(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

<font color="aa00aa"> Dear all mommies,

Opps. I MIA from the thread again.

Now I am back, with some lobang again.

Mommies who are giving ENFA to your tots, please PM me or email me at [email protected] if you are keen to order ENFA at a cheaper rate.

I am unsure about how low(price) my friend is going to quote me but I believe it is going to be lower than getting them from NTUC ($38.50) or BP($35.40). Was hoping at least can get it at $34.

I left my friend a msg and he will reply me by tonight

Those on my FB, please do not post anything regarding this lobang on my wall as I am only sharing with Oct Mommies, don't want to handle too many orders. Thanks for your understanding. Can PM me at FB too.</font>

Diana: can advise the source of the ENFA fm? I understand that those from malaysia is cheaper. The content is slightly different to those from singapore.

<font color="aa00aa"> opps, sorry, forgot to mention as this is an important point!

Source : Netherlands

Actually, to me la... both the same. of course if anything happen, we can always return back the stock to mead johnsons directly and get refund. if get msia, I also don't know how if anything happen, *touch wood*

erm, why i say same le? because my own cousin brother used to drink enfa from msia &amp; S26. now, a scholar and doc to be. haha..so, if you are smart, no matter what(brand/source) FM you drink, you will shine la..hehe</font>

hello diana! im getting my enfapro at $36.. so i feel that price difference is not that substantial if its at $34 leh.. but do keep me in mind if you can get it at a much lower price! thanks..

<font color="aa00aa">Mie, noted. I hope lower than that la, I get mine at $35.50, what do you think? LOL..ahaha.. once buy in bulk then will save some that's why I will still get it even if it is $34 with delivery.</font>

Hi Mommies! Hope all's well. It has been a while since I last visited the forum...was reading through all the threads...so many things have happened!

Ting >> I really feel for you. I'm living through this at the moment. My MIL has arrived to stay with me and I think I'm already going crazy....I just don't know how long I will keep my mouth shut before I tell her something she will probably complain to everyone about. I'm sure they come from a good place and a good heart but its just so so different in our methods of child care and upbringing. I'm just crossing my fingers that she will leave quickly. A disaster waiting to happen with ILs.

Update on my bubba >> He just had his 6 months' injection and it really pains me to see him get injected again and again. This time, his whole body will jerk when the needle went in and I just want to go rescue him. He isn't crawling yet but is flipping himself silly. He also started to put everything and I mean everything into his little mouth. Its so strange. He's especially fascinated with towels. Will keep licking and kissing the towels all the time if we let him. I also spotted 2 little white pearlies on his lower jaw...so I think he will have 2 tooth very shortly! So amazing! He drools a lot and the drool is like a long long line of water...I think quite thick...He definitely learnt communication now - he will yell and tell us he doesn't like certain things. He loves his pear puree and is only so so on his rice cereals now. He continues to battle with us on milk. We have to disguise the milk all sorts of way. And that also mean I still have to feed him when he's drowsy or sleepy. Otherwise, he will take 5ml in 20 minutes. That's my bubba. Last night, he decides to wake up at 3am in the morning, and proceeds to cry and yell. But then he does not want any food. One of those strange nights. So today I'm so sleepy I can fall asleep standing up. He gets bored very easily, so playtime is very challenging. He will play with a toy for 5 minutes and then puts it into his mouth, knock it on the floor, and then throw it away. He seemed to enjoy going for a stroll in his pram. He will look at the trees and people, but hates people staring at him. He will protest and then cries. I secretly wished he does that to my MIL..hahahah

Some days are good, others - I wished his nap times are longer. hahahaha

gal > kiwi together with all citrus fruits (grapefruit, oranges etc) are not recommended as they might cause allergic reactions in babies under 1 yo.

Heh abt chewing on things. My boy loves chewing the remote controls for my fan, aircon, tv! Sometimes I feel like keeping these away n show these to him when he grows up. Am sure he will be disgusted with his obsession with chewing on controls

tien > things do change when the bb comes along. you will find your groove soon enough! maybe it's just this period - with you returning to work etc...but don't worry, it will be sunshine after the rain soon! yx is looking more and more mature these days too! hmmm..guess she is looking v different from the last time we met?

blessedcyn > i think yp's issue for april covered the birthday bash ideas quite well! 3D cakes, places to celebrate etc. :D

Thanks to those who gave me tips and may i say, even pushing me to hire a domestic help...I look back at the past 10 days and I must say, life has changed very much. I feel so sane now that I can just focus on my work and the baby without needing to think abt food, cleaning, ironing etc. She has been a diligent help and cooks well too. No complaints at all from me. The care of Dre is still 100% in our hands and I must say, this allows us to savour our time with her alot more.

Seven months on, Dre is no longer the smiley, sociable baby she once was. In fact, she has learnt how to scowl and she uses that disdainful expression quite alot to my despair! Her mood is always serious and she wears a perpetual frown.

Most significant has got to be her ultra-sticky behaviour. She would not tolerate having me out of her sight. Say, I am playing with her and suddenly, I decided I need to go and answer nature's call..just turning my back and walking away would trigger a meltdown. She cries very badly too whenever she sees me at the door, putting on my shoes/slippers. It's endearing initially..now I am getting increasingly concerned if this is appropriate behaviour for her.

She is still toothless..with much shorter hair (took her for a traumatic haircut ytd) and an emerging pot belly!!

Calling all Oct mummies n bbies wanna meet for a tea session for this coming Vesak day? I know of this italian cafe serve nice organic coffee n BB cupcake at Tanglin Mall... BB can enrol for trial session with Gymboree too! Anyone interested???

Gemson : Don't worry. I was just about to tell you that i remembered xoxo's Audrey also don't nap, then i see her post.

Mine can nap for 2hrs in the afternoon. But when we go over my mum's place every Tues, he can skip his nap totally. He just wanna play.

stlock15 : He likes mummy's 'ai xin' porridge.

gal^ : Thanks ya. Nothing good comes out from her mouth. I always try to ignore what she said. Really hates it when she always try to imply that she's doing all the right things and all others who do not agree with her is wrong.

Candy White : Lele started with backward crawling as well. I find it cute. He wanna come to me but kept crawling backwards. When he finally figured out that he will never get to me, he used his most powerful weapon and got me over to him instead. Haa...

Jamie : So nice to have gatherings. I'm always so stuck at home. So missed that time when i only have 1 baby, will travel all over Singapore with her. Haiz...

Morning mummies!!

Xoxo: Nice to hear from you!! Yes...yx has changed quite a bit since we last met. Many commented on her mature look hahah...'cao lao'already.

Know what, Dre is at that phase that my mum has been warning me about. I think babies will cry when their favourite person is leaving the house or they dun see them around. I am actually dreading this. The morning good-byes will be harder. And this occur 7-8 months. So, it's normal.

Jamie: Wow, gathering...miss that too. Vesak day is going to be activities packed. But good news is I do not need to journey to the west. Maybe I will convince hubby to bring yx to the gymboree trial instead.

Vodkarib: think it's time for a teether! Remote control is too hard lah! Nowadays when I see yx chewing on something, I will instantly give her her teether and she happily accepts it. I bought those cheap cheap pigeon ones. All the fancy ones do not do the trick.

Morning, mummies! Its thursday! 1 more day to weekend. Hurray!

Dreamygal>> Dun care wat pple say lah... as long as Le Le is healthy.. watever they say, just treat as bullshit lor... Watever pple say makes sense, i listen.. otherwise, I will just "1 ear 1 ear out".

Re: ILs
I have my very fair share of them.. PIL and SIL.. Perhaps I am the "Dao" kind.. and u dun talk to me, i dun talk to u kind. We seldom talk and believe it or not, I have not spoken to my SIL for more than 10 sentences or even 5 since they moved in wif us abt gng to 2 years ago... LOL. Cos she belongs to the same kind of category as me. But I think I am better cos I have many many groups of gd friends and a gd social life.

It does feel strange to stay in such a hse whereby u dun talk to 1 another. I am indeed feeling uncomfortable. Hope to move out in 2 years time! But hope i can tahan till then. For now, just have to feel like being a tenant, staying in my room lor cos its uncomfortable to stay in the living room. Sianzz.. Its hard on hubby at times.. cos i feel uncomfortable with them when he is not home.. so, sometimes, keep asking him when he is coming back.. :p

Dreamgal,

Me too miss the time when I have only 1 boy and I can alway go anywhere I like. Anytime, Anywhere. Now go out like so difficult, so many things to bring like going chalet and by the time I pack all the things is almost time for his milk after milk almost time for his nap. Aiyooo so many thing to consider and worst still need to wait for my maid to finish up her work and bath before all can go out. So by the time all done already 2-3pm liao, no mood to go anywhere.

***Sleeping through the Night***

Hi Mummies, do anyone of you put your baby to sleep by 8.30 to 9pm? Please can you share with me how many times your baby wakes up in the night and if you will feed her. I read that we should no longer do night feed at this stage as they do not need it anymore. Babies at this age should also be sleeping through the night. BUT, the definition of through the night is only 6 hours!

My boy sleep around that time. He will usually wake up 1 hr (duno why leh no matter what time he sleep) after he sleep. I will need to pat pat him and he will sleep back and follow by wake up in the midnight once again. Maybe around between 3-5am, it really depend. So need to give him pacifier and pat him and will sleep back. No milk feed given. But in some good day, which is seldom he will skip his midnight waking up.

Sunntlight, dreamgal>> I understand how it's like to get every member ready for an outing
I've 3 children n a big boy, but we are all trained cos it's nothing unusual cos every Sunday we need to attend 9am church service... So it's practise make perfect ya
I love n enjoy going out with my family, fortunately I'm a capable maid with us. Sometimes my mum n pil also join in the outing ha ha

Hi Sunnyling,

Does that mean that your boy will go without feeding from 8.30pm to 7am? Does he cry in the night when he wakes up? Did you have to 'train' him not to have milk in the middle of the night? For example, did you let him cry but try to soothe him without feeding him? I do not use pacifer and I am still breast feeding so I guess he is using me as a pacifer.

About PIL, some can b nice n friendly but some r jus nasty n annoying... It's not easy to handle human relationship so have to b prudent
no worries ya one fine day all the kindness will be rewarded...
xoxo>> lately eaten ant yummy chocolate cake
r u staying in the east, bedok there is one choc a block...

2010, I carry up him and dreamfeed him around 10-10:30pm. Last time for midnight feed I use to give him pacifier to sub with milk feed.

Happy Mummy : I see her everyday and she nag at me every time she sees me loh. On good day, i'll let her be... But on bad days, especially when my #1 is naughty, i will just go to her house with super black face so that she will not dare to say anything. Haa...

sunnyling : Ya loh. Weekdays need to wait for Glynnis to finish school, settle lunch then its about nap time. Last time i always go shopping with her. Actually i do feel a bit guilty towards her.

2010 : Lele will sleep at about 9pm. He used to sleep through. But recently he has been waking up at least once. If i'm around, he may go back to sleep by himself. But if he don't see me, sure cry. If daddy comes to him instead, he will scream... Haa...
When he wakes up, i will try not to feed. But if he cries really bad, then i stuff my nip into his mouth.

Thank you mummies for your sharing. My boy used to wake up at either 12.30am or 3ish for only one feeding and wake up at 7am. These days, he is waking up at least two times a night and I feed him each time cos I am so tired and have to work the next day. I know I shouldnt do that cos I will just be proloning the problem. I am wondering if he is waking up more these days because he is teething...

Dreamygal, does Lele sleep from 9pm to 7am without feeding?

Hi sunnyling,
he has been on solid for two months now. I don't think it is cos of insufficient food intake in the day as he started waking up only once in the night even before I started feeding him solid.

I have formula milk and mum's milk to sell. I'm not using them as my baby is already 1 years old and I don't drink the mum's milk.

I have:
1) Mamil Mama 900g (2 tins)
2) Similac 400g (1 tin)
3) Nan Pro 2 400g (1 tin)

Sms me Abigail at 90086345.

Jamie : We very trained in bringing both out. In fact, the daddy will not go anywhere without them. Just that, during weekdays i find it hard to bring both out myself. On a few occasion when i brought both out to lunch with my friends, i came back super tired. Need to sling a baby, run after a toddler and then need to carry a big bag somemore. Now i only bring them out once a week on weekdays, to my mum's place...

2010 : He used to sleep from 9plus to 6plus without feeding. But before he sleep, he will drink from both side. Normally, he only latch on one side and he will be done. But now, no matter he latches one or both side, he will sure wake up. I hope its a passing phrase.

Crawling:
Wah, read that a few babies started to crawl liao.. I thought my Naia is very advance liao .. LOL.. may be because my elder girl only crawl when she’s 11 months. And she can’t even sit steadily at 8 months old. So to me Naia is v v fast already! Not to worry too much if your baby haven’t crawl yet. No point forcing them. When they are ready, they will be ready. What you need to do is to give them apportunity to crawl and NOT making them crawl. Once I saw a maid making the baby under her care to walk and she said her employer told her so. It’s really a bad move because if the baby physically is not ready, she’s doing more harm than good. It’s bad for the baby spine.

Sleeping through:
Mmm.. I wonder if it’s a phase. Naia too used to be able to sleep through but recently keep waking up and cry in the middle of the night. Soo tiring..

Gal,
You want lobang for goat milk? I have. This mommy organize BP sometimes but you have to buy 7 tin at 1 go though. PM me if you still interested.

Xoxolight,
Haha.. having a reliable maid really saves the day..

Thank you mummies who replied. I tried what shugar's pd mentioned... use my palms or something to support the back of her feet to help her move forward. She wil end up showing me she could raise her buttocks high (for a while) and cute sight... Think I shall wait a while longer for her to figure out how to crawl forward.

Jamie: Im interested to meet on Vesak Day. What time is the gathering? Gymboree.. Must we call to book for trial classes? I have a voucher for one free trial class so hope to ultilise it..

Need advice on Bb swimming: Im bringing my girl swimming for the first time this weekend. Wondering if I can bring her straight to the pool or must get her to swim in a tub first at those baby spa shops? Thx!

2010: My baby's last feed is at 9pm and usually sleeps by 10pm. 1 to 2 hours later, she will cry suddenly but we, either myself or daddy will just pat her chest or bums (depending on her sleep position) and she will fall back to sleep very quickly. She doesn't wake up until about 7am or sometimes 8am. She takes the pacifier as a cue to sleep so when she's awake and alert, she won't want the paci. In the middle of her sleep, she will also somehow push out the paci. Of cos, cranky times, like teething, she will wake up often during her supposedly sleep time and drink less milk.

candy,
If you really want to bring, do bring on weekday when it's lesser people (lesser contamination). Try to go in the evening when the water is warmer. I ever brought my elder girl swimming on a saturday and I saw something really yucky in the pool - phlegm!!! So gross man. I mean of course everyone knows how dirty the pool is (urine, etc) but seeing this is another matter lor.. Imagine, my elder girl like to open her mouth and suck in and spit out the water.. ew…So after that incident, no more weekday swimming liao..

My SIL brought his 10 months bb boy to swimming and he caught a virus from there and had high fever for a few days! But I’m sure there are a lot of mommies bring their young baby to the public pool and have no issue. So, it’s really up to you. For me, I will only bring my no.2 when she hit 1 year old and hopefully by then her immune is stronger and can fit her jiejie outgrown thermal wear

aria,
I see your point. Im bringing her to the pool at my friend's condo nearby. So will see how the condition of the pool is first. Otherwise, let her try in tub first. Thanks!

2010: my boy is like gemson's schedule. May differ by one hr.

Hee... Me so happy. My boy seem to know what is pao-pao. I carry daddy say paopao he stretch his arm towards him. Daddy carry. Then I try say paopao he stretch to me. Awww... (let's c if it's just a one off :p) but for now I happy

hey babes!

checking in after a long period of absence.. busy settling in back home after hols, then had a series of back to back blocked ducts, another painful episode of mastitis, and then Ana got sick with e flu. And in the midst of all that, i had to settle Adil into his new daycare arrangement too. Fortunately, he's adapted very well and is enjoying every minute. Not a single tear nor protest since day 1. And for that I'm real thankful.

just a few random responses to things that stuck in my head...

ting: i read in disbelief about your MIL saga. i'd be pissed. hope the issue has settled somewhat. most impt, hope your baby's all ok now..?

xoxo: i'm glad to hear that your FDW is working out for you

tien: feeling better, babe? are you expressing milk in school? how's that coming along? i'm trying to visualise myself doing that soon.. hope this time round can last longer than 2 months before drying up.. not looking fwd to work really.

weaning: i'm enjoying this journey with Ana. she seems to take to it well and has been eating well. will stick to cereal and puree for now and intro porridge closer to 8 months as per my plan.

crawling: little Ana's started crawling too. more creeping at 6 months. and been trying to balance her whole body on all 4 just before she turned 7 months. still very wobbly but she'll get it eventually lar i guess. sits very well though.

she's a happy smiley baby. more so after her recent bout of flu. not so *during* the sick days though. oh. so. whiny. and cranky. glad we're done with that (for now at least). but she does protest when mommy is out of sight. her eyes follow me EVERYWHERE. so i either wheel her around the house in her highchair as i go about my chores or i carry her.

her night time sleep schedule is still about the same. still sleeps by 6.30 - 7pm. but wakes up earlier the next morning at abt 7am. she used to sleep til 8ish am. Sometimes she wakes up for 1 feed at 5ish am. for a while, after we got back from our holiday, her sleep routine was all over the place. :/ lost her groove somehow. i tot i was going crazy with the lack of sleep. glad that's sorted out too.

that's more or less all the updates i can afford at this time. sleepy. as usual more updates are on my blog. http://famela.me

now that Adil is in full daycare, i don't get a chance to bring the kids out together as often as i did. good and bad. i am definitely more mobile with just 1 kid but i miss those days when the 3 of us were gallivanting in town or wherever while daddy was at work. pros and cons..

swimming: i think depends on what you're comfortable with and depends on the pool you're going to, and also depends on your own baby..?

i took both my kids straight to the pool for their swim. #1 went when he was 2 months plus. and #2 went at about 4+ months. both ok. both love water. but i didn't go to a public pool. went to a fren's condo.

really depends on what you're comfortable with i guess. sometimes luck oso..?

I read some posting like from CandyWhite and Sunnyling.

Does your babies sleep through the nite w/o nite feeding, even if their last feed is around 10plus ?

Need some expertise here. My gal has jus turned 7mths. Recently, her milk intake is reducing esp the evening feed and last nite feed. Some times as low as 50ml even if i dreamfeed her.

Normally around 5plus, my mum will feed her cereal and she loves it. Can really see her smile..

And there after she just don't want to drink milk. Is it ok if she goes without milk after her last feed at ard 10plus to 11plus, till morning 6plus or even 7plus ?

Sometimes, when I dreamfeed her, I can actually hear her stomach rumbling but she just don't want to drink even though.

Total feed per day ranges from 400ml - 650ml (for gd days). Is it too little ?

The morning feed is also can be a tedious one. She will give that nauseaus look and once in a while, she does vomit. Is it due to long hours 'empty' stomach ? Rather worried. As this only happens on and off.

Btw, she is consider underweight but tall.

Appreciate mummies to share your experience. Thanks!

tien > i thought so too...been noticing that even dre changes from week to week...hahaha...cao lao...yeah yeah..dre is also ageing! i agree with you, this separation anxiety is to be expected. but this girl..when she laughs, she guffaws..and when she cries, it's super drama. haiz! i am beholden to her lah..she gets her way all the time. hey teacher, when do i start putting my foot down and disciplining her ah?

aria jo > yep, my sanity...i just hope this is no honeymoon and i am getting the real deal. today, i asked my FDW, do u want to post letters or make a phone call or something? she said no. i asked her, don't u want to let yr family know all is well...she said, her sons (aged 8,6,4) thought she has gone to the market. she doesn't know how to tell them....i feel so bad abt it when she told me so matter-of-fact. her youngest, a daughter is just 1 yo (not much older than dre..)..thus, can see that she is inevitably thinking of her own when she feeds dre..like she says, my daughter likes corn. i just hope i had ideas on how to help her with her homesickness when it comes...seems like her coping mechanism is to keep busy.

famela > sorry to hear abt your mastitis, the flu etc! i have also been having a rather rough time last mth. i saw the video on ana (she is so cute with large eyes!) with the crawling ball! i bought this too sometime back and dre loves the kitty on it. :p the funny thing is, she doesn't use it for "crawling"...but it is a great toy to use to distract her during diaper changes cos she simply loves the buttons and the spinning beetle bug at the top :D

famela > one more...that was a COOL clip of you doing the flippety thing with Ana!! She seems to love it! Was this something u learned on your own or with My Gym?

Hi mummies!!
TGIF!!!! I want to finish my work QUICK so that I dun need to work this weekend!

Famela: *wave wave* I am feeling better. Thanks. But I am still wearing a mask when I am around yx. As for expressing, I don't know is it irregular expressing or my ovulation period, milk ss is dwindling. But the good thing is in my school, there's a room where we can express milk. There are quite a few bf-ing mums here. Although soon, I will be the only one. Now I am trying to keep to 4 hourly expressing to, hopefully, get the supply back. I think now, schools are more receptive to bf-ing mums. I am sure you can ask the school if there's any arrangement that can be done. One way is to use the CCA rooms

Gosh..mastitis! Hope the ducts are all clear now!!

Xoxo: Huh? You ask a teacher who spoils her baby when to start disciplining the kiddo? Hmmm...I dun know!! And what's your definition of discipline? If it's reprimanding, I have started since day 1!! But I do notice that she is starting to differentiate tone of the voice. When she is screaming, I will purposely 'shh...' at her and talk really softly. She will stop for a while and behave for like 5 secs...haha. But I will repeat the process in hope that she will realise that screaming is a no-no. If you are takling about physical disciplining, I will wait till she bites my nips. Until then, it's still a lot of cuddling with her.

Hi Vankel, I recommend you borrow the super baby food by Ruth yaron from the library. It teaches what to feed our babies when they start on solid. She says that milk is the most important nutrition for babies until they are 1 year old so it is essential that they drink 32 ounces of milk per day. Mine drinks only about 27 ounces. She says to reduce her food intake if the baby does not drink this amount of milk. Have you thought of mixing cereal with milk instead of water so that she ll have more milk this way?

Swimming
Glynnis - 4 mths at a coutry club pool
Lele - 2 mths at a condo pool

I have brought them to public swimming complex a couple of times (YCK/Woodlands/Bishan), and they are ok. The children pool in the swimming complex tend to be more cold due to the water features and slide. I normally bring them to the middle pool. Really depend on comfortable you are.

Vankel : Lele used to sleep through. His last feed will be 9plus and next feed about 6plus. But recently he keep waking up, most of the time he just wanna a comfort latch.

famela : I just saw the clip that xoxo mentioned. SO CUTE!! I will do it with lele... But i will do it when hubby not at home. If not he will SCREAM!! Haa...