(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

xoxolight: try this to keep leg cramps away... flex your foot upwards at the first sign of any slight cramping. So far this has worked for me and I've managed to keep them away

xoxo>> i din feel baby's movements the whole thursday morning and afternoon and got a terrible scare! and isabelle's a super active baby, this non-movement thingy has never happened before and i was damn worried sthg bad happened.. *choy*

miemie: hahaha, yah, i've got it packed liao. Gynae asked me to pack during last visit already. hahaha, think he's trying to get me mentally prepared. :p

Hmm not very gan chiong leh... maybe it hasn't sank in yet! HAHahaha... Actually was supposed to be a week earlier but gynae says BB still small in size and he wants to leave him in there for another week to fatten up a bit more before making grand entrance.

miemie : understandable that you wil be worried. i would be too. our kid to fulfill at least 10 kicks/movement a day ma. so isabelle was sleeping and started moving in the evening? or ?

<font color="aa00aa"> re: TMC service
maybe this hospital is really very popular, really hope oct mummies here won't receive this kind of service, once we are admitted, we will hope to have a good team of professional medical and nursing staff to handle us. maybe it is just one time thing, the nurse is really not tactful enough, if is my hubby, he surely tells her off in the public.

Shugar, hope your bb quickily fatten up ... you very petite size is it?

mie mie, don't think that way, you try to talk to baby or "play" with her, maybe she is already in position, i read somewhere when baby is in position, less movements.</font>

nomsnosm: No leh... not petite. But I'm on a GD diet... so lots things cannot eat. maybe that's why BB growing slower.

<font color="aa00aa">shugar,ya hor, if you don't control, afraid of oversized baby right? maybe that's the reason, but baby healthy can already, leave everything to you gynea..hehe... hubby and I really looking forward the arrival of ur baby. this morning, I just touch him and toss a bit on the bed then i heard my hubby said,"push..push..." hahaha...
this is also my first pregnancy, son also.

<font color="aa00aa">gal, think no need to bring, unless you have time to apply but bring the binder, if you are not going for c-section, i was told our tummy will "drop"a bit and saggy</font>

shugar >> I try that..as soon as i turn, the pain shoots! sigh..i guess labour pains worse than this so shouldn't complain!...sep 30..ok, got it circled as shugar day! all the best and hope yr GD becomes loads better

mie >> that's a scare alright..not a good time to play a prank on mummy isabelle...

happy hippo>> OMG!!!!! i hope this wont happen to me.. i will sure KPKB one, and send complain letter up to their management !!!

Not even 2 bedder.. i'll demand them to put me in a deluxe suite then and pay for the normal single price. !!

<font color="aa00aa"> PY, just wondering,when you all pay for the delviery package, got fine prints or not? better read carefully, they know how to protect themselves, then when you complain, they will say you didnt read nicely

for normal hospital, no bed you cannot downgrade the patient, that's why in the past when I was working, I have to receive a C class pt and lodge them in my A class room w/o extra charge because no bed is not their problem, is out BMU (bed management unit problem. but of course if run out of all rooms, which is very unlikely, then have to put them at observation room till there is room available. this is very tedious for pregnant mummies like us.

that sept mummy probably doesn't know there is this deluxe suite! thats why waited so long... poor her.</font>

nomsnosm>> got.. they say even though we "booked" the room we want.. but they are not able to confirm that the room will be available on the date of admission...

but i've checked with them.. coz i've made a booking for a normal single room.. if in any circumstances that the normal single room is not available or i decided to switch to 2 bedder, i'm allowed to do so. (I understand from miemie that Mt A will charge the patient the higher room rate even though the patient decided to change to a lower rate room)

But TMC is not "smelly" in this lah. quite flexible.

But what i read from the sept mom hor.. and some other posts after her, abt the attitude of the nurses. Like quite bad leh. Except the one at lvl 5 (maybe bcoz is premier ward) ha ha dun tell me they dont treat their patients equally lor. VIP = Better treatment? pui!

<font color="aa00aa">aiyoh, maybe that corner is cater for the angmoh, indo chinese.. cheh... we not human meh...but they paid at least 15% higher than normal pte rate.

maybe business too good or their workload is too much.
hope we don't get a nasty staff on our big day.

in kkh, i choose premier class, also pay higher than classic rate, priorty given to us, so far i never heard that not enough bed and asked to lodge at lower class room. I think most ppl won't like. They only asked you to downgrade once you have complication during labour to reduce your bill size. which is quite thoughtful I think.</font>

yeah i also tot of downgrading if i have complications like emer c sect. Coz that will be double charge lor!

Hopefully everything goes smoothly and hb can stay overnight with me :D

<font color="aa00aa"> wah, double charge?! choy choy...won't happened... pray all of us will have smooth delivery!!!

at first i also want hubby to stay overnight but cannot, i have 2 boys at home, must come home to settle them.</font>

yah if normal cannot then end up c sect will be like double charge ma.. the bill can goes up to 10K i heard for TMC 1 bedder. haaa so yeah hope everyone can have a smooth delivery! :D:D

<font color="ff0000">DISPOSABLE PANTIES, you can all go check SHOP N SAVE brand is first choice is very cheeeaaappp got maternity sizes, normal ones, hi-cut and low cut</font>

<font color="aa00aa"> i know someone went for scheduled c-section at TMC already 10k, they even charge extra $800 as she chooses the date! money sucker!

in kkh, normal delivery charge will be waived if go for emergency c-section. pte hosp is diff,they have to charge more .</font>

xoxo: Huh? What Mt E horrow story? What is it? ? So far I have heard mixed reviews about Mt E. Hope everything will be fine when my turn comes? That place is freaking expensive and if they give my horrible service I am so going to kick a big fuss!!

*Tien raises hand and asks another question*
What is a binder?? Or is it a girder?? Must pack along??? Where to get?

Ginger/Angie:Ginger, the one u see is with loop or adhesive type? i saw at ntuc, 10 fro $1.89 for loop type, adhesive with wing $6+ for 20 per pack. Angie, the one u got fr mother care without wing,does it come with loop?scare the adhesive not strong enough.

ddnikz: thx ger im the one who asked abt the ferrari carseat, gotta from Tangs at 20% +10% +12% rebate during their closed door member sale hehe.

Angie: u shd go harbourfront mothercare, the biggest in sg. I gotta the set u mentioned free coz at take fair,u just need buy 3 packs of huggies newborn/small diaper + 1 medium diaper, u get a playmat and 1 set of tt 3 piece rompers free, i just chose mine yest

xoxo: jialat rite, havent add alot of things aldy 5 figure
tts y my hubby said our son is expensive haha

miemie: understand how u feel.mine too when he not moving for too long, start to worry

Tien,
yup theres a sep mummy who gave birth at Mt E n kena attitude from fresh off the boat nurse. Im delivering there as well. This nurse better dun be around when im in there or i will so give it to her lor!

I went for my 34 weeks check up today. I was so relieved when I just gained 2kg over 3 weeks. Previously, I gained 1kg/week. But...when we did the ultrasound scan (3D), the first the gynae say is "how come so "sam bo sian"(skinny)!... Both my husband and I dropped jaws... What does he mean?? My baby girl is 2.2kg, 32 weeks in the machine. The doctor even say,"how come I see the 2 of you quite chubby but the baby so skinny.." Anyway he meant the face of the baby because we were trying to get a good pic of her face. I think I have been eating less last 3 weeks. just have no appetite. not sure if that's the reason. After the checkup, my husband quickly go and buy durian. hahaha. so now I'm going to just eat my heart's out and dun care about weight already. But the doc did say actually my baby is just right for a smooth and comfortable delivery so dun worry. Personally, I am quite concerned about baby's weight...don''t know why maybe because i put on so much so was hoping baby will put on too. guess it's in the genes.
Anyway, I did the bacteria test, not sure about the full name but it is to check if there is bacteria around the vagina and anus area. The doc just stick somthing that looks bigger than the cotton bud into my vagina and anus...Eeks!
I told him about my birth plan today too which is natuaral wo epidural. He said he will have to check my vagina first at the next visit. need to see if I am tense kind or not.
By the way, my gynae was the one who delivered me 26 years ago too! So I trust him totally. Okies that's all.
I haven't pack my hospital bag. May do so tomrw. Cannot wash bb clothes now because 7th mth. Hope she can wait till then =)

<font color="aa00aa">Tien, try google abdominal binder, if going for c-section,need girdle. very similar la both things.

annette, sometimes may stain because the lochia is not like our normal menses so "manageable". hehe... that's why sometimes need to wash our panties of we are not using disposable. I am not getting any, I bought a protection sheet for myself, just in case, don't wanna stain my bedsheet, because I thought if I stained my disposable panties, my bedsheet also kena so might as well get the protection sheet/mat. As for the panties, my mother doing confinement for me so she doesn't mind washing for me. That's why sometimes it depends who is helping, if MIL, you think she will wash? not so nice right? even CL won't wanna wash for us leh.

Re: service at Mt E
since you all get some ideas there are nasty staff there, then remember to see the staff's name, then feedback form must write the name. </font>

<font color="aa00aa"> meiting, your gynea very funny leh...my baby was only 1.6 when I was 31weeks preg.mine is a average size baby. 3D can see clearer for sure but giving this remarks a bit...hmm, mean leh..hehee.. from 31 weeks to 34 weeks, I only put on 300gm but my gynea is fine with my weight gain and many also telling me it is ok to gain little weight now.

so long you are healthy and baby aslo healthy, don't worry too much about weight, above 2kg is good..3kg of course better..haha...

that test is to check strap B, so long negative then should be fine.
my sister gynea forgot to check during her pregnancy, this doc got clinic at MT E and MT A. then baby came out, stayed one more day in the hospital for observation. luckily nothing happened because if mummy tested positive, BB may contact with the bacteria, then the complication - penumonia, meningitis, need to be sent to nicu. we didn't know until I saw my friend ( works in NICU Mt A ) told me the gynea forgot to do the deep vaginal swab.</font>

meiling:congrst,hope mine exceed 2kg too hehe. y u need do tt bacteria test?

nomsnosm: oh haha icc thx ye. by teh way diana, does ur pain at the vagina pubic area worsen? mine now is like those type of sharp pt as if the bone piercing into my flesh wo
is tt normal also.waiting for my next gynae visit n ask her again

<font color="aa00aa">annette, the pain I experience is like a sharp thing cutting, it is tht painful that I have to stop walking INSTANTLY and tip toe! I am going to tell my gynea but then I got the feeling she will say, is normal. sigh... the 2 second pain is exactly the same when I had UTI but now, I am quite sure I don't have becuase I have no problem urinating. I was thinking, is this the vaginal pressure they are talking about.

annette, this test is actually needed because if we don't know if there is bacteria(strap B) growing down there, when we deliver baby, baby passes thru our vaginal right? then baby might contact with this bacteria, this bacteria in our vaginal comes and goes by itself, don't harm us but harm our baby, like I've said, complication can be penumonia , meningitisĤ and these are serious problem even to adult like you and me.

if the result is +ve, medicine will be given to treat it. my friend who was tested positive and some waterbag leaking, she opt for c-section straight a way.</font>

annette: the maternity towels are adhesive ones. Think it will be more convenient than the loop ones (for myself coz going for C-sect).
As for taka sale, u mean u buy diapers from huggies and they give the free gifts u mentioned?
I did go to the mothercare at Harbourfront, u r right it's huge....but i was at causeway pt the other day so just decided to pick up the stuff i need, i also had a 15% voucher from a magazine....so got disc on the maternity pads and some other stuff that was not on sale.

thx nomsnosm,do u exp tt pain during ur previous pregnancy?mine is like every movement its peircing me , think ours pretty alike,plus tt the other pain i have at my'ass bone'(dun know the name for it) since march which my gynae said not normal but can only endure till after birth then take xray

shall ask my gynae abt tt strap B test , so far is always only urine test.

Happy_Hippo: WHAT? How can the nurse give attitude? Who paid their salary? Hahaha...anyway I am going for the maternity tour this coming Thursday. Will probably get a gauge on their service. You went for the tour already?

Diana: Yep yep googled it! And so interestingly, yesterday I went to TP Mall with my mum to get one for my dad (cos he had a surgery 2 years back and still wearing it) and I saw another mummy looking for one. She was asking about the Ebene one...Anyway, got a few brands to look at (since we were looking for one formy dad). Futuro is the most ex one $78+. Guardian own brand is $29. Ebene I forgot to check. Hmmm if I knew earlier should have bought it!

angie: ya at taka sale huggies NB is at $7 bucks, small at 13 and medium at 14 per pack,free gift is a play mat if purchase 3 packs of NB or small(can mixed) to get the mothercare 3 piece rompers need buy 1 medium on top of tt 3.
currently NTUC extra having sale for huggies too,NB at 6.95, small at 12.95 but medium at 16.95 and no free gift.

annette: oic...the sale's at the basement, atrium area? Just got to huggies counte issit?
BTW, yr EDD is also on 19Oct, u going for natural or C-sect like me?

<font color="aa00aa"> Tien, no problem. if you are going for normal delivery then a normal binder is good enough, not expensive, can get it at spring maternity also. I didn't think of this until my sister's friend passed hers to me. My sister also didn't wear it last time, her shape went back after her confinement

annette, no problem. sharing mah..that's the word, piercing! so the pain when I am walking, not all the time but once it comes, i have problem walking, must stop so many times. the ass bone, the lowest? is called coccyx, you google, it is painful most likely because of weight.oh by the way, this is my first pregnancy, so no experience.</font>

no, u sound very experienced....hehe. Tot u mentioned in one of yr earlier posts that u hv 2 boys at home....
so i misunderstood....

tien,
yeah i went for the tour like 2 weeks ago. called up week b4 that and they said "mam, earliest available slot is mid sep, shall i sign you up?" right away i give it to them already lor. cos i called in july or aug for ward tour then they told me dun go so early, call back late aug. so late aug i call they tell me mid sep. i told them now so heavy already how to be walking about??? gave them a piece of my mind then told them i'm DELIVERING THERE. so they better give me the next slot. in the end they relented. hahaha...

oh well, sorry lor. i think service sector in SG is just so substandard that you always have to show that you are the biggest biatch b4 you can get your way. the sister who explained the different pain relief options available seemed pretty experienced and professional.

cant get any gauge at all cos they only show you all the best bits what. haha... anyways we'll see lah... keeping my fingers crossed.

re: maternity pads
bought a pack of 48 from mothercare in metro paragon today. metro card holders get 20% off the $18. so may be cheaper than other mothercare stores?

re: disposable panties
bought also from metro "impressions" pack of 5 for $4.50. but no discount for this. i bot 1 pack, then went into toilet to try. hehe... HENG AH! it FIT!!! so went back and bot another 3 packs. also made sure HB knew where they were so in case i needed more, i can just send him down for more.

<font color="aa00aa">gal, experience? nolah,because I am a nurse la, so certain things I know I can share, labor experience I totally clueless..haha...

angie, oh yah, that 2 boys are my dogs.</font>

happyhippo: r the disposable panties the paper type or clothlike type? may get it after my next checkup, gynae is at paragon....

hey all..

Kelly's photography package
*guilty*
Kelly sent me the email liao lah. but i have been busy over the weekend.. have yet to send it out to ur girls..
hmm. how about this?
can u all PM-ed me ur details? and i just consolidate and i emailed her.. from there.. she will contact you all liao.. so .. email me the the details..

BUT pls hold on. i am uploading some photos of a celrbation in another thread.. so will take a while.. but def by tonight.. will post here.. sorry ah.. cannot manage my time properly!

Kelly's photography confirmed deal

1. 30% discount off ANY Package
(package A/B/C
*** UPDATED 2009 PRICE LIST ***

> Package A: $ 228
- 2 5R images (edited)
- 1 Low Resolution image CD (150DPI)
(Retouched)

> Package B: $ 278
- 6 5R images (edited)
- 2 S8R image (edited)
(Retouched)

> Package C: $ 578
- 2 5R images (edited)
- 1 Black leather Coffee Table book -
10”x10” (10 pages) (with box)
(Retouched) )

> ** Price list retrieved from
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/2184017.
html

AND

2. 2 qtys of FREE Super 8Rs, edited.

<font color="ff0000">Details needed from mtbs who signed up:

> Name:
> Nick on Forum:
> Edd:
> Address:
> Tel/Mobile:
> Package taking:

A $100 deposit to be collected first.This is the secure the session only.If the deposited is collected, there will be no refund.</font>

-----------
I actually asked Kelly for her account number but i think she missed that part of my email. Not to worry, i think u all emailed me the needed details first.. once i get all details.. i will consolidate in an excel sheet to email to her. i think from there, she will contact u all individually for the deposit and all future arrangements.

Drop me a note here on forum when u have pm-ed me? i don't check my pm one :p

sorry for the delay ladies!

hey mommies. am finally back from a longgggg day out. soooOO tired! i was in so so so much pain after shopping at metro paragon and then walking for over 3 hours at Geylang just now. kaoz! the crowd and the heat did not help either.

but at least all my hari raya stuff settled. now just need to wait for the PT cleaners to come clean house and prepare for the festivities. and i can just concentrate on waiting for baby's arrival. suddenly i feel a lot more relaxed now

<font color="0000ff">hippo:</font> i like your attitude with regards to your birth plan. i think this kind of mindset is impt so that we don't set ourselves up for any huge disappointment la. in my humble opinion, a few things are impt to note:

1. know what you want, and be very clear
2. be Flexible
3. trust your ob/gyn
4. have faith

for me, i know that i def want to go au naturelle ie vaginal delivery and no epi. even for #1. and i told my hubby this. however i made sure that i told him that in case of any complications, i'd want him to let my gynae make the impt decisions and that he was to support both of us all the way.

i also made it clear that as long as i was able to talk, when i asked for epi, he should ask me to think twice. but if i insisted, he should just let me be.

i had all this laid out clearly to him BUT i did not write anything down (didn't want anything to be cast in stone, if you know wat i mean?) neither did i discuss my birth plans with my gynae, not at any point of time. instead, i asked lotsa of questions and listened and took my cue fr her. i really believe that we should trust our gynaes to take care of us in the best poss way he/she knows. after all, why else are we paying him/her thousands of dollars right?

and after all that was said and done, all i could do was pray, and pray and pray that however things may turn out, may it be the best for me and baby. and i am very thankful still that i managed to get what i wanted ie a vaginal delivery with no epi for my #1

so that's it lar. this time round, my plan is the same. come wat may, i'll just try to take everything as positively as possible and work with it. as long as baby is safe, i will have no regrets even if it means i have to go for a c-section.. or take the epi to help me with the dilation etc etc. i think you get my drift?

sorry for being so long winded here ladies. my apologies if it all sounds too didactic.

read that post from the sept thread early this morning too! terok manz! i'm now kinda glad that i didn't follow my old gynae to tmc and stuck with kkh. hopefully none of us here encounter such bad service at tmc.. or at any other hospitals for that matter.. when it's our turn yah? grrrrr... that nurse made me angry!!

<font color="0000ff">tien:</font> i got my stroller already! and confirm the price is $606.40 after 20% off.

i asked about the stock availability. they only have one more piece left at the store as of today at about 3pm. i asked the salesgirl what happens if my friend wants to buy and it's OOS.. and she said that they can order new stocks to come in, not a prob. i suggest, if you've already made up your mind abt the model and the colour, you call them tmr and get them to order for you first (if OOS already). then you can go make payment and pick it up straight away on another day. save you from making double trip. alternatively, can opt for delivery but she did mention that the delivery timing a bit weird and sometimes have to wait a whole day with no fixed time as to when it'll arrive.

warranty is one year from the date of purchase. but i actually bargained and asked the salesgirl to allow me to start my warranty on my EDD which is on 9/10/2009. she agreed and made a note on my receipt. so receipt must keep
hope this helps.

oh, the salesgirl who helped me with my purchase is named Xiao Dan. i don't think she's local cos of the way she speaks but she's very nice and very helpful. she fixed up the wheels for us etc. the strollers are actually under mothercare, metro, level 4.

<font color="0000ff">envelope:</font> sure will. once i receive them will try and feedback regarding the quality of the disposable undies from MIM

<font color="0000ff">miemie:</font> must have been a scare for you there. i'd have been worried too. glad Isabelle ok.
hope you get one of those 2 dates you want

<font color="0000ff">meiting:</font> i think your baby's weight sounds ok la so don worry ok? baby's weight always an estimate anyways. just keep on eating healthy and you and baby will be fine.

<font color="0000ff">astro:</font> no worries lar girl. you mentioned you were busy with your marking rite? so i oso don't disturb you. i know how it can get. no need to feel guilty hokay.. it is we who should be grateful to you for giving us this fantastic lobang!
thanks, thanks!

will pm you the required details and alert you once it's done ok?

<font color="0000ff">astro:</font> ok dear, sent you a PM already.

goodnight everyone! i really need to go lie down and rest now. my pelvis is shouting for mercy already.

Hmm.. Seem like my caughting partner is playing her part well tonight?

Hippo,

If he goes to UK and my baby comes out then, it's not going to cost him only a branded diaper bag!

I'm with you on how we should trust our gynae. I think my gynae like me very much. Every visit, "How are you?" "I'm fine" When asked about delivery, I said "Prefer natural but won't x out c-sectin if there's complication. EPI depend on actual day if I can tahan."

Hey, at least you are clever then me to buy only 1 pack for the disposable!

xoxo,

I was chatting with my hubby just now. Apparently, our memories of the delivery day differ. He was asking me if I remember how I hurt his hand with my nails and how I was telling him "No way I'm going through this again!!!#$%^&amp;" during my contractions. So maybe 6 years of timing did a lot to my memory!

Boys stuff are boring.... I also dunno why but everytime I went shopping, I will drift from the boys section to the girls section. After returnig to the boy's section, everything look so plain!

Belly Wrap: Got this from the sept thread. It sound good so I'm thinking of getting it. The bamboo collection is recommended to the C-section mummy.

http://www.bellybandit.com/store/p-20-belly-bandit-bamboo.aspx

Services: I gave Mt A services 5 star rating! Was there 2 years ago doing an opt and stayed in a one bedded for 4 days. I was so impressed with their services that I ordered a bouquet of rochers for the nurses after I got home. So this time, I'm looking forward to been pampered again.

blueseas,

errr... I have no confident to return to my previous figure to wear the smaller size disposable undies! 2nd baby + past 30 years old make it even harder!