... just REN lor i guess... when is your own house ready?

Hi mommies >> weekend coming and I know Singapore is on public holiday today!! Hope you have a good long weekend. Just wanted to say hi.

Hi Vodkarib >> I so understand the situation. I think its teething frankly. And they just don't know what to do with themselves. If I nurse my bubba, he cries. I think his gum hurts more when he sucks. Teething gel by then could not work. I had a friend who tells me that no matter what, don't give milk. Give water, pat him, rock him, whatever. Very hard. So I think in the end, I just bear with it. And pray really hard that its a short spell. It will be very exhausting on the mum. Will you take turns with hubby, helper, etc?

My bubba decides to wake up at 2am, and again did not sleep until 4am. I was practically walking around like a zombie. Also, he flips over and I had to turn him back, otherwise he will cry. So it was a vicious cycle. Don't exactly know how to overcome this. There are nights where I just want to throw myself out the window...hahahaha!

The achievement he had this week is he can come to a standing position from a lying down position if I hold his hands and pull him up. He can stand for a couple of seconds before collapsing on the floor. hahahaha. Quite cute when he wobbles and shakes before collapsing.. Like he is dancing...hahahah.. I know..bad mummy...making fun of bubba.

gemson > have u tried the straw magmag?

mie > yes, HB doesn't allow me to place dre in the pool primarily becos of his concern abt the effects of chlorine. i actually went abt searching for pools that are cleaned by ozone. SG is so backward! not a single one to be found...only private pools. and to think that in europe, it is commonly found....we are living on the wrong continent..the freaking weather is also driving me bonkers.

bwahahhaa..u mean u wanna inculcate the art of shopping in belle huh? (ok, really, just kidding...) i understand how restricted u must be feeling...these are generational conflicts. my mum too..when she comes over, always having an excess of opinions i feel..one ear in, the other out. then again, it's mummy mah...so sometimes i just try to halt my feelings of despair and think of the sweetest thing that my mum has done for me...meanwhile, plan for your upcoming home! that shld make u more positive abt things
i can't wait to see yr castle!

hippo>> wa seh.. just the name st regis i know is damn shiok liao.. no need to go google it.. which means out of my budget too.. looking at a short getaway, like 3D2N before i start work..

xoxo>> yeah, i hope i wun be like this when i grow old.. hope belle wun find me too naggy. just wishing my flat will be ready like next month. hahahah i wish. gonna be ready earliest next year 1st quarter i think.. haiz.. which means more conflicts. but then again, im grateful to my mum of coz, without her, i wun be able to go to work with a peace of mind knowing that belle's in good hands, and now i wun be able to plan for a short getaway. just that sometimes its quite tough to have no disagreements with so many "i-know-better-than-you" statements.

xoxo, wld like to ask about your experience with BLW. Have tried for 2 days now - A has lost 300g as a result since we don't spoon her food after her (unsuccessful) meals. Of course my mother is upset with me.

A has, after much difficulty, and some assistance, managed to get some food in her mouth - but v little. I think she didn't know it was food until I put a bit in her mouth. She mostly takes her food and drops it on the floor. She also seems hungry most of the time (a lot of sticking out of the tongue) but doesn't really eat when we put the food in front of her. Did you experience that too? Not sure if it's because she prefers to be fed or just prefers to play with her food and not eat them.

I also kinda started BLW. I let Oliver ate a slice of pear on his own. As compared to when I tried a month ago, he held onto his pear for a much longer time instead of dropping it. He also successfully gum off bits that he wanted to eat. Of cos he still dropped the pear once or twice but I have prepared a few pieces on standby. Funzee, I gave him the pear as an additional meal, ie, I still feed him his cereal twice a day. Maybe you might want to feed some of his meal until he can eat much more on his own?

funzee > I read you are still "assisting", and naturally, the anxiety to see A take something if anything at all will over-ride all other considerations. Sorry to hear abt that stress and the weight loss. What's the frequency of her milk feeds? Did you manage to get yr hands on the book? The tome of information there is more than what I can write in this...but I shall take a short excerpt that seems to relate to what you are experiencing:

"I can't believe how close I came to giving up BLW in the beginning. Stephanie just didn't seem interested in solids at all - I thought it wasn't working. But one day, she was really fractious before lunch, so I gave her a quick breastfeed. I sat her in the highchair and couldn't believe it when she picked up some carrot and started to chew on it! It was only then that I finally realised what I was doing wrong - I just needed to give her the solids when she wasn't hungry." - Annabel, mother of Stephanie, 8 months.

It is really important that your baby isn't hungry when you sit her down to explore food (that is the basis of BLW - not just abt weaning per se!) because in the early weeks of solids, "mealtimes" are nothing to do with hunger and everything to do with play, sharing and copying others; these are opportunities to learn rather than to actually eat - they are playtimes.

- Gill Rapley &amp; Tracey Murkett, 'Baby-led Weaning', p. 80

My own experience:
It was hard trusting Dre to know what to do initially too but after close reading of the BLW book (which I cannot emphasise enough if you want to take this route), I just had to give her the opportunities and restrained ourselves from grimacing when she made a mess or sighing when she "mis-aimed" her food or simply grabbed them and gummed just once before dropping it out of sight altogether. It does take time before they learn to bring the food to their mouth and actually eat off it. The quantities that actually get in are negligible but once they get the hang of it..it's pretty good.

In a nutshell when you are getting started:
1) Offer her solids when she's not hungry - milk feeds are still her main src of nourishment.
2) Keep the focus on playing and experimenting
3) Let yr bb join in yr mealtimes (and snacktimes) whenever possible.
4) Make sure she is upright and safe in a highchair or on your lap.

Don't give up and believe that A will soon be feeding well..

gemson > sorry, am confused here...so did u try the magmag straw?

miemie > hahaha, same here! i read st regis...then in my mind..i saw the vision of my bank gg up in flames! wah..u planning yr own getaway..cool..where?

mummies are always like that..mine too! and when i roll my eyes in front of her, she goes, u are so rude yada dada..hahaha...i just love irritating my own mum too! i am sure if we get our mothers together, they will complain non-stop abt how stubborn their daughters (i.e. us!) are!!!

Xoxo: is chlorine really bad for babies? Where did u read of harmful effects? Hmm.. M thinkin chlorine isbad for skin so a bit hesitant of letting him in the pool too n will limit to 20 min. Share the info link w me ;)
but he really enjoyed soakin in the pool yesterday n was splashin water all around. A pity I dun know where to get him the right float

xoxo>> thinking of going somewhere nearby and wun bust my budget kind of getaway.. its only 3D2N, and kinda last minute.. hope i can find a place within my budget.. on a tight budget now
going to be 'income-less' for two weeks, plus need to buy more clothes and shoes and stockings for my new job, get my hair cut, face done, and dunno wad else is in the list!

your mum will tell you off straight in the face? my mum wun, she is that kinda old folk who will go complaining to my aunt, her friends, my dad, my sisters wadever, that her life is so miserable etc etc etc.. well well well.. i guess its coz we are taurus (or you're a gemini) thats why we're so stubborn? hehehe

vodkarib > yes, chlorine was shown to be potentially harmful for babies and children up to 2 years old..increasing their risk of developing bronchiolitis and asthma. thus, HB says, the risk simply doesn't justify the fun..so dre's banned from the pool. what we have done instead is to let her splash abt in our jacuzzi at home..it's fun cos we created tonnes of bubbles and foam...and she had her bb foam party on her own :p ..that, and other so-called water play at home is a compromise though i cannot describe how much i yearn to be able to have her in a real pool. this is NOT the first article i have read abt the harmful effects though it is probably one of the most recent published research that was done on this subject. http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSTRE60P5IX20100126

miemie > hehehe...go to phuket? the discounts there shld be amazing! hehe..phuket club med? then u can bring belle along!!! :p yes my mum would not only tell me off pt blank, she usually wins any debate with me. hehe..but she is not the type to yak abt me to everyone else...but the embarassment she causes can be quite total and i just wanna dig a hole and disappear. erm..i may be a so-called gemini..but i identify myself as a taurean...born at the cusp and i am really more a taurean than a gemini (or so i think).

hi all.. how's everyone doing?

hi loke.

xoxo: bally's a gd candidate for BLW.. given he is way faster than bally.. but hm... his mama prefers more contorl! ha!.. he just walloped 6 cubes of chickrn casserole.. now he doesn't want milk.. perfectly fine by blw i guess.. not fine with me :p

Funzee: just to assure u.. we could possibly disassociate bbs feeding themselves from BLW or the traditional weaning.. coz by 9 mths most bbs just START to feed themselves.. so our bbs are on the route there. in their time
if it is causing u so much stress.. could possbly explore alternatives.. and hor. heh. i am quite proud of bao wrt to this.. coz he finger feed very late as compared to his peers. i was up against the wall liao.. end up.. slow ad steady wins the race.. he is feeding himself v well.. while his peers needed to be fed.. and i too think it is the parents' influence coz i am lazy. i simply refused to feed him :p.. so ya.. just my humble thoughts